We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic family vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Super Manzana 11 Manzana 9 Lote 10, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Chester, OH
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Fantastic family vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We just returned from a FABULOUS family vacation to the NOW Sapphire July 14-21. We traveled with our kids, ages 8 and 11, along with another family with similarly-aged kids. Overall, I can’t say enough about what a great value this trip was. We were pampered like crazy and enjoyed every minute of both activity and relaxation. Here are the details for those who are interested:

Food – The NOW Sapphire has the BEST food of all of the all-inclusive resorts in Mexico we have tried so far (4 in all). Each of the sit-down restaurants was able to seat us fairly quickly (but do plan to get there before 7:30 if you don’t want to wait). We had delicious dinners with excellent service. Our favorite restaurants for dinner were Paramour (French – adults only) and the Bluewater Grill (seafood & steak). For lunch, the buffet is good (the grill stations are the best choices), but we preferred the beachfront table service at the Bluewater Grill. Their ceviches, burritos and nachos were particularly memorable. We also LOVED Coco Café, the coffee bar, where you could get lattes, espressos, etc. all day long, along with various baked goods. The only caveat about food is that none of the desserts were spectacular, but that has been typical of most of our Mexico stays so far. We would highly suggest that the NOW Sapphire install a soft servce ice cream machine with vanilla or chocolate ice cream! Overall, the kids did really well with the food choices. Even my peanut-allergic daughter was well-accommodated. There are always lots of child-friendly choices like hamburgers, hot dogs and pizza. Room service was great too!

Drinks – We loved the swim-up bar! (Cesar and Antonio are the best!) Mixed drinks were reasonably strong. Chairside waiter service from the bar at the pool was very attentive. The lobby bar was well-staffed and the bartenders there made great drinks too. At dinner, the house red and white wines were sufficiently good, so we didn’t feel the need to purchase any wine. Mini bars were well-stocked with beer, soda and water.

Pool – The main pool was gorgeous and huge. It had a couple of neat features like fountains and bubbly areas. The kids spent HOURS at the pool. They each got a small nick, but it was nothing even requiring a band-aid. The pool is VERY clean and safe! Poolside chairs are hot commodities, so be sure to get a few saved first thing in the morning if you’re planning to be there all day. Towels are plentiful.

Beach – The beach is beautiful and very accessible from the pool and rooms. There are usually ample beach chairs. Wait staff will even bring you drinks from the bar! Yes, there is definitely a fair amount of seaweed on the beach. It is not ideal, but staffers are constantly raking it up, which helps. The seaweed did NOT ruin our fun at the beach. The kids made sand castles, we walked along the shore, we swam in the water and we sea kayaked. Not a big deal.
Rooms – We stayed in the lowest-level junior suite with a jungle view. I would have loved an upgrade to a room on the ocean, but we were in the room so rarely that it didn’t matter. The room was big with a nicely-sized sitting area and patio. We were in building 13 which was close to everything.

Entertainment – We went to a few of the shows. They were exactly what you’d expect at any Mexican all-inclusive resort. Good, not great. The kids enjoyed them though.

Kids Club – The kids club was definitely geared for the younger set. It looked like babysitting to our kids (ages 8 and 11), so they didn’t go. They did participate in bungee jumping (on a trampoline) every afternoon. No ocean trampoline as advertised on the website.

Other activities – This was a really enjoyable resort with a great entertainment staff. The guests actually particpated in the scheduled activities, which made it fun for everyone. We enjoyed beach volleyball, beach soccer, yoga, water aerobics, pool games, casino night etc.

Gym – The gym is not great, but again, this is fairly typical at similar resorts. I used the elliptical machine and some of the weights. My friend used the treadmill and was pleased that it had a working fan! Most days, I just ran on the beach or on the small paved trail within the resort. You can also play tennis, take zumba or salsa lessons, do pilates, etc.

I definitely recommend the NOW Sapphire to couples or families! I would go back in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Building 13 is a good choice if you want to be closest to the restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,619 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,840
    1,073
    470
    157
    79
See reviews for
1,130
1,484
57
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,324)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

During this vacation, my 2 years old daughter was hospitalised 3 days for a pneumonia. The concierge was so concerned, he made sure we had great service at the resort and at the hospital. We appreciated the free room service 24 hours, My 14 years old son, could order his third supper in the middle of the night.

The main pool was nice, we did not have any problem. We spent a lot of time in the splash zone with our teenager, a lot of activities were available.

I liked the fact that we could go eat everywhere we wanted on the resort without reservations. The food was excellent.

This is a small resort, you don't have to walk a lot to go where you want.
It is also near the airport, it's nice not to have a long way to go after the flight.

We will go back.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

What an amazing resort! Now Sapphire's staff was immaculate! From the variety of activies to the food we were in paradise. The disign of the hotel & rooms were beautiful & built to please all who encounter. Entertainment was on one side of the resort & the rooms on the other. What about the walking you'd ask?...Well the conceirge's 24 hour assistance will take you to and from around the resort whenever. The wait time was no longer than 10 min at the latest. We didn't know what to expect with it being our first time out of the U.S.. All in all we were pleased and appreciative of a beautiful experience. Thank you Now Sapphire! We will return!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We stayed at the Now Sapphire July 12th-16th. We have stayed at several resorts in Mexico over the years and we really loved this one! The hotel is located only 15-20 minutes south of the airport. We arranged for roundtrip transportation to/from the hotel through Cancun Way prior to our arrival.
When we arrived at the hotel, we were greeted with cold towels and and a cool"sapphire blue" beverage in a champagne glass. It was very refreshing on a 90+ degree day. We were there for a surprise birthday party, so we were escorted to our group hanging out in a reserved area in the lobby. We walked back to the front desk to check in. We did not choose the Preferred status and check in was still quick and easy. It about 5 minutes. We were given our room keys and a resort map showing us where we were and where our room was located , and the day's newsletter showing planned events, activities, restaurant openings, and specials for the day. It was also suggested that we talk to another gentlemen at a different desk about our $200 resort coupons that came with our package. We did. His role was to explain the coupon limitations - meaning you can't spend the $200 dollars all in one place (i.e. $40 towards spa services, $10 towards a bottle of wine, etc.). He also attempted to encourage us to attend a presentation for Amresorts timeshare program the next morning. He offered more resort coupons for doing so. We declined and weren't pushed any further. He also reminded us that we had to the option to dine at one of their sister resorts in the area to experience another one of their properties first hand.
Our room was in building 6. We told the bellman and he drove us and our bags to our room. Building 6 was one of the building furthest away from the "action" (i.e. main pool/lobby area). The buildings are laid out in a semi-circle (horseshoe) pattern. We went in the oceanfront room on the 3rd floor only to discover it had 2 beds as opposed to the king we were supposed to have. The bellman called the front desk and told them about the problem and they gave us another room immediately. The bellman took our bags back downstairs and then drove us to building 3 for a 1st floor oceanfront king room. The room was beautiful, clean, tastefully decorated and large. It had a large hot tub on the outside patio. We never used it because the patio offered no privacy, since it was facing the ocean/beach and more importantly on the 1st floor. The mini bar was stocked with candies, small bottles of liquor, and bottles of soda, beer, and water. I was pleased with our location because it was closer to the lobby/pool and still far enough away to not be involved when you don't was to be.
The resort is set up so all the rooms are one side of the resort and the lobby, main pool, theater, nightclub restaurants and bars are on the other.
The main pool was large and always had something going on. Zumba, water aerobics, games etc. There was always something to do or see. There were a lot of families in the main pool, which was fine because the pool is spread out well. The pool bar stayed busy and there we were always approached by a server taking drink orders when we were lounging poolside or on the beach.There were plenty of loungers available. Although, if you wanted front row pool loungers, you needed to get there by 9am. The same also goes for the beach loungers. There were plenty of beach towels, available as well. The lobby was always busy, which I happen to like. There was a lobby bar made nice strong drinks. The cafe actually had great coffee beverages, both hot and cold. The cafe sandwiches were tasty and the carrot cake was delicious! There was live band in the lobby every night. My favorite was the Cuban band. People participated in the Conga line and learned the dances. Very fun to watch or do.
The buffet was small but sufficient and the food was good. There was always something that was really good. The fish and chips at the blue fish grill was one of my favorites. We tried a different a la carte restaurant everyday. The lamb chops at Cibu were delicious. The nigiri at the Asian restaurant. The salmon at the french restaurant along with good bottle of Mexican wine. It was a Cabernet/Merlot blend...delicious! The wait times were 20 minutes or less at each on most nights. So the lack of a reservation system wasn't a problem and I thought it would be. We didn't try the Mexican restaurant.
My only complaint was the gym. There weren't many machines and some of them were broken. I gather from other reviews that it has been that way for some time. The basketball and tennis courts were well maintained. They also had a dedicated kids/teen area for "wholesome" family fun and games and there was a small kids area if you needed to have someone else care for your smaller children sometime throughout the day. The pool area looked inviting, as well as some arts and craft activities.
Overall, a great experience in a different kind of all inclusive with no bands and no reservations.

Room Tip: Building 1 is closet to the pool and beach. Building 14 is closest to the lobby and tennis courts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas,TX
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

My husband planned a surprise birthday party for me at the NOW Sapphire. The group of 20 was initially supposed to be at a different resort but fate has a way of interferring and NOW is were we vacationed. What a great resort!! NOW offers great activities for both adults and children including bike tours, zumba, archery, water aerobics and many other activities. The staff throughout the facility engages you and speaks each time you pass them. Loved the design of the hotel with guest rooms all on one side and entertainment and food on the other. Unlike other resorts that I have visited the lobby is the center of entertainment and quests socialize every night until well after midnight. There is a live band every night.
The food was good in each restaurant. In the asain restaurant I actually preferred the sit down meal better than the hibachi table, although it was very entertaining. If you are looking for a new twist on on all inclusive resorts, then this is the place for you. I can not express how great we were treated. Our age group rangend from 16-80 and everyone thoroughly enjoyed their stay ay NOW. Without a doubt, one of the best times we have ever had on vacation. NOW Sapphire, THANK YOU and we will be back!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NowSapphireRC, Social Media at Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Daer Sir / Madam,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us through Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to know your stay with us was entirely satisfactory and we hope to have the privilege of celebrating together more special dates.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun soon.

Cordially yours,

ORV
Social Media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We spent a week at this all-inclusive resort just south of Cancun. The resort was well liked by all members of the family, especially the beaches and spa.

The staff was very friendly. It didn't take them long to recognize your personal preferences and made every attempt to personalize their service. Restaurant options were very decent and daily buffets provided a good selection.

The rooms were comfortable and clean. The only problem was the high humidity in the region would not permit you to enjoy leaving balcony doors open for too long as everything in the room would become moist.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NowSapphireRC, Social Media at Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, July 21, 2012
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with the Tripadvisor community. We will share your comments with the operations staff. They will be glad to know they were able to assist you.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

ORV
Social Media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grinstead, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

I stayed at the Now Sapphire 3rd July 2012 for 1 week with my husband. We had a wonderful holiday, we were lucky enough to stay preferred club, I would recommend this , you get to check in in a seperate lounge area , which you can go in any time of day and use the computers with free internet access , drinks and small snacks are available, you can also use the adults only pool which is so quiet and you get to have double cabana beds with amazing pool bar service. The rooms are allocated right next to the preferred beach bar and Ivan reserves your beds each day and towels are laid out ready for you each morning, you can also have a menu service breakfast in the Bluewater grill which overlooks the beach and sea. No-one has to wear a wrist band , all the restaurants are superb especially the Lemongrass and Paramour, funnily enough the one we least enjoyed was the mexican! no reservations just turn up , if there is a wait then they give you a buzzer so you can go back to the bar area and wait, we never were unable to get the restaurant of our choice. All of the staff were very friendly and happy , drinks and cocktails were great. We enjoyed a late afternoon cocktail at the splash swim up bar in the lively main pool area.We went snorkelling booked with the Amstar rep at the hotel with Snorkelling adventures, very well run . We walked along the beach to Puerto Morelos town , lovely walk and had lunch in beach restaurant called El Merkadito which did great mango margherita's and shrimp tostados. A brilliant holiday , flights were direct from LGW with Virgin and we booked with Tropical Sky both gave excellent service. I cannot fault any part of the holiday, we loved it.

Room Tip: I would request a high floor room as the ground floor are musty smelling and do not take a hairdryer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun

Address: Super Manzana 11 Manzana 9 Lote 10, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun 4*
Number of rooms: 496
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun. A tropical landscape of evergreen trees, sugar white sand, and sparkling azure sea, Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun offers all the exclusive benefits of Unlimited-Luxury(R). This collection of amenities, led by unlimited gourmet food and premium beverages in five reservation-free, gourmet restaurants and seven stylish bars and lounges, pool and beach wait service, and 24-hour room and concierge service, comes without the wristband many resorts require. Guests will find 496 airy suites boasting such comforts as daily refreshed mini bar, plush robes and slippers, Jacuzzi for two, and private furnished balcony or terrace. Stepping outside means endless activities including Hobie cats, kayaking, windsurfing and nightly entertainment beginning with theme parties and movies on the beach. Plus, there's oversized swimming pools, a fitness center and - for an extra fee - deep sea fishing, scuba diving, snorkeling and golf. A 6,800 yard, par 72 dream course: that is Gran Coral Riviera Maya. From tee time, there's the Spa, offering indigenous treatments ranging from a full body massage to a soothing hydrotherapy. For even more magical moments, the resort has wedding, honeymoon and anniversary packages, where couples enjoy champagne breakfast in bed, special turndown, private beachfront dinner with rose petal path and candlelight, and more. Add in 15,000 square feet of meeting/conference space and the privileges of Preferred Club, including terrace soaking tubs and a 24-hour private concierge, and guests have the best of everything. It's all of this, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Paradisus Puerto Morelos
Paradisus Hotel Puerto Morelos
Paradisus Riviera Maya
Paradisus Riviera Cancun Hotel
Paradisus Riviera Cancun Resort
Paradisus Cancun
Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Now Sapphire Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.