We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The resort is blameless.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Coral & Turquesa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Coral & Turquesa to your Saves list
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
3.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   S.S. 12, Mza 15, Lote 1-02, 103 | Predio Maria Irene, Puerto Morelos 77511, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“The resort is blameless.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

The resort was lovely as expected, and we're going back next time again with Privilege level and also not in the summer.
Just one negative about our visit:
Too many kids.
First there were little ones who were left to toss cutlery and dishes during what was supposed to be a nice breakfast at the Privilege Fusion.
Yes, this is what little ones do, they drop things on the floor, to hear it crash perhaps? To see how soon an adult will pick up for them? It's a baby thing to do!
Their accompanying adults seemed to think this was "so cute". Maybe it was "so cute" to those who produced the little child, but not to the other guests who wanted a peaceful meal to start their day.
And pity the poor waitresses who had to pick up after the kids, tho' those girls kept smiling politely. I hope at least they got a BIG tip for their trouble.
Then there were the tired cranky kids kept up too late past their normal nap or bedtime adding to the "atmosphere"
Twice one of our group was nearly knocked over by kids running, no adults in sight, or
maybe those were their parents over there, sipping drinks while the kids ran where other adults were trying to walk?
Relaxing at the QUIET pool was impossible several days due to kids doing normal KID things in the pool, jumping, screaming. This is what KIDS do. Why they weren't in the KID's area was the question.
Apparently they have parents who don't comprehend the word QUIET? If they did they wouldn't bring kids to a QUIET pool, kids are NOT quiet in a swimming pool.
The hotel does all it can, it provides a children's area, with activities and such. There's room service for the little ones who are not yet ready for restaurant dining, or at least try the buffet where it's noisier anyway and people are moving about.
Oh well, this sort of thing happens many places, sadly too many in this day and age, I only mention it because OTHERWISE our little 5 day trip was as close to perfect as anyplace could have been.
Our room was very comfortable, and the beach was fine. Plenty of food choices, of all kinds. Friendly service, smiles get smiles of course.
The pools were refreshing and only lacked in having any true quiet place.
Which is why we will return next year, but NOT in the summer. Hopefully that will be more successful for those like us who wanted a relaxing couple of days in the sun.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVEGT, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
It is very good to know that our performance has fulfilled your expectations and that your will come back to Ocean Coral & Turquesa.

It is going to be with a big pleasure that we will host you again.

Bests,

Eveanny Gonzalez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,257
    1,921
    788
    332
    217
See reviews for
2,235
2,344
74
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,452)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medway, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

this was probably my favorite place i ever stayed. there was always something to do, somewhere to eat, someone to meet and talk to. the staff were great and always had a game or activity going on. everyone was friendly and the staff were helpful and fun. ill be back for sure

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVEGT, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
It is very pleasant to aknowledge that we provided you good a good vacation experience and that our staff has demostrated once more their professionalism and kindness.

We are looking forward to host you again.

Bests,

Eveanny Gonzalez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

I am a 16 year old, and i went on holiday here with my parents so having things to do at day and night was very important for me and there certainly was! The entertainment staff at this hotel are the best i have ever had, there are loads of them and they all do an amazing job- during the day they organise a timetable of activites for everyone, like volleyball and crazy games for kids and adults- where people like me can meet new people, and at night they put on a show and then come dancing with you, once you get involved, they talk to you everyday and make you feel like part of the group- its brilliant, i'd like to personally thank them all for an amazing 2 weeks, they definetely made my holiday, along with the other people there. There are a large mixture of people from different places staying at this hotel, mostly americans and canadians, but there were quite a few spanish speaking and italian people too which was nice. The hotel complex itself is beautiful, the ground staff (gardeners etc..) do an amazing job at keeping the gardens clean and looking nice for you, and the pools are always spotless. The maids do a good job of keeping the rooms clean and tidy, and not once did anything of mine go missing. Every single one of the staff there are really friendly and never fail to say 'hola!' to you as you pass bye, which is why when reading back on the reviews i was shocked to see so many saying the staff were rude, they're the complete opposite. The restuarants are nice; the buffet has a different thing every night so theres always something for everyone; the score was nice, but the food was nicer after the restaurant itself had closed and changed into a snack bar; the italian was nice with good service; the villa marina was a disappointment for me because there wasnt much i could eat for free, due to most of the main courses having a charge on them which was a shame; the japanese was my personal favourite BUT and this is a big but, only when i went on the teppanyaki tables and experienced the food that way, as when i ate there again just on a normal table, both of my courses were served cold and the service was poor. You didnt have to wait long to get into any of the restaurants but the teppanyaki tables were booked up very quickly by privelage guests so to get on was one very difficult- worth the wait though, if you get the chance, I definetely think reservations should be available to everyone to save the hassle. The dress code isnt strict at all, only for breakfast you cant have your swimwear showing and also at lunch you aren't allowed in to the buffet wet, and you have to wear clothes which is fair enough. Theres loads to do here at night; the show provided by the entertainment staff is on every night which is brilliant, every night is a different show but to get a good seat you have to get there atleast 30 minutes before it starts because the theatre is quite small; sometimes the score bar is changed into a night club (14+ to enter) which is good for teenagers and young adults; they have a live band sometimes in the lobby/by the pool bar; or sometimes there is a DJ at the pool bar with LOTS of dancing - what ever is on you'll always find something to do, especially if your a teenager. The sand on the beach is nice, and there is always alot of space under umbrellas where you can find shade, the only downfall of the beach is that the sea contains alot of seaweed so not the best for swimming but this is only due to there conservation scheme for the turtles so we didnt mind to much, due to the 4 beautiful pools we had to choose from. I love this hotel, we have been to mexico before but this was by far the better hotel: the staff, grounds and food are amazing and I'll definetely be back there again soon, thankyou ocean coral and turquesa!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

this was my first time at an all inclusive resort. when my friends and i arrived, the resort was full so we got upgraded to a free privilege room (but couldnt use the other privilege amenities such as the lounge, pool, etc) from reading past reviews and after going to the resort, it seems like most of the positive reviews are from people who paid extra for privilege service and the neg reviews are from ppl who may have paid a decent amount already for non privilege and were shocked by the differences in service.

pros:
-very friendly staff throughout the resort and in the restaurants
-many restaurant choices
-clean bathrooms
-free wifi in the lobby
-bars offered many drinks - if you tipped the bartender well you will be treated extra special
-a lot of events throughout the day at the resort - games by the pool, shows in the theater at night, discos in the sports bar or dancing/live music by the pool bar

cons:
-needed to reserve a seat on the beach or by the pool pretty early (probably before 9:30am)
-food service was cumbersome - to get into the specialty restaurants non privilege members couldnt make reservations (or watch the hibatchi show in the japanese restaurant) needed to eat dinner early w/o a wait or eat super late w/a 1+ hr wait. i found that people started to go eat around 7-7:30 after the sunset
-room was a bit musty when we first entered but we turned up the a/c and kept the ceiling fan on all day and it was fine after that
-water & bar in room isnt refreshed until after 10am but who cares, you can go to any bar and ask for water. mike's has bottled water

overall my experience at this resort was great. it was a nice and relaxing with a lot of fun activities offered. it probably isn't one of the top resorts but for what we paid it was worth it (we got a great deal) if i had paid the full retail price w/o privilege i probably wouldnt be too happy. i probably wouldn't go again b/c i'd like to experience other resorts and see what else is out there since this was my first time at an all inclusive & first time in Mexico.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVEGT, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Thank you very much for taking your time to share your opinion related your recent stay at OCT.It is nice to know that over all you had a good experience with us;on the other hand we lament that you were no totally satisfied with some aspects of your vacations as the sitauation with the loungers ,we must underlaine that the shortage has been increased in order to avoid uncomfortable circumstances.The dampness feeling is a characteristic of the zone climate which is not possible to totally eliminate ,however we do place dehumidifiers in rooms to alleviate this issue.


We restate our gratitude for your review.

Bests,

Eveanny Gonzalez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

This was our first trip to Mexico and we were so pleased with our experience. We arrived on a Wednesday at approx. 3 PM and were accomodated immediately and taken to our room. We are H10 members so were entitled to the privlege benefits.
I had been checking the reviews periodically and after spending a week at Ocean Coral was very surprised at the things that people complained about. Everyone was pleasant throughout our stay. The waiters in the privlege lounge went out of their way to be accomodating. Special kudos to Mathilde (the night bartender) and Enrique (the drink runner) Our breakfast waitress (Tera) tolerated by 18 year old son dropping his plate on the floor (empty, thankfully!) and teased him about not dropping his breakfast plate on the floor.
Our room was on the first floor in building 7. Our view was of the privilege pool and Caribbean. It was obvious that they have read previous reviews because many of the complaints have been addressed. The shower door was no longer clear, making it possible for more than one person to get ready while someone was in the shower. The fan was NOT motion detected. There was a dehumidifier in the room and this helps. It is HUMID in Mexico in the summer. There’s really nothing that the Ocean Coral/Turquesa can do about the weather. The safe deposit box is operated with a key and the lock comes out when the door is opened. My daughter left the key on top of the safe deposit box (opened, with all of our belongings inside.) The evening maid turned the key into the lobby and it was returned to us within minutes of us discovering her gaffe. We did not find the mattresses to be to hard. They also offered us our choice of pillow. Again, maybe this is indicative of the privilege benefits but I’m trying to explain our experience with the hotel.

The food and drink were excellent. They are very cognizant of the minors drinking and the wristband notation. My 15 year old was consistently given “virgin” strawberry daiquiris. We ate at the Mexico restaurant (Jorge - a hard working waiter who made sure that our meals all came out at the same time.), Villa Marina (seafood and their specialty - blue margaritas...yummy!), Fusion (in the privlege lounge for our lobster meal!), the Italian restaurant (excellent and very attentive waiters!) and 2x at the Japanese restaurant - once at the Hibachi (great) and the other time at a table (not as impressive or as tasty!)

Mario with Trafictours was very helpful with our planning of excursions. We did the jetski/snorkel experience - My 18 year old son and 15 year old daughter LOVED this. My husband and I warmed up to it... must be the age factor (: Saw two stingrays, a cenote (sink hole), all sorts of color fish and an octopus. We also did the Xplor tour. This was great too. Went zip lining, ATV -ing, swimming underground. It was a full day and we had such a good time.

Feel free to e-mail me if you have any questions.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVEGT, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
It is truly rewarding to know that you had a good privilege experience with us and further more that you realized that our customers comments are used in order to improve our performance.

We thank you very much for sharing your opinion .

Bests,

Eveanny Gonzalez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We stayed at ths hotel 2 years ago and we loved, so we came back. We decided to renew our vows at the hotel. I contacted Ana Batista via email 1 month prior our trip and she was very helpful explaining everything.
Upon our arrival we were greeted and we got our rooms very fast. Than we met with Ana and Alexis wedding coordinators. They went through everything with us. At the room there was a bottle of wine for us and amazing pastries. On the day of the "wedding" Alexis took us on a golf cart to the beach were we had our ceremony. It was so beautiful. We didn't have a lot of people at the ceremony, but we had a lot of viewers:) and it was actually nice that somebody participated at our event. After and during ceremony we had a photographer, she was so cute and excited to take our pictures and she did an amazing job. After photoshoot we had dinner on a beach, very romantic. Honestly I expected a little better selection of food, but the best part was you are on a beach, it was so beautiful.
When we came back to our room we had another surprise: we rose petals on a floor, beautiful swans on our bed and hearts out of rose petals. And also they made an amazing cake for us. I regret that we didn't freeze it and bring it back:(
Next morning we woke up and breakfast arrived with champagne and lots of food, more than you need:)
Thank you Ana and Alexis for our great experience.
The rest of the stay was amazing too. The good thing you don't need reservations to restaurants anymore:) You just come in and we were seated right away.
The only thing we were dissapointed was French restaurant. 2 years ago it was our favorite place we went there 4 nights out of 7 now we went once and were not happy. They used to play music there, now they put lots of lights, no music, no romantic. They also did several romantic tables by the pool and you had to make reservations for that but we had no idea where, so when we cam to eat, server was not attentive to us, he was servin only "romantic" people, I had to ask for wine all the time. Plus they substituted good salad greens for head lettuce, and salad tasted not as it used to be ( with mixed greens).
Rooms are clean. Entertainment stuff are great! They were professional, funny, and they did the best job. Great vacation! Special thank you to Antonio at the buffet for breakfast and lunch time. He was very attentive, with a big smile all the time and great tequila every time we come in:))) Thank you Antonio.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

We spent five nights in August 2011 here. From the beginning, we were given exceptional service! Lovely grounds and plenty of room to roam. The food was pretty darn good for a large all-inclusive. We especially liked the buffet restaurant for it's huge amount of choices for each meal (our 7-yr. old son loved the buffet!). The beach wasn't the greatest due to a lot of itchy seaweed floating in the water this year, but we didn't mind because the pools were beautiful. (Get up early to get your poolside chairs!)

Our son had a BALL. There were kids of all ages in the pool every day. And, the kids were from all over the world! My son loved meeting kids from Canada, Poland, Brazil, you name it. Lots of fun activities for kids all around the clock.

The rooms was HUGE compared to other Mexico all-inclusives we're visited. We got two queen beds and the room had a sofa pull-out bed, too. Plenty of room to move around. We did have a bunch of mosquitos in our room when we arrived. On our first day, I noticed the maids cleaning other rooms with the doors propped WIDE OPEN while they cleaned (hello, Mosquitos!). So, I asked our maid to please close the door when she cleaned...she did, so no more mosquitos so we could really relax enjoy our Mojitos.

The enormous lobby has a very good wireless internet signal, so you can get online with your iPad/laptop, grab a drink and relax while you get you email. That was really great for us!

If you want something really fun to do with the kids, go on the three-hour Pirate Ship Cruise in Cancun one night. It was a blast for grown-ups AND kids and totally worth the price tag (dinner and all drinks are included). It was our favorite part of the trip!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in buildings 1-6 and 18-21...so far from everything!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EVEGT, Manager at Ocean Coral & Turquesa, responded to this review, August 26, 2011
Thank you very much for your kind review.It has been very pleasant to learn that you have appreciated the beauty of our hotel and that you have also enjoyed ofour offer.

We hope we will have the opportunity of welcome you again!

Bests,

Eveanny Gonzalez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Coral & Turquesa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Coral & Turquesa

Address: S.S. 12, Mza 15, Lote 1-02, 103 | Predio Maria Irene, Puerto Morelos 77511, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ocean Coral & Turquesa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 591
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean, this enchanting all-inclusive resort offers an array of activities to engage your senses. This dazzling all-inclusive resort is located on prime beachfront property in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean, close to Cancun and neighboring Riviera Maya communites. With sweeping views of the Caribbean, a magnificent white-sand beach with crystalline waters, and surrounded with tropical foliage, Ocean Coral & Turquesa offers a wide range of activities for everyone, along with an assortment of services to ensure that you have an unforgettable Caribbean vacation. Enjoy a variety of gastronomic fare, round-the-clock entertainment, children's programs, and Mexican hospitality. Whether it's a romantic getaway for two, a family vacation, a self-indulging spa vacation, even a business retreat, we have it all, in one all-inclusive package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Orbitz, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ocean Coral & Turquesa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Hotel Puerto Morelos
Ocean Coral And Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Coral & Turquesa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.