We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only choice for beach, pool and central location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hacienda Morelos

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hacienda Morelos to your Saves list
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Rafael Melgar; Mza.2 Lote 5, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“The only choice for beach, pool and central location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

When I say the "only choice", I mean that literally. Puerto Morelos is a wonderful village on the water half way between Cancun and Playa Del Carman, and it is much quieter and "traditional" - no modern resorts, just smaller, independent, hotels - several to choose from a block or two inland, and a few of them are in the centro area. There is one other hotel on the water with a pool 10 minutes walk from centro ( the Ojo de Agua ). Okay, let get to the details of the Hacienda. It's a 3 story building ( 2 buildings actually ) and all the rooms face the ocean and pool. I think they all have either balconies ( 2 chairs max ) and the ground level rooms open onto the pool patio. As other reviewers have mentioned, the hotel restaurant/bar were not in service this winter ( March 2014 ) but there is a restaurant right next door that was fine, and several in the centro ( 2 minutes walk ). We had stayed in Morelos in 2009, and we found that the prices of everything had increased about 20% since then. So the rooms at the Hacienda were a little more than we wanted to pay ( $120 USD for 4 ). But if you want the ocean and pool...The hotel and rooms were fine, hot water, clean, etc, but lacking some pretty basic stuff. No drinking water offered in the hallway or lobby, the TVs were old style ( I like to plug my tablet in to watch my own shows - which I was able to do at many cheaper hotels ) so no HDMI input. Wifi worked right in the lobby only, and one important fact about the pool - it has no shallow end, so don't expect to relax with your toddlers..the shallow end of the pool is 5 feet deep. I would stay here again, but just for a day or two to get the vacation started..then move around to cheaper places. I know I am cheap, but then again, I don't go to mexico to sleep and stay indoors!

Room Tip: Puerto Morelos is the perfect place to start exploring the Mayan Riviera. Make sure to visit Tulum...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seaknight7, Gerente at Hotel Hacienda Morelos, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Dear Guest,
We really appreciate your comments. Thank you for staying with us during your vacations. Now we have open the Restaurant as well as the Bar offering service to the hotel and pool. We have a delicious menu for breakfast, snacks, lunch and dinner and prices are great. We hope to see you around next trip to enjoy our New Restaurant named Coyote Apache.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    81
    57
    15
    20
See reviews for
38
104
15
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

This property had just been taken over by the new owners and they were working to update it. It was a great value for the dollar. In all fairness, the amenities were not up and running like the restaurant or bar; however I suspect that has changed by now. Lots of great places to eat very close by so it wasn't a big deal. We picked up beer and drinks at the local convenience store and used a cooler bag with ice to serve ourselves which was just fine. The rooms were very dated but super nice big size and very clean. I would stay here again, but if your expecting a 4 star American resort your in the wrong place. It had a very welcoming attitude with very good staff.

Room Tip: No services so no need for room service, as well no fitness centre... but that what the beach and oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaciendaMorelos, Social Media at Hotel Hacienda Morelos, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Thanks for reviewing our hotel and describing our facilities.

As you noticed we are committed to get better day by day to achieve our mail objective that is your full satisfaction.
We are glad that overall you had a great experience and received the best service.
We look forward to seeing you again to provide you with a flawless stay soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bountiful, Utah
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This was a basic hotel with TV, nicely tiled floors, a large shower, two double beds. It was in a great location and we could walk to almost everything.. .restaurants, shopping, bank, ATM, and best of all, it was right on the beach. It has boats docked right out the back door, and they don't tell you that on the web sight, but it is very close the reef park. The beds were comfortable enough. Because of these reasons, I would stay there again. But, with that said, there were annoying things that you wouldn't encounter in a three star hotel in the states. The toilet never flushed all the way, ( and a lot of Mexican toilets seem to have this problem.). The shower ran rust colored water for a few seconds before clean water came out. The air conditioner leaked, and no one seemed to care, because there was permanent water damage to the molding underneath it. There was no wifi in the rooms, you had to go to the lobby. They had told me via email that they had computers in the lobby for customer use, but when I got there, that wasn't the case. Maybe they didn't understand the email, I don't know. I paid $80 per night. I would do it again!

Room Tip: We had an end room on the first floor. Quiet enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

As many people have already pointed out, you don't stay here for resort luxury, or small hotel charm. You stay here because its close to downtown PM, and oh yeah, it's on the beach. But really, it has little else to recommend it. The restaurant was closed, the wifi worked only in the lobby, but the rooms are basic and clean. That's about it. It's best feature seems to be its low price, esp. when compared to the luxury resorts up and down the coast. But don't go expecting a hidden gem: it is functional, but nothing more.

Room Tip: No elevator, so bags must be taken up stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We had a rough start at this hotel. We were given a room on the 3rd floor that had no mattress pad, sheets too small for the bed, no screens on the window, a broken air conditioner control and toothpaste in the sink. Thankfully this was remedied by Leslie, who found us a new room. We had a lovely small balcony facing the water with a terrific view and a newer quiet air conditioner. We stayed 5 nights and would stay again. The hotel is pretty basic. No shampoo, no internet in the rooms, no dining facilities or even water dispensers, but for the price, we were satisfied. Our housekeeper, Dalia, was wonderful. It is a quiet hotel in a great location, close to everything. Nice beach in front, but no beach chairs.

Room Tip: Avoid room 353.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, ME
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Right on the beach, mostly clean, but no charm at all. Glad that we only stayed one night prior to flying home from Cancun. The pool looked nice and perhaps, had we taken advantage of it, we would be able to say something more positive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Hmmm, definitely a mixed review. It has some positives and negatives:

Positive--
Mostly clean. The main room is spacious and clean. The bathroom is the problem (see negatives).
Good location. Close walk to pier and restaurants.
Right on the beach and the pool and patio are nice.
The young man working at the front desk was nice and helpful.
The AC works and is not to noisy.

Negatives--
VERY pricey for what you get. You are paying to be on the beach, not for a nice room.
The bathroom needs a total overhaul. The shower wasn't bad, but the rest was falling apart. The tiles on the counter are cracked and falling apart. The grout between the tiles are full of mildew. The faucet is to small for the basin, so it is difficult to wash your hands and face. The faucet handles are so tight it is really difficult to turn on the cold faucet. The toilet has a thick layer of gross caulk around the base.
No foot wash outside, so hard to clean caked sand off of your feet before entering the room.
The Wifi only seems to work in the lobby, not near the pool.
The beds are doubles and rock hard (and I usually am okay with a firm mattress).
It is easy to hear all the other guests outside your room.
The position of our room was downstairs next to the former dining area, so we actually didn't have a great view.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Puerto Morelos hotels
0.2 mi away
Posada el Moro
Posada el Moro
#14 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.0 of 5 stars 216 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
Hotel Arrecifes Suites
#18 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.0 of 5 stars 38 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ojo De Agua
Hotel Ojo De Agua
#22 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
3.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Acamaya Reef
Acamaya Reef
#17 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
3.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
2.6 mi away
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
Ocean Coral & Turquesa
#8 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.0 of 5 stars 7,812 reviews
1.9 mi away
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
Grand Residences Riviera Cancun
#1 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
5.0 of 5 stars 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Hacienda Morelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda Morelos

Address: Av. Rafael Melgar; Mza.2 Lote 5, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hacienda Morelos 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find sun soaked tranquility. A secluded haven nestled on white sand beaches in an all year long summer. Expansive views to the Caribbean Sea and just a few yards from the second world largest coral reef barrier. A refuge for those travelers who knows where to experience an affordable and Idyllic Caribbean vacation. Come discover the essence of Hacienda Morelos, with relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate terrace emanating sensations that are timeless, unforgettable and passionately low-key. A peaceful hotel situated in the down town of this vibrant coastal village and less than a few steps walking from one of the most beautiful beaches in the Mexican Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Hacienda Morelos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Morelos Hotel Puerto Morelos
Hacienda Morelos Puerto
Hotel Hacienda Morelos Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hacienda Morelos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.