We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5th time to Mexico, 4th time at this hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 307 | Chetumal–Puerto Juárez, Benito Juárez, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“5th time to Mexico, 4th time at this hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This year was our 4th visit to Dreams and it was as good this time as it has been the other 3. I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone that wants to go to Mexico.

The food is fab, so is the beech, service and cleanliness of the rooms.

If you're looking to recharge your batteries and do nothing but lounge around the pool and have your drinks brought to you whilst being supplied with great food, then this is your hotel

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaDRERC, General Manager's Assistant at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor User,

Greetings from sunny Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa!

Thank you for taking the time and the effort to write about your recent stay at our Resort, you are indeed very thoughtful.

It´s a pleasure for us to hear that your trip went out as you expected it and that you had a pleasant stay for the fourth time.

We appreciate your recommendations and value your patronage.
Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your amazing review and we are certainly looking forward to have you back very soon. Make sure to advise the next time you are coming in order that we can indulge you as deserve

We are looking forward to have you as guests again.

Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,951
    916
    327
    129
    98
See reviews for
1,563
1,118
17
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,025)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Hotel itself was very clean, and the food was excellent. The infinity pool and hot tub were amazing. Food service time at dinner was unbearable. It smelled of raw sewage almost everywhere in the resort; nauseating. The sports and activities are a joke. Resort itself was super small. Would not return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaDRERC, General Manager's Assistant at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor user

We send you warm greetings from Puerto Morelos!

We want to use these lines to thank you for your comments on this website.
we are happy to read that your impression of our hotel was good in the cleanliness and rooms and that you enjoy the food and drinks however we are taking your feedback about dinner time and we are sending your information to our Executive Chef for consideration at the meeting with his team and enforcement.

In regards of the entertainment and activities let me explain that we are sending your comments to our entertainment Director in order fr them to keep changing and looking for new ways and activities to entertain people and mainly for them to look for activities for all likes.

We are sorry about the smell that sometimes the mangrove around us dismisses, allow me to explain that this was due to the heavy rains we had in recent weeks and it is not a normal event.

We would like to thank you again and we look forward to your visit at one of our properties in the Caribbean or Pacific

Regards
General Manager's Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

The hotel was everything we thought it would be and more very friendly staff and very good night time entertainment.

The shows at night were very good and the hotel must have invested a lot of money into these shows. Caribbean night was excellent and so was the Mexican night and the Brazilian show along with many other shows. Desires bar was good but this could have been better advertised to encourage more guests to attend. All the drink were mainly branded sprits and the cocktails were amazing. The rooms are really clean and nice and we upgraded to a preferred room with a pool and ocean view and a jacuzzi on the balcony and one in the room.

My only complaint would be the decking is very dangerous and you can slip very easily when its wet and there are areas of this decking that need to be replaced.

My son of 11 years old didn't enjoy the explores club as they made him do colouring in and arts and crafts which were unsuitable for his age group. He preferred the explores club at Now Jade which we stayed at last year.
Also there were a lot of wasps and flys at the main pool bar which really needed to be resolved and the drinks taken down and all the shelves cleaned. I also requested my room to be decorated for my husbands 40th birthday which after 5 requests never happened so that was a bit of a disappointment.

Other than that the hotel is very family friendly with good food and entertainment and I would definitely visit the dreams again. It really is unlimited luxury and if they could resolve the minor issues it really would be a perfect resort.

Nottingham United Kingdom

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaDRERC, General Manager's Assistant at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor User,

Greetings from sunny Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa!

Thank you for taking the time and the effort to write about your recent stay at our Resort, you are indeed very thoughtful.

It´s a pleasure for us to hear that your trip went out as you expected it and that you had a pleasant stay

It is awesome to read how much you enjoyed the upgraded facilities and amenities that you received for the preferred room category and we are sure that your information will help other future guests on their decision of choosing this perks on their future visit.

We are really sorry for the inconveniences that you had and make sure we are sending all the information to the proper areas in order for them to make sure this won't happen again

Also I´m sending your comments to our entertainment staff at the explorer in order for them to look into more options for children age 11 as your soon.

We sincerely appreciate your note expressing your satisfaction with the quality of service you received as a guest at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

We value your patronage and thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your amazing review

Warm regards!

Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgar
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

First time in cancun dreams was wonderful the staff was incredible. the French restaurant was amazing buffet could do without. Preferred club is a must anyone who says different either didn't have it or didn't use it.only negative I would say was the trying to sell you into there vacation club and the turn down service was quite late we were in bed a couple of times before they showed up. It will be a yearly trip for me and my wife

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaDRERC, General Manager's Assistant at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor User,

Greetings from sunny Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa!

Thank you for taking the time and the effort to write about your recent stay at our Resort, you are indeed very thoughtful.

Rest assured that we will share your note with our dedicated staff for them to know that you have recognized their efforts.

Thank you for your notes expressing your satisfaction towards our menu at the french restaurant and the buffet!

Once again we thank you and we are looking forward to have you as guests again!

Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We visited with our 3 yr old daughter from 21 Sept to 5 Oct 2013 & had a truly memorable holiday. We were a little concerned as we'd read some poor food reviews over the previous months & we went armed with a medicine cabinet to cover all eventualities & thankfully we didn't need it.

From the moment we arrived at Cancun airport everything went smoothly. Although we travelled with Virgin, we opted for a private transfer as we didn't want to be hanging around for the coach with a 3 yr old after a long flight & I'm glad we did as we got to the hotel 2 hrs before other passengers on the coach. We used USA Transfers (www.entertainment-plus.net) & I can definitely recommend this company.

On arrival we waited around 10 mins to check in & we were very pleased with our room (1518) & it was exactly as requested, top floor, view of the ocean & pool with sun on the balcony in the afternoon, away from the evening entertainment noise in the lobby area. The extra bed wasn't in the room when we arrived, but this was quickly resolved when we went for dinner.The room was clean & yes as many people have commented the bathroom is open behind the sleeping area, but for us wasn't an issue. The only negative is that the drawer / shelf space was very limited for 3 people staying for 2 weeks. Very impressed with the room air conditioning as it was very quiet & efficient. It did however break down once whilst we were there & we understand the whole hotel was down, but luckily it was working again by going to bed time! I often find air con can give me a cough or sore throat, especially on cruise ships as it can be so fierce, but here is was just a gentle breeze & was easily maintained to our rooms individual thermostat temperature.

We ate in all the restaurants except the Bordeaux as that one didn't take children & did not have one bad meal the whole holiday. Our favourites were the Japanese, Sea Grill & Portofino. You need to pre-book for the show table at the Japanese & can do this at 5pm, but would suggest queuing from 4.30pm if you want an early table at 6.30/7pm. The sushi & show cooking were fantastic & we thoroughly enjoyed the Chateaubriand in particular at the Sea Grill. We didn't have dinner at the World Cafe buffet, only breakfast & the occasional lunch, but the range & quality of food on offer was outstanding. This was our first time to Mexico & we were pleasantly surprised to see the buffet was indoors, so no risk of birds flying over the food as with many Caribbean resorts we've visited. Food was being constantly replenished & not even the most picky of eaters could go hungry. All the restaurants offer a variety of childrens meals such as pasta, which our daughter ate occasionally, but mostly she ate off the standard menu & really developed a liking for guacamole & nachos!

The cafe is a really nice place to stop off for those special treats & did great cookies, smoothies & lattes!

The whole resort is spotless & staff work tirelessly every day maintaining the property to a high standard. While on the subject of cleanliness, we did have concerns over the ice, but we noted that all ice was brought in in bags, so no issue there & we always had bottled water or the water provided at meal times was filtered & again no issues there. None of us experienced any tummy issues whatsoever the whole holiday. We even noticed the staff disposing of the uneaten nuts from the lobby area & replacing with fresh ones, which was nice to see.

The staff in general were so friendly & couldn't do enough for you. They were always there when you needed them & the waiters/esses round the pool always knew what drinks we wanted to order & even replaced drinks that had got warm whilst we were swimming in the pool without us asking. At 2.15pm every day the chefs came out to the pool area with canapes & our daughter loved this & always jumped out of the pool for her fruit skewer.

The pool entertainment staff were excellent & Emir in particular was really good with our daughter making her balloons. One day he made her an Octopus which was a real hit & she enjoyed swimming in the pool with Octo all afternoon. In fact all the staff must be trained on balloon making, as at breakfast & lunch our daughter always got a balloon, Lydia in particular always had a smile & a balloon for her. Our poor room maid as our bedroom was always full of balloons! There are too many names to mention, but without exception all of the staff are a real credit to the hotel. Yes we tipped & that's not because we felt pressured into doing so, but because we wanted to reward the staff for helping to give us such a memorable holiday.

Having never used a hotel kids club before, we were a little dubious as to what it would be like & after checking it out on the first morning & talking to the staff we felt happy enough to give it a try. You get a list of activities each evening & our daughter would choose which one she wanted to attend. The majority were for slightly older children I'd say, but still plenty for her to get involved in if she wanted to like, handcrafts, face paining, rock climbing, pinata, football, chef & pizza making etc. She was happy to go for an hour or 2 a day & often asked to go to kids club. It was great to get her out of the sun for a while too! We felt comfortable with her going there & you get given a pager to take so they can contact you if there are any problems. It's a very safe area & you can choose whether you want your child to attend any of the activities outside of the club. I watched my daughter doing the Pinata round the pool unnoticed & watched the staff interaction & care for the children & was very happy with the way they dealt with them & also from a security aspect as well.

My husband went to the archery, rifle shooting & baseball a few afternoons which he enjoyed & during the first week I went to the 8am gym sessions with Drew. The hotel brings in a new trainer each week & Drew was absolutely brilliant. He was very experienced, full of advice & pushed us as far as we wanted to go & I certainly felt the benefits! The 2nd week however, I was really disappointed with the Yoga as the first time I went on the Weds, I was the only one attending & I know the instructor hadn't had any other people earlier on in the week either. She wasn't very enthusiastic & I felt like I wasn't really wanted there, so didn't bother going back.

I think due to the time of year there wasn't a problem with seating round the pool. Yes some people still leave towels out early & don't come to the chairs until later on which is annoying, but as we were always at the pool early it wasn't a problem. We would usually take our towels away at lunchtime & when going back an hour or so later with fresh towels, there was always plenty of room to find a new spot. We particularly liked the cabanas with the big spongy mattresses - very comfortable. There's also plenty of seating & cabanas on the beach. As other people have mentioned there is a little seaweed on the beach, but it doesn't affect the building of sandcastles & the sea was very warm. I guess if you are a keen snorkeller you wouldn't come here as the sea is cloudy compared to Cancun.

Due to the heat & having a 3 yr old, we decided not to do any trips as this hotel is a long way from the main tourist attractions, but we did go on a catamaran for the day with 3 other families we'd met at the hotel. It was brilliant to have our own private boat & crew & they even stopped in a really shallow area so the children could snorkel safely. This was booked through Amstar at reception. There is also a bus going to Cancun Mon, Weds & Fri mornings for shopping trips & to Playa del Carmen Mon to Fri in the afternoons - $US17pp.

We spoke to many people while there & lots commented this was a much smaller resort than some of the other ones they'd visited elsewhere in Mexico. They liked this as it meant they got to know the staff a little better & also you could make more friends as you regularly kept seeing the same people round the pool or at dinner.

Our daughter swam in the Entertianment pool the most as it was deep enough for her to be able to practice swimming properly without touching the floor & there were 3 or 4 steps most of the way round which made it a fun area to play. She didn't really go to the kids pool very often as it was so shallow & mostly for babies. The infinity pool was lovely & although our daughter loved going to the swim up bar to order her own smoothies, I have to say I agree with many of the other comments that this should be a child free pool. One suggestion I do have is that perhaps there should be a supply of floats, buckets, spades etc for children to use as we hadn't brought any with us thinking there would be some already there. You could buy some of course at an extortionate price in the hotel gift shop. Whatever you do, don't run out of sunscreen as we spoke to a number of people who had to buy some in the shop & paid well over the odds. Also, if you are going on any boat trips or excursions where you go in the water like the eco parks, you will need biodegradable sunscreen & they do check. For a small bottle it was $US20.

Also went armed with loads of mosquito repellent & a plug in for the room & even though I am normally bitten a lot, I only had 1 or 2 small bites.

Throughout our whole holiday, we only really have one negative comment & that is due to our daughter cutting 3 of her toes on the steps of the infinity pool. Both my husband & I were stood right next to her & as she walked up the steps, she suddenly started screaming. We did manage to find the lifeguard with the first aid equipment after a few minutes & he did a good job cleaning up her foot & bandaging it. On closer inspection of the steps by the Sea Grill, there were numerous tiles loose or with sharp edges. Whilst I understand with thousands of tiles round all the pools it's impossible to keep eveything 100% all the time & we did see a man every day replacing & manitaining the pools. My issue is more the fact that although we completed an accident report & my husband went to inform reception what had happened, we didn't even receive a phone call to ask how our daughter was. The accident happened early in the morning & it meant she couldn't swim all that day, which was a real disappointment to her. By the next day she was so keen to get back in the water, we let her, but it did take a while of coaxing as her foot really stung. Thankfully it wasn't a serious injury & I know these things happen, but it would have been nice for a member of the management team to have followed up on this.

In terms of the weather, we were expecting more rain at this time of year, but we only had one afternoon & one morning of rain. The rest of the time was hot & sunny. I can see how you'd be disappointed if the weather was poor, but if you have children, the Explorers Club will keep them happily entertained & there's lots going on in the Lobby area if you want to take part, or go to the gym, spa, or as we did watched a pay to view film in the room. By the time the film had finished, it had stopped raining & we went to the pool!

Overall a fantastic resort & we would definitely recommend it to our friends. One family we met whilst there are already booking for next year.

Room Tip: High floor, away from lobby & entertainment noise in the evenings. Plunge pool rooms looked grea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaDRERC, General Manager's Assistant at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor User,

Greetings from sunny Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa!

Thank you for taking the time and the effort to write about your recent stay at our Resort, you are indeed very thoughtful.

It´s a pleasure for us to hear that your rooms was as you expected and that you loved your afternoon sun.

As you mentioned we had a problem with the AC due a problem with the external provider but certainly all our maintenance team rapidly started working with the company in order to have it ready for bed time, We appreciate your understanding and patience.

Thank you for your recommendations and value your patronage. Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your amazing review

We are looking forward to have you as guests again!

Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We spent a week here from 14th sept.
We had so many plans for what to do in Mexico.
This resort spoiled us so much, we stayed in the resort and had the most relaxing week.
The staff where so friendly and helpful, and where always at hand to assist.
All the restuarants that we went to where beautiful. It is so hard to say which was our favorite, but top three are french, asian and italian. Everyone here reccommended the world cafe for breakfast. But as I said we relaxed, we had room service every morning, and it was devine.
There was rain when we where there at the start of the week. But coming from Ireland any rain that is warm and dries within 15 minutes is cool with me. And when the sunn was shining it was heaven.
The entertainment team where friendly, and when they did try to involve us, and we didnt want to, there was no pressure. I appreciated that.
Finally the Spa. There is not enough words. The treatments where brilliant. My only complaint, I couldnt decide which to do, I wanted them all. And the hydrotherapy pool was excellent. So relaxing and refreshing at the same time.
Thankyou Dreams Riveira. We didnt want to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaDRERC, General Manager's Assistant at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor User,

Greetings from Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa!

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at our Resort.

We appreciate your kind review and your notes about our dedicated staff, the quality of our restaurants and the variaety of treatments at the spa.

Allow me to mention so you can consider for you future visit at our Resort or any other resort that we have a nice package called spoil yourself and repeat that will allow you to have many treatments for a very good price.In case you are looking for a complete week of relaxation could be a good option!

Thank you again for your amazing review and we are looking forward to have you as guests again!

Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Wow. I could end my review with that one little word, but I'll continue.

First off, trip from Cancun Int Airport is quick, in fact if were not for the federal road on the way in that is in shambles it would've been 10-15 minutes faster. The Road in is indeed "bumpy" to say the least, I thought it was hilarious watching the small cars trying to get through. Get over it people, its a federal road and prone to washouts, what can the resort do about it?

Once we arrived we were immediately ushered to the preferred lounge for check in and offered a cool towel and champagne. Check in was fairly quick and efficient and our bell-boy was awesome! Once in the room the Mrs and I did our ooooo's and aaahhh's (there were lots of them to be had throughout the week) and stepped out to the balcony overlooking the infinity pool/wedding arch thingy and the ocean. What a sight to behold. Amazing room to say the least. Yes if you are a private bathroom goer you may have a slight issue, we just stepped onto the deck for each other, it really isn't that bad. During our stay we noticed that the A/C in the room shuts off if you leave the patio door open.. as it should. With the door closed it is quite acceptable and stays quite cool. There was plenty of storage for our things as well. The cleaning staff was superb and the dude filling the bar fridges (big dude, can't remember his name unfortunately) was fantastic. Always asking you if you had any special requests if he happened to see you. The turn down service is a nice touch as well and wasn't missed one day. Overall the rooms are fantastic!

The restaurants; wow, what can I say. I love my food and not once was I disapointed with any of the restaurants. Our meal on the beach for our anniversary on the other hand... but I'll get to that later. We ate at all restaurants during our stay except for the Mexican one funny enough. The wait staff are eager to please and very attentive. It's amazing how receptive they all were to a "thank-you" or "gracias" once in a while. I can't tell you the number of people we saw that seemed to have left their manners at home and ordered them around like they were the help, it was outright disgusting in some cases. Anything we asked for we got it with no hesitations. They do try and push the wine list, but a simple No thank-you was enough. We did order two bottles of wine during our stay but didn't like either of them. Once again, our fault, not the resorts. Two huge shout-outs are due here. One to Gabriel in the Japanese restaurant for having the patience to put up with our entire group on our last night ordering dish after dish, you were awesome! And a second huge one to Orlando in the seafood restaurant by the infinity pool who take great care of me and the Mrs everyday at lunch and even once made us a special shrimp cocktail without us even asking. It was wonderful and really cemented how awesome the staff here really is. Nice work everyone!

The bars; once again, staff was awesome! They worked tirelessly to make sure everyone had a drink in their hands as often as they wanted one and that includes the wait staff around the pools. We drank mostly at the infinity pool swim up bar because it was just a great excuse to go into the water and cool down. The boys at that bar worked their tails off taking care of everyone and when they weren't slinging drinks they were cleaning/restocking like nobody's business. Once again shout outs to Daniel, Clever (yes that's his real name) and most of Miguel. On our first full day there we experienced the only rain we had for the entire trip for all of 20 minutes. We had met some wonderful folks from Ireland and Airdrie (very close to home) and were having a blast in the pool. No one wanted to leave but the boys at the bar were gone because of the rain. Good 'ol Miguel kept running rounds of drinks from the upper bar down to us in the rain like the hero that he is. Laughing and smiling the whole time. I'm not sure if he was just thinking we had lost our minds or not but his smile was genuine the entire time although he had to keep cleaning his glasses because of the rain. Him and Clever really made our vacation wonderful! The wait staff around the pools were the same, everything you wanted or needed, they got it for you as fast as they could. Sometimes a little slow as we were there during a very hot week and they were incredibly busy so it was definitely not their fault, their trays were always full. My biggest thanks and shout-out goes to Santiago, waiter by the infinity pool. This gentleman single-handedly made my wife's and mine vacation one to remember and ensured that we will be returning the Dreams Riviera on our next visit to Mexico. Take care of those two girls Santiago, Jodie and I miss you already! We discovered the swing bar on the beach on our last day, wish we would've discovered it sooner. Once again the guys down there worked hard as they had to serve us and a lot of the wait staff... never faltered! Jose and Antonio (Tony), you guys were over the top fun! We spent quite a few evenings in the lobby bar and the drinks were always served quickly by the girls as well. Usually we were there later and wiped out so we weren't there very late. One small negative about the lobby bar... its HOT! Not much they can do, but after dressing up for dinner and meeting our new-found friends for drinks, most of us would go back to the rooms to change back into shorts, not a lot of airflow in there. But fun all the same. Hey, its Mexico, what do you expect if it isn't the heat? We did go to the "disco" on our last night with all the fine people we had met during our stay and had a blast once again. There were also two wedding parties that ended up in there that night as well. One of the parties was awesome and the other complained about everything, surprise surprise as you can probably tell by the recent negative reviews.We drank lots, danced with each other and played some pool. Overall a fantastic night!

During our week stay we were NEVER treated rudely like some folks have recently stated that they were, we were treated like royalty, sometimes embarrassingly so. If you are afraid to book this resort DON'T BE! A vacation is as much fun as you make it. Treat the staff with respect and they will bend over backwards for you. Treat them rudely and I'm afraid your time there may just be run of the mill... but then what more can you expect? Oh, one last thing about the staff... TIP THESE PEOPLE! They deserve every cent you give them and trust me, they recognize it and appreciate it. There's not much you can do to show your thanks towards these folks aside from that so just do it!

Now, the one negative from the entire stay. On our anniversary dinner we decided to make it special and purchased a dinner on the beach. There are different packages available and I think my wife and I both saw the word lobster and said "We'll take that one!" without actually looking at the menu. It was a wonderful setting on the beach, breezy evening and as romantic an evening as you could ever hope for. The problem was the food.. We purchased the Gold Package and it was not cheap by any stretch but the food was way above our tastes. The bottle of wine we purchased as well was horrible so it put a big damper on the evening. The funny thing is that this again was not the resorts fault. We did not inspect the menu close enough and were served exactly what we had ordered with the gold package. The Hostess that takes care of these evenings was extremely apologetic but again it was not her fault. I think just the surreal environment was worth it anyways. There aren't many people that can say they have done that for their anniversary so really its a small complaint on our part.

We never used the spa so can't comment on it.

In closing, we will return to Dreams Riviera, hopefully early next year. We made so many new friends who also made it a vacation that will never be forgotten that I really hope we can all meet there again one day.

Room Tip: Preferred club all the way! The upper floor rooms have awesome views, the lower floor has the plunge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GerenciaDRERC, General Manager's Assistant at Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear Trip Advisor User,

Greetings from sunny Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa!

Thank you for taking the time and the effort to write about your recent stay at our Resort, you are indeed very thoughtful.

It´s a pleasure for us to hear that your trip went out as you expected it and that you had a pleasant stay

Rest assured that we will share your note with our dedicated staff for them to know that you have recognized their efforts.

Your nice comments encourage all of us to work with passion every day

It is awesome to read how much you enjoyed the facilities and amenities that you received and we are sure that your information will help other future guests on their decision of choosing us

We have already sent your kind review to the respective managers so that they know that you have recognized their efforts.

We appreciate your recommendations,we value your patronage and thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your amazing review

We are definitely looking forward to have you as guests again early next year, please let us know and we will be more than glad to indulge you as deserve!

Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal 307 | Chetumal–Puerto Juárez, Benito Juárez, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Dreams Riviera Cancun takes its personality from its incredible location — just 30 minutes from the "hot" excitement of Cancun yet right on the "cool" Caribbean close to Playa del Carmen and many other of the Mayan Riviera’s most sought after sights. Most importantly, it is an enchanting wonderland where families, couples, singles and friends enjoy all the pleasures and privileges of Unlimited-Luxury® where everything is included. Your whole being will relax immediately, surrounded by our large sun-dappled swimming pools and a sugar white sand beach. To this, add lush tropical gardens and of course, our fabulous palm-filled beach. Your day and evening activities range from exciting to purely relaxing — with plenty to do for everyone including endless land and water activities, a world-class Dreams Spa by Pevonia and fitness center, nearby golf and much more. "Home" features the uniquely shaped octagonal room or suite, beautifully appointed with a private balcony, marble floors and full marble bath area with Jacuzzi tub and dozens of other luxury amenities and conveniences that anticipate your desires and fulfill them instantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort And Spa
Dreams Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.