We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel - Absolutely amazing hosts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Puerto Morelos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbey del Sol
Save
You added Abbey del Sol to your Saves list
806 Ave Ninos Heroes | Quintana Roo, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
winnipeg
1 review
“Great little hotel - Absolutely amazing hosts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2010

We have always found Abby Walker, the hotel owner and her staff to be friendly, welcoming and very knowledgeable about the area and things to do. These are great people and they clearly enjoy their work; their hotel and its amenities reflect that. We think the hotel is a small jewel, well priced and very convenient to exploring all aspects of the Yucatan - cenotes, archeological sites, Playa del Carmen, Cancun, Merida, etc. We always suggest it to friends especially if it's their first time in Mexico or the area. We have been to Abby del Sol three years in a row and we will be back in 2011!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
35
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Victoria
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2010

Our 12 day stay at Abbey del Sol over New Year's 2010, was relaxing, quiet, comfortable and reasonable.Our Unit #9 was a ground floor unit of about 500 square feet with a large private patio off the living room. Our routine was to have breakfast there and walk downtown 15 minutes away for the rest of our meals. There is a surprising number of good restaurants in this town of 2000-not gourmet of course but good. The beach was two blocks away, the staff and owners were great and they all contributed to a great vacation. Like MacArthur, we will return

Diane and Blair Wilkinson

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodstock ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

we found the place beautiful, quaint, well- maintained, managed efficiently seven days a week by the owner , 30 minutes walk from town. the rooms - we stayed in three - were always clean and airy. The place really has charm: flowers, plants, trees and a lovely little pool at the center, and the location is 15 minutes walk from the beach... Advice: bring your own tea pot or prepare to be very careful. we forgot and burned ours...Ask where the outdoor hose and shower are located because the place is not marked by a sign and you will track sand into your rooms otherwise. WiFi reception spotty but management was working on the problem when we left. We loved the place , the manager and even the guests.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

This last stay at the Abbey was my 5th. It was just as charming and wonderful as the first. The apartments have all the amenities necessary for a relaxing week and the staff are knowledgeable and hospitable. We will visit again soon!

Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

Abbey Del Sol is such a cute place to stay in one of the most beautiful little towns in Mexico. It's a little ways out of the downtown area which is great if you want quiet, but a little bit of a hike everyday. That brings up two points.
1. Abbey provides bikes to cruise around town with, which is super helpful.
2. P.Morelos just isn't a noisy a town to begin with.

We found the price to be great and having internet connection was a real bonus. In fact, they were upgrading their internet while we were there, so it will be awesome in every room. We used this as a test trip for working while on the road. The test went very well.

Abbey Del Sol is a such a comfortable place and the grounds are immaculately kept. A nice cool pool for hot summer days and a loungy rooftop patio. Just don't lean on the edges. The blue comes off.

We loved the colours and warm feeling to this place. The staff were all great and very helpful. Be sure to take the ATV tour with Freddie out to the Kin Ha Cenote. One of the coolest things you'll ever do.

By all means... if you want to relax, Puerto Morelos is the town to do it in. For a wonderful stay, we highly recommend Abbey Del Sol.

PS... treat yourself to some of the best Shrimp Tacos in the world at Tacosdotcom just off the square. Abelardo and his family are amazing.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2009

I stayed at Abbey Del Sol with friends the last week of April just after the end of the high season for Cancun (re:stuffed to the gills with college students looking to enter and/or judge wet t-shirt contests). I had what would be called a suite in the US (although as far as I could tell they were all suites except for one normal room) with a separate bedroom and living room and an kitchenette area. My room was just off of the pool in the center of the complex. The rooms are what I would call tasteful Mexico, bright and colorful without being tacky (I did see a pile of sombreros in the office if you absolutely have to be mildly authentic while in town. Note: I didn't see a single local in a sombrero) and were spacious and had a terrific wall air conditioner. I had that bedroom down to meat locker temp at night. They provide you with a 5 gallon barrel of fresh water for drinking/cooking/ice which I barely made a dent in.

Enough about the room though. There is little reason to be in it other than sleeping (they do have TV's with a bunch of channels or so I'm told and they also have boatload of movies available for free in the office if you must indulge your agoraphobic tendencies). The pool is terrific and has a ledge that allows you to do sort of a beached whale move where you lay prone on your stomach in about 6 inches of water and wait for someone throw a net over you and drag you back out into the deep stuff (e.g. 5ft. 3in.). There are double stitched hammocks on the roof of the front building that are large enough for two or you can go cocoon style and completely wrap yourself up like a tamale. We spent a lot of time in both of these areas but the beach is all of 2 blocks away (which suddenly seems far after about 3 days of mind melting relaxation) and has actual real vacation sand. I live in San Diego where I'm pretty sure in the 30's they paid about 50.000 constructions workers to come hammer apart rocks into little bits and then told everybody that was a beach. This is a totally different ball game. This sand is closer to very fine sugar and almost as white. The water is that novelty blue that people try to explain and end up sounding either dangerously inarticulate or like the annoying "traveler friend" we all have that is forever nonchalantly tossing off comments like, "Well, when we were riding the elephants in Borneo you just had to pee down your leg. There weren't any bathrooms."

The town itself is rather small on this side of the highway (the majority of Puerto Morelos population is on the west side of the highway further from the ocean). There are tons of little restaurants and bars and shops, particularly around the town square and most everything is within walking distance unless the relaxation zombie mentality has set in and then you can take one umpteen thousand Nissan Sentra taxis that are constantly trolling around. English will get you around pretty well and we often found that our rudimentary attempts at Spanish were corrected in English (sometimes with better diction). In terms of stuff to do, there is always Cancun which is about a half hour north and Playa Del Carmen about a half hour south. Both are large touristy cities with about everything you'd want to do or avoid depending on what your version of vacation is. There are also the Cenotes all around the town in the jungle. Cenotes are basically naturally occurring freshwater pools formed from cavities in the limestone ground. There are bunches of them around and cost anywhere from $5US to $10US to enter or you can hire a guide to take you on a tour of them. We went to two of them, one outside and one that was inside of a cave (warning the ride to the cave one is about an hour on roads that have a top speed of about 10Kph and induced motion sickness in at least one of our party).

The Cenotes were about as far as we ventured from Abbey Del Sol though as there didn't seem to be a whole lot of reason to wander off. I saw the staff at various times and they were pleasant but seemed to be hard at work on some mysterious project that only they knew about and I could never find nor hear evidence of. Everything was in working order and clean. There was no room service but Abby (the titular Abby in this case) arranged for us to have a local personal chef prepare two meals a day for us once we were sick of the production of going out to eat with 11 people. The prices for the home cooking were extremely reasonable and the food was on par or better than anything we got at restaurants.

They also had wireless internet available if you simply have to keep up on Facebook or check stock quotes. As for myself, New York City could have been leveled by an earthquake and slipped into the Atlantic and I would have been none the wiser till I got back to the airport.

In the end I was even able to even score a ride from the staff back to the Cancun airport (at 445am no less) for about what it would have cost in a regular cab. Apparently they take a break from "the project" at 5 in the morning.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

I can say without any hesitation that my stay at Abby Del Sol surpassed and and all expectations that I had. The town is amazing and the people were absolutely wonderful. I never had a bad meal thanks to Abby's advice and I expect I will be back very soon. Perhaps August! I loved it.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abbey del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey del Sol

Address: 806 Ave Ninos Heroes | Quintana Roo, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Phone Number:
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 26 Specialty Lodging in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Attractive, safe & comfortable well maintained vacation rental suites and homes with many amenities and extras for that perfect relaxing vacation. Our central office is located at Abbey Del Sol 2 and our onsite english speaking staff are here to assist you and will help you with anything you need. From airport transfers to assisting with activities to restaurant suggestions. Excellent location within 1.5 blocks from the gorgeous quite beach and 3 to 8 blocks from the quaint town square depending on the property location. Our charming little town hosts over 60 amazing restaurants, to gorgeous white soft sand beaches & accommodations that steal your heart away. If your looking for a stress free vacation, look no further. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Abbey Del Sol Hotel Puerto Morelos
Abbey Del Sol Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.