We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fish and chips at their best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wetherby Whaler

Wetherby Whaler
Bradford Road | Gusieley, Guiseley, Leeds, England (Formerly Harry Ramsden's)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 restaurants in Guiseley
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Montpellier, France
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fish and chips at their best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

It had been a long time since we had eaten such good fish and chips !! Fresh white fish, crispy batter, enormous portions, we loved it and so did the children. Excellent value, service was very good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    119
    71
    22
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chester, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fab!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We visited on Sunday, we had to wait approx ten minutes for a table, as they were very busy. Staff friendly ,prompt service and in my opinion great value for money,our meal came with tea/coffee and bread and butter included in the price. We will definitely be visiting again when we are in the area x thanks

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Visited for Sunday lunch, restaurant clean and bright and staff friendly, unfortunately the fish, although coated in a crispy batter was tasteless. The chips were freshly cooked but they were pale and insipid looking.
Not the best fish and chips in the area, just average

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish and chips!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were enroute from the M62 to Skipton and through an accidental wrong turn, ended up driving passed this restaurant at lunch time. With 2 hungry kids in the car, and a 4 hour journey behind us we decided to stop and eat in.

It was Friday lunchtime and the restaurant was quite full although it seemed to be mainly older people. The staff were friendly, the service was good. The tea and drinks were promptly brought to the table. The food was fresh, the batter and chips were crispy. The restaurant was very clean as were the toilets.

The children were given a toy which, to be fair, was a bit cheap and nasty but we didn't expect anything so it was a surprise to receive it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Horrible - overpriced rubbish”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We called at 6pm on a Friday afternoon - never again
The fish were tiny, the chips hardly cooked
This cost over £11
In future we will go to Morrison's Café as 2 x Fish and chips and 2 teas only came to £8 and was far better than this overpriced rubbish - well done Morrison's

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wetherby Whaler also viewed

 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Wetherby Whaler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wetherby Whaler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.