We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the Desert” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Shaba Game Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sarova Shaba Game Lodge to your Saves list
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shaba National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Berrien Springs, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“An Oasis in the Desert”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My husband and I enjoyed every minute of our stay at Sarova Shaba. We already had experienced staying at Sarova Mara before and loved it!
The place is gorgeous, surrounded by streams of water. It is truly an Oasis in the middle of the Semi Arid vegetation surrounding it.
The rooms are exotic, comfortable facing the river and you can hear the water running all the time. Every night they come to make your bed and put hot water bottles on your bed, which we love it too!
Everything about this place is unique. Good food, kind workers, you will feel pampered!
We rightly recommend Saova Shaba.

Room Tip: All rooms are basically the same, but if you do not want to climb the stars ask for a floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnieKithinji, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to note that you enjoyed your holiday in our Sarova properties more so Sarova Shaba.

My team is glad to note that our services were beyond your expectations. We are glad to note that we made your stay memorable,

We trust we shall have the pleasure of staying with us in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    54
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
47
69
9
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I took my dad and father in law two nights for a fathers day treat and this was the right place. They had an owe some experience, the staff were very welcoming, and the buffet was great we loved everything. I also appreciate the bush dinner whereby I will visit this place again..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnieKithinji, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the team at Sarova Shaba, we thank you for taking time to give us feedback on your stay with us.
It's worthwhile to note it's was indeed a memorable vacation considering both your dads were vacationing with you. We are happy to learn that our services and hospitality exceeded your expectations.
The Sarova Shaba team look forward to another opportunity to host you all in future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

very fantastic place, imagine an 8km drive into the desert and all over a sudden you come to a hidden lodge in the green woods,the birds, monkeys and not forgetting the view of the nearby river...then the staff make everything soo homely...Mr.Mathenge,Mr.mwanzia,Ashley,you guys are the set pacers in this service industry. exellent!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnieKithinji, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for taking time to share your experience during your recent stay with us.
On behalf of the entire team at Sarova Shaba, we are pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and pleased with our services.
It's encouraging to note and I applaud some of my team members who you have mentioned as stars and this certainly motivates and encourages the whole team to keep up the good work.

We look forward to hosting you in the near future


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wimbish, Essex, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great destination, personally i would stay a weekend and immerse yourself in the nature and wildlife in and around the lodge.

Service was excellent from all staff. Food was great with a wide selection of choice, drinks prices were fair too.

After a long day out the pool and surroundings would completely unwind and relax you.

Would i go again - Yes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnieKithinji, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Guest,
Allow me to take this opportunity to thank you for taking time to give us your feedback.
My team is happy to hear that your stay was outstanding within the serenity of nature and wildlife.
I note our food, service and pricing was to your expectations.
Am glad we made your stay more than memorable and look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Kwaheri from Shaba!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Everything was fantastic, it is on the river and the lodge grounds are teeming with wildlife before you even go to the reserve. The restaurant was on the first floor with lovely views, the staff are amazing. The food is unbelievably varied and delicious even for us veggies. The staff are amazing, the pool was lovely, Kenya is the best place for wildlife and our guide Abdi Latif was the best we'd ever had. Travelbag 8 day Kenya Horizons was our safari and it was perfect in every way, we would do it again asap

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

My hubbie and I stayed here two nights while with a "Trips" group doing a Kenyan Safari. The property itself is lush... like an oasis that appears in the middle of a rocky desert. It has a wonderful meandering pool, and a great buffet .... and the best thing about the buffet is the cheerful "Magic Salad Chef, Stephen" who will cheerfully create a custom salad just for you... he was a show in and of himself!

There is electrical fencing to keep away the crocodiles, and if you come at croc-feeding time, you can watch! Our room had a queen bed with mosquito netting around it, and I'm not gonna lie... it was hot. This part of Kenya was the hottest that we visited. Nonetheless, it is still a lovely property and the room was comfortable. It gets very dark at night, so flashlights are provided so you can find your way from your room to the main area of the hotel. The staff at the bar were a lot of fun and made me a fun Valentine Days drink.

While in the area, we visited the homeplace of the Samburu Tribe, and that was an experience I will never forget... their song of welcome, visiting their huts, and speaking with their Elder.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnieKithinji, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear. Guest,
We are humbled to note that your stay at Shaba was more than memorable.
Shaba is a hidden secret on an Oasis with natural springs meandering through the lodge serenity.
We do appreciate your recognition on Stephen who was able to charm you with his salads throughout your stay.
The Management and I take this opportunity to thank you for visiting us and look forward to hosting you both in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Sarova Shaba is great. However I would recommend anyone who is big on service to go during the off peak season.

Having visited the beautiful Sarova Shaba when it was low season I could tell that the staff were really struggling over the Madaraka day break to make all their guests comfortable. At one point our waiter forgot that she was directing us to a table when another group asked for directions. We also had instances where some food and dessert got finished before serving.

That said the food variety and quality is amazing and the members of staff are very hospitable.

The road to Shaba is an all weather road therefore one can comfortably drive the place. Its likely that ill visit again.

Room Tip: The upper rooms have a great view of the crocodile infested waters
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnieKithinji, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Guest,
We take this opportunity to thank you for taking time off to visit us during the Madaraka weekend celebrations. We appreciate your feedback and note your concerns where we fell short of our service delivery hence my team has since addressed the same.
We are delighted to note your room experience and the opportunity to see the crocodiles at our view point was indeed memorable.
Accept our apologies and trust we shall have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Shaba Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Shaba Game Lodge

Address: Shaba National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Eastern Province > Shaba National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shaba National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Shaba Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Sarova Shaba Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Shaba Game Hotel Shaba National Reserve
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge Kenya/Shaba National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.