We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Bargain” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Hacienda Morelos

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Hacienda Morelos to your Saves list
Hotel Hacienda Morelos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Rafael Melgar; Mza.2 Lote 5, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 26 Hotels in Puerto Morelos
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A Bargain”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

If you are looking for a cheap (yes it's not expensive) hotel to spend a few nights in this is a great deal. Bed was comfy, room is austere without much for furnishings, but very clean! Front desk staff were reserved but very friendly when I talked with them and very helpful. Wifi was free and worked fine, pool small, view lovely, and close walking to everything... we were a little intimidated by the area arriving after dark etc, but very safe, and all in all an excellent choice for affordable sleeping ... shower worked fine, no frills but would return again with no hesitation... special thanks to the front desk staff... both ladies were very nice to us! Even when we got locked out of room they were nice and helped us out without making us feel too silly LOL :)

Room Tip: we stayed on the ground floor so we didn't have to haul our luggage up stairs... three stories...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    75
    52
    14
    15
See reviews for
31
95
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

I will try not to reiterate the other reviews but will give some updates (at least for our room 204). The pillows are nice and fluffy, Wi-Fi strong in the room and out at the pool, pool clean and in perfect repair, jug of clean water in the room, and supposedly the restaurant is scheduled to open next month. We are super happy with this hotel as we let out an "ahhhh" every time we walk into our room and see the view. Our room is not modern at all other than the flat screen TV which we don't use, but it is clean and large and the location can't be beat.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Place is on the beach, I'd say 100 feet from the ocean. We opened the door leading to our balcony and never closed it when in the room. It was surreal, waves gently crashing onto the white beach below was the most amazing background noise you can imagine, and the view was even better than that. It is also about 150 steps to the downtown scene. You can watch a handful of fisherman dudes set up for the day if up early enough.
Has a clean nice pool, cable TV, Only Fox News is in English, interesting right ?.The Wifi was average but seemed to work best near the back of the hotel on the ocean side. We had room 353 and it was fine. I don't care about fancy in a hotel room.
Basics: The bedding was good enough and clean, sheets were good plus. Bring a pillow though. They need new pillows. If you modify the window track you can open the window and have even more of an open air view.
Bathroom: Good water pressure, super hot shower and wide open floor plan fully tiled. Towels fully worn.
Ammenities / Staff: Restaurant and bar on property were closed, whatever walk up the street for 2 minutes.. You are basically in a third world country version of Hoboken, N.J. Very simple minimalist type hotel and this hotel can get away with some issues and get my peso / dollar anytime. Front desk was simple, housekeeping was accurate and thorough. Recommend 100 percent, This is not at all a resort, but wonderfully functional. LOCATION / VIEW/ VALUE / SERVICE makes it a 5.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

I'm giving this hotel a 4-star considering it's in a very, very small town. But we loved this place. We stayed one night (Nov 7, 2013) before checking into the Paradisius in Cancun for a week. We had no complaints what so ever. We had room 106 which was very large. The room included a 3rd bed which was twin size. The A/C worked and was quiet, there was a flat screen TV (not many English stations, but so what), the unit was very clean, a table & chairs were right outside our door by the pool overlooking the ocean which one could snorkle in. There is a dive shop right next door, but didn't bother us as we were so excited we were up quite early. No issues with the toilet. Hot water and high pressure in the shower. The restaurant has been closed down for a couple of years, but lots of places to around the hotel that you could walk to. The sheets were clean but a couple of them needed to be retired, as did a couple of the bath towels. The beach towels, though, were in great shape. The water is potable for things like brushing your teeth and taking medication. The girl as the front desk, Andrea, was very helpful and friendly. She spoke English very well. We really liked this place. We will definately stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Park, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We really enjoyed the low key aspects of this hotel. Nothing fancy, very basic, but what more do you need for a beach vacation. We spent our days hanging out on the beach reading books, snorkeling and enjoying the view. Close to town and some great restaurants. The fresh water in the rooms was a big bonus!

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground level. You can walk out your back door and fall into the pool and a few more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed here the night before our flight out of cancun. Room rates were as expected. Room was older but clean. Pool looked to be being repaired for the coming high season. Right on the beach with a view of the dock area. Others said their wifi didn't work in the room. I did not have that problem and was able to connect my ipad and iphone. Beach right in front had some fairly decent snorkeling. Just down the beach is a school and we loved seeing the kiddos play on the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed here the night before our flight left Cancun and chose it because it was good value and ideally located for our purposes (on the beach and close enough to the airport w/out being in Cancun itself).
It's located just a minutes walk south of the main square so ideally located near the shops, restaurants etc nearby.
The room we had was 252 on the 1st floor (2nd in American) and was quite overall quite good. Plenty big enough and very clean. No fridge but has a flat screen TV, safe, sizeable closet and a good, quiet A/C. Also have your own water dispenser in room which is a nice touch.
Towels sparkling white but one was very frayed and past it's sell by date. Bathroom nicely tiled and clean too. Let down by minor issues though which could easily be fixed. Door handles wonky, curtain rail wonky (one support was broken and hadn't been fixed), TV screen needed a clean, no undersheet on mattress' and the shower was a bit of a pain to get the temperature right. You have your own balcony (small but useable and overlooks the beach) but they've obviously recently put new lights out and they are harshly bright and you can't turn them off so they shine into the room all night long. It's not the end of the world but I'd prefer to be on the south side of the hotel where the lights are much more muted and less intrusive.
Parking is onsite and very convenient.
Oh, and the Wi-Fi is only usable in the lobby, not the rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side (to the left as you view the hotel from the street) have very harsh lights o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Hacienda Morelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Hacienda Morelos

Address: Av. Rafael Melgar; Mza.2 Lote 5, Puerto Morelos 77580, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Hacienda Morelos 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find sun soaked tranquility. A secluded haven nestled on white sand beaches in an all year long summer. Expansive views to the Caribbean Sea and just a few yards from the second world largest coral reef barrier. A refuge for those travelers who knows where to experience an affordable and Idyllic Caribbean vacation. Come discover the essence of Hacienda Morelos, with relaxed tropical interiors and an intimate terrace emanating sensations that are timeless, unforgettable and passionately low-key. A peaceful hotel situated in the down town of this vibrant coastal village and less than a few steps walking from one of the most beautiful beaches in the Mexican Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Hacienda Morelos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Morelos Hotel Puerto Morelos
Hacienda Morelos Puerto
Hotel Hacienda Morelos Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Hacienda Morelos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.