We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First lodge but not forgotten...excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Shaba Game Lodge

Save Saved
You added Sarova Shaba Game Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shaba National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“First lodge but not forgotten...excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

This was our first stop on our first safari adventure and we were not disappointed. From the lovely welcome with cool smelling flannels, to our room which was spacious and very clean. The grounds, pool area, restaurant and views across the river make a wonderful package. The food was excellent and the chefs were so friendly, I loved the fact the restaurant was on stilts so you were in the tree tops. While we were there the quiet river suddenly became a loud rushing river and rose dramatically because of rain further up stream, it made you realise just how quickly a landscape can change. If your lucky you may see a croc we dId when we arrived but it soon disappeared when the river rose! Apparently they feed the crocs at a certain time but this did not take place when we were there, could of been because of the rise in the river.
The only criticism I have is that the water was not very hot in our room but then we did not complain so this may have been able to be rectified.
All in all a wonderful stay. Thank-you.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure hosting you. We are happy to note that we lived up to your expectation. Every effort is made to ensure that Sarova Shaba Game Lodge is your lodge of choice. We also have taken note of the hot water situation in your room and ensure that it is fully functional. Indeed we have made use of renewable energy by having our water heating by use of solar.

We do look forward to your earliest return and wish you a merry Christmas and a very prosperous new year.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    40
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
35
56
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Amazing… simply amazing… OK, OK let me start from the beginning. This past thanksgiving my family took a trip to Nairobi Kenya & Sharova Shaba was chosen to help us unwind. For anyone considering a trip to Kenya, go there… like seriously if you seek a retreat, yep this is it… an adventure, they got that too… massages to unwind, yep that’s there… game drive to see the amazing wildlife please… it’s what they are known for!

Now I can go on & on about the 5 star amenities from the amazing rooms… brilliant views to fantastic cuisines but all that is eclipsed by the staff. One of the biggest scares or worries of being in another country is how will I be treated?

Well we were treated like royalty from the room upgrade to the complementary game drive [totally our fault… we tried to cut costs by picking a local guy for the game drive & he left us hanging but Anthony the manager [with no reason or financial gain] stated he takes each residents experience personally & he did not want us going back to Philadelphia with a bad experience… yeah… he said that & got us an armed guard for the game drive totally complementary now that’s the kind of stuff that creates brand loyalty.


It was clear from the beginning the type of ship Anthony runs…. Mwai his right hand went above & beyond to make our stay brilliant, Chady our local guide made it a point to show up whenever needed with great advise & tips… but my biggest thanks, the true gem we found at Sharova Saba… George, or Chicken George to those who are in the know…. If you find yourself in the area, find George the bar tender! Nothing can truly reflect the hospitality & warmth he put towards my family.

George… you’re the man & as I promised you… there is a hot cheese steak in Philly for when you come to visit…

Room Tip: Ask Mwai for a recommendation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, General Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is great to know that you got back home well. It was a pleasure to be of service to you. Your feedback is very encouraging and we will surely share it with the team. We do apologize for the inconvinience caused by the local agent as indeed that is not Kenyan hospitality.

We look forward to your next visit.

Asante.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We didn't have a lot of time here, but the stay was lovely for our one night. Most of the staff was extremely hospitable and accomodating.

The rooms are in separage buildings that all face the river with some quite a distance from the main lobby area. The rooms are very spacious with a good size bathroom. The bellman was very helpful in explaning things to us once we were in the room. There isn't any A/C, so be prepared for the heat. We were able to open up the windows on each side of the room for the breeze to come through. There are screens on the windows, which are a must as the black face monkeys were right outisde our room and came right up to the window. They were just as curious of us as we were of them. Word of caution, be sure to close the windows when you leave the room as we were told the monkeys will rip through the screens to get in and rummage through stuff.

The grounds are nice facing the river and has fencing at the river's edge. There are viewing areas for crocodiles. The pool area is somewhat small, but nice. The pathways are cobbled with stones and can be slippery when wet. There are lights along the pathways lit up at night, but it's helpful to have a flashlight. There were ponds with beautiful fish around the main lodge area.

We ate all 3 meals here and all were buffets at the one restaurant. The food was good, not bad and not excellent, but seems like it would get a bit tiring if staying here for multiple days. The food station cooks and attendants were all fantastic, very personable and willing to please.

We took advantage of the spa massage service and it was fantastic. It was extremely deep tissue, which is just what we needed after long travel hours to Kenya and 5 hours plus a game drive in the van. I slept like a baby afterwards, even with the heat.

Btw, they do offer wake up service. A bellman will actually go directly to your room and knock on the door and wait to hear you are awake (there aren'ty any phones in the rooms).

Overall, staying at Sarova Shaba was a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure hosting you during your short stay with us. We hoped you could have stayed longer as indeed the activities available cannot be complete in one day. You have the rich option of three parks on one park ticket with the ability to spot the Samburu special five amongst very many other activities! We highly appreciate having been of service to you and that our services were to your satisfaction.Indeed Shaba is a rich 'OASIS' and our surroundings work magic even for those of us working here.

We look forward to hosting you yet again hopefully soon and assure you of yet another memorable stay.

Karibu tena!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We were here for a long weekend - an amazing place, our trip was made extra special by the superb service offered by the manager Anthony and he's top of the class team led by Mwai. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly - especially Chady, he was the wise local expert - can't beat him on that.

The location of the hotel is good, easy drive from Nairobi with lots to see during the game drive.

The most pleasant surprise was George (bartender) - he handled us like we were royalty: first class service, rich conversation, attention to detail, funny - overall just a great guy who loves his job!

Hope to return soon!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, December 7, 2013
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure hosting you, and your feedback indeed humbling.

Every effort in value addition is being taken with a host of activities being expanded to make the Sarova Shaba experience special. This gives you more reason to visit us again and hopefully soon.

The team here takes this early opportunity to wish you and your family a merry christmas and a prosperous coming new year with all blessings!

Asante.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

What an amazing place! If there is a paradise, surely this must be it?
From the welcome we received from Antony, Mwai and all the staff, to the accommodation and facilities, this place is awesome!
Special mention goes to Mwai, probably the most welcoming and helpful member of staff that I have come across in a hotel!
The lodge is amazing, the setting is by the Ewaso Nyiro river, with fresh water meandering streams and bridges, and ponds filled with numerous fish all over the property. There is a fantastic swimming pool as well to cool off in! The rooms exceeded expectations, and the dining experience was brilliant! All the chefs were welcoming and smiling all the time, wishing you a good day at breakfast, and then at dinner time asking you how your day has been. The food was lovely, so much to choose from!
We stayed 2 nights, and did a few game drives while we were here, and were lucky enough to spot lions and also a leopard!
You won't be disappointed if you stay here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Your review is highly appreciated.

We take great pride in being of service to all our valued clientelle. Your positive feedback and even special mention of our associates who exceeded your expectation goes a long way in building our desire to improve.

We have shared this with the team.

We look forward to your return.

Asante.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Can give nothing but praise for the way we were treated after 5 of us arrived here without warning having had our original plans unavoidably cancelled due to extenuating circumstances,. From the moment we walked into reception, unannounced on 6th November, at 3pm, their system proved it works with effortless ease. Rooms were found for us immediately, with no hanging around waiting whilst they were prepared. Staff were instantly helpful and attentive, never giving a problem to our rapid requests but always providing an immediate solution.
The manager came to greet us within minutes, followed by Moses, the executive house keeper - and the chefs turned out at 3.30pm to cook us a very late, but most welcome lunch.
We had been on a 10 day overland trip that had left us all feeling a little the worse for wear - but the massage ladies worked late and eased our aches and pains over and beyond their regular working hours, and very good they were too.
Standards were high, the food excellent. For supper, one of our group really wanted lamb chops, although it was not on the menu - no problem, one of the chefs cooked an individual plate for him !
The laundry are to be congratulated too. A huge case full of 10 days of seriously dirty laundry was dealt with expediently and even some minor running repairs done and back in my room by the next morning !
We stayed two nights and left with the feeling that we wanted to come back and spend more time here next season.
The overall impression when I left was that although we had incessant demands on all departments - they never brought us a problem, but always an answer. It would be difficult to know how to suggest any improvements could be done or what more could possibly be expected.
Thankyou to all the staff here who have made a lasting impression on us all.
Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear guest,

We thank you for your timely feedback!

The Sarova Shaba team looks forward to being of service to you. I will share these very encouraging feedback with the team here cognisant of the impact it has in our drive to achieve service excellence.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
128 helpful votes 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights as part of a Globus safari. Admittedly, there are some aspects of the hotel that need a little TLC, but I found the staff to be so friendly and helpful that I thought a 5 was still warranted.

The room was very spacious and well appointed. There are in room safes, bottled water, and mosquito prevention measures; however, there were several holes in the net, but I did not suffer any bites. Every single employee I crossed paths with greeted me with a smile. The restaurant staff were attentive and all of the chefs asked about our days. They seemed genuinely delighted by our responses.

On the first night I was quite startled by a lizard in the hall of my room. As there are no phones in the rooms, I went to reception to ask for help. The man at the desk did laugh at me and say it was harmless, but they did send someone to remove him. That person also laughed at me, but successfully removed the lizard; however, when I woke up later that night he was back. The second night, there were 2. I gave up at that point.

As there are no phones in the rooms, the wake up calls are knocks on the doors. Our tour guide arranged our wake up calls, but they showed up 30 minutes early the first morning. They were right on time the second.

We had an afternoon at leisure at the hotel and I was able to secure a massage appointment. Massages are held in a tent that overlooks the river. Elizabeth did a superb job and the massage was a welcome relaxation with a wonderful view and cool breeze.

The food in the restaurant was delicious and a nice variety at each meal. There was nightly entertainment and a friendly Masai to ward off the monkeys. They also offer crocodile feedings on some nights, but there were none to be found when we were there.

I enjoyed this Sarova the most of the 3 we visited. I would however request an upper level room for more privacy if I were to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure hosting you and quite a charm from your feedback. Indeed we will take corrective measures on the areas that you mentioned. We are working on replacing all our mosquito nets that have an even cosier look. We are also sealing any spaces that the little geko lizzards could creep through and improve on our wake up calls.

The Sarova Shaba team appreciates your kind sentiments as it goes a long way in making us strive to do better.

We do apologize for the areas we fell short.

Hoping to have you back soon.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sarova Shaba Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Shaba Game Lodge

Address: Shaba National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Eastern Province > Shaba National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Shaba National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Shaba Game Lodge 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Sarova Shaba Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Shaba Game Hotel Shaba National Reserve
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge Kenya/Shaba National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.