We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you fit the profile, you’ll probably like it here” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma to your Saves list
Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Puerto Morelos km 27.5 | Manz 37, Super Manz 12, Bahia Petempich, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
25% off room rate
Ranked #6 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Airdrie, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“If you fit the profile, you’ll probably like it here”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We used a travel agent to book this vacation. I believe that we were quite clear when we stated that we were traveling with a younger, single friend, and therefore nightlife was an important factor when choosing a resort. The agent very highly recommended this resort and was so convincing that we eagerly accepted the advice.

We had very high hopes at check in. The resort is beautiful. Our travel agent noted that my husband and I were on our honeymoon so the check in clerk upgraded us to a premium room. WE VERY CLEARLY STATED that we were traveling with a friend and did not want the upgrade if it meant we would be separated. (He was staying in a “Luxury Ocean View” room.) We were assured that he would be free to come visit us in the premium section and we could share the facilities. Later we discovered that this is completely against the rules and we were reprimanded every time we met with our friend - even to the point of harassment.

While the resort is beautiful and has some features that places it above other Mexican resorts (several pools, a la carte restaurants, large rooms, higher class profile, very relaxing atmosphere and no wrist bands), it should never be recommended to anyone except people traveling with young children or senior citizens. After the nightly entertainment ended at 10:00 soothing saxophone music ushered people to their rooms and night security came out to ensure that everyone stayed there. My friend went for a walk by himself at 1:00 am and a security guard actually came and requested that he go back to bed! The same friend came to visit us at our room and stayed until late at night and security came to our door and told us that we weren’t allowed to have 3 people in our room. (a little confusing since we booked and paid for 2 rooms and the internet says maximum 3 adults per room!)

By the end of this experience we had become paranoid and terrified of making any wrong moves. We spent most of our time trying to break our friend of his negative mood as he referred to the resort as a prison. We ended up spending most of our time off resort, making for a very expensive vacation as most of our meals, beverages, and entertainment were bought off site. Since it is a 45 minute taxi ride to the nearest town, we easily spent $500 in cab fares alone.

Even beyond the social stresses of the resort we were disappointed in other ways. The main reason I wanted to choose this resort was because of the in-room Jacuzzis. (Very romantic for our honeymoon, I thought.) The jacuzzi did not work. We had it repaired and it worked once and broke again. The same thing happened with our telephone. Repair men were in our room almost as often as we were. Furthermore, the beach was treacherous with large rocks in the water after 25 feet. You need to go further than 25 feet if you want the water above your knees. I ventured out a couple of times and ended up seriously bruised all over my legs. We ended up walking up the shoreline to the neighbouring resorts, hoping that no one would notice as we swam in their rock-free water and and tanned on their white sand beaches which were more like icing sugar than the course, gritty sand at Sensitori. I was also very confused as to why our friend's “luxury ocean view room” did not actually have a view of the ocean.

I have to say, I have traveled extensively and this is the first time I have ever been made to feel like an intruder! I have paid HALF as much for Mexican resorts which were almost as nice (in some ways nicer- better food!) and much, much more welcoming. We came home feeling stressed, ill-favoured, and ended up spending more than double for what should have been an all inclusive vacation.

Room Tip: Premium rooms and “luxury ocean rooms” are exactly the same. Neither actually have a view of the oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,118
    915
    414
    149
    116
See reviews for
1,232
1,677
20
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,144)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

My best friend was married at the Azul Sensatori resort this month. The grounds were beautiful and very well maintained. The rooms were large, updated and really comfortable. The service was outstanding, which is not typical for an all inclusive resort. I stayed in a swim up room, which was really cool. If the weather was nicer during our stay, I would have loved to have used that feature to access the pool directly from my patio.
The Mojito Lounge was where our group spent most of our evenings, it was quaint, the music was fun and the mojitos were tasty. The BBQ on the beach was cool and the food was good. The other restaurants were just okay... food was not great and they were not that accommodating for our large group. We weren't able to eat together at all - even when the restaurants were empty. We couldn't understand why they wouldn't slide tables together for us. All in all, the resort was fun and reasonably priced. It was rainy and cloudy every day that we were there but that was no one's fault but Mother Nature! The wedding ceremony on the beach was gorgeous and the reception was perfect on the grounds by the pool. I hope to go back again and enjoy the sun on the beach!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This resort is fabulous! The grounds are emmaculate, the food is great and the staff is superb..worth every single penny that you spend. We got married at this resort on April 12th and the wedding coordinator staff was phenomenal. I would recommend this resort to anyone that's thinking about a destination wedding. I kept thinking that we would show up for a planned event and something would be wrong but when we showed up to our cocktail reception everything was perfect, the dinner was great, the Sky Wedding Ceremony was beautiful and the reception was also beautiful. From the decor, to the food to the waitstaff everything was above expectations. We stayed in the Premium section of the hotel and we had our own concierge which made the stay that more amazing. YOU HAVE TO get reservations at the restaurant LeChic, it is worth every single penny that you spend. The food was just amazing. We have about 30 people attend our wedding and everyone was pleased with everything. We will be back next year for our one year anniversary!

Room Tip: If possible stay in the Premium section of the resort although all of the rooms are nice. I say Prem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked a 6 night stay at the resort through Sunwing, travelling with our 4 year old son.
I am going to be nitpicky as this place was excellent - so this is really for anyone detailed like me!

Transfer was fine, with arrival at the resort very quickly.

The Azul website states that a welcome drink is presented upon arrival, including a special smoothie for the children. We didn't receive this. In addition, our son was to have his own special checkin - the counter was there, however it was not offered until I asked about it.

The Family Room we booked was exactly as advertised. The pull out couch matresses have seen their day, however it was perfect for a four year old to nestle in! They even made up the lounge side area of the couch for us, in case he needed some extra support during the night.

By visiting the concierge, we were provided a pillow menu, which we took advantage of. The main bed is a Queen - not King.

It only took us asking the concierge to fill our minibar a certain way, and it was done like that every day. We never did use room service, but those that did were pleased.

We were in a ground floor unit 4101, which was perfect for running back and forth to the room. I was worried at first about the noise from people above (never heard a pep from any guest). We were also concerned being so close to the main restaurant and bars about the noise. However once the patio door was closed, with the air on, we didn't hear anything. The shows lasted until 9:45 or so and only one of them woke up our son.

The food was ample and the ability to order a 4 year old whatever they want was fantastic!
Try the Carribean restaurant at lunch as they have a dozen or so burgers to try. First resort in awhile that actually uses real glasses and not those small plastic ones that hold 3 gulps. Only concern is that they don't seem to be that thorough in washing them?

We put our son in the organized kids program one day and he had a great time. They even take them to lunch. We made pinotas one day, chocolate another, it was fun.

The toy lending library is getting a bit weak. Most of the toys are broken or already signed out.

When packing, we did find a "bug" in our clothes in the closet. Not sure if he attached himself from outside or what. The rooms were spotless otherwise. Didn't find any other "travellers" once home.

Make sure you bring a ton of sunscreen as it was $35 in the gift shop!!

There was towel saving going on, however we never had an issue finding a spot. Also, they were great at cleaning the seaweed on the beach. There are pails and shovels to borrow as well.

You will not be disappointed, especially when your kids are amused and having a great time!

Will answer any questions!

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms are great to run back to the room quickly!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My wife, 6 year old daughter and I stayed from 4th of April for two weeks. Have to say from the pick up of the Thomson rep to when they dropped us off. It was all fantastic. At the resort the place was spotless - our room cleaned daily with a night turn down service. We stayed in the premium suites and it really was just that bit more special. The pools are great - i think we swam in them all. The restaurants were all 5 out of 5, with Spoons for breakfast being outstanding, the beach BBQ and Caribbean for Lunch - then any of the others for dinner. Drinks were non stop and good quality. Gardens amazing - kids club was the best we have come across - the quality of staff, the ratio of kids to staff and the activities. Great couple of tennis courts..... i could go on. Extra special thanks to Leticia at concierge who saved the day when Blankie was lost. (she went and bought a similar one and we didn't ask and she didn't want the money)Thanks for a great holiday

Room Tip: We liked the Premium rooms that our by the adult section
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

this was a much needed holiday after a busy year so our expectations were high. Quick transfer time from the airport. Efficient and friendly reception/booking in. Our room was big, clean and we found that we had been 'upgraded' to the adults only section (not the premium section). It was quiet and had a view over one of the pools. The balcony was lovely with cushioned seating, however when they get wet in the rain they take ages to dry. We always found a sun bed on the beach but I am afraid that the usual 'get up at 6 and put towels down' happens here as most places. There is no limit or ticketing for towels and we got the impression that people were leaving them in several areas to use as the sun moved. there wasn't much shade when we first arrived but halfway through more umbrellas appeared around the pool. Loungers on the beach are very close together. All meals were hot and well presented, even the buffet. The adult only restaurant is bookable and an experience worth doing. Don't be fooled by the small size of each course - by the end you will have had enough. It's not worth going to see the personal concierge (tale too long for here). There seemed to be plenty of activities for the children. Although we did hear people comment it was like a creche in some restaurants. Perhaps adult only areas in some would be possible? Lots of canadians there. We didn't tip until our last day but this didn't effect the service we were given The house wine is of a reasonable standard and unless you are a real wine buff it's not worth buying from the wine menu. Would go again. the beach is ok, but the water is shallow so no use for swimming but ideal for kids.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The hotel is advertised as a Sensatori - it's NOT. It's Azul by Sensatori - a subsidiary hotel, and not up to the Sensatori standard. I have definitely stayed in better hotels!!

The room was 'nice', but I expected better to be honest. We had paid extra for a swim-up room - don't bother! Availability of sunbeds around the pool was shocking... It was so bad that people were literally getting up at 5am to put towels down on the beds and reserving them, despite the "No reserving sunbeds" sign - this was not enforced by management!

Management in the hotel was really poor. The mojito bar was closed whilst we were there, and we were told that the bar had been "temporarily relocated" to the sports bar - where you couldn't hear yourself think, let alone order a drink!

We had no water for 36 hours (none at all anywhere in the hotel), and we were constantly fobbed off with feeble excuses as to what the problem was, and when it was likely to be turned back on. I did manage to get free wifi as compensation for this (wifi was extortionate!)

I can only rate this hotel as average.

Room Tip: If you're thinking of paying extra for a swim-up room, don't bother. It's really not wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma

Address: Carretera Cancun-Puerto Morelos km 27.5 | Manz 37, Super Manz 12, Bahia Petempich, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Gourmet Inclusive®, 438-suite hotel is just 20 minutes from the airport in Cancun. Special experiences foster togetherness for families, couples and groups of friends. Azul Sensatori caters to kids and teenagers, with the Azulitos Playhouse and Extreme Breeze Teens Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Sensatori Hotel, By Karisma Hotel Puerto Morelos
Azul Sensatori By Karisma Hotel
Azul Sensatori Hotel, By Karisma Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.