We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, poor hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hacienda Morelos

Save Saved
You added Hacienda Morelos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hacienda Morelos
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Av. Rafael Melgar; Mza.2 Lote 5, Puerto Morelos, Mexico   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 23 hotels in Puerto Morelos
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great location, poor hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The hotel is right on the beach and I think all rooms overlook the ocean.
Sadly, everything else is not great. The safe in my room didn't work, neither did the Internet. The beds were spectacularly uncomfortable and the sheets smelled of mildew. The guy at reception, whilst being really sweet, didn't speak any English. I got woken up at 7:30am by the noise on the building site next door.
This place could be really awesome with a little bit of TLC but as it is at the moment I wouldn't come back. At that price, no one expects luxury but most other places I have stayed at on a similar budget were better than this one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    44
    40
    4
    4
See reviews for
18
59
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This winter will be our forth year styling in Puerto Morelos. We like staying here. Numerous reasons. Lesley and staff are friendly/efficient. She speaks English so not really any language barrier. Booking is easy. Rooms are very clean. Pool and area is clean. Love the quiet and not a ton of people. We always stay in room 106 right beside the dive shop. The towels are big and staff doesn't keep extras in the room but is there is you need one. TVs are flat screened. Our room (106) has a working safe and great air conditioner. WiFi in lobby and on deck
The place does need some upkeep but its fine if you don't care about fancy. Puerto has some great restaurants and ok shopping. We stay here before and after our trip to Playa so it's a few days either way, which is relaxing. Playa is a busy place.
I really like main floor rooms. The table and chairs outside are shaded and right next to pool which is never noisy. Great for our 12 year old. There is no shallow end for toddlers though. A few steps and you are on the beach. So even if you stay main floor you have a beautiful view. The restaurant next door is convenient , has friendly staff and great food. They even have a take out window adjacent to Hacienda.
What I would like to see at Hacienda- New Mattresses on the beds. A small fridge in each room.
Five Stars to Lesley and staff!!!

Room Tip: I always specify when I book which room I want. Rooms are large and all face the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eureka, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This lovely little hotel was a shining beacon after spending over 3 weeks at Uncle Hugo's. (review on that) I walked in on a Friday morning tired and hot and talked to Leslie at the front desk. I was checked in efficiently and quickly. The double queen room was very clean, NO BUGS (other review!) and I had everything I needed. When I was done on the beach for the day I would shower and hang at the pool and watch the fishermen come in. I'd sit on the deck and read as the sun set. There was wi-fi in the lobby and sometimes off the (closed) restaurant patio. Justina and Leslie made my final 5 nights in Puerto Morelos delightful and I would return in a heartbeat. Gracias amigas!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traverse City, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

First time to Puerto Morelos so we just wanted a reasonable place to stay, All we were looking for was a basic hotel that was in town, on the beach and clean. We felt like we got what we asked for. The location is so close to the town square and many restaurants. The room was larger than we expected and very clean. Other than that it was just a basic room. Two beds and flat screan TV. The balcony is only about 3 feet wide, but the view of the ocean and boats is amazing. The bar restaurant downstairs was not open and no elevators.

If you are expecting a four star place this is not it. But if you just want a clean place to put your head down and night it is okay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We enjoyed our four nights at Hacienda Morelos so much that we are returning for another four nights after a short trip to Valladolid. We found our spacious, sparkling clean room attractive (we don't need frills) and very livable with a wonderful view of ocean and the always-fascinating fishing boats. We prefer the swimming in front of the hotel to the long beach on the north side of town, both for the wonderfully clear water and for the privacy--few people around and no vendors. For us, the closed restaurant was a plus for two reasons: (1) no noise) and (2) the outside shaded, breezy area makes a great hang-out space between swims. We liked the location, just a block off the main square, and the very pleasant staff/management. Finally, either by booking through a discount service or by staying for a few days and paying cash, you can pay about US$50 for a room with two double beds, on the second floor with balcony. That's a great price for a beach room in the Yucatan.

Room Tip: The bottom floor rooms have nice tables and chairs outside, with a good overhang for shade, but they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We spent three nights in this hotel in Puerto Morelos and although we loved the town and the hotel location was excellent, the hotel was a little disappointing. The staff were helpful and friendly but our room had almost no furniture other than the two beds and a dresser with a tiny drawer so we had nowhere to put our stuff which ended up being piled on the spare bed. The bathroom and the screens on the windows were not in great condition although the room itself was clean. Despite advertising a terrace and a safe in every room, our room had neither although we were told this was the only room without them but we couldn't be moved as the hotel was full. We were abe to use the safe at reception but it was a hassle we hadn't expected and we really missed having a terrace. The hotel has a large restaurant/bar area but we were told it wouldn't be open which was surprising in high season. The restaurant next door was pretty good and there were loads of good places to eat in town so not a big problem. The good things about this hotel are the location right on the beach and close to the central square, the beautiful views and the pool/terrace area. However the loungers by the pool where in terrible condition and quite uncomfortable and if you have kids with you, be aware that the pool has no shallow end. I'm 5'4' and couldn't touch the bottom.

Room Tip: Ask to see your room before accepting it and check it has everything you were promised. Ours had no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Neglect is the overall impression. The outside is poorly maintained, needs lots of TLC. It's also on the wrong side of town. Close to the square and restaurants, but you have to walk quite a bit to get to the nicer beach.
The room itself was large and spotless, with a great ocean view, and hardly any furniture, no shelves or bureau to put our clothing, only a cupboard with a few hangers and a broken safety box, so we had to leave our clothes in our suitcases. Pool area is clean but depressing.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hacienda Morelos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Morelos

Address: Av. Rafael Melgar; Mza.2 Lote 5, Puerto Morelos, Mexico
Location: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Puerto Morelos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Puerto Morelos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hacienda Morelos 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hacienda Morelos is a charming hotel in front of the beach with inviting rooms in a colonial environment, each of them with a splendid view to the Mexican Caribbean sea and just a few yards from the second world largest coral reef barrier. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hacienda Morelos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hacienda Morelos Hotel Puerto Morelos
Hacienda Morelos Puerto
Hacienda Morelos Riviera Maya, Mexico - Puerto Morelos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hacienda Morelos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.