We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon Resort !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun to your Saves list
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
4.5 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Bahia de Petempich SM 12, Mz 31, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Honeymoon Resort !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

SSS is an excellent resort it was recommended by our travel agent as its adults only, all inclusive and popular as a honeymoon resort. When we arrived we were given a glass of champagne each and a cold towel which was very welcome after an 11 hour flight! The porter Omar was very helpful with our bags on arrival and when we had a problem with one of the tours later in the week not arriving he was great calling the tour provider and making sure everything was sorted.

The rooms are huge we stayed on the second floor with a view of the pool. There was a bottle of champagne in the room, petals on the bed in the shape of a heart, and fresh fruit and little desserts. The bed was a king size and we had a turndown service which was a nice touch. There is a Jacuzzi, walk in shower and complimentary shower gel, shampoo etc.

The room was cleaned every day and we had no complaints always fresh towels and scented candles in the room. The fridge was stocked daily with soft drinks, water and corona. The aircon was excellent and we had no issues at all with it. SSS is spotless I have never seen or stayed anywhere where there was such attention to detail. We left for the pool one day to see 2 cleaners cleaning the tops of the picture frames with toothbrushes. I have to commend the cleaning staff and maintenance staff as they are VERY HARD workers I tipped them cos the majority don't speak English and hence don't usually deal directly with the guests but they deserve it !!

There is 8 pools all clean and no shortage of deck chairs. The pool bar is nice but it could get very loud with music and guests. This was fine somedays but we wanted to chill out after the wedding and just relax but there is enough pools so this wasn't a problem. The waiters/waitress's come around and get you whatever drinks you want. We did tip usually one or two dollars.

The cocktails are savage I tried everything at some stage, I recommend the mango tango, purple rain and strawberry daiquiri. There is corona on tap or cans and bud light. The restaurants were nice be sure to bring longs trousers ( too warm for jeans in my opinion) if your a bloke and shoes as its the dress code. The Mexican El Patio was our favourite get the steak you wont be disappointed and the Aztec chocolate soufflé for dessert.. I would fly back just for it !

The Japanese one is very good and the seaside grill well worth trying. The buffet or breakfast has everything you could want, the fresh fruit and orange juice is the best ive ever tasted. Same for lunch they had a different theme each day might be Italian or Asian for example. If you wanted 3 courses for breakfast, dinner and tea you could !

If you plan on doing a day trip I recommend the Chichen Itza trip and the delphinus - swimming with the dolphins make sure if doing it you do the full 1 hour session with foot push etc its excellent and well worth the money. The pictures at the end of the trip are pricey just to be aware. I cant think of anything else that hasn't been said already if you are looking for a honeymoon destination and want to relax I would highly recommend it you wont be disappointed it !!!!!

One last thing the resort is 20 mins from Cancun centre and taxis are expensive at least $90 round trip just be aware if you want to be in the heart of things then stay in a hotel that's closer to the centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear kevc82,

Thank you for your preference, it was an honor to have you home celebrating your honeymoon.
We are overjoyed to know that you have enjoyed the comfort of your suite, and the food and drinks selection. Also thank you for share your time spent at the pools enjoying the staff service.

We can´t wait to welcome you back soon.
Warm Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,506 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3,824
    1,119
    349
    136
    78
See reviews for
255
4,100
73
73
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,735)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Secrets Silversands is a great property. The grounds are lush, the pools are well maintained and the views are excellent.

There is a good variety of food. We tried all of the restaurants and took a sushi making course (where you learn how to make a sushi roll).

We went on a girls trip, and were very surprised that the resort was exclusively full of couples. We used the time to relax and go on excursions. But if you are looking for a party, this is not the place for you.

Make sure to take small bills to tip the staff. They are always happy to help and are professional.

I would definetly come back to the resort, but with a bigger group of friends or my significant other.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear StephanieOB,

We would like to thank you for your time to share your relAxing stay experience, thank you for your visit.

It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed the adults-only ambiance, specially created for couples, groups of friends or families with adult members.

We can´t wait for your next visit.
Warm Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts,com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

I went on this trip with my boyfriend and his family and we had a good time but also a few gripes. We had used CheapCaribbean.com to book our trip, which knocked the price down a bit and included $200 of "resort credit" that other reviewers have already touched on - don't hang your hat on actually being able to put the $200 to use. The $200 is split up and is used as a discount to premium services that will still cost you additional out-of-pocket outside of the all-inclusive amenities.

Check-in was as advertised, with a short trip from the airport to the hotel (15-20 minutes), and we were greeted with cold towels and champagne at the resort. Our room was ready upon check-in so we were brought to our room with our luggage and given a little orientation of the resort - i.e. shortcuts, restaurants, pools, etc. However, we quickly found that we had some unanswered questions. Our first priority was to get some pool time in before dinner time, and it was not clear how to obtain beach towels - hint: ask at the activity hut, if you are unable to grab one of the fresh ones off the chairs in the mornings.

Rooms:

The room (jr. suite swim-out) looked just like it did on the website. The "cons" were not apparent at first, but over the course of our stay, we noted a few things.

- We called for extra towels the first morning, and they never arrived; after waiting a while, we just showered using the cleanest beach towels that we happened to have laying around the room.
- That same day, the maid service did not come until we were leaving for dinner (7-7:15ish), so we did not have fresh towels until the following morning - now granted, we could have stopped by the front desk or made additional requests, but opted not to. The maid service did improve as the room was cleaned in between late morning and when we would arrive back at the room to get ready for dinner each night.
- We visited my boyfriend's parents room (same level- jr. suite swim-out) and noticed that one of the chairs had old food stuck to the cushion, and a bunch of dirt/grime under a sliding door when it was moved. Overall it had a pretty dirty feeling.
- We had requested a change of bed linens once during our stay since we squashed a mosquito on the bed one night. At first the linens looked new, but then we noticed a dead mosquito in a different spot (??).
- We used the hot tub on the first night and the grass/dirt that we left behind was not cleaned afterwards.
- MOSQUITOS! I don't know if this should be categorized under "rooms" but we had an infestation. We killed 5 or 6 of them, and they are wispy little things that can go easily unnoticed, so before long, I was covered in bites. By the end of the trip, I had over SIXTY bites. After day 2, my boyfriend called to see if we could get a new room, thinking the problem may have just been in our room/due to the ice machine across the hall or something. The only available room was a significant downgrade, and we decided that since I was already miserable with bites, we might as well just stay in the nicer room. Hint: I believe I was bit every day right when I got out of the shower in the morning/when getting ready for dinner, so apply OFF! immediately upon stepping out of the shower. Bring Afterbite, Benadryl spray, Some of these items are available in the gift shop for a pretty penny if you forget to bring your own.

Pools

- Generally, these were nice. The main pool with swim-up bar had fun activities and the staff is definitely excellent! Great personalities. The other pools were beautiful and drinks were brought to you if you were at one of these. The main pool would get *HOT* by mid-afternoon. Not just warm and cozy, but like a hot tub, which is a bit odd, since the pool is so large. We questioned the content of the pools and started to get skeeved out.
- The restrooms by the pools were kept very clean!
- The pool outside of our swim-out rooms was nice, but there was an odd odor in air the last two days - unclear if it was coming from the pool water itself or something nearby.

Food

- The food was better than I've experienced at other all-inclusive resorts. We enjoyed the Hibatchi (which you need to make same-day reservations for. Do this AT 7 AM!.) We also though the Mexican restaurant was good, but were not that impressed by the Italian or Mediterranean (and did not try the French). Breakfast brunch was just OK. The outdoor sit-down restaurant by the main pool was great, exceeded expectations. We did not try the barefoot grill. One in our party was sick on the last morning, unclear what caused it.

Entertainment

- We did not book any off-resort excursions, but as others have stated, there were plenty to pick from.
- We played a bit of ping pong and pool, and the tables were almost always open.
- We enjoyed the nightly entertainment - casino night, hypnotist, and the BEST firedancers I've ever seen!
- We got "fish therapy" on our feet at the spa. Interesting experience! Got the feeling this was clean and would have been willing to do more at the spa.

Overall I had a good time but was ready to go home by the end. The last night I was completely miserable due to the mosquito bites, so if you are sensitive to that, just beware.

Room Tip: Jr. Suite Swim-out was nice, worth the few extra bucks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Laura P,

Thank you for your visit and for your time to share your review, this is a great way for us to have our guest´s feedback and improve our opportunity areas.

It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your time at the pools and also the entertainment night shows and activities.

It is important to mention that we can fight the insect population in our resort, but we cannot use stronger chemical solutions toward the resort surroundings due to the fact that we are a Green Hotel, and very well known for our efforts to preserve nature and environment. Please remember that our resort is located in a national protected area surrounded by nature. Our guests comfort is our priority. However these efforts sometimes seem to be insufficient due to our location. But please be certain that this situation is controlled in great manner.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon for another memorable stay.
Kind Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The title says it all. Resort was extremely clean and well organized. Drinks made to order with top shelf alcohol. Food was great! Lots of variety. Room (Jr. Suite) was big with lots of nice touches. Service was incredible. Entertainment team was the best. Special thanks to Dany, Nico, and Jackie who all felt like family by the end of the trip. We actually cried saying goodbye to them. Sasha was the perfect MC. Dulce kept us fit with water aerobics and other "sports". Alissa was a fantastic yoga instructor which my wife loved to start her day with each morning. The intimate black jack and hold'em sessions at 5pm each night were really fun and I managed to win a nice bottle of tequila at one of them. The nightly entertainment was really great. Lots of resorts roll up the carpets at 9pm. Not this place...It's just getting started. I'm sure they rotate acts but in one week we saw the following "big production" shows; Breakdancing/acrobats, Rock n Roll tribute (one of the best guitar players I have seen in years), the Fire juggling show (amazing), the Sensuality show ( hot men and ladies doing acrobatic moves), comedy hypnotist show, Mayan culture show, comedy show. These lasted for almost an hour each and was followed by a live band next to the outside bar that got most folks up and dancing. If you had any energy left the inside disco cranked up about 11:30 and folks would still be dancing past 1:00am. During the day there would be random events happening all the time. A classy cocktail party, a casino party, a Mexican fiesta, a marguerita making class, a tequila class, a Mexican food session and lots more. Every day you got a newsletter under your door with the days events. You could participate or not. There was never any pressure to join in unless you wanted to. We tried everything we could and had a blast. Spa: Very nice! Suggest you mix in every third day just to pamper yourself. Using the place is relatively inexpensive if you omit the massage. (or win a pass playing one of the many events including bingo) Pools: This place has a lot of them. From the quiet Infinity pool with it's great ocean view to the energetic "main" pool with it's variety of water entertainment. Many serpentine relaxing pools spread throughout the resort provided some nice "quiet time" with a loved one if you needed it. Since this place is "adults only" there were no splashing kids playing Marco Polo! Thank God! The real draw here is the people, not the staff, your fellow vacationers. If you are the least bit outgoing, you will meet so many fantastic people it will be hard to keep track. People from all over the world. People a day ago you didn't know existed, you are now doing shots with and sharing excursion stories with around the bar. At some point you realize that you are all participating in a grand event and have become characters in the stories that other people will tell when they return home. Oh, .....and the flaming Mexican coffee each night at the inside bar was a special treat that we really looked forward to.
There were a few negatives they should work on fixing but nothing that would keep me from coming back. The beach could be bigger (but we seldom used it with all the pools), the sales pitch when you first arrive to "see" Secrets Maroma could be done away with. The resort "credits" could be made usable without having to buy something. Note to Management: These left a bad taste in a lot of folks mouth. Either do away with them entirely or use them to your advantage. Set up things that are
inexpensive to you to give away with the resort credits. I'm in marketing....everyone likes, and remembers, something FREE. A free sail boat ride, a free bottle of wine, free Secrets branded merchandize (T-shirts, hats, wine glasses, tequila shot glasses) you get the picture. Why "give" someone a source of irritation when you can get some real positive benefits out of it, especially with stuff with your logo on it. I would be loading folks up with a ton of this stuff. Shirts and caps are like free marketing and you could probably write it off as advertising.
Everything considered we had an absolutely fabulous time and would highly recommend this resort to anyone wanting a great vacation. You can spend a lot more at other resorts but you probably won't have a better time.
Email me direct at greggmagic@gmail.com if you have questions or are one of the folks we met and didn't get our email address.

Room Tip: We were in building 4. Ocean view, third floor. Quiet but close to everything. AC worked very well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear David G,

We would like to thank you for your time to post a review, these are excellent news to know that you have enjoyed a great stay.

It is great to know that you have enjoyed the night shows and participated at the entertainment activities.

We will follow up your suggestions about the resort credits usage, however, these are a benefit to get discounts for your special purchases during your stay.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordintor & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Normally I don't put much stock into 5-star or 1-star reviews. I value 3 and 4-star reviews the most, as they seem to be the most honest. I rarely review anything with 5 stars, but this resort deserves it. Still, it was not perfect and I will acknowledge some of my issues with the resort.

My wife and I recently returned from a 5-night stay at Secrets Silver Sands. We had a pool-view junior suite and did not upgrade to the preferred club. We have also stayed at the Excellence Riviera, so much of this review will be in comparison to that resort.

Regarding common concerns and negative reviews of the resort:

* Sewage Smell: There is a bit of a sewage smell that comes and goes throughout various areas of the resort. I noticed the smell a bit in our room the first day we were there, not much after. I also noticed it around the buildings and even by the pool one morning. While the smell is not pleasant, it's not bad enough to warrant immediately choosing a different resort and it never seemed to linger long. But, it's definitely there from time-to-time.

* Rocky Beach: This is true. If you prefer to do your swimming in the ocean, you should probably book elsewhere. The beach becomes very rocky once you enter the water -- water shoes are a necessity. We only noticed a few people actually swimming any distance out in the water. Most people simply dipped their feet and returned to their lounge chairs or the pool. Seaweed near the water seems to be no worse at this resort than anywhere along the Riviera Maya and the staff is almost constantly cleaning it up. Aside from the rocky water, the beach is actually very nice and more secluded than other areas of the Riviera Maya.

* Pressure to Buy Timeshares/etc: I read a lot of reviews of how the resort pressures its guests into buying time-shares, expensive bottles of wine, etc. We booked through AMSTAR and received free ground transportation to the resort. While waiting at the airport, our "guy" told us we needed to meet with the amstar rep at the resort the next day to ensure a return trip. This was actually their "ploy" to get us to sit through a tour presentation and (I'm assuming) the time-share presentation in order to receive our coupons. We simply did not go, as we were aware of this. We faced no further harassment aside from one brief phone call, in which the desk simply asked us if everything was okay in our room.

* Pressure to Buy Wine: Similar to our experience with the time-shares, we felt practically no pressure to buy wine. Here's what happens: when you sit down for dinner, the waiter will place a wine menu on your table and say, "here is our wine menu." That, honestly, was all the pressure we ever had to buy. We simply ordered other drinks or house wine, which there is a decent variety of to choose from. Unless you are a big wine-o, I can't fathom why you would want to spend additional money on a bottle.

* No Privacy in Bathrooms: It is true that the water-closet door provides practically no privacy (it also becomes very stuffy when the door is shut), BUT the bathroom does have two large sliding doors that can be shut to effectively close off the entire bathroom from the rest of the suite. Privacy really isn't an issue when you take the time to shut these doors.

* Loud/Drunken Guests: These, unfortunately, exist. But not typically in large enough quantity to disrupt much. The nice thing about the resort is that if a group of people are being obnoxious, you can find a different pool or bar to relax at. Why some people find it necessary to include everyone at the resort in their conversations, I have no idea. This isn't a fault of the resort though and I imagine you'd find drunken types at most all-inclusive resorts.

* Air conditioning: We were either too dense to figure out how to control the a/c in our room, or you really can't control it. The a/c seemed to be on just about all of the time, but our room stayed at a pretty consistent 19/20 degrees celsius. I'm not sure how accurate the thermostat was, however, as I would say it was closer room temperature, or 72 degrees farenheit. It wasn't hot, but I prefer it cooler especially for sleeping. The restaurants were also quite warm... A few ceiling fans would go A LONG ways in the restaurants.

Things we thought were considerable upgrades over the Excellence Riviera:

* The Rooms: The bed and linens were much more comfortable than at the Excellence. The room, as a whole, also seemed bigger and its style (modern) was much more agreeable with our tastes than the Excellence. The shower also had considerably better water pressure and consistent water temperature.

* The Food: We were satisfied with the food at SSS and thought it was, overall, better than at the Excellence. We weren't disappointed with anything we ordered, but we weren't exactly wowed by much either. While the menus offer some unique food, the restaurants do not prepare the food in a very bold matter. It looks nice! But the flavor doesn't always live up to the appearance of the food. I wouldn't say it was bland, but it certainly wasn't very bold. Still, we enjoyed it. We especially enjoyed the Asian restaurant and the sushi. We also really liked the Seaside Grille and Oceana for lunch. The breakfast buffet also provides a nice variety of breakfast foods and fruit.

The Staff: We experienced no rudeness from the staff at SSS and the waiters seemed to work a bit harder than they did at the Excellence. Someone came around to take our drink order at the pool (and beach) about every 20-30 minutes, which I think is very fair. (This, compared to every hour or so at the Excellence.) And even if they come around too slow for your liking, a bar is never more than a few paces from your pool of choice. We never tipped and did not seem to receive any slower/worse service than others who were tipping (call us cheap). My only issue comes with the waiters, who seem to forget about you after your food arrives. It's not uncommon for your drink to go dry while dining.

Evening Entertainment: The resort offers live music nearly every evening. There is also a show at 9:30 pm every evening. These shows were much more entertaining than at the Excellence. There also seemed to be a bit more of a night scene at SSS than at the Excellence. With that said, the resort does not quiet down until 11:30 pm, when the live band is typically finished. I don't think this is too late, but you're not going to fall asleep before then and I know some people like to go to bed earlier than others.

My wife and I really enjoyed our stay at the Excellence, but we both agree that Silver Sands has more to offer and is, overall, a better resort. I highly recommend Secrets Silver Sands and will have a hard time choosing anywhere else to stay upon (hopeful) future trips.

Room Tip: Preferred Club is a waste. Use that money on a room upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear jayhawkjoe98,

It is an honor to know that you have enjoyed a memorable stay, thank you for your preference and for your time to share your review.

Now that we have your preference, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back too many times during your visits to the Riviera Maya.

We will be waiting for your next visit.
Warm Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Genuine affection and a heartfelt concern for every guest. Everything was top notch. My wife and I were very impressed at the staff and what they offered. Would come back every year if I could!!! We got a look at the other hotels in thd area and there was no compariso

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear JC D,

Thank you for your time to share this great experience you have enjoyed during your stay. It is an honor to know that we have exceeded your expectations with the staff service.

We can´t wait to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Visited July 18-25, 2013!
Positive!
The entertainment team:Nico, Dulce, Mariana, & Jackie provided us with the best entertainment. Walk on the beach, bike tour, beach volleyball, pool volleyball, soccer, black jack, Mexican lottery, crazy game, water aerobic and bingo. I loved the fact that every night they would provide a schedule of events for the next day. Do not miss any shows that they provide at night in the theater room because its FANTASTIC!! The rest of the entertainment team were wonderful as well!

Bars: Brenis & Xavi the best bartenders that we have encounter at any resort! They talked to us and made us different drinks without requesting. If you asked for suggestion they will provide you with many to choose from. Even if they were busy they would still come up and ask us if we would like something. We never waited more then a minute.

Restaurants: In general every restaurant we went to they provided us with the best attitude. Oceana/Seaside Grill look for Ruben he went the extra mile to serve us. Himitsu there's Antonio. Portofino was always busy and the manager would step in to help and we came back and he greeted and talk to us about our visit there. Amazing food! Ratatouille there's Maria.

Rooms/Room Service: The rooms were always clean. Fridge was always full. No bad odor. Great air conditioning. The bed was extremely comfy. No complaint what so ever!

Staff: We were always greeted with a big cheesy smile! Makes my vacation feels amazing being around positive people!

Negative! RESORT CREDIT: We were suppose to be given $400 but they tried to only give us $200. We had three couples and they tried to scam all three of us! Anyways even if you were to receive those Credits ITS COMPLETELY USELESS! They split it towards wine, dining on the beach, & spa. Suppose to get $80 off on spa but it has to be split towards three different treatments. $40 $40 $20 but each treatment regular price were around 120-150+ and I can get a couple massage in the area for 80 bucks.

Beach: The staff clean it every day, but its still very filthy! If you walk about twenty mins to your left towards the nude beach it gets a lot better! Kayaking was offered for free but if the waves is hitting hard they wont allowed us to use it for safety reason which I have no problem with. If you don't want to walk but you still want to swim I recommend you to buy some swimming shoes!

Overall I still had the best week at the resort and surrounded by the best group of staff. Always had a full schedule of activities. Bravo again to the entertainment group with out them my week would have been very bland.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
info_sesrc, Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge at Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear NhiPham531,

It is a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed a memorable time with the entertainment staff, specially with Nico, Dulce, Mariana and Jackie. Also it is great to know that you have received a great service from the rest of the staff members that you have mentioned.

We regret to know about your discomfort caused by the usage of the resort credits, these are a benefit to get discounts of the additional services available at our resort.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Kind Regards,

Karla Martinez
Social Media Coordinator & E-Concierge
info.sesrc@secretsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun

Address: Bahia de Petempich SM 12, Mz 31, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Business Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#1 Family Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Spa Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Puerto Morelos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun is a chic, ultra modern all-suite adult-only unlimited-luxury resort featuring 433 suites, over 43,000 sq ft of pool areas and expansive manicured gardens, exceptional dining options, several bars ranging from elegant to swim-up. World class spa, a fitness center and two Jacuzzis ensure that guests are pampered and indulged. We are nestled on the coast of the Yucatan Peninsula, 15 miles south of Cancun and only twenty minutes from the Cancun International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Hotel Puerto Morelos
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.