We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 307 | Chetumal–Puerto Juárez, Benito Juárez, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Had a great time! All inclusive and lots to do. We went with a large group and had a lot to do for everyone. If you drink on the beach, look for Carlos. I did not give 5 stars because the food was average.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that gets sun during the day so the pool on your balcony is warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,649
    816
    296
    117
    90
See reviews for
1,363
996
15
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (869)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission, Canada
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Dreams has a golf deal with the grand coral resort(30min taxis ride) that is very good. $85 from7am till 1pm and $50 after 1. Taxis costs are $36 each way(1-4 persons).Golf and taxis can be booked at the hotel and you bring you voucher to the course and pay there. We booked 4 times after 1 but always showed up before 1230 and got on almost at once. Played in 4hrs(it is dark at545)There are rentals at $45(pings) beverage cart(us prices) and nice on course washrooms.Bring your ball retriever as there is lots of water on the course. We brought our own clubs on westjet airlines for $23each way. Good course with nice people running it. i

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

I just wanted to write a quick review for all those potential DRC brides out there still trying to make the decision on if to hold your even at this resort or not. Stop looking for any other resort chain, this hotel was the most perfect place for my wedding. I did the Love package and paid for the DJ who was just great, I would suggest paying for his services. I had a dance floor on the pool deck, and the ceremony was just a breeze. I brought all my own decorations and little touches and lorena set everything up for me. I never had to stress. Everything was perfect. All my guests had the best time. This resort is a crowd pleaser. The rooms are spectacular, top shelf booze in the swim up, and the restaurants are among the best most of my guests have seen at a resort. I had a crowd who loves high end and top shelf, and who have frequented many 5 star resorts under the sun, and this was ranked high for everyone. Just go and see. You wont regret it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at Dreams Riviera Feb 4th -10th this is a newer property and bigger than dreams Cancun. The hotel, Lobby, pools, beaches and resturaunts were great. We loved Pablo our pool side waiter who made us grasshoppers out of palm leaves. Eric the swing bartender was great also. I think the entertainment staff at Dreams Cancun was better that riviera and me being allegric to shellfish I had to miss out on a lot of amzing food choices at Dreams Rivieria.

This resort is a great place for families or couples, they balance both ends of the spectrum well and although I liked the more personilized service at Dreams Cancun I loved this property, and do understand it is bigger and tougher to provide the extra service as dreams cancun does.

Room Tip: Choose a room closer to the pool area it will be quiter and better views, plunge pool rooms probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

You will encounter Sewer Smells here! The large white tanks on the South side of the property (near the Spa), beside building 2, are full of the sewage from the Dreams resort. When walking near this area, especially downwind, you will gag from the overwhelming sewage smell. Also, you will smell sewer gas every time you go into the World Cafe. They have a plumbing problem in the World Cafe and it's allowing sewer gas to escape into the restaurant. It's mostly on the side away from the food service buffet but the smell was there every time we went into the World Cafe. Staff fumigating with masks on while customers ate and did not warn. What chemicals are they using? is it in the water system . Also strong smells every time you walkninto bathrooms in public areas due to deodorizers also fragrance in tissues.. Could cause allergies. Was sick the whole time there.

Room Tip: 1500 south facing ocean 5th floor jacuzzi on patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband & i just returned from a week at dreams :). The resort is so well kept .....they are constantly cleaning and restocking. The staff work so hard and are happy to please the guests. A few staff that made our stay memorable were Al (resident manager), Iran & Efren ( Mexican restaurant), Gamaliel, Estrinova (beach), Jose, Rosealba, Estrinova, Libador, Luz, Rafael, Victor & Gerardo. The restaurants were all very good....we didn't eat at the buffet. The Mexican restaurant is soo much funny... ask for Iran! Weather was beautiful the whole time..we spent most of our time on the beach. Top shelf liquor at all the bars....if you don't see it just ask. My only comment would be if you don't have kids you might want an adult only resort as there are lots of kids especially in the pools.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

My husband and I just took a four night babymoon to this resort, and it was incredible!! We didn't have to leave the resort for anything. They had plenty of restaurants, activities and entertainment to make us not want to leave the hotel AT ALL. Had I not been 6 months pregnant, we definitely would have left to do a few excursions, but we stayed around, got massages, swam in the pool and just relaxed. It was ideal. The food was delicious at all seven restaurants, the service was amazing and the room was wonderful. We stayed at one with a personal "dipping" pool, which was lovely on those hot days.

Also, the resort was both family friendly and couple oriented. While there were lots of kids there and plenty for them to do, it didn't get in the way if you wanted to have a "couples only" type of vacation that is more romantic. It was big enough where you had your own space, but small enough, where you got to know people and could enjoy the comraderie at the pool bar or pool activities.

I would definitely go back ....

Room Tip: If you can afford the little extra bit of money, go for the personal dipping pool, where you have yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal 307 | Chetumal–Puerto Juárez, Benito Juárez, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Dreams Riviera Cancun takes its personality from its incredible location — just 30 minutes from the "hot" excitement of Cancun yet right on the "cool" Caribbean close to Playa del Carmen and many other of the Mayan Riviera’s most sought after sights. Most importantly, it is an enchanting wonderland where families, couples, singles and friends enjoy all the pleasures and privileges of Unlimited-Luxury® where everything is included. Your whole being will relax immediately, surrounded by our large sun-dappled swimming pools and a sugar white sand beach. To this, add lush tropical gardens and of course, our fabulous palm-filled beach. Your day and evening activities range from exciting to purely relaxing — with plenty to do for everyone including endless land and water activities, a world-class Dreams Spa by Pevonia and fitness center, nearby golf and much more. "Home" features the uniquely shaped octagonal room or suite, beautifully appointed with a private balcony, marble floors and full marble bath area with Jacuzzi tub and dozens of other luxury amenities and conveniences that anticipate your desires and fulfill them instantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort And Spa
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.