We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service with a Smile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Shaba Game Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sarova Shaba Game Lodge to your Saves list
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Valley Road, Shaba National Reserve 00200, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
131 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Service with a Smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed here 2 nights as part of a Globus safari. Admittedly, there are some aspects of the hotel that need a little TLC, but I found the staff to be so friendly and helpful that I thought a 5 was still warranted.

The room was very spacious and well appointed. There are in room safes, bottled water, and mosquito prevention measures; however, there were several holes in the net, but I did not suffer any bites. Every single employee I crossed paths with greeted me with a smile. The restaurant staff were attentive and all of the chefs asked about our days. They seemed genuinely delighted by our responses.

On the first night I was quite startled by a lizard in the hall of my room. As there are no phones in the rooms, I went to reception to ask for help. The man at the desk did laugh at me and say it was harmless, but they did send someone to remove him. That person also laughed at me, but successfully removed the lizard; however, when I woke up later that night he was back. The second night, there were 2. I gave up at that point.

As there are no phones in the rooms, the wake up calls are knocks on the doors. Our tour guide arranged our wake up calls, but they showed up 30 minutes early the first morning. They were right on time the second.

We had an afternoon at leisure at the hotel and I was able to secure a massage appointment. Massages are held in a tent that overlooks the river. Elizabeth did a superb job and the massage was a welcome relaxation with a wonderful view and cool breeze.

The food in the restaurant was delicious and a nice variety at each meal. There was nightly entertainment and a friendly Masai to ward off the monkeys. They also offer crocodile feedings on some nights, but there were none to be found when we were there.

I enjoyed this Sarova the most of the 3 we visited. I would however request an upper level room for more privacy if I were to return.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure hosting you and quite a charm from your feedback. Indeed we will take corrective measures on the areas that you mentioned. We are working on replacing all our mosquito nets that have an even cosier look. We are also sealing any spaces that the little geko lizzards could creep through and improve on our wake up calls.

The Sarova Shaba team appreciates your kind sentiments as it goes a long way in making us strive to do better.

We do apologize for the areas we fell short.

Hoping to have you back soon.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    60
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
54
78
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

I visited the lodge and was absolutely thrilled by the ambience and services. Each and every minute was worth it. Am looking forward to another spectacle at Shaba in the near future. Keep up the good work.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so very much for your feedback. The Sarova Shaba team is very encouraged by your review and will make every effort to live up to your words.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

A very relaxing place to visit. Staff are friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant is brilliant.
Stayed with friends whilst working in Kenya and it was a welcome break from the hot days in the bush.
No time for a safari but will defiantly return with my family if the chance arises.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Your feedback is truely inspiring. We hope that next time you will have more time to relax and enjoy what Sarova Shaba truely is. We do hope that your stay here made your work easier and more enjoyable despite the tight working schedule.

We look forward to hosting you and family and assure you of a most restful and memorable stay with us.

Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Absolutely loved this property. The tents were absolutely beautiful with wonderful amenities. I would suggest paying the extra money and doing the club level as these tents have wood doors, still the tent feeling, double sink, large shower, safe, small writing desk, and upgraded amenities. The service is super and the staff is willing to accommodate any request. The food was great and had a lot of variety. The Masai Warriors come a couple nights a week and do a wonderful performance. Since this property is located in the Mara, you can be on a game drive in minutes.
There are tiny Dik Diks running all over the property, lots of birds, and a guard that walks the grounds all night to make sure no animals get in and that you are completely safe. Would I stay here again - in a heart beat!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Again, I would do the Club room as it is double the size of the standard tent. They are further awa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear guest,

We sincerely thank you for supporting the Sarova group. This is indeed a very encouraging feedback of our sister unit and we share this encouragement with the team.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chatham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Despite the torrential rain had a wonderfully comfortable stay here. The staff are friendly and helpful, the food excellent and plenty of friendly guests to chat with. If you're hot and bothered after a day out then I can highly recommend the refreshing pool......which is slightly surreal as you can see crocodiles in the river going past. Well worth a visit and very well priced.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear guest,

We do wish you could have stayed longer. Activities to do when staying here are in plenty for those willing to be adventurous. From the unique game drives in three distinct National reserves to activities like nature walks, ornithology, the gorge trek, sharinki falls excursion, l'olokwe hike and the Sarova survivor team building challenge, one cannot be short of activities even for those staying longer than a week.

Give it a try next time and our vibrant animation team will keep you well engaged.

Karibu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Built around a natural spring whose waters meander throughout the grounds creating beautiful streams and pools, which are teaming with fish and frogs, making a wonderfully calm oasis amid the semi-arid countryside.
Anyone coming to this part of Kenya could do well to read parts of Wilfred Thesiger's "My Kenya Days" as he lived around here for many years and describes the beauty of the peoples and the wildlife with great understanding.

Room Tip: All the rooms face the river and so any of them will be wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear guest,

It is always a pleasure to receive such good feedback. We appreciate having you spend time with us. It is indeed an honour. The natural springs, the crisp clear streams and clear ponds with the beautiful fishes (including the buffalo springs tilapia and the mud fish to name a few) also works magic for those of us living here. Born free country is indeed a haven for movie makers as indeed we are proud of this unique location.

The team at Sarova Shaba takes great pride in hosting you and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I had stayed at Sarova Shaba a year and a half ago, and my review was a 100% praise with no compromises.
This time, we still had a great experience although I feel some details pointed to the possibility (or need) of constant effort for improvement and excellence.
The shower head in our room was so clogged with limescale that the water jets pointed everywhere (mostly outside the bathtub) but towards the right place. This is not good for a five-star establishment.
When we checked in, the reception staff appeared to be overwhelmed and a little "out of breath". Admittedly, it was a long week-end with a public holiday, and at 100% hotel occupancy some bottleneck can be expected, but the staff on duty appeared to do nothing to avoid passing the sense of discomfort on to the guests they were attending to.
The variety of dishes available at the buffet felt a little less broad (or international) than during our previous visit, which made me wonder whether the chef had changed.
Anything else was, as for our previous stay, lovely and impeccable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear guest,

It was an honour to have you stay with us once again. We thank you most sincerely for choosing Sarova Shaba as your lodge of stay in the region and more so in giving us your very constructive feedback which indeed keeps us on track to improve on service excellence.

We have taken note of the areas highlighted that fell short of your expectations and will ensure corrective action as we strive to raise the bar.

Thank you once again for coosing us and we do look forward to hosting you hopefully in this near future.

Asante.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaba National Reserve
0.0 mi away
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
Sarova Lion Hill Game Lodge
#1 of 2 in Lake Nakuru National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 614 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
#3 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
4.5 of 5 stars 472 reviews
0.0 mi away
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
Keekorok Lodge-Sun Africa Hotels
#6 of 9 in Maasai Mara National Reserve
4.5 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
#2 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 stars 582 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sarova Taita Hills Game Lodge
0.0 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 133 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sarova Shaba Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Shaba Game Lodge

Address: Valley Road, Shaba National Reserve 00200, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Eastern Province > Shaba National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shaba National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Shaba Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Sarova Shaba Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Shaba Game Hotel Shaba National Reserve
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge Kenya/Shaba National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.