We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brand new...nice and relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bahia de Petempich SM 12, Mz 31, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings up 40%
Ranked #1 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
GreenLeadersGold level
Sacramento, CA
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Brand new...nice and relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

I was working with my Mexico hotels and opted to stay here for 2 nights. I was by myself but would have loved to had my wife with me. Rooms were large with double jacuzzi and huge balconies. Food was great. I especially loved the secret box for room service orders--very private. The entertainment staff were not bad. This is a nice pick for adults only all inclusive. The resort was only about 20-25 minutes from the airport. Another favorite pick was Secrets Maroma Beach--another adults all-inclusive sister hotel.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,453
    1,269
    378
    146
    79
See reviews for
305
4,669
85
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,018)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

After reading review after review about this place, we finally got our chance to see what it was like in person on our honeymoon. We arrived and were greeted with a glass of champagne while we checked in. When you are driving down the long road to get to the resort you might think, where on earth are we going, but once you get to the resort you will see how beautiful it is. The pools are nice, they are not cold and the wait staff is constantly walking around taking drink orders. The beach is not the greatest thing in the world if you want to swim in the ocean, but if you just enjoy looking out at the water, then it is fine. As far as entertainment goes, they have events planned every day and I feel bad becuase the event staff works their tails off but with the low attendance because of the media scaring everyone with this swine flu, a lot of the events either didnt happen or had low turn out. One day we got a private salsa dance from Jamie who is a great guy. The dinner restaurants are nice, the service at these restaurants is excellent. They will go out of their way to please you. On the last day of our honeymoon, my wife wanted a chocolate souflaite and the restaurant that had it was closed, but the head chef specially prepared one for us. At all of the restaurants there are nice things, we were serenaded with a violin and accordian one night, and piano the other nights. The food is about a 4.5 out of 5. There are some excellent dishes and then once in a while you eat something and wonder how that could come from the same chef :) Every day we ate lunch at the out door places oceana and sea side grill. Both had really good food. There are only a couple things I would say I didnt like and they are:
The water in the hot tubs is not hot, its luke warm ( I guess that is they way it is at a lot of resorts in mexico)
When we used our room hot tub, there was a little bit of orange tint to the water, so we just got out. Other people did not have this problem
Sometimes the drinks, mainly the beers, are not cold enough
After reading the reviews on this place and then going to it, i see why some people could get upset about a couple miniscule things if they are really pickey, but I am telling you, you have to give this place a try. The people at Secrets are working their butts of right now, the service staff are working long hours but they will never let you know that. Secrets is about to expand all over the carribean and I will definetly try this one or another one again!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

We booked a one week trip to the Valentin Imperial Maya but were bumped to the Secrets Silversands. I won't write about our disappointment with the Valentin but just keep this review to the Silversands.

The Silversands is nothing like the Valentin so we were disappointed.

The Silversands is a very nice, clean and very modern resort. It is also very small (under 500 rooms) with the resort itself also being small. You could walk out of the back door of the lobby and see the entire resort in front of you.

The hotel is uber modern. You wouldn't know you were in Mexico. You could be in a hotel in any city anywhere.

You could not leave the resort, as we like to do when we go to Mexico. The resort is about a mile off the road and everything is in a bush. Even when you get to the road in front of the resort there is nothing around. The resort is in the middle of a swamp-like area where you can see crocodiles. The only way from the hotel to the main road is by taxi and it costs $5.00 US. To take the taxi in to Playa del Carmen I think I heard it was around $30.00 US one way. Needless to say we stayed at the resort.

There were some similarities with the Valentin such as the food and drinks.

High speed internet is free.

The staff are excellent, and the food and drinks are very, very good.

It is buffet for breakfast and buffet or al a carte for lunch and dinner is all al a carte dining. You do not have to make reservations. If a restaurant is full they give you one of those little beepers/lights that will flash when your table is ready. You just go to one of the bars and relax until you are called. We liked this a lot but it is also like this at the Valentin. You can order as many meals as you want (we didn't but we did see people ordering two dinners, etc.) or you could have an appetizer in one restaurant, your entre in another and dessert in another. I would definitely recommend the chocolate souffle in the Mexican restaurant and the Mayan coffee in the same restaurant. We never had a full meal at the Mexican restaurant though. At the other restaurants we had rack of lamb three nights, filet mignon, etc. The food was very, very good and the service in the restaurants was excellent. It was "almost" like dining in a fine restaurant at home. In the lobby bar at around 5 pm they would bring out some lovely appetizers set in little spoons or small dishes. It was very well presented.

The drinks were also excellent. They had Grey Goose vodka, some mid-premium scotch, etc. They gave you as much or as little as you wanted in each drink. They definitely aim to please. We drank everything from margaritas to cosmopolitans to brandy alexanders to pretty decent wine and beer. Ask Older Carlos for a Mexican flag. We have had this drink a couple of times in Mexico. They need to make up the sangrita from scratch so it is not a drink that is offered unless you ask. You should receive three shot glasses. One with fresh lime juice, one with tequila and the last with the sangrita. You are suppose to bang each one back but my husband sips on his.

They had fantastic food and they would serve it anywhere. In your room, at the bars, on the beach, anywhere. People ordered huge meals on the beach and it would be brought out to them in style.

The beach is not that great. NO ONE was in the water!!! You could walk in a bit and if you really watched it you might get all the way in up to your knees, maybe. If you walk to the right it is quite rocky on the beach and hard to pass but you can do it if you try. If you walk to your left it is a long walk of nice sandy beach. You will end up walking by a nudist resort with the exhibitionists all along the front of their beach showing their wares.

They had one big main pool and several small pools throughout the resort. The only one with a swim up bar was the main pool.

The rooms were also ultra modern. Very big, clean, big balcony with a bed, two chairs and a coffee table. They will set up food for you out there too and bring you room service at any time and this is all included, no extra charge. There is a large walk-in shower, jacuzzi tub and everything in the bathroom has glass walls/doors with a bit of frosting on the glass but you could see in or out.

There is no smoking inside the resort but you could smoke anywhere outside. We are not smokers so we liked this even though we spent most of our time at the various places outside and not inside.

Even though it is a very nice resort we would not go back. It is not for us. We found it too modern, too small and too isolated. If this is what you are looking for go for it!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

My Wife and I arrived at SS on Friday AprilL 17-24. Upon Arrival we were greeted by the Bell Boys who quickly gathered our luggage and off to the front desk we went. We received cold towels , Champaigne and cookies. We arrived at 11am and did not expect to get into our room right away and was pleasantly surprised that it was ready in 1hr. The rooms were very nice with modern decor. While we did not pay for an Ocean View we had both a pool and Ocean View. I will not go into as much detail as others I can however say our stay was the BEST TRIP MY WIFE AND I HAVE BEEN ON and we have taken 3 Cruise and 7-8 All Inclusives all In 4 TO 5 Star Resorts. The Staff Litterally Trip over us always with a Smile,wether we Tipped or not. We could not help but to tip on a regular basis, they were just to Accomodating.Our Experience at the Restaurants for the most part was very good,some minor hick-ups the 2nd time at the French Rest. No big deal. The 24hr Room Service was outstanding and always on time. In fact our last night I placed a wake-up call for 6:15am and room service for 6:45am and they both arrived 1Minute prior to the scheduled time,THAT IMPRESSED ME ,especially given the hectic time that lied ahead before going to the Lobby for pick-up. The pools were always warm and the Drinks were Plentiful with Premium Liquor Provided that you asked. One small issue is that the swim-up bar was only in the sun part of the day, that being the morning. It was great surprise when we arrived in our room to find the Frig. stocked with mini Corona's MY FAVORITE as they are extremely hard to get in Canada.The Entertainment Staff were always friendly and fun, never to bothersome offering different Games each day on top of their regular routines.On our ANNIVERSARY DAY our room was decorated with rose pedals on the bed,towel swans and champaigne in a bucket of Ice,"VERY NICE TOUCH".The first day we arrived the bar frig.Omego came to our room and I made sure I gave him a nice Tip and sure enough our frig.was always stocked to Capacity. On a couple of occassions we came back to our room after great day fun at the Pool to find a "BUCKET OF COLD CORONA'S " on ice in our room.What better way for a Canadian to end their day in the Sun.The Weather was outstanding, not a drop of rain. Besides all of the great things about the resort I have mentioned above,we had the pleasure of meeting some wonderful People from both Canada and USA. So a Special "HELLO" to Laurie and Morgan from Newmarket Ont. Anne & Dom from Guelph, Paul & Tanya from London Ont, Rick&Brenda from Hamilton Ont. And last but not least Dave & Britany from Texas USA. All of you made Our vacation here very MEMORABLE a Trip we both will not soon forget. THANKS SOOO MUCH FOR ALL THE LAUGHS!!! Before I forget we all strive for perfection and this resort is no exception! After Reading PAGES AND PAGES OF REVIEWS some of the Minor Issues are likely true. So what! For those people that are so anal and not likely alot of fun to hang around with, Do yourself a favour and use your Money to seek Professional help and than go on a Trip and just ENJOY LIFE. You Simply do not know what card you may be Dealt. Cheers Paul!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2009

Our arrival at this “Unlimited-Luxury Resort” set the tone for the remaining of our vacation. We arrived at the Cancun Airport almost on schedule around 9:45 so the bus dropped us off at the Resort at 11:30. We were told that we would not get our suite before 15:00 that day because they had a lot of departures and arrivals.
Most people aboard our Sunwing flight got their suites way past 15:00 that day we got ours at 17:30. It looks like they did not expect us to be there that day.
We went many times to the Front Desk after 15:00 and no one was able to give us a valid explanation to why we had to keep waiting!!!!!

I will put in bulletin points below the incidents we encountered during our two weeks vacation

Beach

- “Unlimited-Luxury Defined – expensive beach consisting of brilliant white sugary sand and crystal waters” – during the first couple of days four guests cut their foot in these crystal waters so needless to say we did not took advantage of the beach.

Suite

- During the first three days we ran out of toilet paper, Kleenex, soap and coffee. We removed the empty box of Kleenex that was located underneath a metal cover and put it on top of it hoping someone would notice it to no avail. We had to check on a daily basis to make sure we did not run out of anything.
- Our suite was being cleaned only toward the end of the afternoon and they were coming after 22:00 to prepare the suite for the night.
It took seven days of complaining from us and our neighbours to have our suites cleaned during the morning and eight days to have our suites prepared for the night by 20:00.
- We had to ask someone that was cleaning the path outside to come clean our terrace. Our cleaning lady was forgotten it almost on a daily basis.
- One day we were invaded by mosquitoes. It was impossible to stay out on our terrace. After our neighbour and we complained they sent a young girl with one can of Raid to take care of it!!!!!
- Toilet almost over flow. Someone came to fix it thank God, our neighbour was not so lucky.
- The ceiling ventilator was not working so we had to go at least three times to the Front Desk to complain and it took us five days to find out what had to be done to fix it. The third person that came to help us out explained that we had to reset the power in the suite (electrical panel located in the secrets box) every time the Resort was switching the source of power. Well we had to do it at least twice every day i.e. 17:45 and 22:15 (like clock work). Some days we had to reset the power up to five times. You could not maintain a comfortable room temperature with the air conditioning alone you needed the ceiling ventilator to work.

Front Desk

- Every time you reported an incident or that you needed help like currency exchange or just change ($ 1.00 USD bill) you did not know what to expect but most of the time we felt like we were bothering them.

Bars, Restaurants and Room Service

- Service at the restaurants and at the bars was uneven – have you ever felt like you were invisible? Well we did 65 % of the time regardless of the amount of gratuities we were leaving. I know this is suppose to be an all inclusive but we ended up given an average of $ 18.00 USD per day :
$ 1.00 - $ 2.00 for breakfast, $ 2.00 - $ 3.00 for lunch, $ 5.00 for Dinner and $ 1.00 for alcoholic beverages. We gave $ 2.00 per day to the cleaning lady.
- Restaurants that were supposed to be open a given day were not. You find out when you showed up and the door was open or not.
- At the Oceana Restaurant were they served gourmet seafood you could not find any lobster tails even if you would pay additional charges - Only fish and shrimp – Is this a Five Starts Resort?????
- At the Oceana (dinner) and the Seaside Grill (lunch and dinner) the floors were very slippery due to the grease coming from the open cooking grill.
- Since you do not need reservation at the restaurants they wanted the tables to turn quickly so you had to order your entry, your main course and your desert all at ounce. Most of the time you did not had the time to finish your first drink.
- Our first experience at the Mexican restaurant El Patio. My wife received her entry and after two bites she realized that it was too spicy for her so she asked the waiter if her main course would be as tasty – what a mistake. She received for an answer “WHAT DO YOU EXPECT YOU ARE IN MEXICO AND ALL MEXICAN DISHES ARE SPICY” in that tone of voice. Luckily it was not the case, her main course was quite mild (must not have been a Mexican dish).
- We decided to have breakfast at the Seaside Grill instead of going to the buffet at the World Café as usual. Our waiter served us coffee and we asked if he could bring us some cream. He came back to take our order and we felt he was getting upset because we were asking for some deviation from what was on the menu (one omelet without cheese and one without ham). Afterward we reminded him that we wanted some cream for our coffee and his answer was “COULD YOU WAIT TWO [--] MINUTES”. We left and went straight to the Front Desk.

This was the fist time that we were counting down the days left in our vacation and that we were looking forward to our departure.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

The Resort is a very nice resort to stay at, the food is excellent and the rooms are nice. The beach is terrible and you cannot swim in front of the resort.
We were one of the lucky few who had traveled with Conquest Vacations (a tour operator that ceased operations). We were informed that we had to pay for our hotel portion of the trip as did many other people traveling with Conquest. It was unfortunate but the hotel was out money so although I wasn't happy I understood why we were paying.
The General Manager Salvador confirmed that the company had not actually received word that Conquest was not paying them (they did not claim Bankruptcy) but wanted to make sure they weren't out any money and were given that direction from their head office in Philadelphia. Then, the Secrets and Dreams Resort chain informed me that the hotel portion of my trip was going to cost $504 US per night for my wife and I. I was shocked to say the least. I started to price out the trip and showed the manager how you could buy the trip for a total of $1500 Canadian which included flight and taxes. I showed him how he would only be expecting approx. $800 Canadian per person for the week for our trip. I tried to explain that they were expecting around $800 Canadian per person and I would pay the amount that they were owed for our trip by Conquest. The General Manager said that wasn't how it worked and gave us a total of $4100 total for the hotel portion of our stay. I was shocked that a resort that prides itself on luxury would take advantage of a couple of honeymooners. Is the resort nice, yes. Would I ever stay at another Dreams or Secrets Resort? Absolutely not, if their upper management operates like this, what else would they do to cheat people out of their money?
I have tried to contact the Head Office for Dreams and Secrets without any success, all of my requests for contact have gone unanswered.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Secrets Silversands from Friday, April 17, 2009 to Friday, April 24. It was a wonderful week.

OVERALL: The Secrets Silversands is a very good value for an adult-only resort. Typically, if you want to be in a child-free environment, you are going to pay a premium rate. This resort is among one of the more economical 18+ resorts. The place is in very good shape, it's very new, and that shows. However, it also means that the gounds aren't as lush as some other resorts. This resort doesn't look like it is designed to be the lush type. It is very minimalist, but it keeps it very modern and clean lined. I don't think I would ever visit the same resort twice, there are just too many to try, but I would definitely recommend this resort to a friend. The resort was at about 40% capacity while we were there I am told, so it was very quiet, never a wait for anything. The resort is a bit smaller, which I really liked. Mostly an older crowd, maybe 25% were under 30, 50% were 30-40, and 25% over 40. No partying spring-breaker types while we were there. Mostly couples, some small groups of couples. One group for a wedding. Probably 50% were Canadian or American, the rest European. Most of the staff spoke English quite well. While it is something small, I loved it: No wristband! Also, being a smaller resort, you aren't classified into a level of service, everything is available to everyone, which I liked. No upper, middle, lower class mentality.

ARRIVAL/FRONT DESK/CONCIERGE: We booked through Sunwing Vacations (on travelocity), and got a great deal. There was only 1other couple arriving with us, and we were both able to go right up to reception and get into our rooms immediately. Service was fantastic. The concierge brought our luggage up to our room promptly. One thing they advertise, but that we weren't offered was welcome drink and cold towel upon arrival. Definitely no big deal, but they should follow through with what they advertise. Check out was quick, simple. No waiting, and no suprise charges.

ROOM: We booked the standard room, a junior suite. It was gorgeous! Roomy, clean, well maintained. Very modern and romantic. Nice bedding, not the tacky tropical floral you see at most places. The bathroom was open to the bedroom (which had sliding privacy panels). Double vanity, large walk-in shower, double jacuzzi tub. The shampoo, lotion, moisturizer, and spf 15 they provide are nice, and smell really good. Normally, I find them unusable, but these ones are good quality, a nice unexpected bonus! Large, flat-screen TV, but very limited channels, only a few of which are english. But who flies to Mexico to watch TV? There is a minibar stocked twice daily. Maid service comes in the afternoon, always did a good job and gave us lots of towels. They do turndown service in the late evening (but if you are in your room when they come, they don't always come back). Which is fine, I can turn my own bed down, but with the turndown service, they provide a hotel newsletter informing you which restaurants are open for which meals the next day. We just picked one up from the conceirge the next morning if we didn't get one. We had only 2 mosquitos in the room and 1 tiny beetle the entire trip. No flies or spiders. We were on the second floor, room 4207, if you're wondering. No loud generator or other noises. Very quiet. But building 5, like others have posted, would be very loud from the generator behind. If I received this room, I wouldn't have been as happy.

ROOM SERVICE: There is 24-hour room service included (no suprise charges!). The menu isn't vast, but good enough. They will tell you it will take up to 40 minutes, but we never waited longer than 20. Food was nice and hot. They'll bring it right into your room and set it up on the table, unless you specifically ask for it to be placed in the "Secrets Box," in which case they will phone you right after delivery to let you know it's in there. The secrets box is a private cuboard accessible through 2 separate doors, one in the hall for the service staff and one in the room for the guests, where room service items can be delivered in privacy, without the staff entering your room, if you prefer. The one and only time we asked for the secrets box to be delivered, however, once the food was delivered, the waiter banged on our door like the place was on fire and shouted, "Your Room Service Is Ready!!" Huh? We were in the jacuzzi when he started knocking, so my husband flew out of the tub to grab a robe and get to the door. So what's the point in having the secrets box if that's how it is delivered? We mind as well have had it delivered into the room. Oh, well. Overall, the room service "service" was very good.

RESTAURANTS/BARS/FOOD: One of the biggest reasons we chose this resort was the large number of restaurants and the availablility of an a la carte option for dinner every evening instead of the limitations that most resorts provide. No reservations required. I'm not sure if they even take reservations. I'm not a big fan of buffet for dinner, I prefer a more romantic dinner for two with table service. They boast 8 restaurants online and in their brochures, but when you get there, it is a bit of a different story. The pamphlet in your room will tell you that each restaurant is closed once per a week, but while we were there, they were all closed at least twice, some three times. One night, 4 of the restaurants were closed. The World Cafe has a fantastic breakfast buffet every morning (I definitely recommend!) and sometimes serves lunch. At night it, if it is open, it is called Ratatouille and served Mediterranean food (also very good, try the lamb main course and the creme brulee for dessert) but is really just 1 space, 1 restaurant, 1 name. A bit misleading. Also, Oceana and the Seaside Grill (both outdoor dining by the pools), are more like 1 restaurant than 2. They are never open at the same time, and both are connected inside, just a different entrance on each side indicating a different restaurant. Sometimes when Oceana is supposed to be open, you eat on the Seaside Grill restaurant with an Oceana menu. The resort really only has 6 restaurants. There is a lot of variety in them, and they are certainly enough, but I really don't like when they advertise the 8. We tried all of the restaurants, and my favorite for dinner were Ratatouille (Mediterranean, try the lamb and creme brulee), Himitsu (Japanese, try eating at the Teppanyaki table, where the chef prepares your food live, a good place to meet other guests), Portofino (Italian, very romantic), and Bordeaux (French, nice atmosphere, live piano). I didn't care for the food at Seaside Grill, Oceana, or El Patio (the Mexican, although the decor was nice and there was a live mariachi band!). Around the pool in the afternoon, the wait staff will ask if you would like a snack (nachos, sandwich, etc.), but there is no formal snack shack or snack bar. I really missed this the most and would have to say this to be my biggest complaint. In the afternoon, I'd like to be able to just grab an ice cream cone or a hot dog and eat it by the pool or on the beach without having to get dressed and drag it all into a restaurant, sit at a table and order my ice cream off a menu. It is all formal dining. I suppose it is really geared to adults only, and is supposed to be refined, but sometimes I wish it was a little more relaxed. The drinks were great, they always used top shelf in the mixed drinks without me asking, I think local brands for the blended drinks usually, but I know they would have used top shelf if I asked. There were so many types of liquer and wines. Wow! If you can't find something to drink, you're too picky. It would be nice to have a menu of ideas for drinks though. No drink menu at the bars or restaurants except a "not included' wine list. Drinks were always nice and cold and not in some tiny little cup, they were a nice size! Most drinks had a nice slice of fruit on the rim, nice touch. However, the amount of alcohol in the drinks really varied by bar and bartender. Sometimes just nice, sometimes too much booze so that you couldn't really taste anything else. I wish they had some kind of standard, and if you wanted more/less they you could just state. Overall, food and drinks were very good with beautiful presentation. Yummy!

POOLS AND BEACH: So many pools. Eight I think! The main pool receives the best bar and waiter service. This is where most of the activities are and where the swim up bar is located. Also where the hot tub (although only mildly warm) is located. The main pool is a good temperature. Refreshing when you jump in, perfectly comfortable after a minute. The infinity pool is just for show I think. It is really cold as the wind blows right over it all day, it isn't very protected. The warmest pool, and most quiet, perfect to sleep around, is the one closest to the spa. It is protected by buildings but receives sunlight most of the day. Whether it be beach or pool, there are plenty of lounge chairs. Very minimal towel claiming, which is nice to see. No restriction on pool towels. They are available everwhere, just grab one and drop in the hamper when done. They aren't giving you one for the week or asking for a $5 deposit like some places. The beach is pretty nice. Sand is perfect white. Slightly rocky, but it doesn't interfere with the ability to be enjoyed. Lots of water sports for free, just visit the north end of the beach. Sure it isn't a very long beach in front of the hotel, but it is big enough. And if you want a long walk on the beach, just keep walking past the resort, lost of nice beach to roam on.

ENTERTAINMENT: If you take a couple days to do excusions outside of the hotel, you'll probably find the hotel entertainment adequate, like we did. But if you plan to spend an entire week, or more, at the resort the entertaiment can be a bit lacking. Every day there are free activities: Yoga, water arobics, bingo, euro bungee, and a few others. Every evening there is some sort of entertainment, usually in their open-air theatre. Some was good, some, well...not worth staying up until 9:45 to watch (we're early to bed, early to rise and snorkel). Good shows were the Fire Show, Illusionist (a preshow), and the Juggler (also a preshow). We didn't care for the others.

SPA: We didn't go to the spa, there were too many excusions we wanted to try. Besides it was really expensive! But we only heard good reviews about it.

STAFF: A few minor hiccups, but they were all otherwise fabulous. Never looking for a tip, never grouchy, always accomodating. It seemed to be the same staff most of our stay. They largely work 6 days a week, and very, very long days. They work so hard. From the gardeners and maintenance staff, entertaiment staff, bar and restaurant, maid service, concierge and front desk, all of them were great. I've never received such good service at a resort before. I would love to try another Secrets resort!

TIPS: Come when it is quiet if you are looking for a romantic escape. This is a good resort if you really want to relax, definitely not a good resort if you're looking to party or stay up late into the night, as there is no disco or nightlife. A great honeymoon or anniversary spot.

OTHER KIND OF TIPS: To each his own, but even though gratuities are included, we prefer to tip. The staff works so hard, and in the scheme of things, after paying over $3000 for a week, what's a couple hundred bucks? I think we probably spent about $200 in tips the entire week, giving the maid $5/day, between $2-$5 a meal depending on if it was a quick snack or a nice dinner, usually gave the bartender $1/round if I had cash on me. Room service $1, same for any conceirge service. If I didn't have any cash on me, I never noticed a difference in the service. It was always excellent!

SOME GREAT EXCUSIONS: Xel-Ha (we paid $, while it is very commercial it is a great value day out. Lots to see and do for couples, families, anyone who likes the water. Definitely try Sea Trek. It costs $45US/person, but is well worth it! Aquatic Adv

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Address: Bahia de Petempich SM 12, Mz 31, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun is a chic, ultra modern all-suite adult-only unlimited-luxury resort featuring 433 suites, over 43,000 sq ft of pool areas and expansive manicured gardens, exceptional dining options, several bars ranging from elegant to swim-up. World class spa, a fitness center and two Jacuzzis ensure that guests are pampered and indulged. We are nestled on the coast of the Yucatan Peninsula, 15 miles south of Cancun and only twenty minutes from the Cancun International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.