We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great entertainment staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Coral & Turquesa

Save Saved
You added Ocean Coral & Turquesa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   SM 12, Mza 15, Lote 1-02, 103 Predio Maria Irene | Municipio Benito Juarez, Puerto Morelos 77511 , Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Transfers
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Puerto Morelos
Denver, Colorado, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great entertainment staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The entertainment staff Gustavo, Monica, Erica, Gaspar and Juan made our trip lots of fun. They always had great entertainment to do for adults and kids. Monica made sure that everyone was always having enjoying themselves and if not she would go out of her way to make it fun. The staff all around very friendly and made you feel special. Great snorkeling and catamaran rentals right off the beach. the snorkeling was in national park. Would recommend for all ages.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Jerren C,
We want to thank you for choosing our resort as your vacation destination. With reward we learn that the good service and friendliness of our entertainment staff was the highlight of your trip. We will be glad to host your next vacations at our property.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,744 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,824
    1,705
    702
    310
    203
See reviews for
1953
2159
65
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,246)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dawson, mn.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this resort Feb.10-17. We arrived 4 hours late because of bad weather from where we were traveling from....so being very exhausted we were hoping for a speedy check in..did not happen!! There was a wedding party of about 60 people in front of us. i mean really?!! They should have a seperate space dor checking in large parties...we waited way over an hour for our room. I have to agree with other posts, when we walked in our room the smell drinkwas awful..we have stayed in quite a few Mexican resorts and are used to the smell...this being the worst. There already was a humidifier in our room. We grabbed some food and fell into bed thinking we were going to ask for a different room in morning. In the daylight and after some much needed sleep, everything seemed better!! We found out the resort had jumped to capacity in the last two days so I am sure no one had been in our room for awhile so no dehumidifier, but after that first day not an issue, just had to dump dehumudifier twice a day. Our room was 5304 and we did really like it. There was as everyong states the battle for chairs..I hate that!!. Weather was great,drinks great,coffee shop amazing,beach amazing, workers amazing...here's the kicker...only had a few good meals. That was dissappointing.Wil probaly choose a different resort next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear markgary,
We are thankful for giving us the opportunity to host your last vacations and for sharing on this site your experience at our resort. With reward we learn that you were satisfied with our Mike’s Coffee, beverage offer and beach. Furthermore that you appreciated the friendliness of our staff. However, with a great regret we read that some aspects of your stay were not of your total satisfaction. Rest assure that we will notify your suggestions to the appropriate departments for their proper follow up and improvement of our performance.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our group of 8 (ages 13-50) visited Ocean Coral 2/16-2/23. This was the 12th all inclusive for all of us so we have something to compare it to. We had some concerns based on a few of the reviews but all turned out to be unfounded.

We booked Privilege and would definitely recomend this. The private lounge/restaraunt, beach area, dinner reservations, and butler all made our trip truly special. Rooms were great with none of the issues some mentioned with moisture/humidity. Restaraunts all very good to excellent. I would rate them Fusion first, followed by Italian, Japanese, Mexican, and Creperie. Route 66 was perfect for late night (early morning) burgers, wings, ribs and fries. Try to book the Private Chef Table in the kitchen. It is not to be missed! Beach is beautiful and long. Yes, some fine seaweed but it is cleaned up regularly. Bartenders are amazing and always remember your drink.

The staff are what put our trip over the top. Alejandro, Franscisco, Nefta, Veronica, Enrigue, and Gaspar treated us like family. I know I have forgotten more then a few names but everyone we encountered went out of there way to help us or see if we needed anything. Tips are truly appreciated and were well deserved.

Take a walk into Peurto Morales (just under an hour). There are a few public bars on the beach along the way that were great for a quick beer or snack. Once in town there are plenty of restaraunts and shops. Their is a local bar/restaraunt on the water (wish I could remember it's name) that was incredible. It is decorated with professional wrestling signs, masks, ect. and a little rough around the edges but food and staff were a "10". Plan on taking a taxi back after way too much food ($20USD).

I can't really comment on what non-Privilege would be like. There were definitely waits at the restaraunts and the usual towel game at the pools and beach. I don't think it would be enough of an issue to not recommend but just know that their are two levels of service available.

Go, have fun, and don't read too much into any of the negative reviews.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear X2relax,
We truly appreciate that you have taken your time to share your kind comments regarding our Privilege services and staff, and the great vacation experience that you and your family had at our resort. Thank you for your recommendations. We will be glad to welcome you again on your next visit to the Mayan Riviera.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

After years of traveling I have come to approach hotels almost like people. First impressions mean a lot. When you get that first look at the entrance as you turn the corner do you grin from ear to ear, stunned by exotic beauty and anxious to get to know the place better, or do you get that slightly sketchy feeling that you spend the rest of the time trying to get over? I've had a few of both, and far prefer those times when I have wandered through a property gasping at its beauty, to those when I kept trying to convince myself that the place was really not that bad.
The Ocean Turquesa (OT) is clearly in the former category. It boasts the wide-open lobby, massively high ceilings, and marble terraces overlooking a turquoise sea, that have come to characterize some of the Caribbean's most beautiful properties. The "we made the right choice" impression continued as we made our way through carefully tended gardens to one of the ground-floor master suites at the far end of the very large compound. The grounds are spotless and over the course of the week we would see staff at all hours sweeping, trimming, washing, and generally making sure that everything was in its place. I found the room decorations a little dated but many of the members of our large group thought that they were fine. You will read a lot about a picture window that separates the bathrooms from the main bedroom area. It is indeed a little quirky, but it does allow for the window view across to the sea to permeate every corner of the room.
We had a large group and I would venture to say that the experience of the hotel itself, varied greatly depending on room choice and location. Seasoned travelers will know the difference between “ocean view” and “ocean front” rooms. The first typically offers an offset room with an angled view of the water. The second means that you have the waves at your feet. At the OT, the only ocean front rooms appeared to be reserved for those travelers who had opted, as we had, for the “Privilege” package. I would strongly recommend that if you plan on a stay at the OT, you pay the extra bucks for the upgrade to Privilege membership. The best place to have a coffee and breakfast is on the terrace reserved for Privilege club members. It is outside, feet from the Caribbean Sea, and shaded by tall palms. It is exactly where you picture yourself relaxing over your morning coffee when you look at the brochures. It should be available to everyone at the hotel, but it is not.
The only early morning choice for non-privilege members was the main buffet, which was a lot like having breakfast in the underground cafeteria of a downtown office building. There were large windows that did not open, and multiple doorways that were steadfastly closed against the warm tropical breezes that we northerners all paid to have waft across our faces. The OT should really make the effort to open the buffet to the elements whenever possible.
The beach is one of the better ones that we have experienced on the Mayan coast. This area of the Yucatan Peninsula is home of the second largest reef in the world and while the snorkeling is great, there is often coral as soon as you step into the water. It was a pleasant surprise that the OT has several areas where the swimming is excellent.
Food was characteristically good and varied. The buffet had its restrictions as described above. The OT also has a wonky policy of only allowing restaurant reservations for Privilege members, so everyone else was seen lining up at one of the 4 or 5 restaurants at 5:30 or so, trying to book a table for some point later in the evening. It is an unnecessary inconvenience and ought to be abandoned.
The hotel makes the effort to tell travelers that they cannot hold on to a beach chair forever by simply placing their towels on the chair at the crack of dawn and then leaving for the day. In spite of this the practice continued and by 7 a.m. all of the loungers were choked with blue towels. I was pleased to see that the beach security patiently explained the policy to two irate, if not tardy, sunbathers who arrived at noon to find their towels lying in the sand, and (what they believed to be) their personal chairs actually being used by other people on the beach. More hotels should, in my opinion, follow the same policy.
So the Ocean Turquesa is good value for the money. The Pros are the location, the food, and the property itself. The Cons are not being a Privilege member, the location of the main buffet, and, just in passing, the very unpleasant cigar-selling lady who was incredibly irritated if you asked any questions about her product.

Room Tip: Book on either end of the horseshoe structure but not in the middle if you do not want the familiar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Mike V,
We are glad to learn that you enjoyed our facilities and offer, also that you had a satisfactory experience at OCT. We must say that we consider that your review would be really helpful for other travelers that are looking forward to visit our resort and we truly appreciate that you have taken the time to post it in this site. We hope that when returning to Riviera Maya, you will give us the opportunity to welcome you once again in our property.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

I had a great time there just before Christmas in 2012 for my sisters wedding. The hotel hosted a perfect wedding for my sister and the staff were second to none.... Especially Monica, Gustavo and didier:)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Blakedovanne,
With reward we learn that you had a great time at our resort and that your sister’s wedding at our resort was a perfect experience for her and all your family. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff. We look forward your visit on your next holidays.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

This was our first time to this resort and we would go back anytime! There were 10 of us 4 adults and 6 kids under the age of 9! (no we are not crazy!) Ursa who is part of the entertainment crew was great with our kids and always kept them busy and happy! During the day she entertained them in the kids club and took them for lunch...in the evening she always made sure they were involved with any of the shows or games! Thanks!! Hvala!!

Room Tip: I recommend that the hotel book the families into the rooms close to the kids area and the seniors o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Boris G,
It is a pleasure to read your kind comments regarding your first experience at our resort and to realize that we have been able to fulfill the needs of your entire family with our offer and facilities. We appreciate your kind comments regarding the work of Ursa, our Kids Club entertainer. Be sure that your opinion will be shared with her, she will be glad to hear from you. We appreciate that you have taken your time to post your comments. We will be more than glad to welcome you and your family in a near future.
Bests,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

This place was a great place to stay! Had a blast and will for sure go back! The entertainment was awesome! Met some great people who were with activities such as Monica! Really great people! I loved the food and the amenities! Will hopefully go back again soon!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Thoward27,
We are grateful for sharing your comments about your last vacations at our resort. It is good to learn that you have a satisfactory experience and that you appreciated the friendliness of Monica from the entertainment staff. Be sure that your comments will be shared with her. We would like to thank you for choosing our resort for your vacations. We look forward your next visit.
Bests,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Coral & Turquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Coral & Turquesa

Address: SM 12, Mza 15, Lote 1-02, 103 Predio Maria Irene | Municipio Benito Juarez, Puerto Morelos 77511 , Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#5 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Coral & Turquesa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Amex, Priceline, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Ocean Coral & Turquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Coral And Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Hotel Puerto Morelos
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Coral & Turquesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.