We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma to your Saves list
Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Puerto Morelos km 27.5 | Manz 37, Super Manz 12, Bahia Petempich, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Oxfordshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

Stayed in the hotel from 16th-30th aug. Excellent facilities. We stayed in the Premium building room 1210, which is at one end of the resort. We took our 2 children age 16 and 10 and were pleases that we had chosen this part of the resort. The room was fantastic. The fridge was re-stocked daily and the cleaner left water in the fridge, by the coffee maker and also by the sink. We did have a turn down service each evening which was great to walk back into. The pool butler- Enrique, Habid and Luis kept us stocked up on water and drinks. After a couple of days they knew what we drank so just brought it along for us. Also they brought round our fruit, snacks, cold towels and a cooling body mist. Even books and magazines. These guys work long hard days and make your sun-beds up in the morning witha smile on their faces.
Never had a problem with luke warm food in Spoons-perhaps it depends on what time you eat.
Zocola(Mexican) great restaurant and service.
Siena(Italian) probably our favourite. Excellent food. Ask to be served by Luis. He always has time to talk to you and is always ready to answer any questions you may have.
Nothing is too much time or too much trouble for anyone who works here.
Carlos who does sport on the beach. He's great with both adults and kids. Ours went Kayakking. The 16 year old toook part in 3-4 hours of sports most days and he was usually in the gym as well.
The 10 year old loved painting pottery on the beach with Domingo. An extra charge but a great idea for taking souvenirs home. Spent about an hour a day down there.
The evening entertainment improved as the british performers went home and the mexicans took charge. It went on for longer and audience participation was required. Although it was never busy on the roof top terrace.
would we go again? Yes we would. Maybe next time we would do a trip, but they are expensive so choose carefully. We decided we would take full use of the hotel facilities and spent our money within the hotel on pottery painting and the spa.
Even on the rainy days nbothing could dampen our spirits.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,697 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,109
    909
    414
    149
    116
See reviews for
1,228
1,672
20
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,139)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 2 weeks in July on our honeymoon. Whilst the hotel itself is on the whole very nice, the location is awlful!

The holiday cost us nearly £3000 and we were expecting paradise, white sands, clear turquoise sea, but in reality the hotel is located on a small man made beach which is constantly covered in seaweed. You cannot swim in the sea as it is full of rocks, and the water is murky! The beaches and sea in cornwall are 100 times better! The sand tracker was out everyday trying gather the seaweed but this meant that if you were sunbathing on the beach there would be constant bad stench whipped up by the tractor as it went back and forth!

On top of this we felt isolated and got cabin fever after a week of not being able to escape the hotel! There is no free shuttle service to Cancum or Playa unlike some other hotels in the area and the Thomson execursions were very expensive!

The choice of food here is good, however the food in spoon was always tepid and never hot even when you ordered off their menu rather than eating off the buffet. The italian restaurant was by far the best and after trying the majority we ate here most nights.

The pools are good and there is sufficient entertainment on but if you are looking for that 'ulimate destination' that this is not it! This hotel should be a four star not a five.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

We have just returned from the Sensatori. There were three in our party, my husband, our sixteen year old daughter and myself and we all had a really great holiday. Yes,the hotel is quite isolated and the beach is not impressive,as other contributors have commented on, but the plusses here far outweigh the few negative points. Firstly, the staff are incredibly helpful and friendly in every part of the hotel. I had my concerns about whether or not our daughter would be lonely here, but the lovely animation staff made sure she felt included from the start and there was so much for her to do. The food was varied but we always found something we liked, particularly in the Caribbean and Tapaz restaurants.
The rooms are lovely. Ours, in building four was a family suite and was huge. We loved the jacuzzi bath and having tvs and dvd players in both rooms so we could all watch our own programmes. We were concerned that a room in the family section might be noisy, but this wasn;'t the case at all.We also had a huge balcony with a beautiful ocean view.The swimming pools and swim up bars are also lovely, with a wide variety of drinks. We also liked to visit the Wave bar either before or after dinner where we enjoyed listening to a sax player over a few cocktails.
We took three excursions. The first, to Isla Mujeres was a little disappointing in that we only spent a short time there, but the others, the Mayan Adventures snorkelling trip, and the day at Xel Ha were absolutely amazing and I would recommend both.
We are not big on organised evening entertainment, but there seemed to be lots going on and we caught a few live bands, which were of a high standard. There were also films, tribute acts, dancing displays etc if you are into that. All in all, the Sensatori is a really super family hotel with lots to do for everyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We took our grand kids to this hotel after carefully researching the best option. This hotel was described as offering great food, something for everyone and being family friendly. Wow where we surprised when we got there, it was even better than what they said! The hotel is “all inclusive” but we didn’t have to wear wrist bands and the wine was drinkable (not standard all inclusive). The kids play club had all sorts of activities which involved Fisher Price. They even let our daughter take this huge dinosaur toy back to the room for the whole time we were there. The restaurants had a la carte or buffet style and even menus for kids so they were always happy. We really liked the crafts they did on the beach and near the pool, fun for the whole family. The staff is what really makes the difference here, we will be counting the days until we go back next time.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, West Lothian
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We travelled to the Azul Sensatori for our honeymoon and paid for a five star resort. The resort is nice but it is definately not five star. We feel let down by Thomsons who have actually offered us money back after we complained on our return.
When we booked it, we were supposed to be have the honeymoon package which should have included a massage and dinner on the beach. We did not get any of this and they in fact asked us to pay an additional four hunderd dollars once we arrived to provide this for us when we thought we had paid this on booking.

The resort itself is surrounded by a mangrove swamp which has crocodiles, advisable not to attempt to walk out to the main road. The on-site shop is very expensive, would recommend you stay clear of that, £7 for one packet of crisps!! Not worth getting eaten for.

Our room was nice but the air conditioning wasn't perfect, it left the room at an uncomfortable temperature and led to lots of condensation on the windows and floor and unworn clothes had a damp smell about them on our return.

The staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. If you want to leave them anything when you leave, you have to write out a list of what you are leaving and sign it otherwise they cannot take it.

Restaurants and quality of food was generally very good but by the time you get into your second week you have eaten and chosen your favourite dishes in all of them and the menu doesn't change so you end up eating the same thing.

The second week we were there was very busy, some people were offered an upgrade. It is supposed to be a five star resort, how can you upgrade five stars??

The pool bars were like an 18-30 swim up at times but the beach was quieter but many other reviews will tell you that it is very rocky and not ideal for swimming in, also has a lot of seaweed which the staff are out very early in the day, every day, trying to clear.
If you don't want to swim then you won't have any problems with it.
The security guards will remove any towels left to reserve loungers if no one is there when they do their rounds.

Excursions are very pricey, we went to Tulum which was very eventful. The bus driver sat in a layby for half an hour on his phone and hit another bus on route. If that wasn't bad enough, he didn't show up to pick us up either. Ended up on another bus to get back to the resort.

Since returning, I have been asked if I would recommend it and the answer would probably be no, unless they dropped their prices considerably as already stated, this resort is not five star.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

So we are honeymooners from the US, and we spent a week there from Aug. 22-29th.
Overall the resort is great, minus a couple things we knew about coming into the experience. As everyone says, the beach is less than desireable. If you like to swim in the ocean, (which we really don't) Azul is not the resort for you. Try another one closer to Playa Del Carmen's main beach. The resort is roughly a 40 minute ride to Playa Del Carmen, so do not be fooled that it is a quick cab ride.
The food is ok. The burgers are delicious, and the Carribean restaraunt was our favorite. Italian was so-so, Tapaz was different and ok. Never tried La Chique.
Americans be aware the beer is horrible. I recommend doing what I did. Have the driver of your car stop at the local 7-11 and grab a couple 12 packs of Corona or SOL. The beer they have in the resort is draft beer and doesn't pour cold anywhere.
We stayed at BLDG. 2 which I reccomend for all couples who don't want to hear kids screaming and running around. We upgraded (for a cost) to the swim out pool room on the ground level. This was our best move. The pool room was awesome. You could swim out to the bar and grab a drink and then swim back to your room no prob.
The SPA was so/so. My couples massage was a 7 out of 10, and I had a woman. My wife's massage was by Paulino, who was TERRIBLE. My wife works at a spa, and she hasn't had a worse massage. He was fast and constantly cracked his knuckles. I don't reccomend him. Try a lady, I had Suzie.
We tipped $5 every time we went to dinner, and every time we got room service. You don't have to, but it's a nice touch. $5 to us is a big difference to them, so it wasn't an issue. I would bring at least $50 in fives and a bunch of ones, because the hotel has a hard time breaking bills and giving you change.
We didn't do any Mayan Ruins tours, too long of a shuttle ride, and too hot. We did do ATV and Speed Boats, which were awesome. Book it with EDY in front of Bldg 2's pool.
Overall it was a 7 out of 10 for us. THe beach is horrible, but the staff, pool, food sometimes, music, made up for it.
Just chill on the beach get a tan and enjoy being in Mexico.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

We went in May 2010 and stayed on the 3rd floor in the adults-only building.
The deck/patio faced the ocean, providing us with a beautiful view and a nice
ocean breeze. At the time, the place was only around 35% full, so there
was plenty of chairs, and no wait for food or drinks. The food was very
good, however not as good as Seaside Suites. The grounds were beautiful,
the activities staff (many from England/Scotland) and wait staff were very friendly,
and the pools very clean and refreshing. Other than a night spent at Maroma (being
members of Exotic Travelers) we spent the entire week at the resort,
and loved it.

Pluses
Location - 20-miles S. of Cancun, in Puerto Morelos.
Separate building for adults.
Convenient and comfortable huge palapa with hanging beds, rocking chairs, tables, along with self-serve pop and soft-server ice cream machine. Nice place to relax and get out of the sun for a while. Along with being a relaxing place, we also took Spanish lessons and played a little Texas Hold-em there, winning a nice Azul Sensatori t-shirt.
Plexiglass topped wall, along the beach, which protected you from the wind and being sand blasted, while providing an unobstructed view of the ocean.
Room service - eating breakfast on the patio.
Fresh fruit in room.
Wonderful shower. Large area. Nicely tiled. Big square rain showerhead.
Once a week locals are brought in, selling t-shirts, jewelry, etc.
Plenty of activities: Beach volleyball, circuit weight training session, Yoga, Pilates, dance lessons, Texas Hold'em, etc.
Although we didn't take part in the kids area/activities, there was a climbing wall and a nice game room. There were actually very few children there, during the 7-days we were there.
Room was very nice. Clean. Comfortable bed. Nice 1-person bowl shaped jacuzzi. Patio has a padded bench and table, very nice place to relax.
Refrigerator was stocked daily.


Minuses
Smoke alarm went off at 3 AM. Had to call the front desk and two guys came up, slid the dresser over and pulled the battery, then left. We left the next day, so I don't know if they ever replaced it.
Good gym, however it's located in a building with no windows.
Beach - not an inviting place to swim. Maybe it was because it was so windy while we were there.
Being asked to go on tours EVERY TIME you get or return a towel.
Even though there were 2 people sitting by the pool, next to the Platinum guest area, and about 100 empty chairs, the Butler asked us to move, after we sat there.
Other than playing Blackjack, the nightly entertainment was really, really bad when it came to music.
Activities are not well advertised. They are printed on a piece of paper you can get in the lobby, however sitting by the pool/on the beach, you lose track of time and it would be nice to somehow announce 5-mins before the activity when/where something was going on.
Sinks were a bit high, but there were two and plenty of counter space.
A little more privacy for the toilet area would be nice. It's beautiful, frosted glass door and tiled floor, but it doesn't really offer any sound proofing.
There was a terrible sewer odor when using the elevator in the main building. The doors failed to open, and we were stuck in there for a while... not pleasant. Took the stairs after that.

Restaurants
Spoon - although they say no buffets, it's a buffet. An OK selection of food, nothing special. Only place for breakfast, other than room service.
Tapaz - Very good. Both of us are very picky eaters and generally don't like Mexican food, but it was really good. We ate and liked almost every dish.
Le Chique - Very good. A very different experience. Lots of foam and really odd looking dishes, however the food was great. I've never had lamb and they bring it out with a clear bowl over it, filled with wood smoke. They lift off the bowl and you get to smell that nice campfire aroma and the small piece of lamb was fantastic. We only ate there once, but I would have gone there again. Not sure if/how much to tip. It's really nice and there were around 6 different dishes, so the waiter did a lot of running.
Sienna - OK. I'm a big fan of Italian food and it was only so-so. The major problem was finding the place. No signs, just doors. Go past Spoon and walk through the next set of doors, on your left. Be sure to check out the melted candle wax brick wall, near the entrance.
The rest were good, nothing special.

Overall a very comfortable, all-inclusive place to stay. I'd have to rank Seaside Suites higher, due to its more intimate setting and much better food, however Azul Sensatori is easily one of the nicest places I've ever stayed and would have no problem staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma

Address: Carretera Cancun-Puerto Morelos km 27.5 | Manz 37, Super Manz 12, Bahia Petempich, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Gourmet Inclusive®, 438-suite hotel is just 20 minutes from the airport in Cancun. Special experiences foster togetherness for families, couples and groups of friends. Azul Sensatori caters to kids and teenagers, with the Azulitos Playhouse and Extreme Breeze Teens Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Sensatori Hotel, By Karisma Hotel Puerto Morelos
Azul Sensatori By Karisma Hotel
Azul Sensatori Hotel, By Karisma Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.