We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Recomended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Casa Cimeira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Casa Cimeira to your Saves list
Casa Cimeira
Rua do Cimo do Povo, Valenca Do Douro, Tabuaco 5120-503, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Tel-Aviv
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Very Recomended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We have spent two fantastic nights in the room in old building. When I said "old" it is just a means to distinguish from newer building because the room was fantastic, decorated, clean and well maintained. The owners, a couple, made everything they could to make our stay pleasant and even if they don't speak English and we don't understand anything in Portuguese, with some Spanish and common sense we have managed. During our stay we booked dinners. It is 3 course meal. First day we were served cod fish and it was an ok, but second day the lamb was just delicious. So I would recommend it (15Euro/person). Breakfast was simply great. In addition during the dinner you have the opportunity to meet people from all of the word.
Note – when you enter the village and clime to the top, follow the signs of the place. Streets leading to the casa from wrong direction are very narrow and difficult to pass.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    11
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
61
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
indonesia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

We love this casa. Stayed here for 3 nights, first 2 night, we were in villa near the casa, but it is very quite and beautiful then we moved to the cute room with great stone black wall that make it cool inside the room.. :) Each room has different style, but our room is the cutest one..

We eat dinner togethereverynight with otherguest and it was really great food!! It is very big portion and very delicious.. And the wine, is amazing great!! During the day, we walk into the winery and near by the casa. Soo beautiful place.. They have swimming pool with amazing view but the water is soo cold, i just put my finger there.. ;)

Anyway, i think it is the best place casa in portugal in our trip there..

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Casa Cimera is worth the drive up the long and windy road into the hilltops. The views from the village (Valenca do Douro) are spectacular and the hosts are incredibly friendly.
We were greeted by warm welcomes and locally made glass of port. The rooms are part of a charming old but well kept property, and were comfortable and roomy. The hosts were the best part of the stay, making us feel very welcome, and offering a great value home cooked dinner including desert and wine for 15 Euros per person.

Room Tip: Room with view of the valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

so nennt sich das in Frankreich und würde dafür 4 Ähren bekommen. In Italien wäre es Agritourismo und bekäme 3 Ähren. Für den der weder portugisisch spricht noch Verständigung auf französich, spanisch oder italienisch plus mit Händen und Füssen versuchen möchte; der ne Disco sucht und weder das kühle Schwimmbecken, die warmherzige Aufnahme der Gastgeber noch das Einnehmen von Mahlzeiten am gleichen Tisch mit anderen Gästen schätzt, ist dieser Ort nicht der richtige und er sollte Platz machen für andere denn die Zahl der Zimmer ist auf 6 begrenzt.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

When we arrived after a long, narrow winding road, the lady of the house greeted us and hustled us into the living room and offered us a large glass of home made port. (This also happenned when we returned from site seeing the next day). She couldnt speak a word of English (neither did her husband) but made herself understood well enough. Our room was in a stone building overlooking the garden. It was old fashioned, but was large and comfortable with its own bathroom. They offer to cook dinner for all of the guests in the house and it was authentic Portuguese home cooking - and plenty of it. (Huge dinner and unlimited home made wine). We got to share dinner with fellow travellers from all around the world. We really felt like guests in their house rather than hotel customers - fantastic.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

We stayed here for one night early September. It was a short visit but enough to give us the feeling that we would like to stay more. Casa Cimera is a cozy hotel with a great atmosphere thanks to the owners (both husband and wife we guess - as you probably already know they don't speak a word of English...). Dinner was a real treat - both good value for money and very tasty.
Highly recommended for a couple of nights while traveling the Rio Douro

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Augustine
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Yes, it is up a winding road and yes the owners do not speak English, But we had a great visit. The first night we had a small room in the rear part of the property. The next three nights we were moved to the top level overlooking the Douro. The room was very large with a sitting area. The dinners each night are not to be missed. they serve lots and lots of food, too much to be able to eat it all, and the house wine which is very good flows freely. Meal cost is very reasonable at 15 euros per person. Want something special for breakfast, no problem, just ask and it will be served. We had scrambled eggs every morning. We travel a lot and do not speak any other language the English. Maria try's very had to understand what you are asking for and if you just try, somehow the message gets across. We also loved the house tawny port wine.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Douro in the front of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Casa Cimeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Cimeira

Address: Rua do Cimo do Povo, Valenca Do Douro, Tabuaco 5120-503, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Northern Portugal > Viseu District > Tabuaco > Valenca Do Douro
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Valenca Do Douro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Casa Cimeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Cimeira Portugal/Valenca Do Douro

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Casa Cimeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.