We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The kids can play while you eat!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Pesquero

El Pesquero
Av Rafael Melgar (Light House St) #4C SM. 2 | Located 50m to the Left of the Main Dock, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
+52 998 206 9129
Improve this listing
Price range: $5 - $14
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Takeout, Late Night
Description: We are a tipical local seafood restaurant, worried about our friends satisfaction, thats why we only use the best quality products and ingredients. We offer a good variety of food: guacamole, shrimp quesadillas, fish fillet, ceviches and coctails, shrimps, lobster, conch and some house specialities. We also offer some drinks and coctails like margaritas, pina colada, daiquiris, cazuela with tequila, margachela (margarita with a beer), beers, sodas, fresh waters and some spirits and liquors.
Durango
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The kids can play while you eat!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

We ordered fish tacos, guacamole, french fries, and fish cooked with garlic. All was tasty and they offered us some complimentary local flavors including jicama and a squash seed paste that was actually quite good. While the food was good, what brought us back for three repeat visits was the fact that we could eat an entire meal and sit to have leisurely conversations while our 5 year old played right next to us on the sand playground inside the restaurant. That was such a treat and I highly recommend a visit for any parent of children ages 3-6.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    40
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Best ceviche in PM, crunchy jicama, sand floor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

I was determined to have ceviche camaron every day for a week in Puerto Morelos. My favorite was at El Pesquero: chilled, generous with the cilantro & red onion, and fresh-from-the-Gulf shrimp. Large portion.

El Pesquero features a sand floor under a sturdy palapa, casual tables, attentive service. The complimentary jicama was icy-cold and perfectly crunchy. My wife's garlic shrimps were large, but too buttery. Good prices.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Kansas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Place to Eat!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The service and the food is great, we ate here about 4-5 times for dinner. Philippi treated us like family and with how good the food and drinks were, we kept coming back. My husband and father-in-law had lobster each time and the funny part is that my husband doesn't like lobster!! Others enjoyed the shrimp, shrimp burritos and garlic, buttered fish!!!! The margaritas are small but powerful ;) and probably one of the best I've had. This is a definite must if you want good seafood!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Make sure they are open”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We came to this restaurant several years ago and it was very good and we liked the casual atmosphere. This trip we went 3 different times and they were always closed for one reason or another so my advice is go there for lunch early on in your trip and see what their hours are.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

We visited twice and sampled a number of plates, all quite good. Enjoyed the seafood mixiote, the Mayan fillet (fish and vegetables) and the seafood soup.

Great service and reasonable prices..

They have a playscape for the kids.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pesquero also viewed

Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Pesquero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pesquero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.