We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise for family with young kids who enjoy good food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma to your Saves list
Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Carretera Cancun-Puerto Morelos km 27.5 | Manz 37, Super Manz 12, Bahia Petempich, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up to 34%
Ranked #5 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Toronto
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Paradise for family with young kids who enjoy good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was our 2nd annual Mexico all-inclusive vacation for our family with 2 kids (age 2 and 5 this year). We went to the Grand Sunset Princess last year - it was okay. The Azul Sensatori is a few notches better in every aspect. I would definitely go back to the Azul Sensatori but I wouldn't go back to the Grand Sunset Princess. This review compares my experience between these 2 resorts.

Location:
Azul Sensatori: Only 20 minutes away from Cancun airport
Grand Sunset Princess: About 45 minutes away from Cancun airport

Beach:
Azul Sensatori: water was rocky and not swimmable. The sand was nice. There were palapas that you can reserve if you get to the beach really early (like before 6am). otherwise, there were a lot of loungers but no shade. Beach butlers will come to ask if you want drinks.
Grand Sunset Princess: I didn't swim in the ocean but the sand was nice. There are vendors all along the beach so you don't have a good ocean view. There were lots of loungers with shade. No beach butler.

BBQ Lunch at the Beach:
Azul Sensatori: there was a really clean picnic table area. They had the regular hotdog, hamburger, and salad but they also had something else that was different everyday (chicken wings, ribs, ceviche, paella, etc..). No long line-ups.
Grand Sunset Princess: there were often long line-ups to get food. there were little tables under each hut but no chairs to eat properly. you had to eat at your lounger and the little tables often had bird poop on it.

Restaurants:
Azul Sensatori: had 1 buffet restaurant and 5 a la carte restaurants. Some of the a la carte restaurants were also open for breakfast and lunch. No reservations required except for Le Chique.
Grand Sunset Princess: had 3-4 buffet restaurants, 1 sports bar, and about 5 a la carte restaurants open for dinner. All the buffet restaurants served pretty much the same thing. You had to make reservations for each a la carte restaurant and you can only do it 2 days in advance so you had to go back to make the reservation a few times. There was a long line up (~30 minutes) to make the reservations.

Wristbands:
Azul Sensatori: no wristbands needed except for renting a kayak. You pay $2 to rent a kayak for the week and you have to wear the wristband if you want to take the kayak out again.
Grand Sunset Princess: wristband needed to get into the restaurants and to get drinks

Pools:
Azul Sensatori: had 2 wrap around pools with kiddie pools attached. had another kiddie area with a shallow pool and splash pad. Lots of loungers. Pool butlers come by all the time to ask if you want drinks.
Grand Sunset Princess: had multiple pools, some just for kids with lots of loungers. No pool butler.

Rooms:
Azul Sensatori: really nice. the safe was old school had a physical lock and key. If you lost the key, they would charge you a lot of money. Room service was included.
Grand Sunset Princess: really nice. The safe was a passcode safe like most modern hotel rooms. Room service not included.

Food:
Azul Sensatori: Everything was excellent. Buffet, Italian, Mexican, Seafood, Tapas, Le Chique (Adult-only). The only thing missing was a good steakhouse. We didn't have to pay extra for Le Chique because we went with Sunwing and it was a good experience but if I have to pay, I wouldn't go again. They tried to sell these really expensive wine pairings ($45+/person) and we are not huge wine drinkers so we didn't pay for this. I felt like the waiter was not happy about it.
Grand Sunset Princess: The food was good but the desserts were consistently not good and the steaks were consistently mushy, like they tenderized it with too much baking soda.

Entertainment:
Azul Sensatori: We went to two shows - both of which were quite disappointing. They also had a "Dinner with the Princess" at the buffet restaurant (Spoons) which was moved to another location (the beach) at the last minute without notice which was disappointing because we had psyched up the kids to this. they tried to make it up to us by having one of the Princesses show up at our dinner anyway which was nice.
Grand Sunset Princess: Shows were very professional and entertaining. A big plus for this resort but I don't know if anyone chooses a resort based on the quality of the entertainment.

Service:
Azul Sensatori: Very good. Everyone is very attentive and the staff to guest ratio is high so you don't have to wait long to be serve. When you say "thank you", they always say "It's my pleasure". Both pool and beach had butlers to bring you drinks.
Grand Sunset Princess: Good. Sometimes we had to wait for service but it was okay. Some waiter's English level wasn't so good so sometimes they would get orders wrong but it wasn't a big deal. No pool and beach butlers.

Kids club:
Azul Sensatori: there's an indoor area with a gym, rock climbing wall, theatre, fisher price room, video games room, kitchen/tables. there's a outdoor wading pool, water slide, and splash pad but it's not always supervised. the staff are very friendly and hard working. there was a schedule of indoor/outdoor activities everyday, including evenings. we dropped off my son at the kids club a few times but he never wanted to stay very long. I think it's because it's mainly indoor activities. they also seemed to operate on Mexican time which was usually 15-30min later than when they said the activity would start. I know we were on vacation so it shouldn't really matter but sometimes it was annoying because if an activity was said to start at 3pm, we would get there by 3pm but it didn't start until 3:30pm, we could have spent that extra 30 minutes on the beach instead of rushing to the kids club. Or if we had to coordinate naps, a shortened or delayed nap time results in a very unhappy toddler. #firstworldproblems
Grand Sunset Princess: it's an outdoor playscape with a wading pool. staff are very friendly and hard working. there was not really a schedule but they did fun stuff with the kids throughout the day like face painting, taking them to the beach, taking them to lunch, etc.. My son enjoyed this kids club more because the playscape was fun. he wanted to go to this kids club every day and wanted to have lunch with them too.

Kid-friendliness
Azul Sensatori: had fisher price highchairs, boosters, and toys at every restaurant. the buffet even had a mini kid's buffet where kids could help themselves to a selection of kid-friendly breakfast items (cereal, mini muffins, chocolate milk, etc..). they provided us with a step stool so
the kids can reach the sink in the hotel room. they also brought us a kid bathrobe for my son. They have characters roaming the resort all the time: the Fisher Price Little People (Eddy and Sonya-Lee), Bumblebee (the transformer), Princesses (Leah, Jasmine, Cinderella), Marvel heros (Captain America, Hulk, Iron Man, etc..). When we checked in, all the kids got a welcome milkshake while they waited for us to get checked in.
Grand Sunset Princess: other than the kids club, they didn't have anything special for kids but there were plenty of kids at the resort so we didn't feel out of place.

In conclusion, Azul was just a bit better in every aspect compared to the Grand Sunset Princess. I would not hesitate to recommend Azul Sensatori to families with young kids. Because this resort specifically caters to kids, if you don't have kids, you are better off going to another resort unless you don't mind kids making noise and running around while you are trying to have a fine dining experience.

Room Tip: We got a room near the kid's area but this resort is so small that any room is close to everythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,543
    1,038
    461
    167
    120
See reviews for
1,462
1,900
23
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,326)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

If you want a really relaxing holiday with a bit of luxury thrown in, this is the place for you.

We went in early January. This is an exclusive resort to Thomsons. Lots of legroom on the flight. The only downside was that, the runway in Birmingham is not big enough to take the plane with enough fuel, so we had to go from Birmingham to Manchester, take on fuel (another 90 min wait on the aircraft) before the long journey to mexico.

After that, it was five star all the way. Rooms are spacious and well equipped, including a jacuzzi bath. Balconies all overlook the sea and have a proper upholstered sofa for comfort. The pool areas are amazing, as is the beach with its daybeds. Next time, we would upgrade to a swim up room - a bit more luxury for not much more money.

There are six restaurants to choose from for meals - only one of which needs prior booking. We loved the Carribbean restaurant and the Italian, but for breakfast, Spoons had everything you could possibly imagine, including a chocolate fountain!

We are an over 60's couple, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Nothing is too much trouble for the friendly staff.

The only trip we took was to Chichen Itza, which I can thoroughloy recommend. Our guide was knowledgeable and passionate about his subject. A fabulous day out.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view and balcony as standard, all are junior suites with a jacuzzi. A swim up r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canvey Island, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My husband and myself stayed here for my birthday in February. We had booked a room in the adults section. However the smell from the drains as you approached the room was terrible. Once we were in the room we had a lovely view of the ocean, however the air conditioning also was faulty and the walls and wardrobe become damp and wet. I was so upset as it was my special birthday and also my mum had paid for the holiday. We had been to two previous karisma hotels and always been pleased. However we spoke to our rep the next morning KIA she was fantastic she spoke to the manager and by the afternoon we was upgraded to a premier room and we were treated like royalty. We ended up having a lovely room and a fantastic holiday. We enjoyed the Caribbean Resturant the best for all our meals, but they were all nice its just personal choice.

Room Tip: Would always go for the premier rooms at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Beautiful hotel, nice rooms, nothing bad to say about the service at all. Everything is a "pleasure".

I would recommend this hotel for families, it's not a romantic couples getaway at all. There is only one restaurant that is adults only (Le Chique) and there is an extra cost for it. Honestly, in our opinion, it wasn't worth the $50, it's all about the presentation. You get very little actual food, and although it was very good, anyone who is not open to experimental eating wont like it (an example: Foie Gras wrapped in cotton candy served in tree branches).

ROOM: We ended up with an upgrade (a very nice upgrade!) because when we arrived there was no room available as they had had a flight cancellation which meant many people couldn't check out when they were supposed to. They sent us next door to Secrets Silversands (which is adults only, and very nice!) for one night, and when we got our room the next day we had been upgraded to a honeymoon suite in building 4 (4332). We had a huge wrap around deck right on the ocean and with pool view on one side, and included all premium amenities (access to premium pool, free Internet, special pillows, etc). We booked with a time share exchange (paying extra for the all-inclusive food & drinks) so part of the reason we got a better upgrade was because we agreed to go on the time share presentation and of course they hoped we would buy. Anyone who has heard time share horror stories-this was the BEST presentation we've been to. No pressure whatsoever, we've been to a few nightmare ones and this one was well worth it (we got a $500 discount on our all-inclusive fee).

FOOD: I think our biggest disappointment was with the food. It wasn't bad, but not outstanding in any way. We like to eat well, and the food was kind of boring. I guess they want to please most people and it is a family resort, so I would assume most people are pleased with the food. The best meal we had was at Secrets Silversands next door on our first night in their French restaurant - it was truly delicious. Also, because its a family resort there are no restaurants to go to (besides Le Chique) for a romantic, dress up evening. None of the restaurants take reservations, so often you had to wait 30 minutes or more for a table. On the last night we waited over an hour, and the restaurant had many empty tables. People were getting grumpy! There is 24/7 room service available, which is great, we had a few seaside breakfasts on our deck. The bad thing is that you cannot get even a glass of wine with room service. So if you want a romantic evening in (with wine), you have to walk down to the bar and carry back plastic glasses of wine, which kind of defeats the purpose of room service. We had been told that the premium upgrade included wine with room service but maybe we should have tried the concierge. We just let it go.

BEACH: The beach was very nice, it was raked every morning, we found it to be very clean.

ENTERTAINMENT: The all-inclusive is only food and drinks. There are no kayaks, catamarans, etc included as there are with some other resorts.

All-in-all, a beautiful resort, one we would recommend for families, be we wouldn't return simply because we would like a more romantic, couples getaway (we would try the El Dorado adult only resorts by Karisma though).

Room Tip: All the rooms seem to have good views of pools, as other travellers have said, choose 3rd or 4th flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We flew as a couple to Azul Sensatori with Thomson as a package and from the start they made the whole experience so relaxed and carefree...we were greeted on arrival at the hotel with Champagne/Sparkling wine and told to chill out in the Sky Lounge while they checked us in, we were then given our room key and told that the porters would bring our luggage to our room...making our check in probably the easiest check in I've ever experienced.

Our room was absolutely beautiful, very well laidout with a jacuzzi bath and a lounge area...our room was also on the ground floor so we could walk straight out onto our balcony area and then a few feet more to the pool side. This made it very easy to just pop back to the room to grab stuff. A few reviews have complained about the nearly see-through doors on the toilet and showers...this wasn't a problem with us as you could only see a shadow. Room service was absolutely brilliant the waiters always made it seem like you were dining in a restaurant when they brought the food through and it was served piping hot and delicious :) I would recommend ordering well in advance though as they can get busy with waiting times around 40mins.

The resort as a whole was amazing and extremely clean with a variety of restaurants all serving al a carte as well as buffet. The childrens section was located on one side of the resort which ment our side of the resort was pretty child free without having to specifically head to the Adults pool. There was also an amazing pool and beach waiter service, which we definitely took advantage of, serving non and alcoholic cocktail slushies as well as soft drinks and beers.

Our favourite restaurant for breakfast was Zavaz, the Carribean restaurant, this was located opposite our room and had lovely views in the outside seating area perfect for breakfast, my favourite dish was the poached eggs which were always served perfectly along with some fruit from the buffet and their mango yogurt :):) we went back to visit this restaurant in the evening and brought the lobster to share and accompanied it with the fillet steak from the menu which was absolutely divine. Our favourite place for lunch was definitely the beach BBQ, which was quite literally on the beach. We helped ourselves to delicious burgers, BBQ ribs, paella, chicken wings etc. It was the perfect place to chill out and eat mid way through the day. We made sure that during our trip we visited each restaurant and all I can say is they are all as good as each other with excellent food and service. Tapas and Le Chique were delightful experiences which really made a night out of dining. Le Chique I can only describe as 12 course Alice in Wonderland-esque dining and certainly something I have never experienced before...it is long however and I would recommend starting early. I would highly recommned the Mojito lounge for drinks, they have around 30 different mojitos!! and there all delicious!

The beach was beautiful with a very strong wind that was excellent for tanning :) there is a drop of and a couple of rocks and a few complaints on here were about the seaweed but they do try there best to clear it every morning and we really did not find this a problem. We did however hire a jeep out and drove along the coast and would highly recommend the beaches at Tulum for a day trip they truly were beautiful.

The hotel shop was a little pricey and if you smoke I would recommend buying some cigarettes at the airport on arrival as a pack of 20 were around $7 in the shop. I also found the trips a little pricey however our dolphin trip to Xel Ha was well worth the money. They do charge a lot extra for dolphin photos though so be prepared. We also used the jeep to go to Chitzen Itza in the early morning and was glad we did as we dont think we would of been able to handle more than a few hours in the hot sun there. We was also able to ultilize the jeep in the afternoon going to other beaches and popping into Playa del Carmen for the evening. Jeep hire was around $90 for
24 hours.

All in all an incredible holiday experience well needed and well worth the money. I would highly recommend Azul Sensatori for anyone looking at a trip to Mexico.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nevada60
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed last week of February of 2013. Specifically booked the adult junior suite to ensure we were in the adult only section as we knew this was a family and couple resort. Rooms exactly as depicted in the pictures ... Perfect. Excellent bed, with the pillow menu you could choose the type of pillow which also increased the sleeping experience.

Grounds were spotless, and beautiful vegetation and flowers with borders of hedging everywhere. The pools seemed endless never crowded. The same goes with the bars whether it was swim up or just sitting around again never crowded and was almost always first or second in line. Variety of international alcohol was also great.

The beach for me was fine, it was too windy our stay to swim, but the cabanas on the beach and chairs were always in use.

What I can't stand are the people feel that a towel will reserve a cabana or chaise lounge for them for hours until they decide to show up, and they put them out around 6 in the morning. The resort does have signs that you cannot reserve outdoor seating. So we just removed the towels and took the spot.

Food, everyone wants to know. Well I just finished loosing the weight I put on because of the food.

Fantastic!! Tapas restaurant, Italian, Mexican, Caribbean restaurants were great we loved the tapas and Italian and did them twice for dinner, Mexican favourite spot for breakfast and lunch along with the Caribbean restaurant. The international restaurant the spoon great also, but this is really driven to those with kids, and there were a lot of all ages.

Lastly la chic, adult only restaurant and you must book this only serves 40 people a night but ou can book your dining time. Ladies bring a sweater or shawl it was cool, and you will be there a min of 3 hours But Its worth it. The food was sensational, everything was a taste and presentation experience we had 11 course dinner if you upgraded to the wine pairing they had 18 courses.

Overall I loved this resort.

Room Tip: If you are travelling without children book the adult section
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Check in was good, room very large & spotless whole hotel very clean, food good best restaurant was the caribbean, sadly holiday was spoilt by my 19 year olds make up being stolen ( she was really upset as any young girl would be ) from our room neither the hotel or thomson were very helpful I have stayed in many 5* hotel and never had anything taken before not what you would expect from a 5* hotel, especially there couldn't care less attitude we were told by Amy the thomson rep sorry but its just one of those !! not good enough !!! due to this we would not return or recommend to others

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma

Address: Carretera Cancun-Puerto Morelos km 27.5 | Manz 37, Super Manz 12, Bahia Petempich, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#4 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#6 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma 4.5*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Gourmet Inclusive®, 438-suite hotel is just 20 minutes from the airport in Cancun. Special experiences foster togetherness for families, couples and groups of friends. Azul Sensatori caters to kids and teenagers, with the Azulitos Playhouse and Extreme Breeze Teens Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Azul Sensatori Hotel, By Karisma Hotel Puerto Morelos
Azul Sensatori By Karisma Hotel
Azul Sensatori Hotel, By Karisma Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Azul Sensatori Hotel, by Karisma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.