We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huts on the beach” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Acamaya Reef

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Acamaya Reef to your Saves list
Acamaya Reef
Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Ramah
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Huts on the beach”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Our first night in the Yucatan and we were looking forward to staying on the beach, for 80 dollars US we thought it would be pretty nice. The cabanas were VERY basic, dark and gloomy. We had reserved the larger one, but the two young people at the reception seemd confused and couldn't find our reservation, and then couldn't show us the larger cabana. we looked, but it didn't appear to exist. We left, I complained to booking.com and got a refund. Basically this place could be described as a campsite (nice beach) with an overall,feeling of being neglected and abandoned.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcamayaReef, Owner at Acamaya Reef, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you very much for the review, this will help us improve our service, we are sorry we didn't meet your expectations and hopefully we will be able to fulfill them in the future. Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    10
    3
    12
See reviews for
9
27
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
boston
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

I found this hotel by googling "camping in riviera maya" and im really happy i stayed here. I brought my tent just in case i couldnt find any rooms, and i had an awesome time camping on their literally beach front property. It so funny to have the dreams resort next door, but it still felt private. i heard music one night (out of the 5) i stayed here coming from next door, but it was not a bother.
In the mornings i could roll out of my tent onto a lounge chair and watch the ocean.
When i was here there was only a few other tents and the last two nights i had the place to my self. Nice bathrooms and showers, (hot water!) which was nice at night when it was a bit chillier. very clean in both.
i met some wonderful people here, and the owners are very accomadating and pleasant to chat with,especially Daisy. they speak both english and spanish, and french
it was pretty windy when i was there, so sometimes i worried my tent would blow away, but there were some protected areas. really felt like i had my own private beach front property
the cabanas are colorful and rustic, i didnt stay in any but i would another time. this place had character in contrast to the resorts and private condos next door. such a funny juxtapostion, but im glad the owners have kept it this way.
you are about 2.5km away from the center of the town of puerto morelos, but it really isnt a bad walk down the beach, and once in the center of this sleepy fishing village, its easy to hop a collectivo (5 pesos) to the main highway and catch another collectivo (30 pesos) to playa del carmen to spend the day..or i would grab breakfast in playa and hop another colletivo to tulum (35 -40 pesos) to spend the afternoon. there are collectivos running from playa del carmen to cancun (pto morelos is just before cancun) 24 hrs.
if you dont feel like walking the beach back to acamaya a taxi is 90pesos
they also rent bikes at acamaya for cheaper than in town, which i thought id do but in the end didnt need to. walking was fine and occasionally the taxi ride home.
this was a great place to stay, super close to the airport (20min in a bus that goes direct from airport to pto morelos highway entrance) and just chill out. Definitely alot alot quieter than playa del carmen, with maybe not as much to do at night but i was ok with that. The beaches were nice, not as beautiful as tulum, but to be right on the beach is awesome.
very enjoyable chill time, i will be back :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcamayaReef, Propietario at Acamaya Reef, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Hey! Thanks a lot for the review! Hope to have you back soon and thank you for spreading the word about us! :) Best Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the Acamaya Reef. This little hotel was located right on the beach. They had optional rooms with or without A/C. We got one with A/C and a shower and enjoyed the stay, as we explored and laid by the beach most of the day only using this place for a bed. The owners are great and they speak English, Spanish and french. Many french nationals come to this hotel and it was nice to speak with them. Your are located 2.5 km from puerto Morelos. There is a snack bar which you can buy food and drinks at a fair price. You are right besides the Dreams hotel which provides some background noise on special nights. It is not far fr the airport and shouldn't cost you more then 40$ US dollars one way.
The price was right and always keep in mind you get what you pay for. : )

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

If you're looking for a quiet more authentic Rustic Caribbean feel to your holiday, away from the spring break mania of Cancun and the bustle of Playa del Carmen you can't go too far wrong choosing Acaymaya Reef. Nestled between Champagne 5 star luxury hotels on the Riviera Maya but on a beer budget, you can enjoy the beautiful beaches without the all inclusive restrictiveness and generic feel. Beachfront means beachfront!!!! The staff particularly Noel are very friendly, speak many languages and will go out of their way to help you. I'd recommend hiring a car so you can visit local attractions and get around easily as the local taxi's can be pricey. Definitely for those with an adventurous spirit for a wonderfully discreet getaway!!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose del Cabo, Mexico
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

On my birthday I only wanted to be away and enjoyed that day with a special person, Acamaya Reef its an amazing place, quiet, great service, just lovely, one of my favorite places in the riviera maya, in the 2 years that I lived there... The place its just beautiful!!! great for camping with family and friends, the most beautiful beach on puerto morelos.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Staying at Acamaya was amazing! It was lovely being so close to the water but away from all of the noise. The room was perfect and Noel and his family were so kind and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

This property is located beside a Dreams All Inclusive Resort, and (I believe) a condo, but quiet most of the time. Because the beach is cleaned regularly, it is probably the nicest bit of beach for its price around. It was a joy to walk from your room and laze on the beach loungers. The beds are only cleaned and made up every second day, but the room was a nice size with 2 double beds. It had a large closet area, a fridge, shower and toilet area behind the door between the beds. We also had a table and 2 chairs in the room, and a TV. Toilet paper usually ran out, and we were always asking for more. Drinking water was not provided, (when I asked upon checked in, I was given a snarky answer about not knowing how it was at home, but that we couldn't drink the water there...NOT what I had asked at all...after 30 years in Mexico, I was well aware of that...I simply asked if drinking water was provided! And I had only asked as it was the most expensive place we had booked into and other, much cheaper accommodation DID provide drinking water.) Perhaps it had been a bad day for our hostess as she usually was much friendlier as the days that followed showed, and we got along ok with Daisy and

It is a 2.5 km walk down the beach to town (further by road). A cab ride back is roughly $9.00 US (fixed price), but the 5 gallon water jug was only pennies more than the 1 litre bottle sold at our check-in/restaurant where you could get (expensive) coffee and basic meals. Grab a few groceries,water, and beer while you are in town. It isn't terribly far to walk, but ackward carrying stuff back. Walking to town gives you something to do if you want, and there are a number of restaurants to choose from there, not to mention shopping. My friend LOVED shopping.

There are only a few rental units, with the parking lot used primarilly for RV Campers as a rule. None there while we were there, so nice and quiet as we shared our bit of sand and shade with our fellow travellers. We had shade from a few leaf covered umbrellas, as well as a few trees. The water was clear and beautiful. Would have loved to stay longer. We had a great time and met some lovely people. I would really love to return.

Room Tip: We had a room on the gravel parking lot. There was another room above. The others were closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AcamayaReef, Owner at Acamaya Reef, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your review! This helps us improve our service, we hope we can have you back in the future and fulfill all your needs! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Acamaya Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acamaya Reef

Address: Carretera Cancun-Tulum, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Description: Welcome to “Acamaya Reef Cabañas & Beach Club” in Puerto Morelos, a unique Hotel on the beach with cabanas in the Caribbean Sea with its own style, simple, charming and comfortable and above all let’s not forget that we are an Eco-hotel, trying to improve in recycling and other activities to help the world to be a better place.We are located in the middle of the Puerto Morelos National Marine Park with the Second Largest Reef in the World right in front of our little cabanas, making it an even more special place to stay. You can go on a Snorkeling Tour right from the hotel and enjoy the fantastic coral formations where you will see hundreds of multi-colored fishes.We are not a five star resort; we are only a Puerto Morelos Eco-hotel on the Beach! with cabanas But we have all of the needed services like Massages right on the beach, Restaurant and Bar Service, Kayaks and Bike rentals, free parking lot, free wireless Internet and we also have the Concierge service for anything else you may need. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Acamaya Reef reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acamaya Reef Hotel Puerto Morelos
Acamaya Reef Puerto Morelos
Acamaya Reef Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acamaya Reef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.