We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best vacation I've ever been on!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bahia de Petempich SM 12, Mz 31, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best vacation I've ever been on!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

Resort was very clean and beautiful! No detail was left undone! Junior suites were gorgeous and always cleaned when we came back to the room. Pools were immaculate with great bartender service. Very friendly staff, they always had a welcoming smile! By far the most beautiful beach area compared to the other resorts on the strip! Overall wonderful experience and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,901
    1,149
    351
    137
    77
See reviews for
262
4,173
76
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,775)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The hotel is impeccable. And the staff was exemplary. We will definitely return. Fahdzir our concierge was excellent and professional. Iris in the spa was the best massage therapist I've ever had. Mercedes and Lettie were the best servers. Simply a perfect vacation.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just got back from a week at Silversands for March Break. This is our 4th trip to the Mayan Riviera but 1st visit to this resort. Stayed at the sister resort Dreams last year, which was great too. This one is Adults Only, which was another first for us but I think will remain the standard moving forward.

Would recommend this spot highly. An easy 15 minutes from the airport. We stayed in a PC Oceanfront Room. You could throw a ball into the ocean from our balcony and hence, enjoyed listening to the surf. Room was large, very clean and well appointed. Balcony has large lounge and two other seats with a table. Very comfortable.

Had Room service breakfast on the balcony every morning which was great. They have a neat little box that will allows the room service to be delivered and taken away without us answering the door. We just left the tip in the box and it was very simple. Delivery in 35 minutes max with food still warm.

No buffet at dinner. If you are a big eater, just order more. No problem there, as some of the portions are on the small side. The impressive thing are no reservations and no wait times. Very simple. Food quality is great.

Live music somewhere all the times which is great. First run movies projected outdoor onto the building wall a night was a cool thing complete with pop corn. Nightly entertainment was pretty good. Resort is large enough to offer a good selection of amenities yet small enough to get around easily. Perfect size really.

People were fantastic. Service was awesome.

Would go again for sure. Only problem was arriving home in Canada at -15C from +30C. That was a bit of a challenge.

Room Tip: Ocean front is very nice. Quiet with great sun in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Overall the resort was beautiful. The pools and Jacuzzi are the highlight of the resort. If you are looking for the best on-the-beach experience in Riviera Maya, I'd suggest another location. The view of the beach from the hot tub is beautiful. Another highlight about Secrets Silversands is that the staff was super helpful and I would say everyone was friendly and always willing to help with any of our needs. The evening shows are entertaining and the entertainment staff seemed to be high-energy. They create fun if you are interested in participating. Our room was pleasant. I would not say it is 5-star, lavish by United States standards, but it was still a nice room/facility. As far as food I would say the restaurants could use a few more options on the menus but please consider that my options are limited because I'm a person who does not eat beef or pork. Ultimately, Secrets Silversands was a good option for our first time in Mexico. We felt safe on the property and we enjoyed a relaxing experience!

Room Tip: Bring a candle and/or room deodorizer. The rooms can get stuffy and have a slight musk odor when clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear JPRoyal,

Thank you for choosing Secrets Silversands as your host and taking the time to share your experience with us.

It was a pleasure to know you enjoy our pool facilities and our staff service. As you experienced we have a fun personality and you can also relax in our resort. A hard combination we accomplished.

We look forward to host you on the future.

Best wishes,

Aldo Delgado Betancourt
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

What a wonderful trip and resort! If you are looking for a smaller sized resort with ultimate luxury and amenities this is the place for you. The rooms are spacious and have beautiful views. The beds are comfortable and relaxing and we never had a meal that we did not enjoy to the fullest. At breakfast I highly recommend having Huevos Rancheros made by Lida in the World Cafe'. You also need to try the Grouper Ceviche at Oceana and the Chocolate Souffle at El Patio. Excellent, friendly staff who catered to our every need with thoughtfulness and attention. Thank you Secrets Silversands for taking our winter blues away. We hope to visit you again soon.

Room Tip: 4401-4410 have a wonderful ocean view and are close to the main pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

The staff was exceptional. Everyone (bellhops, waitstaff, maids, concierge, bartenders, entertainment crew, groundskeepers, etc) was generally smiling, would say “hola”, and was quite accommodating. The VIP reps were the exception, at times being somewhat aggressive trying to up-sell additional services. Rooms were spacious and clean with a comfortable bed and sectional couch. Easy to program safe was just large enough to fit our laptop and other valuables. Pools and bars were bountiful. Great selection of diverse restaurants (International breakfast buffet, American grill for lunch, Italian, Mexican, Japanese w/ Hibachi grill, Seafood, French, Mediterranean) offering quality fare. No reservations needed except for the Hibachi grill, and typically no wait. However, if you wanted to go out, but did not want to change after a long day in the sun, the selection was rather limited as most had a dress code. The double standard at the World Café (breakfast buffet) in the morning was taxing as women could eat in about anything (ok with me) but men could not enter unless they had a *sleeved* shirt on. Our biggest complaint was that the restaurant we wanted to try the most, Oceana (seafood) was closed a majority of the nights the week we were there between weddings, private parties, or… just because. Believe it may have been only open 2-3 times in the seven days we were there, and that happened to coincide with days we had excursions or the Hibachi grill booked. We never did get to try Oceana. Beautiful white sand beach that was maintained every morning by a crew that would groom it and remove all seaweed that had drifted in overnight. The shows in the theater at night were generally quite entertaining, with the exception of a bonus second act on Friday night… a juggling “comedian” on Friday night that quite literally emptied the room.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear ctc10s,

We appreciate you have taken the time to share your review about your recent visit to Secrets Silversands. We are overjoyed to read that you’ve enjoyed your stay, specially our Unlimited-luxury® concept. Which consist in excellent food selection, nightly shows…

Please be confident that we’ve shared your kind comments with our team as motivation to keep up with our commitment to offer truly remarkable experiences in our guests. We thank you on behalf of our team and Management.

We sincerely hope we can have the honor of being your hopes in not too distant future.

Best wishes,

Aldo Delgado Betancourt
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
Info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngstown, Ohio
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

If you are looking for paradise, a beautiful resort, great food, a kind hard working staff, energized entertainment staff, activities daily, numerous pools - don't delay...BOOK NOW!!

My family and I just returned from our 5th stay at Secrets Silversand Resort since March of 2012. We traveled March 8-15. We look at other resorts, but LOVE it here and feel why change! We most definitely will return again soon!

From the moment you arrive, you are treated like royalty and pampered all week long. The staff (ALL staff) are so friendly and constantly wanting to please you!

Special thanks to Wilder, rooms division manager, for our beautiful upgraded suite. A shout out to Andrea in the World Cafe for her morning smile and always remembering our name after the second day! Also, thanks to Victor, our waiter in the World Cafe! You are the best!! We loved Miguel (entertainment team) for his friendliness and energy!

The food is good in all the restaurants. If you don't see something on the menu, just ask. They aim to please you!

The pools are plentiful. Main pool is full of activity and others are much quieter. By the end of the day the main pool can be a little loud when people need to stop drinking. I felt bad for the servers at the pool having to still serve them with a smile and continue to be nice! In the states they would have probably been thrown out!!

The staff at this resort works nonstop from morning to late night. They always greet you with a smile and "hola!"

I encourage you to look no further and book this resort immediately!! You won't regret it!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Address: Bahia de Petempich SM 12, Mz 31, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun is a chic, ultra modern all-suite adult-only unlimited-luxury resort featuring 433 suites, over 43,000 sq ft of pool areas and expansive manicured gardens, exceptional dining options, several bars ranging from elegant to swim-up. World class spa, a fitness center and two Jacuzzis ensure that guests are pampered and indulged. We are nestled on the coast of the Yucatan Peninsula, 15 miles south of Cancun and only twenty minutes from the Cancun International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., HotelTravel.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.