We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved from the first to last minute!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Coral & Turquesa

Save Saved
You added Ocean Coral & Turquesa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   SM 12, Mza 15, Lote 1-02, 103 Predio Maria Irene | Municipio Benito Juarez, Puerto Morelos 77511 , Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Transfers
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Puerto Morelos
Austin, Texas
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved from the first to last minute!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

My wife and I stayed there 6/2-6/9 for our 10th anniversary - sans our seven and three year old. We decided on this resort from the advise of our travel agent, who had stayed there before. It was in our price range and our agent said it was, "Okay".

After looking at the reviews we decided to upgrade to "Privilege" because we haven't been on a trip by ourselves since we got married and didn't know when the next time would come around. We just wanted not to leave wishing we had something better.

Just like as everyone says, when we arrived we were personally welcomed with open arms and a drank the best Mojito while we were getting checked in. We felt like royalty and were escorted to our rooms. Walking from the "lobby" to the roome, we had our jaws hung wide open. Then when we arrived at our room, it was such a relief as it was fantastic. It was surpisingly large and had a huge bed and "living" area with couch. The outside porch had a jacuzzi spa and shower to clean off the sand. Champagne and fruit were already set up for us. The champagne was actually okay. The room did not smell and I don't know what people expect when they come to the Caribbean. If you expect the air to be hot and humid (especially when the wind is weak) and a bit salty, then you won't have a problem.

All of the restaurants were very good. Our favorites were the Fusion (romantic), Sinsea and the Italian for dinner. We ate a couple times at the buffet for lunch, but usually just got something from the privilege pool's buffet, so we could eat it right at the beach. The breakfast buffet was great. We never had to wait and as long as we called in by 4pm we got seats at whichever place we wanted to go to. This was nice as many had to eat first come first served and had to wait. We never waited for a table - not a second.

The pools were awesome as were the grounds of the resort. We stayed at the pivilege area as it was a bit more adult and quiet. Everyone in each area seemed to have the same vibe, so I believe everyone was happy and were they wanted to be.

The beach was also very nice! White powder sand and warm water. There were canopy beds for us to lie on and watch out for too much sun exposure as well as grass canopy shades. The grass shades had a drink table and had two padded sun beds to relax on. Throughout the day, we could lay on the beach and literally stay out of the sun if we wished. There is the sea grass as mentioned, but it was no big deal and it cleaned up constantly off the beach. If you like to snorkle or dive, then take the boat out to the reef about a half mile out for a two hour trip to see turtles, rays and fish.

Watch out for the sun! We got fried our first two days with very little exposure. We had assumed our spf 50 sunscreen was defective, but then overheard at dinner other people's sunscreen was also "defective". If you are fair or haven't been in the sun much before going, I would recommend going to a tanning place and get your skin a bit prepared for it. In all my years it was the most intense sun I have ever been in. It is quite deceptive, because the wind blows much of the time making it not seem hot.

The service at the resort was the best part. We felt that everyone of the staff from the highest to lowest level truly cared about making sure we were happy. We did tip because the workers do need it I'm sure, but I don't think our service experience would have been any different if we hadn't. Our beach waiters were just the best. We had a constant flow of iced down water and drinks before we could even ask for more. Late one afternoon at the beach our waiter served us iced coffees withour us asking and one time I was delivered my Riviera Maya drink as I exited the water after a swim. Again without me having to ask for it.

Our experince there was all around great and since Austin just got Sun Country Airlines to fly people to Cancun non-stop (less than two hours!) it was a seamless travel experince. For the guys, if you're looking for a place to take your girlfriend or wife you will come out a winner. The resort is romantic, beutiful, fun and relaxing. You will both enjoy it very much. Families with children will also enjoy it, too.

Go there!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,742 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,824
    1,704
    702
    309
    203
See reviews for
1952
2159
65
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mattoon, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2010

Just returned from Ocean Coral with 6 other friends, and all 6 of us were impressed with this resort! One of the great things about this resort is its layout, where everything is very easy to find and centrally clustered underneath a very nice lobby and terrace that provide sweeping views of the sea.

PROS: Huge rooms, excellent lobby, beautiful, well-kept pool and grounds, location (only 15-20 minutes from Cancun airport), food (buffet is different each night while Italian, Mexican and outside restaurants are also wonderful), poolside area with oversized beds to lounge in, great access to snorkeling trips right from beach area...and then there is Juan Salvedor. What can I say about Juan besides the fact that he is the Superman of Ocean Coral & Turquesa...nice guy, great server!

Cons: Japanese restaurant is just not that good. If you want a table by the Hibachi you have to reserve early and/or be a "Privileged Guest," pool bartenders are HORRIBLE (this really surprised me because the rest of the staff was pretty accomodating but here it takes an eternity to get a drink and they ignore you, unless you order from Juan, who is the man!!).

Two people in our group used the spa for massages and reported that they were heavenly.

All in all a wonderful resort that won't disappoint!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, ON
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

My spouse and I traveled to the Ocean Turquesa May 30-June 6 via Air Transat. We obtained a fantastic deal and booked 3 days prior to departing. Once we arrived to the resort and into the reception/lobby area we were simply in awe!! It was unbelievably beautiful! We both looked at each other smiling and knew we had made the right choice booking here for very little money!

Room: The room is just stunning! The decor and design was very modern and spacious! The balcony is huge! We had a room in the 1800 block with view of pool and ocean view! Awesome!! This block is located furthest away from lobby/activity pool. It actually faces the childrens pool (Daisy Club) and amazingly very quiet. We stayed in this pool pretty much the whole week. Quiet, no one really using the pool and close to the room.. There were children at the daisy club through the day, but were usually gone by 4:30pm.

Grounds: Very lovely no matter where you look!! Meticulously clean and very well manicured!! Lots of foliage and pretty flowers throughout. Beautiful! Lots of neat covered walkways, where you can see the lizards hanging out!!

Pools: There are 4 of them: 1 on the Coral side, 1 with swim up bar, 1 activity pool, and 1 children's pool. The resort was only 1/3 full, so there were lots of seats available at all the pools. Very clean.. Water was always being tested... Very large pools! Awesome!!

Beach: This is the weakest point for the resort.. The sand is very white and beach is wide.. Lots of palapas and no need to save them at 6am... Too bad about the sea grass everywhere! The tractor goes up and down the beach area several times a day to clear it away, but it just keeps accumilating.. Not sure if it is the time of year, or if its always like that... Oh, well really nothing you can do about mother nature!! The sea was also quite murky, and the water is not the typical turquois blue color! Not a very pretty beach! The water was very warm but rough.. We had yellow and red flag days throughout the entire week... If you like walking on the beach, go to the right of the resort... You can walk for miles and check out the other places along the beach!! Or you can walk for 1.5 hrs the same way and head into Puerto Morelos. It is a little town and you can purchase souveniers, booze, groceries etc. Way cheaper than the store in the resort... Tip: The price for cigarettes here are around $3.00US per pkg., opposed to $5.25US at the resort... If you do go into Puerto Morelos, make sure you have lots of sunscreen on and a hat!!!! It is smokin hot and you will burn!!!

Restaurants/Snack Bars: There are so many places to eat, and you do not need reservations for any of them. The food is fantastic, and normal tasting!! Always a variety!! Can't really comment on all the restaurants, as we didn't go on vacation for the food... I will have to say my favorite spot was Mikes Coffee House!!! Love it!!! I lived there!! They have all kinds of coffee, and sweets... Very yummy!! During the afternoon they also have sandwiches available!!! Note: It opens at 10:00am.... There is also a snack bar "Score" which opens at 11:00pm - 6:00am.. I think they serve pizza, hamburgers, hot dogs etc...

Bars: There are so many bars throughout the place. There is a self serve beer area in the grill restaurant which is very convenient... Don't forget your insulated mugs, so glad we brought ours!! Our favorite bar was the lobby bar!!! They make the best mojito ever!! Make sure Flor makes your drinks!! She's awesome!!! They also make special coffee's at the lobby bar!!

Lobby: I will have to comment on the size of this lobby and the seating that is available!! I have never seen so many places to sit!!! The atmosphere is just gorgeous!! If this isn't enought, check out the terrace!! Wow, more seats and couches!!! The view from here is awesome!!! Very relaxing!

Trips to Cancun/Location: There is a shuttle at the resort that goes to Cancun daily at 9am and returns at 3pm... This is free.... You must reserve for this the day before... You can't really go anywhere without getting a cab or booking a trip through the tour desk. The resort is sort of isolated away from the city..

Entertainment: Can't comment as we didn't partake in any type of activities or shows.. If you are looking to party and dance the night away, choose another resort... This place is not a party resort... They mainly cater to couples and families with children and is fairly quiet after 11:00pm.

Well, we certainly had a fantastic time and are thinking of going back in Nov... This place far exceeded our expectations!!! All staff are pleasant and very helpful!!! Also, I really don't think there is a need to upgrade to privelege... Unless of course you want to drink Gran Marnier, Remy Martin, Johnny Walker Blue etc all week, or you would like to be spoon fed!!!!! Do not hesitate on this one!! Just book it!! Do not listen to the bad reviews and the ridiculous whiners!!! Your on vacation!!! Go and have a good time!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2010

Seriously, it's my second time around The Ocean Coral y Turquesa in Mexico and it is really two of the best vacations I ever had. Staff is really nice and energic! Food taste really good and their is a lot of choices! Sincerly, the entertainment staff make great shows and planifies great activities. You won't be bored to be there! One week passed so quickly! You are going to love it!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2010

This wonderful hotel has everything you need to enjoy your vacation in mexico. Great food, great service, luxury, nice beaches and lots of fun activities organized by the staff for adults or even for little kids. Every staff member is perfectly fluent in english and some even in french. Gustavo Zugaro and his team of entertainers do a great job in entertaining the clientele with their different shows and concerts every night. You never know what to expect with them but one thing's for sure you're never disappointed. For people that would rather go out to clubs in Playa del Carmen or in Cancun, there is always that possibiliy with the hotel staff. All in all, I have to say this hotel was fantastic and is defenetly worth vacationing in and I will defenetly be going back.
Terence- Montreal, Canada

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

As other reviewers have said in earlier e-mails, I too was concerned about our choice in hotels after reading some negative reviews...but am happy to report that those poor reviews must be fake or those reviewers have their hotel names confused...I guess it's even possible that competing hotels are posting negative reviews to send more business their way...who knows.

Here's the skinny:
Service - excellent...everyone was very helpful, cheerful and willing to do whatever it took to make sure you had an excellent time.

Food - Overall, very good...the buffet was great and loaded, the restaurants were pretty good...some were great, others ok...the atmosphere was nice in all of them and the service was exceptional. The french restaurant had a beautiful setting next to the pool and their waiter made a delicious mexican coffee that he lit on fire...very impressive.

Atmosphere - excellent - beautiful setting, clean, well maintained. The entrance area was nice and comfortable, there were enough bars and we always got drinks quickly - granted, the hotel seemed about 1/3rd full.

Room - good...lots of space, air conditioner worked, shower had hot water, room bar was filled every day. The beds and pillows were comfy. One negative, the TV had a lot of static...but, we didn't sit in the room much watching TV!

Beach - nice sand, lots of covered areas to sit. Not much seaweed. There was a machine that came by every few hours to clean it up. The water was warm. My only negative was that the snorkling off the beach was average...cloudy and not many fish ....I did see a lion fish on the last day, though.

Entertainment - The shows were great. I'm not a big fan of these cheesy-type shows, but even I was entertained. The cast worked hard and did a very nice job.

Overall, we had a great time and would go back. I've read some of the negative reviews upon my return and wonder what is behind them...hmm...

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Illinois
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

We had a wonderful time. Rooms were great and lobby was beautiful. Service was exceptional, bathrooms were handy no matter where you were and were "VERY" clean. Food was plentiful and delicious. The Daisy Club for kids was more than you could ask for. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Coral & Turquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Coral & Turquesa

Address: SM 12, Mza 15, Lote 1-02, 103 Predio Maria Irene | Municipio Benito Juarez, Puerto Morelos 77511 , Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Coral & Turquesa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Amex, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Ocean Coral & Turquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Coral And Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Hotel Puerto Morelos
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Coral & Turquesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.