We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Girls Trip, great beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Coral & Turquesa

Save Saved
You added Ocean Coral & Turquesa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Agoda.com Booking.com
and 9 more sites!
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   SM 12, Mza 15, Lote 1-02, 103 Predio Maria Irene | Municipio Benito Juarez, Puerto Morelos 77511 , Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Transfers
Ranked #8 of 23 hotels in Puerto Morelos
Avon, MN
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Girls Trip, great beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Spent 5 days here at the end of January. Six girls total, 4 newbies to Mexico but all 6 of us new to this hotel. Hotel is not huge and is easy to navigate. Everything kept very clean. Buffet food was good, themed restaurants were just ok. Sensai (hibachi style) and the italian food were the best. Had terrible service at the Mexican one...seemed way understaffed and food not impressive at all. Service at the Sensai was fantastic. Very frustrating that none of the ala carte restaurants allow reservations. Had a very hard time getting in and when we did it was always very late. Did not like that at all. The coffee shop was a very pleasant surprise. Great service and good treats. Nice place to hang out when the weather wasn't as nice but should be open earlier.

3 stand out customer service experiences, 2 amazing and 1 awful. Sophie, who was supposed to greet us with a welcome packet was pushy, condescending and rude. This, sadly was our first experience upon arrival. But then there was Joaquin, who was our host. There are not enough good things I can say about him. He really went above and beyond to make our stay great. Very helpful, considerate, fun and welcoming. Really made our trip. Also received fantastic service from Oly, one of our waitresses. She was so pleasant and fun.

Had a spa day during our stay and LOVED it. The staff there was wonderful. Also, the beach at the resort was amazing! Beautiful sand and good length for walking. The decor in the rooms was very nice but the lobby and grounds weren't as impressive as the other hotel I've stayed at (Barcelo). Could use more night entertainment options. Stars show was fun. Also the pool party but after those are done the only bar open was at the American restaurant (diner style) which is not something I come to Mexico for. The staff there, however was also wonderful. Wish I remembered the name of the gentleman there who helped us get one of the girls back to our room one night. He was excellent.

Overall, we had a great trip. Resort is nice, clean and relaxing. The staff, for the most part, was wonderful. In general, food was ok with a few standouts. Beach was very nice.

Room Tip: We were upgraded to two ocean view rooms upon check in which was a very nice surprise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear kkunstleben,
We want to thank you for choosing our resort as your vacation destination for your girls trip. It is good to learn that you enjoyed our service, and facilities. With regret we learn that our Mexican restaurant did not fulfilled your expectations, and also, that you encountered a bad experience with a member from the Vacational Club staff. Please allow us to inform that your comments will be shared with the F&B manager and Vacational Club management in order to prevent this type of inconveniences to our future guests. On the other hand, we like to express our gratitude for your kind comments regarding the good work of Joaquin, Oli and the kindness of the members from our staff. With reward we learn that we were able to provide you with a great trip. We hope to have the opportunity to host your group one more time in the future.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,407 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    2,636
    1,617
    662
    295
    197
See reviews for
1815
2066
63
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This is a lovely hotel with excellent amenities but if you are the sort of person who prefers swimming in the sea rather than the pool this is not the hotel for you.We had read a few reviews about the sea being weedy etc and so were prepared in a sense.The hotel management in all fairness did do everything possible to keep the beach clean and yes there is a reef off the beach which does contribute to the weed problem.We had thought naiively that we could swim out to the reef to snorkel but this is apparently not possible due to strong currents.What we were not prepared for was to be charged 100GBP to take a boat to the reef to snorkel for an hour.I think this should be provided free of charge to compensate for the poor swimming conditions at the hotel.We did try to swim several times but were repeatedly stung.It was impossible to see anything including what was stinging us.There were lots of plastic bottles and bags in the water.Our children swam in the pool but even this was not great.They and their costumes turned green.Thankfully a shower was sufficient for the kids to return to a normal colour but all our costumes were damaged beyond repair.Our youngest daughter also became infected with bullous impetigo-presumably either from the pool or towels.She still has the scars 6 months later.I only mention this as I saw two other people(both adults) with the same blisters-thankfully we had travelled with appropriate antibiotics and our rep was kind enough to buy us some iodine.
We also had a problem with the watersports man.I think the management were watching him at the time as his attitude did improve during our stay.We were only able to use the hobbie cats for 20minutes a day-he rarely rigged more than one and often as not turned us away.He also refused to give change when you paid the marine conservation charge so take the right money.
This sounds a dreadful review.I don't mean it to be-the hotel was very nice and well run but we did have a few problems.At the right price I might return-but would prefer somewhere with a better beach

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear JEDShropshire,
It is gratifying to learn that, despite the fact that our beach was not what you expected, you found satisfactory our facilities and amenities. We are aware about our beach condition, nevertheless, the seaweed situation has never been an impediment for our guests to swim at the ocean. We regret that you found the prices of the snorkel excursion expensive. Please allow us to inform that this services are provided by an external business, which is a concession of the resort. The services provided by this concession it are not part of the resort, therefore our resort is not responsible of the transactions made between this business and the customers. However, as we are aware about our guest’s satisfaction, we will share your comments with this business in order to take corrective actions if needed. We must say that your comment regarding the health issues of your kids really surprises us as the corresponding hygiene procedures related to the water quality of our pools and rooms are carrying out at our Resort and furthermore, we have a consultant whom in regular basis audits the correct follow up of this measures, therefore we assume this issues have a cause beyond our control as we do not have any other report regarding this topic. We would like to invite you to visit our resort in another season of the year, when the beach condition is better and to fully enjoy our vacational offer. We truly appreciate your kind comments and we will be more than glad to welcome you in the future.
Bests,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

we arrived Xmas day and after the jet lag cleared (It took a good few days with the kids) we had the most amazing holiday. travelling long haul with a 7 and 3 year old (who turned 4 on holiday) was not something we looked forward to but when you arrive and the sun is shining all that is quickly forgotten.

Place was beautiful - all polished marble floors. Highly clean and continuously cleaned on a daily basis. Staff were amazing as was food. We had an absolutely great time.

Bit annoying is the beach as not enough sunbeds but we ended up staying by the kids club which suited us and the kids perfectly. Roxy and the girls who ran the club were brilliant with the kids and even on New Years Day, all suffering with hangovers, they continued to wear genuine smiles. They and the animation team really made our holiday as the kids were happy so we were happy.

Also a special thanks to Juanquing - customer services who did far more than was necessary to make our stay perfect. Including, but not limited to, arranging a birthday cake for my daughter at the Italian restaurant and when she lost her doll during the stay and it could not be found he actually went and bought her a new one from his own money. This was something that we will not forget and have told many people about since our return

Had a fab time and would recommend this to anyone with kids, although i must say people without kids also looked like they were having a great time.

New years eve was also worth a mention as the beach party looked great alas we only made it until 11.15.

Thanks for a great holiday
Richard, Michelle, Kai and Tehya

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear 301Richard,
We are truly thankful for sharing your opinion about your New Year’s holidays at our resort. It is rewarding to learn that your vacations were a nice experience for you and your family. Furthermore. that your kids had an awesome experience at our Daisy Kids club. Be sure that it is comforting for us to learn that we were able to provide you with a fabulous time and that we will extend your appreciation to Joaquin and our Entertainment team. Thank you for recommending OCT. We look forward to host your next holidays.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscatine
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Was at this hotel end of January. For the price I thought it was a okay deal. I have been at 6 other resorts in Mexico thought the buffet at this one was the best. Alot to choose from and cooked great. The theme resturants did not thrill me. The staff I thought was excellent especially Monica and Anthonyfor the entertainment Israel a great Michael Jackson. Rocio Gomez could not of been a better drink server to us she was a delight. When we got there I upgraded my room for $300.00 plus dollars. Where they put us was in the back 40 the room smelled like a sewer. The room I changed to had ocean view and was on the 4th floor. I was with friends and they never did get a room that did not have a sewer smell to it . So I guess you have to pay more to get a good room . Plus the beds were hard and pillows lumpy. Over all I had a good time.

Room Tip: Bottom floor rooms really smelled. So would spend the extra money to get higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Janet W,
We are truly thankful for posting your review at this site. With reward we learn that you consider our food offer as one of the best you have ever had in an all inclusive and also, that you appreciated the members of our entertainment and bar staff. On the other hand, we lament that you found inconveniences with the humidity smell in the rooms. Regarding this matter, please allow us to inform that that since our resort is located in an eco-protected zone surrounded by a mangrove, alleviate the humidity/sewer smell condition is beyond our control as a consequence of our geographical location. Nevertheless, we do place dehumidifiers upon request. We truly appreciate your comments and we look forward to host your next vacations.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapin, South Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We visited Ocean Coral for a week and it very much exceeded our expectations. This was our first time at an all inclusive resort and will not be our last we were welcomed by friendly reception and a welcome drink, From the time we arrived the staff was pleasant, helpful and friendly. Oli our bell boy took us to our room showed us everything and said if needed anything to call and everyday we saw him he would ask how was everything. The restaurants were great never had to wait in line the buffet was our favorite. There was sometimes a challenge to get loungers at the pool but we managed, the activities staff were great had some sort of activity everyday . This resort is not near any shopping (it's fairly remote) so if you need this not the resort for you. But they have bicycles and one of the activities staff will take you into Puerto Morelos so you can shop and look around. its about 20 minute ride. They also had a small array of vendors on the Friday night that were selling their wares and we were able to get most of our shopping done. We hung out at the pool bar every night wanted to shout out to Ileana Bares and her staff: Griselda, Melvin, and the two best bartenders ever Gustavo and Eusebio before you knew it the night was over. Thanks again to all the staff at the Ocean Coral & Turquesa for a wonderful vacation and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear BigMikesc,
It is truly a pleasure for us to learn that you enjoyed your first experience at out resort and that you appreciated our first class facilities, our bike tour to Puerto Morelos and our Flea Market on the Mexican Night at our resort. Furthermore, it is rewarding to learn that you consider the friendliness and kindness of our bar staff one of the highlights of your trip. Thank you for taking your time to share your comments about OCT with the community. We hope to host your next vacations when returning to the Mayan Riviera.
Bests
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We visited Ocean Coral for a week and it very much exceeded our excpectations. This resort by far had the best food we have had in Mexico and we've been going to different areas of Mexico for over 10 years. It was easy to get into the restaurants. No getting up at the crack of dawn to run down and stand in line to make a reservation - we just showed up at 6pm and were immediately seated at the Mediterranean Grill. For the Sansai restaurant we went down at 5:45 and had the choice of 6,7:30 or 9pm seating. This restaurant was our favorite. The buffet was great as well and since we had kids the majority of our meals were at the buffet. All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful (great pool service) and always had activities for everyone. The one day we rolled our own Sushi and another we watched how to make guacamole and then all got to have some. Loved the cappucino cafe. Free Wi-fi in the lobby was a bonus. There was sometimes a challenge to get loungers at the pool but we managed. As well, this resort is not near any shopping (it's fairly remote) so if you need this not the resort for you. However, they did offer a free shuttle into Cancun every morning at 9:15 for shoppers. They also had a small array of vendors on the Friday night that were selling their wares and we were able to get most of our shopping done (aside from Vaniella and duty free). This was enough shopping for us. Not very many vendors on the beach which was refreshing. If I could offer any advice I would say get your Vaniella at the duty free at the airport or else in town as the gift shop was a little overpriced. We would definitely return to this resort!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear CalgaryShauna,
We want to express our thankfulness for your kind comments regarding our resort. It is pleasant to know that you had a delightful experience at that your expectations were exceeded by our food, facilities and offer. Thank you for your review and we look forward your next vacations at OCT.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I beautiful all inclusive hotel, with something for everyone. The privilege service was beyond compare. The food was great with the exception of lunch, not bad but needs some improvement.
(Maybe a sit down lunch in the privilege lounge. I was extremely impressed with the privilege beach and its service, the best I have ever experienced in a all inclusive. Rooms were clean and comfortable. I strongly recommend this hotel to family's & couples. A fantastic choice for a large group of friends or a family reunion. I wish the management of the H10 hotels send the entire staff to their sister hotel in DR "The ocean blue and Sands" for a lesson on how to run a hotel.
Thanks again to all the staff at the Ocean Coral & Turquesa for a wonderful vacation and look forward to returning soon.

Room Tip: The privilege upgrade was well worth I.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OCT-CustomerService, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Dear Greg B,
We are glad to read that you had a wonderful experience during your visit to OCT and that you found our Privilege services satisfactory. We want to extend our gratitude for your kind comments regarding the service provided by our staff and for taking your time to post your opinion about our performance. Be sure that we will be pleased to welcome you one more time for your next holidays.
Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Coral & Turquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Coral & Turquesa

Also Known As:
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Hotel
Ocean Coral And Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Hotel Puerto Morelos
Ocean Coral Turquesa
Ocean Coral Turquesa Hotel
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos
Address: SM 12, Mza 15, Lote 1-02, 103 Predio Maria Irene | Municipio Benito Juarez, Puerto Morelos 77511 , Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Coral & Turquesa 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Orbitz, Amex, BookIt.com, Expedia, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Venere, getaroom.com, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Ocean Coral & Turquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Coral & Turquesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.