We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving 2012 family vacation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Unidad 26, Mz. 20, Lote 1-1, SM. 3, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving 2012 family vacation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Traveling with our 2 kids (11&19) we got 2 preferred rooms, I'm not sure that was the best way to do a family vacation since the kids werent allowed in the adults area which is fine but initially the kids had a better view/room than my husband and I since the king size rooms were angled where if I was in the jacuzzi it wouldnt be close to private AT ALL. So, we upgraded to ocean front & that was worth it, I would say though that I would have thought housekeeping would have been better. The entertainment was good, pool was COLD - at that time everyone was complaining so it wasnt just our opinion. Maybe that had just cleaned it?? Beach is nice, we enjoyed taking the kayaks out. Food at the restaurants was good, just go early! Had a massage and that was fabulous!! They have daily specials so check on that. Many weedings throughout the week, looks like they do a good job with that. Buffets were good & plenty for vegetarians. It is a secluded but thats what makes it nice, in my opinion..you can always take a cab into town!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,864 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,866
    1,175
    473
    206
    144
See reviews for
1,111
1,688
45
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,287)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I (in our 50s) just returned from our 4th visit in 3 years to the Now Jade resort during the week of Feb 8-15 for our wedding anniversary. We love it more each time! We have visited 5 other larger resorts in the Riviera Maya area prior to finding the Now Jade which is the perfect size for us as no place is too far to walk. During our past visits, we made friends with some of the staff members of the Now Jade and looked forward to seeing them when we returned.

We were met in the lobby by our friend and Preferred Club coordinator, Rafael Lara, who escorted us to the Preferred Lounge for a quick check-in and then off to our room in Bldg 7 with a beautiful view of the ocean, a balcony Jacuzzi and Happy Anniversay banner on our room door.

A short time later we were reunited with another good friend Zepeda who works at the swim-up bar called “the Reef” located in the adult pool section. Zepeda is fun, very attentive to the guests, and truly enjoys his job. Zepeda will remember your favorite drink but if you don’t have a favorite, ask for a “Zepeda Special” and he will whip up something tasty. We also were introduced to our new friend Calixto who entertained us at “the Reef” with his singing of “Pina Colada”.

Ivan is new at the adult pool since our last visit and by far is the most hard-working pool concierge that we have ever met. He went out of his way each day to make sure that guests at the adult pool/beach area were comfortable, had enough towels, could find an empty chair, etc. We look forward to seeing him again on our next visit.

For our anniversary dinner, we planned to eat at the French restaurant (“Mercure”) for the 3rd year in a row, and we had hoped to have the same server Antonio. We were delighted when Antonio recognized us and was able to be our server again for the 3rd year in a row. He surprised us with delicious desserts decorated specially for our anniversary.

We made sure we found other Now Jade friends from past visits – Polo and Leo in the Preferred Lounge and Arsenio in the Moments lobby bar who remembered us and were just as friendly as we remembered. We also ran into guests who were multiple repeaters at the Now Jade like us so it was good to hear that we all shared the same love for the resort.

If you are looking for a relaxing vacation at a resort where the staff is exceptional and want to please the guests, I recommend the Now Jade.

Room Tip: We liked the quieter side of the adult pool/beach area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The location is very convenient since it is only about 10-15 minutes from the Cancun airport. The resort is very nice and well kept.
The good- The Japanese Restaurant. Make sure that you go here. It is a Hibachi style restaurant and was a lot of fun.
The Not so good - The Beach.. I have never seen so much seaweed on a beach in my life. This was unfortunate because the stuff is gross and dirty. The staff tries to clean it daily, but more an more keeps washing up on the beach. It is certainly an eyesoar.
Overall we liked the hotel but would probably stay at another resort closer to Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and and returned from a week long stay at this resort on Feb. 13. While there a few nice aspects of this resort we experienced many not so nice ones as well. Given that we have not previously had bad experiences at the 14 other Cancun and Riviera Maya Resorts we've stayed at in the past, this is our 1st review ever provided to Trip Advisor.

Here are a few of the positives and minuses of this resort:

Positives:
- nice pool, especially the infinity section overlooking the ocean
- nice beach
- good drinks and service for the most part
- rooms are large and decent

Negatives:
- the food quality was the worst of any of the resorts we have stayed at
- while the breakfast buffet had a lot of choices, they were constantly out of orange juice and/or glasses
- when orange juice was available, it was often warm
- almost all chicken dishes are made with low class dark meat; chicken breasts were hard to find even at the sit down restaurants
- one to three restaurants were closed each evening
- the resort is in the middle of nowhere; one way cab fares to either Cancun or Playa del Carmen are $45 USD
- upon check-in, the staff try to take up a lot of your time with their sales pitches for room upgrades, preferred club and future visits to AM Resorts
- Apple Vacations has provided this resort with a 6 golden apple rating (their highest rating). Compared to the 14 other resorts we have stayed at, this resort is more of a 4 red apple rating
- OUR MOST CONCERNING ISSUE IS THE MONTEZUMA'S REVENGE THAT BOTH MY WIFE AND I HAVE EXPERIENCED FOR THE PAST 6 DAYS AND CONTINUE TO EXPERIENCE

We will not be returning to this resort.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We wheredelighted to spend some time here we will be back thank you special thank to ivan The italian ristorante was very good also spice carnival was very good foor breakfast. Everything at this resort was. Wonderlful

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

The resort is very nice but we couldn't get our rooms cleaned before 5:00 pm each day and if you weren't at the restaurants at 6:00 when they opened it was a 20 min to 3 hour wait. The pools and beach where nice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is our 5th stay and I must say the experience overall was outstanding.
The staff of the Now Jade is what made this vacation the success it was! Wonderful beaches, exceptional food & fabulous drinks. The place is spotless and it seems the entire staff is at your service. The views are abolutely breathtaking. What a wonderful place to relax, rejuvenate and replenish one's spirit. I highly recommend the Now Jade as the # 1 destination of all time.

Benjamin & Carol B

Room Tip: All rooms have a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa

Address: Unidad 26, Mz. 20, Lote 1-1, SM. 3, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#9 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Now Jade Riviera Cancun. Located just 12 miles from Cancun International Airport and minutes from the quaint fishing town of Puerto Morelos, Now Jade Riviera Cancun provides guests with 2,640 feet of pure crystal white sand and refreshing azure waters. Guests will become immersed in a setting where style and sophistication meet relaxation and comfort. Each suite is truly exquisite featuring beautiful views of flourishing gardens or crystal clear ocean. This unique property features 550 luxurious suites each complete with private furnished balcony or terrace and Jacuzzi for two. All finely appointed suites offer king size or two double beds, marble floors, air-conditioning with in-room climate control, daily refreshed mini bars and 24-hour room and concierge services. Snorkel, kayak, windsurf or deep sea dive in the vast blue waters or simply relax under the warmth of the sun on the white sandy beach. Perfect your golf swing on one of the famous courses located nearby or indulge a vast set of treatments offered at the world- class spa. Little ones will have the opportunity to partake in many day and nighttime activities provided by the Explorer’s Club for Kids. When the sun sets come enjoy live themed shows in our large indoor theater or sip on a cocktail as you relax at Eclipse Night Club. All this and much more await you at Now Jade Riviera Cancun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort And Spa
Now Jade Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Nh Hotels Puerto Morelos
Nh Hotel Puerto Morelos
Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Now Jade Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.