We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beutiful place, had a great time.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Unidad 26, Mz. 20, Lote 1-1, SM. 3, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Townsend, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A beutiful place, had a great time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We Traveled here in January and stayed for 6 days. We had a wonderful time. The property was beautiful. The food was good. The service was great( when we needed something that the resort store was out of the girl at the front desk called a local store and had it delivered). I would recommend this place, and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NowJadeRC, Social Media Coordinator at Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you so much for your kind words shared with the Tripadvisor community. We are so glad you had a great stay at Now Jade Riviera Cancun. Thank you for sharing your beautiful photos.

It is always good to hear that our staff was reliable and helpful. Any way they can make our guests stay more enjoyable is their priority. We will definitely relay the kind words with the staff; they would love to hear that their efforts are being recognized.

Thank you very much for your recommendation and we hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Olivia Rodríguez
Social Media Coordinator
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,846 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,854
    1,170
    472
    206
    144
See reviews for
1,107
1,682
43
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

To be honest its a personal choice that we prefer the smaller boutique hotels and we knew that this wasn't going to be but it was vast. We booked with Travel Bag and everything started off well, the flight was fine but when we landed immigration was a nightmare, not the fault of Travel Bag obviously but OMG we were so glad that we didn't have children as it took us three hours in a really narrow corridor to worm our way through to passport control and find our transfer.
Transfer man Stan was lovely and so informative about Mexico and Cancun and what we could see and do, bless him.
Back to the hotel, as I said its very big and so it that sense they do well for the numbers coming and going each day, they seemed to have a HUGE turnover of guests. It was soulless as far as we were concerned, no real personality. The room was ok, nice and big but a little tired. The service however was great, everybody was extremely helpful, all of the staff were accommodating no matter what we needed, especially in the restaurants and bars. The tour to Chichen Itza supplied through our Amstar Rep via Cancun Passion was fab, the guides were amazing and we loved it but its a long day so be prepared.
When rating the different elements in this review we would have liked there to be somewhere between Average and Very Good, Good as a rating would be helpful.

Room Tip: We didn't see another room, we had a preferred club ocean view which did what it said on the tin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NowJadeRC, Social Media Coordinator at Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Madam,

On behalf of myself and the entire staff at our resort, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing our Resort over numerous others in the area, to enjoy your recent holidays in Cancun.

Your comments and review about your recent stay at our resort are very much appreciated. Thank you for your feedback about our service. We will share it with our staff so that we can improve our opportunity areas in every possible way.

We very much appreciate your comments that help us to continue improving our facilities and services. We look forward to welcome you and restore your confidence in our service.

Sincerely yours,

Olivia Rodríguez
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

we stayed at the now amber in puerta vallarta last year and expected the same quality of hotel & service. the staff were not nearly as friendly, in fact, we often felt like an annoyance to them with our kids (we have twin 4 year olds). they were often rude to us in the restaurants. the buffet food was horrible, way too salty and poor quality. the pools had tiles chipped out of them.
we stayed in the preferred club which wasn't worth the upgrade. the food there was mediocre at best, tiny sandwiches, bits and bites of stuff but nothing like the preferred clubs at the other now resorts.
the kids club was good but even the staff there didn't seem too enthused about their job.
the beach was filthy. were were told it was cleaned daily however we only saw it being cleaned twice in the week. they dig a big hole and put all the junk in it then cover the hole. the smell was terrible. the water was clear if you could see through all the paper and plastic floating in it.
the gym was old and musty, the equipment was usually broken, the tiles on the floor were lifting.
the spa was, well, not much of a spa. i had a massage, it was the worst massage i have ever had.
go to now amber, now that is a beautiful hotel worth the price!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NowJadeRC, Social Media Coordinator at Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear Madam,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor. We share all of the comments with the operations staff. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience you had experienced
during your stay.

Our records show that our Preferred Club Manager spoke with you and your husband several times to assist you.

Our resort staff is well known to be professional and enthusiastic. Sorry to hear this was not what you experienced. Your valuable feedback will be shared with the area director.

We very much appreciate your comments which helps us to continue improving our facilities and services. We really hope to have another opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.

Cordially yours,

Olivia Rodríguez
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edson, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

Had the best vacation at this resort. The staff are truly amazing. The Reef bar staff (Martin, Zepedra and Calixto) went above and beyond providing exceptional customer service. They are life long friends. All of the staff go out of their way to ensure you are happy. The rooms are spacious and clean. There is plenty of dining options as well as premium liquor. The entertainment staff were awesome. I would highly recommend this resort for couples as well as families. We were never bothered by vendors on the beach, we always felt safe.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NowJadeRC, Social Media Coordinator at Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Madam,

On behalf of myself and the entire staff at our resort, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing our Resort over numerous others in the area, to enjoy your recent holidays in Cancun. Thank you for sharing your beautiful photos.

The resort’s team wants to thank you for allowing us to be part of your holiday vacation. We are truly grateful for your review. Your feedback will be shared with the entire staff, especially with Martin, Zepeda and Calixto. They will be so happy to hear you recognized their efforts.

We very much appreciate your comments that help us to continue improving our facilities and services. We really hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Olivia Rodríguez
Social Media Coordinator
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We absolutely loved our trip to the Now Jade. The entertainment staff were incredibly funny and kept everyone in high spirits and having a blast. The food was excellent and the servers were incredible, especially Christian and Edwardo. We had a blast and were incredibly impressed by how clean the resort was. The Now Jade is an excellent place to stay as a family and easy to navigate and find your group. If your planning a stay at the Now Jade be sure to go down to the Mix and ask for a mojito from Darius. He is the absolute best bar tender.
Some suggestions for the hotel would be to have more pool chairs out and more tables in their restaurant just more restaurants. It was incredibly frustrating having to wait 45 minutes on some occasions to eat dinner.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NowJadeRC, Social Media Coordinator at Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dea Madam,

On behalf of myself and the entire staff at our resort, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing our Resort over numerous others in the area, to enjoy your recent holidays in Cancun. Thank you for sharing your beautiful photos.

Thank you for sharing your review on Tripadvisor about your recent stay. We will share your feedback with the staff. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the service provided by the staff. Christian, Eduardo and Darius will be pleased to hear they contributed to make your stay more enjoyable.

We very much appreciate your comments that help us to continue improving our facilities and services. We really hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Olivia Rodríguez
Social Media Coordinator
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ny
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

My friend and I picked the best week to be out of NY and NJ as we missed the worst of the snowstorms (so far) I had stayed at Dreams La Romana, another UVC resort, and had an idea what to expect and that was one of the reasons we chose Preferred. Realy wanted wifi ability in rooms but sporadic at best.

For people who rise at different times in the am the rooms in the preferred were great as you could close off rooms which made tiptoeing around getting dressed much easier for the early riser ME. Jacuzzi on the deck was worthless unless you needed it to bathe a child as there was no privacy but bathroom facility was wonderful (total of 3 sinks)

Housekeeping wasn't great as used dishes were left in room for 2 days but rectified when a request was made. Minibar was never restocked and probably should have brought it to someone's attention but didn't.

Now for more positives...the adult pool was great, overlooking a beautiful beach. no rocks on side by the adult pool. Reef Bartenders were super friendly. Calixta remembered my name on Sunday when I had only met him briefly on Saturday. All of the bartenders were friendly and helpful despite some demanding patrons. Manuel the pool conceirge always had a smile and a friendly greeting. Also frequently the lobby bar in the evening and it was nice.

Preferred Lounge was a plus. Mostly quiet and the gentleman working there were also nice.

Food was fine, don't know what the complaints are about. Never made the Mexican restaurant but had some of the best beef I've ever had. Met so many nice people who, like us, were grateful to be in the sun. Greetings to Mike and Jenny and Frank and Terry.

Will consider returning.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NowJadeRC, Social Media Coordinator at Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Madam

On behalf of myself and the entire staff at our resort, we would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing our Resort over numerous others in the area, to enjoy your recent holidays in Cancun. Thank you for sharing your beautiful photos.

The resort’s team wants to thank you for allowing us to be part of your holiday vacation. Your valuable feedback will be shared with the entire staff. Calixto, Manuel and the Preferred Club staff will be so glad to read they contributed to make your stay more enjoyable.

We very much appreciate your comments that help us to continue improving our facilities and services. We really hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Best regards,

Olivia Rodríguez
Social Media Coordinator
Now Jade Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA and South Africa
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

We stayed at Now Jade on a family trip for 5 days after Xmas, and found it a bit disappointing, beginning with the transfer (Apple) from the airport, with Snr. Gonzalez (whom we refered to as "Speedy" because he was anything but) for which we had to wait 25-30 mins at the airport. The drive was long and slow, and culminated in a trip down a shockingly bad road to the resort (the road seems to be under construction, so is dirt and full of huge holes, but no work was being done on it)...The Now Jade lobby is like an airplane hangar (or airport main hall), huge, crowded, with multiple desks and people milling everywhere – nothing charming or attractive about it. As we were staying in the “executive” (more expensive) rooms (in building 8), we checked in at the so-called “VIP” lounge, but our check-in person was completely clueless and slow (rather annoying after a long day of traveling), and didn’t give us many of the basics of the resort which would have been helpful. Despite the fact that we speak some Spanish, we could not understand a word she said. Our room/suite was ok, new and with comfortable beds, but it had a terrible smell from day one, which we reported to the VIP gang repeatedly, but nothing was ever done (except some minor air freshener spraying by the maids). We had a big balcony and view over the pool, other buildings, and ocean. Much better than our mother’s view (although she was promised a sea view, she had a downstairs room right on the walkway, looking at the bushes and pool). The hot tubs on the balconies seem a bit ridiculous, and we never used ours or saw anyone using theirs. There is no privacy whatsoever on the balconies (hundreds of rooms can look right at you), so you are certainly not going to bathe there! The bathroom was nice, functional, with a good shower and two sinks. Lots of closet space, and places to hang up gym clothes, etc. The gym was SHOCKINGLY bad for such a big resort….we used the gym twice during our stay, but found it inadequate, too small (very crowded morning and evening), with only a few pieces of terrible old equipment, dirty, and a bit smelly. Internet was another disappointment, in that we only were allowed one connection per room (one laptop or iPad), and the other person had to connect elsewhere (e.g. the VIP lounge, which was a 10 min walk downstairs and across the resort). This seems unnecessarily stingy on the part of the resort, especially for the executive rooms, and was a bit inconvenient for getting work done. The connection in the room was also quite weak and unreliable. The beach was pretty nice, although there was often a total lack of beach towels, and no one was out picking up the used towels and getting them laundered. Other guests also seemed to be quite greedy with the towels and chairs, using numerous towels on their chairs, and leaving them there to keep their chairs all day long (even when they went away for hours at a time). This started VERY early on the pool deck too, we noticed, as we could see people “claiming” their places by the pool as early as 6AM. The ocean water was nice (perfect temperature, some nice waves), but the rocks on the beach and hiding in the water in front of the resort do make for a lot of stubbed toes in the water. (Better to go down further to the right, beyond the resort, where there is more rock-free water). The beach and party area in front of the main pool section of the resort was always busy and usually throbbing with loud pop music and shouting over a microphone (another reason to go further down the beach). A strong point of the resort is certainly the food and drinks, which we did enjoy very much. The main restaurant (with its huge selection of buffet spreads) had something for everyone, and although it was always busy, it was always possible to find a table. Most of the food was really excellent too, in this and the other smaller restaurants (Mercure, Spices, Cin Cin, Tamarindo). We enjoyed the coffee shop near the main restaurant, where the nice ladies made very good coffees to stay or go. The bars (and mojitos and margaritas) were also great, with quick and friendly service. However, we were surprised that the beach bar closest to our room often seemed to be closed, especially at what we would consider to be prime cocktail time (e.g. 5-6PM sunset time). We had quite a bit of rain during our week there, and found that the resort roof leaks in many areas, leaving puddles on the partially open corridors and stairwells which were incredibly slippery….this seemed quite treacherous to us, especially with the many older guests and kids around. We did (as a family group) 2 excursions with Apple (Xichen Itza ruins, and the snorkel trip in the national park) and found them both ok, but crowded and rather overpriced. The snorkeling was under-whelming, we thought, especially compared to other snorkeling in the Caribbean (e.g. Belize). Everything was geared to the big crowds, so to us it all felt crowded and like mass tourism.
We had many friendly and nice people serving and waiting on us in the resort, although some at the front desk in the main lobby were less than helpful. Overall, the resort was not a great fit for us, especially at this time of year, as we usually try to avoid crowds. But (especially given the many positive reviews), it must suit others, especially families with children, etc. It just felt too much like a huge cruise liner to me! And, we had the impression many times that things could be much better, with a bit of effort.

Room Tip: Try to get real sea view, on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NowJadeRC, Social Media Coordinator at Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Dear Sir / Madam,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us through Tripadvisor about your recent stay at our resort.

We sincere regret your stay was not what you were expecting. One of our main goal is to get the complete satisfaction of our clients. It is very disappointed as in your case; to know that we could not fulfill your expectations of our service.

We have shared your great comments about the food with our Executive Chef and Food and Beverage, they will be glad to read you enjoyed the food as well as the delicious coffes from Coco Café.

We very much appreciate your comments that help us to continue improving our facilities and services. We really hope to welcome you again very soon!

Sincerely yours,

Olivia Rodríguez
Social Media Coordinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Address: Unidad 26, Mz. 20, Lote 1-1, SM. 3, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now Jade Riviera Cancun. Located just 12 miles from Cancun International Airport and minutes from the quaint fishing town of Puerto Morelos, Now Jade Riviera Cancun provides guests with 2,640 feet of pure crystal white sand and refreshing azure waters. Guests will become immersed in a setting where style and sophistication meet relaxation and comfort. Each suite is truly exquisite featuring beautiful views of flourishing gardens or crystal clear ocean. This unique property features 550 luxurious suites each complete with private furnished balcony or terrace and Jacuzzi for two. All finely appointed suites offer king size or two double beds, marble floors, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, daily refreshed mini bars and 24-hour room and concierge services. Snorkel, kayak, windsurf or deep sea dive in the vast blue waters or simply relax under the warmth of the sun on the white sandy beach. Perfect your golf swing on one of the famous courses located nearby or indulge a vast set of treatments offered at the world- class spa. Little ones will have the opportunity to partake in many day and nighttime activities provided by the Explorer’s Club for Kids. When the sun sets come enjoy live themed shows in our large indoor theater or sip on a cocktail as you relax at Eclipse Night Club. All this and much more await you at Now Jade Riviera Cancun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Amex, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort And Spa
Now Jade Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Nh Hotels Puerto Morelos
Nh Hotel Puerto Morelos
Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.