We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean Coral - Good Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Coral & Turquesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Coral & Turquesa to your Saves list
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   S.S. 12, Mza 15, Lote 1-02, 103 | Predio Maria Irene, Puerto Morelos 77511, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Ocean Coral - Good Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We stayed at the Ocean Coral and found the all-inclusive to be great. There was a variety of different foods and choices of restaurants. The staff was friendly. Great with kids. Enjoyed the entertainment at night. This is a very kid friendly resort except at Sensai you were not allowed to take kids in, that was a little disappointing. Mikes coffee house was good. Always open at the right time. Beach was close. The kids pool seems to be cold. Kids club was nice to have if you needed a break, very friendly staff. Overall I would recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Vangirl_13,
We want to thank you for posting your experience at this site. We are glad to learn that you had a great all inclusive experience and that you enjoyed the variety in our gastronomic and entertainment offer. Furthermore that you found our resort suitable for your kids. On the other hand we truly lament that our safety procedures at our Sensai restaurant caused you discomfort. However, as we care for our guests’ safety and we can only accept guest from 14 years old and on. We want to express our gratitude for your recommendations and we hope to host your next vacations in the future.
Bests,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,258
    1,923
    789
    332
    217
See reviews for
2,235
2,346
74
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,453)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Been at the Coral for the last 7 days and had a wonderful time. The food at the a la carte restaurants were awsome. The staff is very friendly. The good things: you need to stand in line for the a la carte which is neat as you won[t see all these empty tables cause people didn't show up, Free WiFi in the lobby and Mike restaurant (ethernet cable in rooms), Shows were pretty good, especially Broadway and Grease. If you tip $1 here and there, waiters will remember you but not needed all the time. 20 mins or so from the airport : )

Room Tip: building 4 & 10 are close to the road but far from the music or activities and may be a bonus fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear OttawaGuy69,
We want to restate our gratitude for taking your time to share your opinion with the community, and also for choosing our resort for your vacations. It is gratifying to learn that you found satisfactory our service, food and facilities. We will be more than glad to welcome you one more time on the near future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

That's a very good hotel. Really liked it.
The rooms and hotel areas are great. The only thing which was weird - is the design of the washroom door in the room (you practically don't have a door there), it's really weird...
Staff is excellent. Food at the buffet is really the best! Changing all the world cuisine everyday!
The beverages are available everywhere, even on the beach. The cocktails quality is great.
The evening program is very exciting and is not repeptative.
Lobby area is hugh with free wi-fi.

Would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Natti_Cpq,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about your experience at our resort. It is good to learn that it was satisfactory, despite the fact that you found the design of our bathrooms strange, nevertheless this is the architectonical design of our rooms. We restate our gratitude for your recommendations and for choosing our resort for your vacations. We look forward your next stay with us.
Bests,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Stephen, Minnesota
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

I was here for 5 days with my girl friends. We had a blast! The staff was so friendly. Joaquin was the best! He made sure all six of us were safe and cared for. The beach and the pools are gorgeous! We wished we had a little nicer weather, but we still had plenty of things to do. I definitely recommend a spa day if you have a dreary day. The entertainment was also great. Oly got all of us to sing karaoke. She made it fun. My only gripe was how long it would take to get into the themed restaurants. They wouldn't allow us to make reservations so to get 6 people in it took about 1-1/2 hrs. The only exception was the Japanese restaurant. All the food was great though. I especially liked the Japanese and the desserts at the coffee shop.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Spent 5 days here at the end of January. Six girls total, 4 newbies to Mexico but all 6 of us new to this hotel. Hotel is not huge and is easy to navigate. Everything kept very clean. Buffet food was good, themed restaurants were just ok. Sensai (hibachi style) and the italian food were the best. Had terrible service at the Mexican one...seemed way understaffed and food not impressive at all. Service at the Sensai was fantastic. Very frustrating that none of the ala carte restaurants allow reservations. Had a very hard time getting in and when we did it was always very late. Did not like that at all. The coffee shop was a very pleasant surprise. Great service and good treats. Nice place to hang out when the weather wasn't as nice but should be open earlier.

3 stand out customer service experiences, 2 amazing and 1 awful. Sophie, who was supposed to greet us with a welcome packet was pushy, condescending and rude. This, sadly was our first experience upon arrival. But then there was Joaquin, who was our host. There are not enough good things I can say about him. He really went above and beyond to make our stay great. Very helpful, considerate, fun and welcoming. Really made our trip. Also received fantastic service from Oly, one of our waitresses. She was so pleasant and fun.

Had a spa day during our stay and LOVED it. The staff there was wonderful. Also, the beach at the resort was amazing! Beautiful sand and good length for walking. The decor in the rooms was very nice but the lobby and grounds weren't as impressive as the other hotel I've stayed at (Barcelo). Could use more night entertainment options. Stars show was fun. Also the pool party but after those are done the only bar open was at the American restaurant (diner style) which is not something I come to Mexico for. The staff there, however was also wonderful. Wish I remembered the name of the gentleman there who helped us get one of the girls back to our room one night. He was excellent.

Overall, we had a great trip. Resort is nice, clean and relaxing. The staff, for the most part, was wonderful. In general, food was ok with a few standouts. Beach was very nice.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to two ocean view rooms upon check in which was a very nice surprise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear kkunstleben,
We want to thank you for choosing our resort as your vacation destination for your girls trip. It is good to learn that you enjoyed our service, and facilities. With regret we learn that our Mexican restaurant did not fulfilled your expectations, and also, that you encountered a bad experience with a member from the Vacational Club staff. Please allow us to inform that your comments will be shared with the F&B manager and Vacational Club management in order to prevent this type of inconveniences to our future guests. On the other hand, we like to express our gratitude for your kind comments regarding the good work of Joaquin, Oli and the kindness of the members from our staff. With reward we learn that we were able to provide you with a great trip. We hope to have the opportunity to host your group one more time in the future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with excellent amenities but if you are the sort of person who prefers swimming in the sea rather than the pool this is not the hotel for you.We had read a few reviews about the sea being weedy etc and so were prepared in a sense.The hotel management in all fairness did do everything possible to keep the beach clean and yes there is a reef off the beach which does contribute to the weed problem.We had thought naiively that we could swim out to the reef to snorkel but this is apparently not possible due to strong currents.What we were not prepared for was to be charged 100GBP to take a boat to the reef to snorkel for an hour.I think this should be provided free of charge to compensate for the poor swimming conditions at the hotel.We did try to swim several times but were repeatedly stung.It was impossible to see anything including what was stinging us.There were lots of plastic bottles and bags in the water.Our children swam in the pool but even this was not great.They and their costumes turned green.Thankfully a shower was sufficient for the kids to return to a normal colour but all our costumes were damaged beyond repair.Our youngest daughter also became infected with bullous impetigo-presumably either from the pool or towels.She still has the scars 6 months later.I only mention this as I saw two other people(both adults) with the same blisters-thankfully we had travelled with appropriate antibiotics and our rep was kind enough to buy us some iodine.
We also had a problem with the watersports man.I think the management were watching him at the time as his attitude did improve during our stay.We were only able to use the hobbie cats for 20minutes a day-he rarely rigged more than one and often as not turned us away.He also refused to give change when you paid the marine conservation charge so take the right money.
This sounds a dreadful review.I don't mean it to be-the hotel was very nice and well run but we did have a few problems.At the right price I might return-but would prefer somewhere with a better beach

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear JEDShropshire,
It is gratifying to learn that, despite the fact that our beach was not what you expected, you found satisfactory our facilities and amenities. We are aware about our beach condition, nevertheless, the seaweed situation has never been an impediment for our guests to swim at the ocean. We regret that you found the prices of the snorkel excursion expensive. Please allow us to inform that this services are provided by an external business, which is a concession of the resort. The services provided by this concession it are not part of the resort, therefore our resort is not responsible of the transactions made between this business and the customers. However, as we are aware about our guest’s satisfaction, we will share your comments with this business in order to take corrective actions if needed. We must say that your comment regarding the health issues of your kids really surprises us as the corresponding hygiene procedures related to the water quality of our pools and rooms are carrying out at our Resort and furthermore, we have a consultant whom in regular basis audits the correct follow up of this measures, therefore we assume this issues have a cause beyond our control as we do not have any other report regarding this topic. We would like to invite you to visit our resort in another season of the year, when the beach condition is better and to fully enjoy our vacational offer. We truly appreciate your kind comments and we will be more than glad to welcome you in the future.
Bests,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

we arrived Xmas day and after the jet lag cleared (It took a good few days with the kids) we had the most amazing holiday. travelling long haul with a 7 and 3 year old (who turned 4 on holiday) was not something we looked forward to but when you arrive and the sun is shining all that is quickly forgotten.

Place was beautiful - all polished marble floors. Highly clean and continuously cleaned on a daily basis. Staff were amazing as was food. We had an absolutely great time.

Bit annoying is the beach as not enough sunbeds but we ended up staying by the kids club which suited us and the kids perfectly. Roxy and the girls who ran the club were brilliant with the kids and even on New Years Day, all suffering with hangovers, they continued to wear genuine smiles. They and the animation team really made our holiday as the kids were happy so we were happy.

Also a special thanks to Juanquing - customer services who did far more than was necessary to make our stay perfect. Including, but not limited to, arranging a birthday cake for my daughter at the Italian restaurant and when she lost her doll during the stay and it could not be found he actually went and bought her a new one from his own money. This was something that we will not forget and have told many people about since our return

Had a fab time and would recommend this to anyone with kids, although i must say people without kids also looked like they were having a great time.

New years eve was also worth a mention as the beach party looked great alas we only made it until 11.15.

Thanks for a great holiday
Richard, Michelle, Kai and Tehya

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear 301Richard,
We are truly thankful for sharing your opinion about your New Year’s holidays at our resort. It is rewarding to learn that your vacations were a nice experience for you and your family. Furthermore. that your kids had an awesome experience at our Daisy Kids club. Be sure that it is comforting for us to learn that we were able to provide you with a fabulous time and that we will extend your appreciation to Joaquin and our Entertainment team. Thank you for recommending OCT. We look forward to host your next holidays.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Coral & Turquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Coral & Turquesa

Address: S.S. 12, Mza 15, Lote 1-02, 103 | Predio Maria Irene, Puerto Morelos 77511, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Coral & Turquesa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean, this enchanting all-inclusive resort offers an array of activities to engage your senses. This dazzling all-inclusive resort is located on prime beachfront property in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean, close to Cancun and neighboring Riviera Maya communites. With sweeping views of the Caribbean, a magnificent white-sand beach with crystalline waters, and surrounded with tropical foliage, Ocean Coral & Turquesa offers a wide range of activities for everyone, along with an assortment of services to ensure that you have an unforgettable Caribbean vacation. Enjoy a variety of gastronomic fare, round-the-clock entertainment, children's programs, and Mexican hospitality. Whether it's a romantic getaway for two, a family vacation, a self-indulging spa vacation, even a business retreat, we have it all, in one all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Coral & Turquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Hotel Puerto Morelos
Ocean Coral And Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Coral & Turquesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.