We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Location,same Wonderful Dining.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Pirata

El Pirata
Ave. Rojo Gomez, Puerto Morelos, Mexico
+52 998 251 7948
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $13
Cuisines: Mexican, Steakhouse, Bar, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Restaurant El Pirata se encuentra a tan solo 100 mts del parque principal de Puerto Morelos, Quintana Roo. Cuenta con un menu altamente variado el cual comprende de: Parrilla Argentina, Pastas, Mariscos, Comida Mexicana, Desayunos, Comida y Cena. Sus especialidades son: La parrilla Argentina, La sopa de mariscos, camarones mariposa al mojo de ajo, entre otros. Ambiente relajado, comida exquisita y musica agradable.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“New Location,same Wonderful Dining.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

Since we travel to Puerto Morelos, Mexico often we were rather dismayed when we discovered that one of our favorite restaurants was no longer there. Later we found that they had moved to a new place. Their new location is so much larger and traditional décor is very nice. The food was perfect and very reasonable.
Their new location is just a 1/2 north of the old one. Keep up the good job.
We will be back soon.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    36
    4
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glen Ellyn, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Argentinian Steakhouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Great spot in Puerto Morelos. Amazingly affordable and wonderful steaks cooked on the grill. Your meal arrives on a pedestal cutting board with salad, and amazing potato and your perfectly cooked steak (I recommend the Arrachera steak) and definitely reach for the chimmichurrie.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A reliable meal at the right price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

This is always our first stop in PoMo. I am in love with the pozole and chiliquiles at Pirata. The waitstaff is friendly and the food is good. The grill cook that stands out front is a bit of a jerk and wanted us to change our table mid-meal so he could have more room (to sit and do nothing), but other than that we've never had a problem here. It's a great place to sit and watch all of the middle-aged ex pats at Habanero's act like testosterone-filled teenagers (don't get me started).

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Best salsa verde in pirate environment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Good location, lots of action at night when diners spill out onto the sidewalk and curb. The piratey decor is slightly cheesy, and the wait staff wears a leather buccaneer vest that looks warm.

The sauces they offered were excellent, the best salsa verde in our week in PM. A nice, smoky chipotle sauce, too.

My quest for the best ceviche in PM was not sated by El Pirata. It was not served chilled, and was smaller than the others I sampled around town. My wife's fish tacos came on soggy tortillas that fell apart when she picked them up. She reported that the side of rice, though, was the best on the trip.

Nice selection of cervezas, friendly service. We'll try it again, maybe for dinner. Hey, how much does un pirata pay for an elote? A buccaneer!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C. Canada
Top Contributor
190 reviews 190 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A Little Bit Of Argentina In Puerto Morelos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We, a family of 4 adults passed this restaurant many times during our 2 week stay in PM. It was always packed. We decided to make a reservation & eat our last dinner at La Pirata.

When, we arrived at the reserved time all the table were full. Luckily, a single fellow said we could have his table as he was ready to go.We were seated right beside the parilla. Nice & cosy on a very wet & windy night. We had Spanish red wine to start. 3 New York steaks were ordered, medium rare. They came with salad & baked potatoes. My family loved their dinner. I ordered the garlic shrimp. They were very tasty but a touch over-cooked for my taste. The service was good. I would recommend this restaurant for those that would like a change from Mexican food.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Pirata also viewed

Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
Puerto Morelos, Riviera Maya
 

Been to El Pirata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Pirata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.