We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wetherby Whaler

Wetherby Whaler
Bradford Road | Gusieley, Guiseley, Leeds, England (Formerly Harry Ramsden's)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Guiseley
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Visited for Sunday lunch, restaurant clean and bright and staff friendly, unfortunately the fish, although coated in a crispy batter was tasteless. The chips were freshly cooked but they were pale and insipid looking.
Not the best fish and chips in the area, just average

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    92
    27
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish and chips!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were enroute from the M62 to Skipton and through an accidental wrong turn, ended up driving passed this restaurant at lunch time. With 2 hungry kids in the car, and a 4 hour journey behind us we decided to stop and eat in.

It was Friday lunchtime and the restaurant was quite full although it seemed to be mainly older people. The staff were friendly, the service was good. The tea and drinks were promptly brought to the table. The food was fresh, the batter and chips were crispy. The restaurant was very clean as were the toilets.

The children were given a toy which, to be fair, was a bit cheap and nasty but we didn't expect anything so it was a surprise to receive it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Horrible - overpriced rubbish”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We called at 6pm on a Friday afternoon - never again
The fish were tiny, the chips hardly cooked
This cost over £11
In future we will go to Morrison's Café as 2 x Fish and chips and 2 teas only came to £8 and was far better than this overpriced rubbish - well done Morrison's

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Toilets”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We are very regular visitors to Guiseley both in the restaurant and the takeaway, we are always delighted with the quality of the fish and chips. However I must point out that the toilet in the takeaway is not a pleasant experience we have noticed that over the last six weeks the toilet bowl is stained and on one particular week there was no soap and it was obvious that the toilet had not been properly cleaned in many a day, Please do not let your standards slip. We will be coming again next week and I will again report on the state of the toilets

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BigWhaler, Owner at Wetherby Whaler, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Dear Don
Think you for your excellent review. I have read your comments concerning the cleanliness of the toilet for our takeaway customers. We have investigated the matter and our set times and procedures have now been amended. I do hope that you will now see an improvement. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Kind regards
Caroline Murphy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

This is our local fish and chips and is always good but we went to the restaurant when my parents came over and the staff seem consistently poor, hard to get attention to order drinks and just slap the food on the table.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wetherby Whaler also viewed

 
Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Guiseley, Leeds
 

Been to Wetherby Whaler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wetherby Whaler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.