We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good I am going back in May” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 307 | Chetumal–Puerto Juárez, Benito Juárez, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings up 40%
Ranked #7 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
GreenLeadersSilver level
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“So good I am going back in May”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

This was my first attempt at an all inclusive resort and I was not dissapointed. The accomodation was excellent - great view of sea, food you could not fault and the staff would do absolutely anything for you. Staff at Sugar Reef bar very friendly and knew within 2 days what drinks we liked (soft drinks !!) Entertainment was very good - not what I expected at all. Did envy the kids as they seems to have so much fun. Enjoyed so much that we didnt actually venture out of the resort apart from a walk along the beach. Going back in May this year and hope service is just the same!!

Room Tip: we were in 2000 suites on the top floor - all rooms seem to have a sea view - bonus for ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,956
    919
    328
    129
    98
See reviews for
1,567
1,120
17
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,028)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week long trip to Dreams. We had a wonderful time. The resort was beautiful. The lobby is stunning and a great place to hang out. The service was always great in all the restaurants. Sometimes slower at the bars when we went up for counter service but nothing to really complain about. We had amazing food at all the restaurants...the only one we didn't get to was El Patio. The Buffet we only did for breakfast and it was fine. We enjoyed the continental breakfast in the Preferred Club a couple of times and went to Oceana one morning as well. Our favorites were Portofino and Himitsu...we returned to Himitsu a second time we enjoyed it so much. Our very best service was Valentines Day in Protofino - Jorge was amazing! We did a romantic dinner poolside one night for our anniversary and it was good but I don't think we would do it again. The restaurants are just as good or better and included! Lunch at Seaside or Oceana were both great. We spent most of our time on the beach and always were able to find a chair with a palapa. We went in the infinity pool a couple of times...it was cold but once you got in it was fine. Walking the beach to Puerto Morelos was nice...we did it twice. We took part in the bike ride one morning and the tequila tasting...both well done by the resort. We booked massages in the spa the first day there and they were great. The spa is lovely and we enjoyed the water circuit...too bad the massages are so high priced. The room was lovely and always clean. We enjoyed room service breakfast once on our balcony but it was very sunny in the mornings and a little too warm. Great in the afternoons though. The entertainment each night was fun...good dancing and music. We took part in the Sip, Savour & See promotion on the Dreams website. This allows you to book dinner at a partner Dreams resort. We went down to Dreams Tulum for supper. It was a bit of a mess getting in...they did not seem to know who we were and why we were there at first but it eventually got cleared up and then they were very welcoming. We chose Portofino and were very disappointed. It was the one time all week we had bad service and it was really bad. Unbelievably slow. By the time my chicken came out the plate was boiling hot and the chicken was like rubber...it had obviously sat under the heat lamps for ages. Disappointing. However Dreams Tulum was beautiful...completely different from Riviera Cancun...much bigger and more spread out. We would definitely give it a try. Overall we loved Dreams Riveria Cancun and would absolutely recommend it and return ourselves!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is a great resort for a family break! We have stayed with our kids at several all-inclusive resorts and this is one of the best resorts we have been to.

Food-wise there is loads of variety; the meals were really tasty and the presentation was always lovely. Room service was a really nice option too. Daily there would be a parade of chefs from the kitchens who would circulate the pool with plates of appetizers--these were always fun little treats in the middle of the day. Also every day, food stations were set up on the large deck area between pools: one day they were serving hot tacos, the next it was paella, the list goes on…

We stayed in a Master Suite which was an amazing room! It has plenty of space and an amazing view of the ocean. Best yet, the doors between the bedroom and the rest of the room slid closed, so we all had a feeling of having a private sleeping space.

I save the best for last--the staff! The staff is amazing, friendly and super accommodating! I have to throw in an extra special kudos to the bartenders at the Rendezvous Lounge--we enjoyed many an evening hanging out with Jose, Rafael and Miguel!

With so many options available to families, the selection can sometimes be a bit overwhelming, but I can truly say that we don’t have a single regret for choosing to stay at Dreams Riviera Maya!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is definitely a family resort! There were kids everywhere so this resort would be ideal for families but not so much for couples. The walls are paper thin so there isn't much left to the imagination. The food and drinks tasted very good but we both came down with montezumas revenge. It's a very beautiful clean resort with friendly staff but we would not return.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We spent four days at this resort and it was great! The staff was friendly and very helpful and the hotel was just amazing. Comfortable rooms with amazing views. The food, which was everywhere and in abundance, was very good. I really enjoyed the nightly entertainment-always differnt and exciting. But, my most favorite time was spent in the Spa. For those who want to take some "me" time out during your vacation, treat yourself to one of the spa treatments and just relax. The atmosphere is soothing and peaceful, the staff is responsive to your needs and take excellent care of you-would recommend to anyone who needs to get the stress worked out of their muscles! All in all, this is an absolutely wonderful place to vacation!

Room Tip: The higher floors get the better ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Small niggling problems - turned a five star experience into a four. The system of stocking your room is strange and the house keeping do not notify when mini bar refills and toiletries are required. Take 20 minutes when you notify them to fulfil the request.
Also the French restaurant was a very cold room temperature.
The staff whilst attentive can be slow to react and will try to fob you off rather than give you what you ask for when serving wine - ask for a Sauvignon Blanc and expect a Chardonnay - irritating when you are kept waiting in the first place.

A point worth noting and a big plus is the hotel supply factor 15 suntan lotion as a toiletries - useful when travelling with hand luggage only

Room Tip: Bring small bills for tips as they have no facilities for issuing them at the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.W. Ontario
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Ok - As mentioned by others THIS IS A FAMILY RESORT! If you and your spouse or significant other want to get away without kids go to an Adults ONLY! Please! Do we need to say more??? Is everyone clear!!! Anyway, we went to Dreams Tulum 2 years ago and LOVED it so we were hoping this would be even better which may have set the bar too high...All in all we had a great time but comparing the 2 we would have to say the other was better. Coco Cafe at Tulum was beyond great, I did feel a little like a sardine at the pool here but not at Tulum, I prefer a Junior Suite like the room at Tulum but the rooms were decorated well here at Riviera Cancun (R.C.), however it was not ideal for a family. Getting up in the middle of the night and not turning on the light was almost dangerous as the glass door could have hit one of use in the middle of the face. Our water temp was ridicilous and last 3 days was only cold! The rooms have little insulation and you can hear lots - thank god we didn't hear any newlyweds if you get my drift! I thought the food was ok and that is really being generous. I woke up at 5am the first two days starving after eating at the French and Mexican. Funny, because at Tulum every meal was great and the Mexican was our fav. On our arrival the check in was ok and we got a good room but when we went for lunch at the Oceana the nachos were horrendous! Seriously, runny nachos? Have you ever heard of such a thing? I thought OMG don't make this the tone of what's to come!!! Breakfast there was good. The French was good and the Mexican was ok. We ate at the Japanese twice and both times we all enjoyed it. The buffets around the pool - pass on those. But we did eat there one night since my daugther wanted to see the show. The staff is always asking to see if you would like a drick around the pool. usualluy around 2:30 the chefs would come around with som appetizers. Nice tough. The Barefoot Grill is really good however watch for the Seagulls as I fell victim to some stealing my pizza as I walked over the pool bridge! Entertainment is really quite good. The Activity/Entertainment Staff is really awesome. Probably the best I've ever dealt with. My daughter loved participating in the activities around the pool and they made her feel special especially Eric. They really helped to make her vacation memorable and she cried when we left. Bungee was great, Explorers was good, spa okay. Beach did have more seaweed than I have been used to. Could walk for long periods of time without feeling unsafe. It really is a great hotel but when you go in with expections sometimes they are hard to live up to. I'm sure most people will have a great time but if I ever want to go back I'd go back to Tulum.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal 307 | Chetumal–Puerto Juárez, Benito Juárez, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Dreams Riviera Cancun takes its personality from its incredible location — just 30 minutes from the "hot" excitement of Cancun yet right on the "cool" Caribbean close to Playa del Carmen and many other of the Mayan Riviera’s most sought after sights. Most importantly, it is an enchanting wonderland where families, couples, singles and friends enjoy all the pleasures and privileges of Unlimited-Luxury® where everything is included. Your whole being will relax immediately, surrounded by our large sun-dappled swimming pools and a sugar white sand beach. To this, add lush tropical gardens and of course, our fabulous palm-filled beach. Your day and evening activities range from exciting to purely relaxing — with plenty to do for everyone including endless land and water activities, a world-class Dreams Spa by Pevonia and fitness center, nearby golf and much more. "Home" features the uniquely shaped octagonal room or suite, beautifully appointed with a private balcony, marble floors and full marble bath area with Jacuzzi tub and dozens of other luxury amenities and conveniences that anticipate your desires and fulfill them instantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort And Spa
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.