We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, unique rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Shaba Game Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Sarova Shaba Game Lodge to your Saves list
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shaba National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel, unique rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

During 18 days in Keyna I stayed at 5 x Sarova hotels. All are unique in their style but have consistent staff commitment and efficiency. Had a wonderful stay at this hotel: Rooms are superb.....a great introduction to safari living with style! All members of staff exuded genuine professionalism and excellent customer interaction and service. Thank-you to everyone!

Room Tip: Rooms are superb lodges - I was glad to be on the first floor [better for those who are a bit squeam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnieKithinji, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking time to give us feedback.
We are delighted to note that your holiday was more than memorable and enjoyable.
It is good to note our staff exceeded your expectations, the rooms and general ambience which you found unique.
We appreciate your feedback and will definitely share with my team.
I look forward to hosting you once again to Sarova Shaba.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    46
    12
    1
    2
See reviews for
42
65
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Sarova Shaba was lovely and the staff was so hospitable.Thanks to Bonfire Adventures ,our travel Agent,the whole package was beyond our expectations. Sarova is definitely a first!Make Samburu your next destination!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnieKithinji, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Ms Nduta,
The Shaba team takes this opportunity to thank you for your feedback.
We are glad to have hosted you and look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

The staff is so courteous and friendly! They do everything they can to make your stay more enjoyable! Located on the edge of a river, animals are constantly viewable around the lodge. The game drives are nice. We saw elephants, giraffes, as well as many other things. Amazing location and atmosphere!! A must see!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnieKithinji, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your valuable feedback and visiting us at Shaba.
Am glad to note that our staff meet and exceeded your expectations. I take note that your game drives were refreshing whilst having seen most of the game in plenty.
We trust that we shall have the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Kwaheri and Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa, Kenya
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

I think this is Kenya's best kept secret at the middle of. We had a wonderful experience that we will never forget. The charms, feelings and the scenery are un-describable. Interesting facts.. The male lion in this region do not have mane as the Mara and savanna. I was told the lioness do not hunt for the male in samburu – unlike Mara and savanna. Due to heat , seating, the lion scratches all the time and the mane fall off. Please make sure you go for an excursion at the gorge for extraordinary experience. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RonnieKithinji, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for taking time to give us feedback on your wonderful stay at the Sarova Shaba Game Lodge and I quote ' Best kept secret'.
We are delighted to learn that indeed you enjoyed not only your stay but the experience on Safari.
We look forward to hosting you once again.

Kind regards
Ronnie Kithinji
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The location is unreal, the surronding, the forest, the wild life. You just cannot explain it in words.
If you love nature, this is a must see venue. Hotel is very good but the beauty of Shaba is spotless and even if they made me sleep in a tent i wouldnt hesitate to visit this place again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to read such positive reviews. Your feedback has inspired the team here and we were very honored by your visit and being of service to you.

We appreciate every detail of your experience and look forward to hosting you once again assuring you of detail in service excellence.

Asante sana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen, Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We spent three nights at the Sarova Shaba and by the time we were checking out, we felt like adding another night!

The hospitality of the staff is one that I am yet to experience in another lodge. The salad bar was fantastic that our 6 year old could not do without the salad at meal times. Kudos!

While at the lodge, you have several options for game drives. We enjoyed a relaxed and comfortable drive using the Sarova Shaba Safari vehicle and a driver who served as our guide. We had an amazing experience viewing giraffes; zebras in the Samburu national park at close range. Our guide made every effort to get us close to elephants and lions! It was an experience to remember.

I recommend rooms 53/54 for families. The rooms have a good view of the river. Add a nature walk with the resident naturalist to experience the flora and fauna and learn about medicinal plants growing in the area.

Unwind at the pool and enjoy the fruit cocktails!

I recommend Sarova Shaba for those who enjoy nature and want to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your encouraging review. We will surely share this with the team. Sarova Shaba is committed to offering the best personalized services to all our clients.

It was an honout hosting you.

Karibu tena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The lodge is set in an oasis creating a very relaxing atmosphere and it overlooks the Ewaso river with crocs basking in the sun. Quite stunning. There are many pods and stream running in the lodge with fish and turtles.
The rooms are very nice and comfortable, tastefully furnished.
The beauty of Shaba is unrivaled when compared to buffalo springs and Samburu but it lacks animals and as such game drives are offered in the other adjacent two parks.
My positive review of the lodge ends at that which is good as the only problem i have is the food. The place lacks a variety and food seems mass produced. It lacks the personal touch. I went over christmas looking forward to great meals but this was a great disappointment. Kindly improve on this.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear guest,

It was nice of you to spend christmas holidays with us. Your feedback is highly appreciated as it goes a long way in giving us the drive to always improve.

Indeed the unique aspect of being in the region is the advantage of being able to visit the three parks on the same park ticket. Shaba, Buffalo springs and Samburu National reserves share one eco system but are uniquely different from each other. The beauty of Shaba with more than 22 natural springs, unique ornithology, Sharinki falls, The gorge and a film makers paradise but to name a few makes it special.

Your meals experience feedback is noted and every effort to attend to this has been initiated to turn this around. We do hope you will return soon to experience this.

We thank you for your support and wich you all the blessings of 2014.

Asante.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Shaba Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Shaba Game Lodge

Address: Shaba National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Eastern Province > Shaba National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shaba National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Shaba Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Sarova Shaba Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Shaba Game Hotel Shaba National Reserve
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge Kenya/Shaba National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.