We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely building, cracking location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of YHA Boswinger

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added YHA Boswinger to your Saves list
YHA Boswinger
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   Boswinger, Gorran, St Austell, Cornwall, PL26 6LL, Gorran, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Swindon, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lovely building, cracking location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The old building is lovely however fitting modern facilities into old cottages is expensive work additional upgrading would benefit hostellers. Welcoming staff and a cosy twin room was excellent for us. Good self catering facilities and communal room. If you want 5* accommodation don't book a hostel. If you want excellent value, a warm welcome excellent facilities, within the budget, then hostel's such as Boswinger are brilliant!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    15
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
8
5
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
cornwall
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This is a lovely place,The youth hostel was good and the staff very friendly.Unfortunately room 4 is a little distant from the toilets.I thought the food was a little bit pricy and very little choice as it was the end of the season.Do not miss Gorran Haven,it is a wonderful village.Porthpean and Charlestown are also worth a visit

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

I VISITED WITH MY DAUGHTER MID SEPTEMBER so it was quietly busy enough - the hostel staff were pleasant and friendly and the hostel clean and cosy with everything you needed to self cater or dine in and the lovely beach is a brisk 10min walk down a steep hill (15 min back up) - would not recommend driving down narrow lane!
the lost gardens of heligan are close enough to cycle to and are a definite must see as is the eden project which is also not far away
and nearby gorran haven with shop post office etc is a typically pretty cornish harbour village
our twin room was spacious and well ventilated upstairs and the showers loos etc were well separated from the rooms so no overnight disturbance
a lovely hostel to stay in and a real get away from it all location
- footnote
we enjoyed our meal when we dined in on our arrival night - but i do think that hostel meals are generally slightly overpiced

Room Tip: south facing upstairs - oh and travel out of season!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Noisy, airless, damp, mouldy, dirty room.
Rest of hostel ok, staff pleasant.
Room 2 also shares the most over-used unisex shower/toilet. Had to trek upstairs for clean, private facilities as ours was grubby within minutes of having been well cleaned by staff.
The hill to the beach is massively steep.
Rural lanes (access) pretty scary in places - prepare to reverse along lanes several times before getting anywhere.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

My friend and I stayed one night at the Boswinger Youth Hostel in April 2012. We had a hired car and really enjoyed finding our way to the hostel. It was quite an adventure and well worth it. We had a lovely room overlooking the coast. It was exactly what we expected. The staff we friendly and welcoming, and food was available if required. We had a lovely breakfast the next morning and would have liked to have spent more time there. Would definately recommend this hostel if that is what you are after.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

YHA Boswinger is in very-rural Cornwall, and well worth the map-reading effort to get to it. Its situation is fantastic - about a 10-minute walk down a steep hill is a series of absolutely beautiful beaches/bays, and it's really close to the Lost Gardens of Heligan. We also visited the Eden Project again when we visited, and it didn't feel like an onerous journey. A mile's walk away through very quiet rural lanes is the Barleysheaf at Gorran Churchtown, and so for those who don't want to self-cater or have the hostel dinner, an extremely pleasant local pub/bistro is at hand.
The hostel is extremely clean, and very-well equipped. It is built around a small courtyard, so lovely to eat/drink out and relax in warm weather. It also has a comfortable lounge/dining area, and a thoughtfully-equipped self-catering kitchen (a really nice touch to supply cooking oil, cruet etc for those who haven't come fully-supplied!)
The manager, Victoria, is extremely helpful, a mine of local information and obviously really keen to make the hostel a success - it deserves to be.
I do have 2 gripes though, one with the way YHA is being run in Britain generally and one to do with Boswinger itself. While I really appreciate YHA's ability nowadays to provide bedrooms for couples etc, the daily room/breakfast rates aren't that far away from just booking into a local B & B. It's sometimes a bit of a struggle to see that YHA hostels generally provide the value-for-money they used to provide. To balance that, I do acknowlege the flexibility that hostels provide over B&B's, because of the self-catering aspects.
The second gripe is also to do with value for money.... at Boswinger itself. The price of the meat and vegetarian breakfasts is the same. However, the vegetarian breakfast is just the meat breakfast, but without the bacon and the sausage. So, you feel a bit cheated when you have the veggie breakfast. It either needs things added into the veggie breakfast, or for its price to be lowered.
Other than that, well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Very much geared towards walkers - and if you've not got a car or you're not a serious walker then it would be very diffficult to get to. But, once you're there it's handy for the Lost Gardens of Heligan and not too far from the Eden Project. Clean rooms, excellent and very well equipped kitchen which was kept aspotlessly clean and had plenty of storage, parking, sufficient bathrooms. Does what you expect from a YHA.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boswingermanager, Manager at YHA Boswinger, responded to this review, November 19, 2011
Many thanks for your kind comments about the hostel. We put a lot of effort into keeping the hostel at a very high standard and it is lovely when this is noticed. The hostel is indeed 1 mile from the nearest bus stop, but it is is an easy walk along a flat and quiet country lane, and buses are every 2 hours from St Austell. Regards, Victoria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to YHA Boswinger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Boswinger

Address: Boswinger, Gorran, St Austell, Cornwall, PL26 6LL, Gorran, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Gorran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in Gorran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Boswinger 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering private rooms (2-bed, 4-bed, 5-bed or 6-bed) and single-sex shared dormitories, YHA Boswinger is part of the YHA England and Wales hostelling chain.Take advantage of our great self-catering kitchen, communal lounge-dining areas and the lovely courtyard and lawn, complete with tables, picnic benches and barbeque area. Located in the small hamlet of Boswinger, we are 15 miles from Eden Project, 5 miles from Lost Garden of Heligan, 3 miles from the picturesque fishing village of Mevagissey and 10 minutes walk from a sandy family-friendly beach. The South-West coastpath is on our doorstep and there are many short and long walks from the hostel - buy a walk guide at Reception or hire an OS map.Arriving on public transport? Just take the 526 Western Greyhound bus from outside St Austell train station (every 2 hours, timetable on Western Greyhound); get off at Gorran Churchtown then it's an easy 1 mile walk to the hostel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your YHA Boswinger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage YHA Boswinger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.