We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch resort with great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Federal 307 | Chetumal–Puerto Juárez, Benito Juárez, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Toronto
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Top notch resort with great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Went to the Riviera Cancun on Jan 13 for a week's worth of meetings - not a bad place to be!
Our meetings were in the conference facilities which were fine, except that the AC was cranked and many of my colleagues had to wear sweaters.
All of the restaurants had good food, the rooms were spacious and the staff was all very friendly.
I took full advantage of the pool and beach side waiters - give a waiter $5 and in addition to drinks he will bring you some (excellent) chicken tacos from the beach grill.

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,039 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,695
    834
    299
    119
    92
See reviews for
1,387
1,015
15
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (897)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just returned from 2 weeks @ this amazing resort. Weather was great. I had room 1504..amazing view. Rooms are deluxe....could not ask for anything more comfortable than this accommodation. I rate the food @ all the restaurants 5star. The staff speak good english and are very personable. I loved the Bordeau, Japanese, Seaside and Oceana. The staff are amazing @ Oceana and Seaside Restaurant. Special mention David Floor Manager/Irais Escobar Head Waiter, Rene Server..all 3 of these staff @ Oceana Restaurant and they made my vacation more enjoyable..have never met staff so accommodating and friendly. Waiter @ Ocean area Evaristo made sure everyone sitting @ ocean was looked after..I commend him...very good service. I recommend the "preferred club"..staff Raphael/Hector and Rodrigo. ensure everything is perfect...any complaints are dealt with immediately. Would return this location with no hesitation...hopefully next winter. Thanks to all the staff that made me feel very comfortable!!
Thank you Oceana Staff & Seaside Grill. Food in both these resorts are 5+. Breakfast/Lunch and Dinner!!

Room Tip: Rooms 2nd floor to 5th floor have excellent ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nobleton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Travelled between Jan 26th to Feb 2, 2013. I traveled with my husband and 3 year old son. We travel at least once a year and for the last 3 years our focus has been 5 star quality and family oriented resorts. Lastly finding a resort with good food selections/choices. We are all very picky eaters especially our son! We chose Dreams Riviera because we had vacationed in the Cancun area before. Mexico seems to be the only place we traveled as a couple where the hotels were truly 5 star and the food was good. Please note it was our 5th time to Cancun/ Riviera area but the first time as a family. We typically stick to Riu hotels because we know what to expect but our son 3 years old pays close to full pop with this chain. At the Dreams hotel our son only paid flight and taxes. Also 20 min from airport.
The weather In Cancun is never guaranteed between November to the end of March. We had 6 out of 7 days good weather at 80*F. The sea is also rough during this time but on days it is swim able with good scuba diving near hotel.
Typically within the first hour we find something that bothers us but it was day seven and the only thing we could find irritating was getting the Bacon at breakfast. The omelet chef keeps it hidden and you have to wait in the omelet line to get the Bacon.
Facilities:
-4 swimming pools: one shallow heated pool for children, infinity pool with bar and great view, activity pool. Ping pong table pool. All great!
-2 beautiful hot tube that fit at least 20 people.
-Enough lounge chairs for everyone around the pool and beach.
- 15-20 bed cabanas that are great for afternoon naps.
-Spa and fitness centre state of the art and beautiful.
-There are bars everywhere and staff to wait on you if you wish.
-Beach is well maintained and guarded. Life guard and security on the beach monitoring guests. No peddlers or vendors pestering you. Showers at beach always had warm water never cold.
Great facility for beach wedding as there were 2 to 3 wedding daily. The weddings did not impede with other guests vacationing.
- Explorer Kids had its own large open space outdoors and indoors for ages 3-12. We had no intentions of taking our son but he begged to go. They had all types of activities planned from 9 am to 10 pm (I.e., face painting, cooking class, water polo, soccer...etc). The ladies are all great! You get pager incase your child does not want to stay or has an issue.
- The lobby area is spectacular and it has great views of the jungle. Note separate building from guest rooms.
- The resort is not huge and all facilities are easily accessible form all building (not a lot of walking necessary).
-Preferred club is worth the extra money. We got there at 10 am and we expected they would have us wait till mid afternoon for a room but they gave us the room as soon as we arrived. We were going to upgrade to room with plung pool but we really liked our room. During the whole week we never saw anyone use their plung pools. Stayed in room 2249 with view of ocean, pool and lovely gardens. Bathroom and closet exceptional. Other things that are included: late check out, upgraded bar, Internet, computers with printer,$250 coupons to use on specialty wine, spa, beach romantic dinner..etc
- Food was great! Really even our son liked the food especially the pizza, pasta and breakfast. Lots of seafood and meat choices. But most importantly all restaurants provide child menus of pasta, chicken strips, fries and burgers ( chicken strips amazing). There is something for everyone.
No reservations needed except for habitat chi tables at Asian and French restaurant.
Barefoot grill was great with seafood pella, pizza, hand maid burgers, 2 salads and a specialty BBQ meat or fish. Asian restaurant was great as well as the Italian. I can go on and on I just want you to know the food is really good. Soft ice cream served daily starting at 11am. Drinks were the best we have had at any resort. Watermelon mohito is the best!
- Coffee shop is great! We always crave coffee when on vacation and this time we were able to get our fix whenever we wanted with fresh deserts all day long.
-safety is this resorts #1 priority as all situations were approached like they were preventable ( I.e., child stubbed toe in pool, got first aid, report filled out by parent, supervisors/inspectors within 10 min of situation, maintenance person going underwater to inspect tiles, next morning as sun came up tiles in pool being replaced)
- Grounds well maintained. I would make mental notes of things like chipped paint and the next day i would see someone fixing it. They read my mind each day. The salt air and guest in the resort can take its toll on a resort but this resort is on top of it all.
- Entertainment was amazing as the resort hired outside acts for evening entertainment. Loved the hypnotist, drum and fire show, rock circus, mind readers mentalist...etc.

Great family resort with great facilities service and food! Will definitely will go back to this resort as it was unparalleled to the Riu chain we regularly go to.

Happy family travelers.

Room Tip: Preferred club ocean view. Had the view of the ocean, pool and were close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We just got back from a week at the Dreams Riviera Cancun and all I can say is it was the best resort we have ever been to. The resort was beautiful, our room was on 5th floor with a great view of Ocean and very quiet. I have eaten at a lot of five star restaurant and I must say that the food at all the restaurants were 5 star or better. The Japanese was one of my favorites. The resort was very well groomed and the staff were incredible and attentive. I cannot find anything wrong to say about this Resort. Top shelf liquor everywhere even champagne in our room as we were celebrating our anniversary. Loved the fact that you could get a hut on beach or a bed by pool with a great view of ocean without paying extra. Loved the Mango marguerita and Blue Hawaiian.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Allen, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

My husband and I were married at this fabulous resort! Everything was top of the line! The resort is EXTREMELY neat and clean, the rooms are spacious and gorgeous, and the food is FANTASTIC!!! Top shelf alcohol at all the bars, staff is very friendly and accommodating. The resort is great for couples or families. Some of my favorite restaurants were the Mexican restaurant, El Patio, the french restaurant, Bordeaux, as well as the Italian Restaurant. The spa is wonderful!!

We will definitely be traveling back to this resort! If you are looking for a great place to get married, take your family, or go with friends, this is the place!!! You will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: The Preferred Club is a great addition, however all the rooms are fantastic!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

This resort is clean with good house keeping but that about the only good thing that I have to say. One of the most SEXIST resorts that we have ever stayed at. Women can go into the World Cafe with a bikini on with only a pair of shorts or mini shirt for bottoms, basically half naked, but a man must have a shirt with sleeves, not must shirts or sleeveless t-shirts. Totally sexist. If you have a shell fish allergy, good luck finding much to eat. The room we got was not what was shown when we made our choice of a Deluxe Ocean View. The language barrier is horrible, we didn't get what we ordered of the menu half the time because they couldn't understand. We will never go back.

Room Tip: Look closely at what you are reserving, because you see mainly the "preferred" status room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I just stayed here for 6 nights and had a great time. It was our second time here and we loved it. The staff is incredible at making you feel welcome. The resort and the rooms are in terrific condition and well kept. Very good food at the restaurants...our favorites were Bordeaux, El Patio and Seaside. The beach was raked every day. However, there are fish in the water that like to nibble on you...very annoying. The resort has a TON of weddings and they tend to take over the resort late afternoons and evenings. Takes away from the entertainment value for the rest of us. Top shelf liquor everywhere...if you don't see it, just ask for it. Can walk to Puerto Morelos...do it! Our room was 1404 and all I can say is...OMG! What a view. This resort is truly more of a family resort as there are kids everywhere. If you are an adult couple it may not be for you.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Address: Carretera Federal 307 | Chetumal–Puerto Juárez, Benito Juárez, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 486
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The luxurious Dreams Riviera Cancun takes its personality from its incredible location — just 30 minutes from the "hot" excitement of Cancun yet right on the "cool" Caribbean close to Playa del Carmen and many other of the Mayan Riviera’s most sought after sights. Most importantly, it is an enchanting wonderland where families, couples, singles and friends enjoy all the pleasures and privileges of Unlimited-Luxury® where everything is included. Your whole being will relax immediately, surrounded by our large sun-dappled swimming pools and a sugar white sand beach. To this, add lush tropical gardens and of course, our fabulous palm-filled beach. Your day and evening activities range from exciting to purely relaxing — with plenty to do for everyone including endless land and water activities, a world-class Dreams Spa by Pevonia and fitness center, nearby golf and much more. "Home" features the uniquely shaped octagonal room or suite, beautifully appointed with a private balcony, marble floors and full marble bath area with Jacuzzi tub and dozens of other luxury amenities and conveniences that anticipate your desires and fulfill them instantly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort And Spa
Dreams Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.