We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, but average hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hacienda Morelos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hacienda Morelos to your Saves list
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Rafael Melgar; Mza.2 Lote 5, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Bath, ME
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Nice location, but average hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Right on the beach, mostly clean, but no charm at all. Glad that we only stayed one night prior to flying home from Cancun. The pool looked nice and perhaps, had we taken advantage of it, we would be able to say something more positive.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    75
    52
    14
    15
See reviews for
31
95
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Hmmm, definitely a mixed review. It has some positives and negatives:

Positive--
Mostly clean. The main room is spacious and clean. The bathroom is the problem (see negatives).
Good location. Close walk to pier and restaurants.
Right on the beach and the pool and patio are nice.
The young man working at the front desk was nice and helpful.
The AC works and is not to noisy.

Negatives--
VERY pricey for what you get. You are paying to be on the beach, not for a nice room.
The bathroom needs a total overhaul. The shower wasn't bad, but the rest was falling apart. The tiles on the counter are cracked and falling apart. The grout between the tiles are full of mildew. The faucet is to small for the basin, so it is difficult to wash your hands and face. The faucet handles are so tight it is really difficult to turn on the cold faucet. The toilet has a thick layer of gross caulk around the base.
No foot wash outside, so hard to clean caked sand off of your feet before entering the room.
The Wifi only seems to work in the lobby, not near the pool.
The beds are doubles and rock hard (and I usually am okay with a firm mattress).
It is easy to hear all the other guests outside your room.
The position of our room was downstairs next to the former dining area, so we actually didn't have a great view.

Stayed March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul/ Minneapolis
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

I originally picked this hotel because I could see the ocean from the photos and there was a swimming pool for my daughter. The hotel was even better than I could have imagined. The room was very big and so beautifully decorated. We had a balcony that I could sit out on that looked directly over the beach. The swimming pool was nice but a little deep since there was no shallow end and the ladder was broken so it was hard to get out of a deep end pool was no ladder. However, you could walk right from the pool area to the beach and walk right into the water. There was no one else on that spot of the beach. The water was so warm. I want to go back just thinking about it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado USA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

So I booked this hotel based solely on a price that I got from a discount booking place. Got a good deal and the place was mostly ok. Good: room spotless, lovely view from balcony, great location near the main square, nice towels, good AC. Not so good (nothing was bad, just average): Indifferent reception from desk agent, no bar or restaurant or breakfast although there is clearly a large amount of unused space, not many chairs by the pool and nowhere else to just hang out, no refrigerator, no charm to this place at all. We left after the one night we booked and found a much better place (see other Puerto Morelos reviews).

Room Tip: Third floor has great ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maine
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

I've just returned from a two week vacation in Mexico; and always make sure to stay over in Puerto Morelos upon arriving in Cancun before departing for other locations. I'd never stayed at the Hacienda Morelos in the past but decided to to so this visit, and I was not disappointed. I believe that all of the rooms have a wonderful ocean view as well as a balcony deck (not private) which you can sit/stand on and admire the view. Our room was very large with two full size beds, the AC worked great, as well as the water in the shower. It is very very clean. The staff is very helpful as well, and although you do not get wireless reception in your room, it's readily available in the lobby and or close to it outside! I guess the only thing that I missed not having in the room was a purified water tank and a coffee maker.....but then, they're just available right around the corner! I will definitely be returning to Puerto Morelos next year and plan to stay at the Hacienda Morelos.

Room Tip: We had a room on the third floor, it was quiet up there and the view was also better....
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014 via mobile

Considering their modest prices, location right on the beach and only half-block away from the town Plaza this place is a 5-Star jewel. We were in Puerto Morelos last year and visited Hacienda Morelos to see their rooms, thus knew to use two-grains of salt when reading the reviews. No doubt the their rooms are basic and could benefit from refurbishment, but be careful what you wish for because if a major hotel chain bought them you can forget this fabulous option for a remarkable location at very modest prices. This week we had a family reunion in PM, whereby we we had four rooms on the ground floor right by the pool and it was great. Flawless, clean, plenty of hot shower water, etc. - Enjoy..

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

After 2 weeks of backpacking throughout Central America, this place was a nice relaxing hotel. It had a pool, access to the beach and located on the quiet end of the beach. The rooms were large, simply furnished, clean and the shower had hot water. We had a balcony looking out over the water which was very nice. The a/c worked well.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hacienda Morelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda Morelos

Address: Av. Rafael Melgar; Mza.2 Lote 5, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hacienda Morelos 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find sun soaked tranquility. A secluded haven nestled on white sand beaches in an all year long summer. Expansive views to the Caribbean Sea and just a few yards from the second world largest coral reef barrier. A refuge for those travelers who knows where to experience an affordable and Idyllic Caribbean vacation. Come discover the essence of Hacienda Morelos, with relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate terrace emanating sensations that are timeless, unforgettable and passionately low-key. A peaceful hotel situated in the down town of this vibrant coastal village and less than a few steps walking from one of the most beautiful beaches in the Mexican Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Hacienda Morelos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Morelos Hotel Puerto Morelos
Hacienda Morelos Puerto
Hotel Hacienda Morelos Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hacienda Morelos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.