We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Place...will return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Unidad 26, Mz. 20, Lote 1-1, SM. 3, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place...will return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2011

After some minor luggage glitches at the Cancun airport we arrived at the Now Jade at 1:00 am on Feb 20. We flew Canjet, left on time and arived early. We were quickly checked in by Gabriela who in the midst of the check in process was able to find us a cold drink. Gabriela also assisted us quickly on a few queries and requests we had during our 2 week stay at the Jade.We were quickly taken to our room where we ordered room service which was delivered when promised and was excellent.
We had Peferred Club status which allowed access to the breakfast a-la-cart as well as the preferred lounge.
Our room was in building 1 with a view of the pool and ocean. We found the room very quiet at night..there was a little noise from the pool area in the afternoon however by 5:00 pm there was none'
We were impressed with the service and staff, all of whom worked hard tp please us. We tipped at daily meals and at the bars.
All the a-la-cartes were very good we tried each one twice and enjoyed them all,as well as the buffet. Had some waiting time at some of them however when they said 1/2 hour it was 1/2 hour..not longer.
The weather was perfect for our 14 day stay. The bicycle tour to Puerto Morelos was very good and we made 2 other trips by Collectiva to PM and spent 4 hours on the beach there. You can rent chairs and umbrellas for a reasonable charge and snorkel right off the beach.
The snokeling tours offered at the Puerto Morelos dock are excellent.
We did not go on any of the tours availale as we have done them all on previous trips to the Mayan, this was an R & R trip.
In order to get a good place on the beach or by the pool you have to be up early to get one, although we did not have a problem getting a lounger at any time.
In summary this was our 5th. trip to the Mayan and the best. We would definitely return to the Jade.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,232
    1,356
    519
    217
    156
See reviews for
1,325
1,872
53
75
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,508)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

We just got home and my husband and I had a wonderful time after worrying about the bad reviews. Our check in went without a hitch. We were greeted as soon as we walked off the bus at approx. 10:00 am. We checked in and Victor (who was very nice) showed us where we could change clothes, he brought us each a drink and showed us where everything was. We had a bite to eat by the pool and our room was ready at 12:30. We booked a tropical view and were pleasantly surprised with our view of the pool and ocean, building 4, room 4206. All the restaurants are very good, some of the food is a bit salty. Everyone was very nice and wanted to please us. We met some awesome people from the Chicago, IL area and hung out with them for the week. I would recommend this resort as my experience was a good one.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2011

We stayed the end of February. Our friends were overbooked and had to stay at the NOW Sapphire for 3 nights... (as well as many other couples!). The resort is gorgeous, the rooms are fabulous. Two huge disappointments that you wouldn't expect with paying the price for a 6 golden apple rated resort: Tipping: I am all for tipping in appreciation for great service and occassionally to let your cabana boy know you will take care of them if he takes care of you, but at this resort it was clearly an EXPECTATION IN ORDER TO GET GOOD SERVICE. ... even at the restaurants, it was so obvious that people were giving the hostess cash in order to get served before others. At a highly rated resort, you shouldn't have to be paying so much extra just to get good service! BEACH CHAIRS: Again, for a highly rated resort, it was absolutely rediculous that you had to be up nearly before sunrise just to reserve beach chairs! I have been at 5 and 6 red apple rated resorts and have NEVER had this problem. That was a huge disappointment! The cabana boys worked hard ... especially Carlos... he was awesome!! The overall service at the resort was very slow... we weren't expecting it to be fast by any means but it seemed like we were waiting and waiting alot! The food was not exceptional either. (Again, 6 golden apple = higher expectations because you are paying for it!)

Resort credits were also a scam. $400 in resort credits only allows you to get a small amount of money off a rediculously overpriced spa service or bottle of wine.

Overall... I was happier with our previous resorts ... paying the extra for the higher rated hotel didn't give us anything more than what we got at 5 and 6 red apples!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at the Now Jade and it is on the top of our list to visit again. Some brief comments: Restaurants are all nice, just depends on what kind of food you like the best. Food portions are small at the restaurants, but you can always order more food if you want. Keep in mind all restaurants have a very small amount of tables. Even if it is 8 o’clock at night that you want to eat, there will probably be a wait so they will just give you a pager. Mercure (French) restaurant was our favorite for food and service. The outside buffet dinner in the plaza was not so good because the lighting was poor, food was not kept hot, bugs were flying around on the food and it was tough walking in uneven grass. Lobby bar has some nice bands/singers after 10pm. Room Service is nice....it's free and available 24 hours a day...came in handy when my spouse was sick in the room for a day. Turn down service at night was a pleasant surprise. Robes and slippers were a nice touch. You do need to get up early to save chairs by the pools. It sucks that you have to save chairs so early in the morning, but that is how it always goes at every resort....no matter where we have ever stayed. It was nice to be able to use as many pool towels as you wanted...no towel cards. Tipping wait staff by the pools, bars and restaurants....even just a dollar....goes a long ways. Some rooms might not have the best view, but not every room can face the ocean or pool. We go on vacation to enjoy our resort...not the view from our room...and besides it gets dark by 6pm...so you can’t see much no matter what view you have. Gym facility was very nice. We booked with Apple Vacations, if you are celebrating an anniversary or honeymoon then let them know in advance because Now Jade will do a little something special for you in the room. My biggest warning is that the bathroom roll-down shade that is used by the bathtub and shower....it is not nearly as private as you think! At night we could see A LOT more than just outlined shadows of people in their bathrooms. Let’s just say that it made me keep only our hallway lights on when I used the shower and bathtub at night. Overall a great stay and we can’t wait to go back.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Lake, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

We arrived around noon, had a short time to wait at front desk to check-in. But it went rather well. They try to entice you to "see" their sister resort, which in essence is listen to a holiday package, but JUST SAY NO THANK YOU, and that was it. We were introduced to the facilities quickly and Manuel our porter was very obliging.
Remember people these workers are there six days a week and long days. Give them a little tip for appreciating them and they greatly show their appreciation as well. Our maids did an excellent job. I left small amounts of money on the table and it never went missing once. The bartenders will mix whatever drink you want and are very obliging.
Basically, you get what you give. A friendly smile and hello, a small tip, and making a point of thanking the staff for a great meal; and you will be treated like royalty.
Our room was like the pictures said. Even nicer than other resorts. I have a bad back and the bed was also very comfortable. Our maid cleaned everything the way it should be. Set the card on the bed and she will give you new sheets. towels down get new towels. not one problem.
The resort was very clean, the restaurants were all very good. Sometimes you have to wait a while but it is like that in Canada at the good restaurants as well. Hey folks it takes time to do a good job, and they certainly did!
The pool chairs seem to get saved and not always used. But the rules of the chairs, if you aren't using them for a long time, you loose them. Ask the person beside if anyone has been there for the last four hours or whatever. You will find a spot.
All the staff, were very friendly and helpful.
We would definitely recommend this resort. The food was a five star caliber. The rooms were very nice as well. We have been to five stars and 3.5 and there is a difference.
The beach has rocky spots but not everywhere.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

We were at Now Jade 2/9-2/19. It was our second visit. We went as a scouting trip in July 2010 to see if this was the place for our destination wedding! We had a great experience then and was hoping that it wouldn't disappoint with 30+ guests the second time around. Overall, it didn't disappoint!
Out of our 10 day visit, it did rain one day. Our transfer to and from the resort was quick and easy ("best day" is the best!).
On arrival, we noticed they fixed the lobby air system- it was no longer a sauna! We had an awesome check in on arrival- we were upgraded to Preferred oceanfront master suite! We were quickly greeted with a refreshing drink, towels, and wisked away to Preferred lounge to expedite our check in. We arrived around 2:30 and our room was promptly ready in about a 15 min.
We were in room 7308! It was awesome!! We had view of the lovely ocean/garden view! The room was freakin huge with 2 closets! A nice travertine rain-head shower, double sink, toilet/bidet with extra sink, sitting area, small dining area, 2 flat screen tvs. I have to give a shout out to the housekeeping staff! They were on top of it! They gave us nice turn-down service as well! The night of our wedding, they decorated our bed/room with rose petals, and rose petal bubble jacuzzi set up!
Majority of our guest arrived on Sat and Sun, which Sat is peak for arrivals/departures at the resort- we noticed the wait to check in was longer for our guests. Most of your guest that traveled were from as far as Canada, and from CA, NY, PA, MD, MN, CO, and ID, had no real traveling issues. Most had flights arrival EARLIER to Cancun than expected, including ours. My brother ran into some issues at check in. He was told that the resort was "overbooked" and that he would have to go to Now Sapphire. He mentioned that he was there for his sister's wedding, and they immediately changed their tune and told him that" it was promotion" and did not give him any more issues! No other reports of this from anyone else.
Food, service, drinks were all very good! The most time we waited was 1 hr, but for a table for 6 pm at the Italian place. Most other times at the different specialty restaurants we had little to no wait! We had a great time at "scores" dancing the night away! Fairly good service at the swim up bars- It may have been a little bit better the last time. Victor preferred side was/is still great!
Our wedding was amazing. Pilar Gonazalez (wedding planner extraordinare) was great to work with! She for the most part was easy to get ahold of by email, with lag time of a 2-3 days for response ( She did explain she can get up to 1000 emails/day!) The salon did great with my hair/make up. They pressed my dress perfectly and the grooms suit pressed nicely. The ceremony was at the pergola with fitted white chair covers. We had a violinist that was excellent. Our hor dor'ourves /cocktail hour was at the beach bar ( we had a signature drink of "watermelon mojitos"!) The photographer (Positive photography) was amazing and so pleased/amazed with the quality and photojournalistic style of our photos! We had our reception at the outdoor patio at "Mercure" but with a italian menu (caprese salad, minestrone soup, 4 cheese raviolis for the pasta course, then choice of filet/ shrimp and scallops/ stuffed chicken, then chocolate cannoli for dessert, and wedding cake!) Food was amazingly gourmet and had dedicated wait staff that kept the timing of the courses flowing nicely. We kept the reception going at the beach bar, then danced the night away at scores!
All in all, highly recommend this place! All our guest, some very travel savvy, enjoyed their stay and were impressed!

Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2011

My husband and I have returned from our first and last Apple vacation. We arrived at the airport in Cancun to a bunch of incompentant apple workers. They did not have our slip to get on the bus however our names were on their master copy so for about 20 min they told us to stand over here while they go back and forth in Spanish and attempting to find the slip. Finally they used their brains and hand wrote a slip for us and we were allowed to get on the bus.

When we finally arrived to our hotel we went to check in. They tell us they overbooked (we found out later that it was not true) We delt with them for about 15 min and got nowhere with them. So we go to the Apple reprecenativies who basically told us that they could do nothing. (again bs) After getting nowhere with anyone at the hotel we decided just to check the new hotel out which was a major downgrade. We were extremely annoyed and pissed off at this point. So we again argued with both the hotel and apple representatives and got nowhere.

Monday morning we called our travel agent and told her our situation. She was not surprised with the Apple staff in Mexico and proceeded to call Apple Corperate in the states. Tuesday afternoon we find out we were going back to the Now Jade. We were so pleased with our travel agent.

When we checked out of the hotel they continued to play games with us. We did not care because we knew we were leaving. When we arrived back at the Jade with we delt with the same check in people who tried to play with us again, however, they were unable to this time. We were upgraded to a Ocean view room. The rest of our trip was good. We talked with a bunch of people who had different things go on with them and some had no problems. They use various different tactics to screw you or try to get you to pay more money. So be careful when booking because you do not know. The worst part about it is that you find out when you get there. The front desk person we delt with were Allan and Louis. My husband puts it, Allan in a jerk and Louis is a Mexican used car dealer. So please be careful I wish no one to have to go through what we did. And if you get there and find yourself in the same or similar situation, call the states, call whoever you booked with. Chances are they will help you out. The Mexican Apple representatives will NOT!

The only other complaint i have or should i say warning. Be careful when drinking in the sportsbar,beach bar and pool bar. My husband and I and a few other people we talked with have been sick one or two days. I watched them clean the glasses at those bars and they just dunk them in warm water and then put them out. The one day my husband and I drank alot at the pool we became ill with LBM for 2 days really bad and one day so so. I have a pretty good inclination that it was from that. So try to get straws as much as possible.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Address: Unidad 26, Mz. 20, Lote 1-1, SM. 3, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now Jade Riviera Cancun. Located just 12 miles from Cancun International Airport and minutes from the quaint fishing town of Puerto Morelos, Now Jade Riviera Cancun provides guests with 2,640 feet of pure crystal white sand and refreshing azure waters. Guests will become immersed in a setting where style and sophistication meet relaxation and comfort. Each suite is truly exquisite featuring beautiful views of flourishing gardens or crystal clear ocean. This unique property features 550 luxurious suites each complete with private furnished balcony or terrace and Jacuzzi for two. All finely appointed suites offer king size or two double beds, marble floors, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, daily refreshed mini bars and 24-hour room and concierge services. Snorkel, kayak, windsurf or deep sea dive in the vast blue waters or simply relax under the warmth of the sun on the white sandy beach. Perfect your golf swing on one of the famous courses located nearby or indulge a vast set of treatments offered at the world- class spa. Little ones will have the opportunity to partake in many day and nighttime activities provided by the Explorer’s Club for Kids. When the sun sets come enjoy live themed shows in our large indoor theater or sip on a cocktail as you relax at Eclipse Night Club. All this and much more await you at Now Jade Riviera Cancun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Amex, Despegar.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort And Spa
Now Jade Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Nh Hotels Puerto Morelos
Nh Hotel Puerto Morelos
Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.