We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“breathtaking views, brilliant homecooked food, very friendly staff, a great stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Port Light Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bolberry
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Port Light Hotel
Save
You added Port Light Hotel to your Saves list
Bolberry Down | near Marlborough, Bolberry, Salcombe TQ7 3DY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Bolberry B&B and Inns
suffolk
1 review
“breathtaking views, brilliant homecooked food, very friendly staff, a great stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

I stayed at 'The Port Light Hotel' in early December as a suprise walking holiday for my husband. I chose the Hotel after searching for days, looking for a hotel that would give us stunning views and many a days walking, I was not dissapointed!
We arrived at the hotel to be welcomed by an outstanding sunset right over the bay, towards Cornwall. To our delight when we reached our room we discovered we could even see the sun set (or rise!) whilst lying in bed!
Our room was large and very clean - so much that my husband didnt realise it was a pet friendly hotel untill he read the brouchure in our room, needless to say he was very pleased with my choice! After a relaxing bath in one of the largest hotel bathrooms I have ever experienced on my many walking holidays in Devon, we set out for dinner in the Hotel's Restaurant and Bar.
Although I knew in that the Hotel was 'pet friendly' I was still suprised to find no hint of dog in the Restaurant/Bar area other than the well behaved few I saw at their owners feet. I was also pleased, as I am not a dog owner, to find that there was an 'exclusive non doggy area'. Which was spacious with a very relaxed atmousphere.
When it came to ordering our food every night it was a complete challenge to only choose one of the delicious meals! I had a completely different, gorgeous meal ever night of the week, beginning with 'Famous Steak and Guinnes Pie' on my first night to 'Bigbury Bay Plaice' on my last.Not fogetting the luxury desserts! All I can say to make myself feel less guilty is that im glad the hotel is so close to the coastal path for relaxing(although at times, challenging!) walks during the day.
After our evening meal it was lovely to be able to retire to the comfy sofa's, right infront of a toasty log burner to enjoy our coffee!

This hotel certainly lives up to its description of being a 'Walkers Paradise', I will be visiting again in the near future, hopefully for a spring walking break to burn off the christmas excess!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    26
    7
    8
    4
See reviews for
27
74
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
warwick
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2010

We stayed at Port Light over Christmas with our pet "Bob". We have had an amazing time with excellent food, with no suplements on the menu which really irritate us.The service was very freindly and hospitality warming. We were concerned about standards as we have been dissapointed with so called "Dog freindly" hotels but very very pleased with the cleanliness and how well "Bob" was made to feel at home and was not charged for his stay unlike many other hotels we have visited. The guests staying without pets were also very impressed with how Hazel & Sean kept everywhere so clean and gave pets lovers and non pet lovers their own areas to dine in. Our bedroom had a panoramic view towards Burgh island which was the most spectacular we have seen.The walks which were right on the door step as the hotel Borders onto Bolberry Down National Trust land were breathtaking. It is clear that the owners have been perfecting this hotel since 1991 as most of the guests seem to be repeat trade or recommendation. We have already booked for Easter and Christmas next year !

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

We didn't realise this place actively welcomes dogs, so were a bit overwhelmed with so many in the bar, but it didn't smell doggie, they were well behaved and the dog owners were lovely. We chose the Port Light as it is better value than those in Salcombe itself and has superb views. The bathroom was brand new, the room itself was a little dated, but clean and comfortable. The staff are very helpful, and both dinner and breakfast could not be faulted, especially their "famous" guinness/ale pudding. Yum yum. If you have a dog, you MUST visit this place. :) Plenty of parking, and a childrens activity playground outside, oh and watch the sun set over the sea, via a short 3 min walk to the cliff edge. Beautiful.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

Almost a dog required hotel. Comfortable rooms, great food (world class quality), friendly staff. Your dogs stay with you in your room, sit with you in the dining room, come with you on long beautiful coastal walks. A real break for you and your four-legged buddies. Very isolated but within a few minutes drive of Salcombe and Hope Cove

Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northamptonshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2009

Beautifully situated on the top of Bigbury Down with breathtaking views down the coast into Cornwall & loads of space to walk the dog. Mind you it is certainly invigorating when the wind gets up, but that's a price worth paying for all that space.
Good rooms & restaurant, but the veg could be improved. Supr staff, very friendly, just the job & will be back.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south east UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2009

The Port Light Hotel is the best small hotel we have ever visited, we have enjoyed the wonderful facilities annually for more than 20 years and will continue to do so.
Great food and excellent menus, fabulous views and local walks. Sean and Hazel and the team are always friendly and very welcoming, (even after all these years of visits from us!)

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2009

Wonderful location just off coast path between Salocombe and Hope Cove. Cliff top and fields accessible direct from hotel grounds - great for walking especially if you have a dog. Hotel is small and staff very friendly and helpful. Excellent food courtesy of Dave and his team - great wine list. Great place to stay if you have dogs which can join you in the conservatory for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Fridge available especially for dog food and hose outside for dog washing. One ground floor room ideal for the disabled.
Proprietors Sean and Hazal Hassell are always on hand to make sure that your stay is relaxing and enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Port Light Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Port Light Hotel

Address: Bolberry Down | near Marlborough, Bolberry, Salcombe TQ7 3DY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Devon > Salcombe > Bolberry
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bolberry
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Port Light Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.