We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very enjoyable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma to your Saves list
Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Puerto Morelos km 27.5 | Manz 37, Super Manz 12, Bahia Petempich, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 34%
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Custer, South Dakota
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This has been a very relaxing vacation. The food is excellent, the employees are very pleasant! We stayed in a no children section, so, no screaming children! You do need to decide right away whether or not you want to hear the hard sell from the concierge.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,531
    1,038
    461
    167
    120
See reviews for
1,459
1,895
23
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,325)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northport, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Ill start with the food because if you love food and staying at an all inclusive in Riviera Maya then this would be the place to stay. The service and the entertainment also deserves 5 stars. Theres a great kid clubs and a lot of things for the familes to do. Excursions is what makes Riviera Maya great. The reason I gave it 4 instead of 5 stars is because of the beach. It was still really nice but not ideal. sep11

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I just came back from 8 days at this amazing resort!

You are welcomed on arrival with a glass of champagne and a scented towel to refresh with.
We travelled with 50 others, for a destination wedding. The check in was quick for all of us.

The rooms are beautiful and spacious. We chose a jacuzzi suite in the adult section. We loved the location and it overlooked the pools and faced the ocean. The beds are actually comfortable and the pillows are great. The jacuzzi was awesome!! The only things I didn't like about our rooms is that the bathroom sinks are extremely high and being 5'1 made it a bit difficult to use. I also dislike a key/lock safe system... they need to switch to a combination/keyless entry system. The colors and decor in the rooms are beautiful! The decks are spacious and come with a comfy couch.

It rained for the first 5 days of our trip and we still had a great time! Most of Cancun and Playa flooded but we still found things to do and there is always food and drinks!

The food... the best resort food that you will ever eat! So many options and there is always somewhere open to eat. The 24 hour room service is amazing too! I loved the Mexican restaurant!

They do NOT water down the drinks and there is name brand/high end booze at every bar!
Make sure to tip... you will get even better service and it won't make a difference in your pocket!

Ricardo at the pool and Jesus at the bar were awesome!

The layout of the resort is nice... lot's of options for pools. The ocean is nice but the water is quite rocky and hard to manoeuvre.

Due to the rain the wedding was moved indoors... it was a good option and quite nice! Very private. The wedding food was amazing!

The mojito bar was super... make sure to try the peach mojito!

If you have any questions about the resort... let me know!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I'm writing this review while at the resort. I'm here for two weeks and wish it was only two days. I've read some of the reviews on here and can't help but think what a load of bull. I've stayed at the sensatori in Sharm El Sheik many a time and the quality, the class and finer details are far superior. For those of you that are aware you will know that there is a 'Prestige' area to the resort which offers four poster sunbeds and other various luxuries. Well this, my friends is what you get standard in every other Sensatori, the rest if the resort is plastered with 'Azul by Karisma' which is the lower end standard. There's non of this segregation, of if you pay more you get the finer things unlike this place. I've spent over £4000 to come here which is nearly double the price of Sharm and quite frankly I feel like I've lost all faith in Thomson resorts.
We had to request to move rooms to the ground floor as I've had to carry my 3 month old son up to the fourth floor in his pushchair as the lifts stop working...mostly while people are in there. We've had people ripping up the floors and re laying tiles, painting walls, drilling and hammering walls.

One good note is there are a lot of restaurants to chose from, which is great if you ever get to eat in them. They don't allow bookings and yet vast groups of Americans and Canadians have been able to fully book restaurants by slipping the concierges dollar bills.

To summarise this isn't a 5* resort, this isn't or rather shouldn't be a Thomson resort as its lacking the luxury for everyone not just for those that pay to upgrade to Prestige.

Room Tip: Don't pay £150 extra for a sea view as every room has a sea view from the balcony. If you can re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We couldn't fault the hotel and staff, the rooms were spotless and we were upgraded to a suite with our own hot tub. The hotel releases scents around the resort which we found a lovely touch to make the holiday more relaxing. The Le Chic Restaurant was absolutely amazing, we had some trouble getting into it at first as they tell you there's a two week waiting list but after explaining it was my partners birthday they shifted things around. We also paid to go back there the next night for the exclusive menu and wine matching meal. The beach was a little bit of a let down as it was not very well maintained and there was a lot of dirt and debris, we didn't really see any other guests on it whilst we were there either but cancun has some lovely beaches if you visit the main town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

My husband and i celebrated our 16th wedding anniversary at Azul Sensatori. We were skeptical about the "all inclusive" charges but the service and food exceeded our expectations. The resort itself is absolutely fabulous, with spectacular views of the beautiful swimming pools and ocean from each room. We were on the top floor, which allowed a memorable view of the resort.

Most striking was the pleasant, smiling, accommodating attitude of every staff member!

There are 5 restaurants from which to choose, with food and drinks available most times during the day. Room service, which is available 24 hours a day, was great, and honor extra requests. We enjoy 'full body' cocktails, and simply asked for 'double' or extra shot. The wait staff at each restaurant was superb--seemed to delight in accommodating any request. We celebrated our anniversary with a 'lobster and steak' private dining on the patio of Tapas.

Housekeeping was great. Each day we were delighted to a new towel arrangement, when we returned to our room---swans, snail, alligator, etc. (the maids take a class to learn how to make these designs)
As expected, we were invited to a sales presentation; but, unlike most resorts, there truly was no pressure to buy. We listened, considered for a couple of days, and then actually decided to buy. But this was our decision---no one harassed us either during or after the presentation.

The variety of options (lunch on the beach, restaurants or room service), ice cream in the open air sitting area, bar service, etc. -----we never missed not leaving the resort property for the week.

Needless to say, we were quite pleased and are planning another visit in the near future.

Room Tip: Top floor of any building--for a spectacular biew of the pools and ocean. 4402: enjoyed the view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I thought I'd write this review, as leading up to my holiday I read many a bad review and was anxious about what to expect... First of all - if you have booked, you wont be disappointed, I've had a fabulous 2 weeks :-)

Thomsons - flight out was pretty poor, they only came round twice with drinks in 10 1/2 hours.. Plus the flight attendants seem more interested in gossiping to each other than focusing on customers. The female rep in the resort was pretty rubbish too. We went to see her about the issue with out room (see below) and she didn't seem interested.

Room - the first room we got was dreadful. The wardrobe stank, it was very dark and we had somehow been given an adjoining room... adjoining the most noisy obnoxious people. Although we were a couple not a family and certainly claimed no relation to the neighbours. We complained from the start and 2 days later were eventually moved to a lovely room a few doors down the same corridor. Shame it took 2 days of our trip before we finally felt like we'd go what we'd paid for.

Restaurants - the food is fabulous. I would have paid for most of the meals I ate, with exception to the rancid lamb in the Sienna restaurant. We did eat in here another night though and the food was fine that time. You will find that the food really is al a carte, and don't feel guilty about indulging in 3 courses as the portions are nice and small. Our favourites were Zocolo (Caribbean) and Zavaz (Mexican). The staff in the restaurants go out of their way to accommodate you and keep your glass topped up. Pedro in Zocolo was one of the most attentive waiters I have ever come across!! :-)

Bars - there are several places to get a drink on an evening - Caribbean, Mexican or the mojito bar. But we felt there was a need for a nice quite bar where you could sit and relax and enjoy a few drinks after your evening meal. The range of drinks is amazing, all premium brands and the mojito's are really special.
**TIP - if you like a nice glass of wine, the house wine they want to pour is pretty nasty, but there is also a sauvignon blanc and chardonnay available as house wines that are lovely, you just need to ask for them by name. No need to look at the overpriced wine menu that isn't included in the AI.

Beach - yes there is seaweed, its called NATURE... The beach is still lovely though and is great for a nice breeze when topping up the tan :-) The bar staff come along to the beach beds and take your drinks orders, it truly is a great place to relax.

Spa - we were talked into having a couples massage and facial, $198 for 2. When we got to the spa they refused to let us have a facial but offered several smaller treatments to choose from instead. I had a massage and a body scrub, my partner had a massage and a head massage. I enjoyed my treatments, the masseur was excellent. But my partner came away very disappointed, as we were taken to separate rooms (they said we'd be in the same room) and the woman who was delivering his treatments wanted him to get fully naked, boxers and all... lol. He said no and kept them on though.

Trips - we wanted to go to the ruins; the trip to Chichen Itza was $109 per person for a whole day. Whilst returning from a shopping trip to Cancun we (plus our 2 friends we travelled with) asked the taxi how much he'd charge to take us to Chichen Itza. He suggested a day out to Chichen Itza then Coba then Tulum which would cost us $300. The drivers wait for you whilst you do your own thing and you don't pay until you return to the hotel. We took this option and managed to have a really enjoyable day for less than the combined price for our party, plus got to see more than 1 of the sites. I highly recommend this trip. It was a wonderful day and not at all tiring as the other 2 ruins were on the route back from Chichen Itza too.

Tipping - we like to tip when we get a good service. We tipped the maid, the bell boys, the waiters / waitresses. But only when we were happy with the service.
The service in spoons was pretty bad in our 2nd week, with one particular waiter who struggled to communicate with us, bringing us the wrong things. We obviously were forgiving of this, as we were the ones visiting his country and we couldn't speak Spanish. But when we visited spoons for some lunch after checking out (with our hand luggage) he suddenly spoke English very well and was topping up our glasses / cups endlessly. We suspected he was after a big tip as it was obvious we were ready to leave... shame he hadn't been so attentive during our stay as he would have been rewarded daily.

Shopping - the resort shop is ridiculously overpriced, so make sure you pack everything you need. We spent 1 day shopping in Cancun and 1 day shopping in Playa Del Carmen. Both were lovely days out, but if you only want to do one then -
* Cancun has everything including some really high end shopping
* Playa Del Carmen is limited to 'gift shopping' but has an absolutely stunning beach than runs parallel with the shopping strip
The taxis are $40-45 each way, but the driver waits free of charge whilst you shop for the return journey to the hotel. I wish taxis were like this in the UK!!

So... here I am after 2 weeks, 1 filled with torrential rain and 1 with complete Caribbean sunshine and I have had a fabulous time. So if your booked - forget about the bad reviews and go enjoy yourself :-)

Room Tip: we were in block 3 - room 3230 - lovely :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma

Address: Carretera Cancun-Puerto Morelos km 27.5 | Manz 37, Super Manz 12, Bahia Petempich, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Gourmet Inclusive®, 438-suite hotel is just 20 minutes from the airport in Cancun. Special experiences foster togetherness for families, couples and groups of friends. Azul Sensatori caters to kids and teenagers, with the Azulitos Playhouse and Extreme Breeze Teens Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Sensatori Hotel, By Karisma Hotel Puerto Morelos
Azul Sensatori By Karisma Hotel
Azul Sensatori Hotel, By Karisma Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.