We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
View from Lounge
View from Lounge
View from Lounge
Lounge
Double Bedroom
Twin Bedroom
Dining Area
Broughton
|
Condo/Apartment – 
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sjl04
Cambridge, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent, well-equipped apartment close to city centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 for a stay in March 2013

We stayed at the apartment for a week in March 2013 and were very impressed. The contact with Terry and Ann (the owners) beforehand always received a prompt response. The apartment itself is located quite close to the city centre, but on a quiet road. Off-street parking was also provided, which was a real bonus. The apartment itself was modern and very well-equipped, with two bathrooms. It was perfect for a family with small children as it's all on one floor (hence no risk of the little one falling downstairs).

We'd definitely stay again if we're back in Edinburgh.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: perfect for a family with young children
Liked least: slightly too far out from the city centre to walk (if you've got young children)
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 3, 2013
Thanks a lot for your review. Look forward to your return in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Amie R
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent apartment, perfect location & friendly owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at this apartment over the New Year break and we were very impressed with the standards and its appliances of the apartment. We were welcomed by tea/coffee and fruit which was very nice. The apartment is located 10 minute walk from Princes Street and has local shops and bars near by. If we went back to Edinburgh we would stay here again!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Bedding and towels were lovely
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review our apartment and for your kind comments. Edinburgh is the place to be over Christmas and New Year and from our experience if we're down over New Year it's great to escape to for a rest!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
C M
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
“Comfortable and relaxing in an excellent location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

Flat was warm and comfortable with everything you could need provided.
Great location with parking if required. Easy access to the city either on foot or by bus.
Two convenient supermarkets on the doorstep which was a bonus for daily needs.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location and cleanliness.
Liked least: Creaky floors.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 14, 2012
Thanks for your review. Glad you had a good time and enjoyed your stay. It is handy having everything on the doorstep and saves so much time! Look forward to your return sometime in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Lynne C
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Perfect apartment in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

My husband, daughter and I stayed for one week in this lovely 2 bed apartment. The location was perfect and only 10 mins walk to the city, or buses close by. Within a few mins walk there were food shops, great restaurants and pubs. The apartment was modern, clean and had everything you would need. Highly recommend - I would definitely stay there again.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: modern, clean, with all mod cons and free wi fi
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2012
Pleased to hear you had a good week and enjoyed staying in our apartment. Come back and see us on your next trip!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Macgyver3...
West Chester, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Perfect apartment for our visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We've never rented an apartment like this so I was a little hesitant at first. But this apartment was perfect. We had two couples in our group and this made the perfect home base for visiting Scotland. The apartment was clean, modern, well appointed, in a great location for Edinburgh and comfortable for our stay. I would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay there.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Great location.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 23, 2012
Staying in an apartment rather than a hotel gives you so much more freedom. It's good to come back, get your feet up and relax. So glad you enjoyed the experience and hope you come back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
bacardi-1...
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
“excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

lovely apartment, very convenient, everything was first class, stylish decor and extremely comfortable. lots of nice little touches such as welcome pack, fresh flowers on table in the lounge and plenty of information regarding Edinburgh and surrounding areas

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 16, 2012
Thanks for your really nice comments and glad you liked our apartment. Hopefully you'll come back for another break in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Jacquie S
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect apartment for a holiday / stay in Edinburgh city centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012 for a stay in August 2012

The apartment was perfectly clean, comfortable and well presented, beds and couches were comfortable. It was well equipped with everything required and we found it spacious enough for our family of four with 2 teenagers. It was a pleasure to return to the apartment each evening after a busy day at the fringe, to open the windows and relax while catching up with the olympics on TV! We rent a lot of self catering properties and I find myself becoming increasingly fussy about where I stay - I could not fault this apartment and will definitely consider staying there again in the future.
Plus points worth noting are that both the bathroom and ensuite have good electric showers (one over bath) - I don't think this is mentioned in the description. Also wireless internet is provided.
The only negative points (and they are certainly not major) were that the wooden floors are very creaky, but this only caused a problem if someone wanted to get up early without disturbing everyone else. Also when we were there the apartment block next door was being renovated so there was a lot of construction noise from early in the morning and by the end of the week our car was covered in masonry dust, but again the noise didn't overly bother us. Having car parking is a bonus and there was never a problem parking although we only used our car for one day during the week. It was a pleasant and short walk to Princes Street then on to the Old Town for the fringe venues. There is a good range of restaurants between the apartment and Princes Street; we enjoyed Cafe Marlayne and Mama Roma and wished we had time to sample the Asain restaurants. The Mussel Inn on Rose Street was our favourite meal of the week, food and service both excellent. If you want chain restaurants then there is a good selection just up the road at the Omni complex. We saw countless fringe gigs and had a very enjoyable week - I would highly recommend a family holiday in Edinburgh during the fringe if you have teenagers. One thing I wish I had asked for in retrospect was an extra set of keys for the apartment so that we could all come and go as we pleased.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Cleanliness, comfort, good location.
Liked least: Noise and dust from the builders next door.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 24, 2012
Thank you so much for great review with a lot of really useful information for future guests. As you know there is a journal in the apartment where guests have recorded all kinds of tips and ideas. It's a nice peaceful haven after a day out! Glad you liked the showers and the internet is really useful and fast!
We plan to get someone in to look at the floor to see what they can do about it! That's a pity about the mess on your car. Thank goodness the work next door is nearly at an end! and at least when you're out all day it doesn't affect guests too much.
Look forward to your next visit!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$141
/
Night
Week
Make Inquiry
Owner
Terry H
Speaks English
Listed since : Apr 2011
Response Rate: 90 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 1 day ago
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing