We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-the-top Resort! Amazing vacation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bahia de Petempich SM 12, Mz 31, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Summer Savings up 40%
Ranked #2 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
GreenLeadersGold level
Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Over-the-top Resort! Amazing vacation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This was my husband's and I first vacation alone at this type of resort. With that being said, we wanted a lot of relaxation! The Secrets Silversands Resort was exactly what we anticipated! We took the red-eye flight from Calgary, AB direct to Cancun and arrived at 5:30 am. We knew that we would arrive at the resort around 7a.m and that our room would probably not be available yet. Our first encounter with the staff was awesome! We were checked in and shown to a hospitality room to freshen up and change. They kept our bags for us and we were free to use the resort as we pleased till the room was ready.

Our room! Wow! We prefer ground level units so we chose the Preferred Club Ocean Front Swim out. This was amazing!!! It was elegantly decorated and only steps out to the pool and beach! We were in heaven! The room was stocked daily with refreshments (whatever we wanted) and snacks. The king-size bed was incredible! It certainly wrecked our idea of getting up early! Maid service was awesome. Rosita worked so hard to make sure our room was perfect in every way! I loved the rose petals on the bed and the welcome bottle of wine! Since we wanted a lot of relaxation, we took full advantage of the pool in front of our room. We only had a few metres to walk to get a refreshment, but if we didn't, Francisco was there to make sure our hands were never empty!! He was awesome! Also, Suky did an amazing job keeping our glasses full! Oh and Axel and Lino, you guys are awesome! Thanks guys!

The food was awesome! The World Café for breakfast and lunch was phenomenal! There were so many choices we didn't know where to begin! We loved the Italian and Mexican Restaurants for dinners the best, but the others were just as top-notch! We loved the Grill by the pool! Had the best hot-dogs and nachos! We did experience room service one evening when we didn't want to go out and it was alright. The menu is select for room service, but you're not supposed to spend your time inside anyway, right?

The beach in front of our resort was very-well maintained. The grounds crew work tirelessly to make sure it is kept up to standards. This was evident as while walking down the beach every morning, we would take notice of how much nicer our beach was than any of the other resort's beaches. There is quite a bit of sea grass that grows in the water in this area so swimming wasn't great, but that did not keep us out of the bathtub warm waters!

The spa was incredible! We really enjoyed the Hydrotherapy Circuit and I indulged in the 50min massage. We were able to enjoy the outside pool area with the multiple jets and warm waters. Heaven!

The pool areas were gorgeous! The main pool was busier later in the morning as the bars open at 10a.m. There were many activities you could partake in if you wanted. We kept to our pool most of the time and enjoyed the band that would play almost everyday and the bar that was merely steps from our room!

The entertainment was good! We enjoyed the Rock Show and the Mexican Buffet and show. That was a lot of fun! There were many choices for excursions, but that was not on our list this time. What we received at this resort is exactly what we wanted. Amazing service, (I can't say enough about the staff) amazing food, amazing drinks, amazing sun, and an amazing room!

Thank you Secrets Silversands for making this one of the most memorable vacations for us. We will be back!

Paul and Carrie Goodman

Room Tip: Swim out is prime!! Ocean front recommended as it is quieter and receives the sunshine all day long.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,524
    1,285
    381
    148
    79
See reviews for
313
4,732
85
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,046)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corbeil, Canada
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

This was our first Secrets and the Silversands was simply the best. There are only positives. The resort was fresh and clean and modern. The staff were amazing, always with a smile and polite. They were engaging in every way. The food was the best we have experienced. We stayed at a swim up and were very happy with the location. Our room was farthest from the main pool (keeping in mind, farthest means a minute or two) but the most serene. It was fun to spend time at the main pool area and equally nice to go to our swim up and enjoy the last hours of sun before dinner. We will return and we will highly recommend it to our friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My boyfriend and I just came back from our stay at Secrets Silversands. It is a beautiful hotel but not without some minor flaws. Overall though, we had a great stay.

The pros:
The staff - the AMAZING staff - is super friendly and attentive, right down to their entertainment team. The entire entertainment team actually made the effort to remember our names, which must be rough when so many visitors coming through the place, but they did it. Even at check-in, our customer service rep Jessica fought for our ocean view room (with our other friends who were checking in) and won. Our poolside waitress Monica was always there checking in on our beverages.

The food was excellent, way better than the last all inclusive I stayed at. Their breakfast buffet spread was amazing and offered fresh blended smoothies as well. The best part was the carjeta (caramel) that was available every day. I'm not a big fan of hibachi grills but the one here was actually decent - they should offer an all steak meal cuz that was the best. Our most memorable meal though had to be the special seafood grill we'd arranged at their poolside restaurant. It was an extra charge but it was so fresh.

The ample pools - you never feel cramped or that you're fighting for a seat in the shade here. The resort never felt crowded.

They had entertainment every single night we were there, from live bands to nightly shows. The live bands were the best and knew popular songs as well as oldies. Their best show was definitely the impersonators, we felt like we were at a concert.

The person in charge of beverages at the resort found out we requested for Rumchata, but was not able to acquire it. So he worked with my friend and I to figure out a recipe and replicated it!

The Cons:
Nobody's perfect but these definitely didn't alter our view of the place. It's just some notes on what they need to amend, which I did leave on their comments section at check out.

The cleaning people knocked on our door at 8 a.m. There were definitely a few days where I wanted to sleep in and was interrupted by the knock. We should've put the do not disturb sign up but we forgot a couple of times. 10 a.m. would've been a lot better.

Some of the sheets/pillows smelled funky. Honestly, it smelled like b.o. This distinct odor was on our phone as well. I took a wash cloth with some shampoo and tried to wipe down the phone but it barely helped. By our 2nd night, I think they'd changed the linens and some of them were fine, but I still wound up throwing some pillows far away from me cuz the stench was keeping me awake.

There's also a lot of humidity in the rooms, so much that our clothes were damp when we were packing them away to go home. A note to future travelers, keep your clean clothes in your suitcase if possible to keep them dry. I guess that's something the hotel can't really control but I don't remember our last Cancun resort having this issue.

The beer selection was also a bit lacking but not a huge deal breaker.

Overall though, it was a fantastic and memorable trip. The wonderful staff was definitely what made our trip though.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband and I visited this resort in December 2013. We arrived very early (around 9am) and while our room wasn't ready yet we were able to go have breakfast and work out while we waited. The staff is extraordinary! They go above and beyond to make your stay luxurious. We spent a lot of time sitting near the pool, and our pool waitress, Suki, took such good care of us! Near the pool there is a great bar that serves burgers, fries, etc. for lunch. The pool bar is lots of fun...nothing quite like sitting on stools in the pool and enjoying a margarita. Our breakfast waiter, Neri, was so friendly and always made sure I had a Mimosa with a cherry in it as soon as we sat down. My husband appreciated Aremi who made smoothies for him every morning. The food was excellent in all the restaurants we tried. The French onion soup in the French restaurant was the best I've ever had! One night they had a "Casino Night," and we had tons of fun playing Blackjack. Our room was modern, spacious, and beautiful. One caution - the stairs and hallways are marble and can be slippery when wet. It was a wonderfully relaxing time, and we have already booked a week for our anniversary in July! I am counting the days until we are back in paradise!

Room Tip: We had originally reserved a pool view, but when we saw the view from our room we decided to upgrade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

we stayed at this resort for 5 days with friends our view looked over a side pool which was fine. the resort is smaller which makes it easier to get around. the beach was ok there was alot of reef that washed up but they worked very hard to keep it clean. we loved the mexican restaurant and italian. there is no evening buffet so if you want to eat you have to dress up or grab a a hamburger before they close down for the day. the birds are horrible at the hamburger shack i had a bird litterly take an entire hot dog in a bun off my plate while i was getting my drink that didnt bother us they have to eat too:) the ocean was a beautiful blue with white sand and plenty of chairs to sit by the ocean. oh there is an elevator so if your on the second floor no worries. some of us smoke that was permitted all over except inside areas and not in your room but the balconies are fine

Room Tip: really your not in your room that much so i wouldnt spend the money the money for upgraded ocean vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

I have owned and operated a Private Investigation Agency and Para-Legal firm in LONDON, Ontario, for the past 20 years. I call a spade a spade and I do not sugar-coat anything. The wife and I spent from MARCH 25, 2014 to APRIL 1, 2014 at Secrets Silversands ("Preferred Club") - Honeymoon Suite, Room 3108 (ground floor). This room was at least 1,200 square feet and quite simply, beautiful! The swim-out pool was within 12 feet of our large patio deck and within 100 feet from the ocean. The team (service staff and management @ "Secrets Silversands") KNOW HOW TO DO IT RIGHT!!! The grounds are immaculate, the resort, in general, is exceptionally clean as well as the rooms. Staff are really friendly and accommodating. The food is great and in some cases.., over-the-top delicious. AMATA in Concierge is just delightful to deal with. Everyday was hot and sunny, with a few clouds on a couple of occasions. The Mexican people (staff) with their beautifully bright smiles take pride in making you feel very welcomed and they genuinely cater to your needs, which was well demonstrated when my wife was briefly ill one day. Their uniforms (work attire) are crispy clean and pressed. This resort is like a brilliantly cut diamond in the rough. We met some interesting people from the U.K., the U.S. and CANADA. Would we go back again....?, in a heartbeat!! We are planning another trip in DECEMBER 2014 with some good friends. G.F. WHITE @ "Fifth Avenue Para-Legal & Private Investigation Services Inc". and "White Sepal Ltd." Commercial Production & Research Center for medicinal marijuana medications.

Room Tip: Honeymoon Suite- Room 3108... ground floor, very spacious and quiet. The Southwest corner of the &qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My wife and I have been to Mexico many times for vacation. We found secrets Silversands to be one of the top resorts in the Cancun area.

The staff at Secretes Silversands (SS) were over the top. we were up graded to a Master suite, however, we had to be moved after the people above us flooded us out by letting the bathtub over flow. We were moved to a different room which was a let down from the suite we were in. No one wants to be down graded in room type, however, it was still a nice room.

The food at SS was great, we did not have a bad meal! We did find the room service menu to be limited for lunch, but the food was good.

The entertainment was a plus, better then other resorts we have been to in the past.

It can get a little competitive for lounge chairs by the pool. People wake up early and throw a towel and a personal item on the chair to hold it. Sometimes the chair would be held all day and no one would use it!

I would rate SS right up there with Secrets Maroma. We will be back to SS.

Room Tip: I would suggest a preferred room on a higher floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Address: Bahia de Petempich SM 12, Mz 31, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun is a chic, ultra modern all-suite adult-only unlimited-luxury resort featuring 433 suites, over 43,000 sq ft of pool areas and expansive manicured gardens, exceptional dining options, several bars ranging from elegant to swim-up. World class spa, a fitness center and two Jacuzzis ensure that guests are pampered and indulged. We are nestled on the coast of the Yucatan Peninsula, 15 miles south of Cancun and only twenty minutes from the Cancun International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Expedia, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.