We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Shaba Game Lodge

Best prices from these 4 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sarova Shaba Game Lodge to your Saves list
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shaba National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
“Awesome Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Sarova Shaba is an awesome place for lack of weightier words to use. Every coin spent there is worth it and no regrets whatsoever in anything. No wonder you are number 1. Keep up the good work. Right from the welcome, the rooms, the customer service and the courteous staff all around you. The river scenery even h

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to read such positive reviews. Your feedback has inspired the team here and we were very honored by your visit and being of service to you.

We appreciate every detail of your experience and look forward to hosting you once again assuring you of detail in service excellence.

Asante sana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    41
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
39
57
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

The Sarova Shaba Game Lodge was the base for our first two days on safari. It was our first safari but nothing could have prepared me for the idyllic setting in which we found ourselves. We were welcomed with cooling towels and fresh juice, an excellent gesture after a long drive. Each morning we awoke to the sound of the Ewaso Nyiro river, just a few steps away. The birds, monkeys and wildlife all added to the feeling of back to nature. All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful and the food was of a high standard. Just one small tip - take a torch as it gets very dark very quickly. In no way did this detract from our enjoyment though. The peace and quiet and general ambience made the perfect start to our week's safari.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we are very appreciative of your very encouraging review. We look forward to welcoming you back to a more memorable stay with us.

Karibu Sarova Shaba.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

On 26th of july 2013 my husband Alfred and i made a visit to Shaba for the first time on a business related visit.We are big funs of sarova but we have always had this fear of shaba because of horror stories of shifters.It was the only sarova establishment we hadnt visited.The drive there was intresting all the way to Isiolo town maybe it was the dry heat after the town....but we really started getting agitated thank God for our client Njoki who was driving ahead of us otherwise we would have felt lost.When you get there however the atmosphere is totally different from the drive you feel like youve just literary landed in heaven.The stuff welcome you like a king and as you receive the cold towels and fresh juice you literary want to weep with joy.Mwai our check in guy makes you feel so absolutely welcome and as we later sat for our meeting with Joy and kashero i was so at home over looking the ewaso nyiro the drive there was like a far distant dream.The guy who wipped up our salad for dinner was soo caring he made me feel almost guilty that i dont enjoy my vegetables as much.As we look forward to Njoki and Pauls wedding in February at the lodge i look forward to bringing our daughters in the near future to enjoy this great paradise in Isiolo and it was with sadness that we had to check out only after one night.Thanks Steve wambua,Joy maina and the big boss kashero and all your awesome stuff at shaba.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure hosting you and your husband.

We are happy that you got to witness first hand the reality on Isiolo and that the perception of it being bandit country is completely misplaced. The beauty of Shaba National Reserve is unmatched! It is a haven for film makers and several films like Born free, to walk with the lions, survivor Africa (survivor 3) are some of the films shot in this National reserve. In fact Survivor Africa was exclusively shot in Shaba reserve.

This unique park is special in that it has over 22 natural springs ( Sarova Shaba is built next to one making it an oasis with the streams and ponds flowing through the property and with different fish species). It is also home to the Samburu special five found only in this region. The advantage of being able to traverse the three reserves on the same park ticket is also quite an advantage given the closeness of the parks and their individual specialties. Home to the Borana, Turkana and Samburu provides another unique cultural experience.

We thank you for your review and also for sharing such encouraging feedback. We look forward to hosting you soon and assure you of an awesome wedding party in February.

Karibuni tena.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

I had a wonderful week at Sarova with my wife. The Staff went out of their way to make us feel special and enjoy our holiday. Special mention to Mwai who went out of his way to make it a home away from home. Moses, Ashley, Charles always checking up on us.

Lodsge manager Kashero and Joy indulged us and went out of their way to add flava to the holiday.

Would recommend Sarova Shaba for anyout out for a relaxing holiday. truly a home away from home.

Room Tip: the suites...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was indeed an honour to host you and your wife during your recent visit to the region. Your charming prescence and warmth at Sarova Shaba is one of a kind that really made the team ever so encouraged. Your positive feedback is the 'icing on the cake' and we will surely share with the team.

Our objective is to make our Sarova Shaba your most preferred lodge of stay by providing uncompromised standards of services to our discerning and valued guests.

The entire Sarova shaba team joins me in sending our warmest regards, we look forward to welcoming you, your family and friends soon and assure you of a more restful and memorable stay.

Asante sana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at sarova shaba, it's in the best of locations where you wake up to the sound of roaring rivers and the baboons at your doorstep ready to see you off for breakfast. We were. able to see crocodiles for both the two evenings that We stayed there. Their food was great and great house keeping services. Too bad we had to go back to our normal life. But wam sure we will be coming back for more than a week before end of the year.

My sincere gratitude to Joy who made my husband's birthday such a success, he really loved it, so did I. Thanks to you and all Sharoba shaba team.
Thanks

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to read such positive reviews. Your feedback has inspired the team here and we were very honored by your visit and being of service to you.

We appreciate every detail of your experience and look forward to hosting you once again.

Karibu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My family and I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a safari trip across Kenya and this lodge was such a nice place to stay. The villas are very nice and spacious. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The views and wildlife were amazing! The pool and amenities were perfect. The food was delicious. What more could you ask for?

Daniel from the front office was especially helpful and accommodating! This is definitely a place you must stay at if visiting the Samburu area!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Words cannot express our appreciation of your good comments on your stay with us. The team here is very encouraged by your all round detail feedback.

We do promise to work for service excellence and achieve the best for our valued guests.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband had been to Shaba before quite a number of years ago and had decided earlier this year to book up and take me for our anniversary. Apprehensive due to a silly fear of insects I agreed to give it a go.
I had read the reviews on here and was intrigued - although my husband had already described it as a diamond in the rough.
After an interesting drive here from Nairobi we arrived and were very warmly greeted by Daniel and some nice cool towels.
From this moment until now (as we are still here and I just could not wait to write a review) we have been treated like royalty to say the least. All of the staff members, from the swimming pool attendants and Benson the 'monkey chaser' to the managerial and restaurant staff have been impeccable. My husband works abroad most of the time and so did my father growing up so I am used to hotels in all different locations all over the world and Shaba Lodge is definitely in my top 5!
Their attention to detail is outstanding and Michael is such a professional on the game drives we couldn't have wished for a better driver.
Additionally we have had some personal reasons for our trip and thanks to the undivided attention and eagerness to please from Daniel and his staff member Kiloki we have managed to make this trip an exceptionally worthwhile one for sure.
Like I said before ALL the staff members have been exceptional and I could not fault any of them in anyway but I would like to mention a few names below that have done that little bit extra to make our anniversary a very special one:
Daniel Mwai
Kiloki
Joy
Ashley
Edward
Wilfred
Michael
Charles
Moses
Beatrice
Simon

We are off to relax now and I am sure that my husband will be eager to write a review once our time here has come to an end.
We can't wait until our kids are just that little bit older so that we can bring them to experience Shaba for themselves. We have recommended it to various friends, one of which has already booked there trip through Daniel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for chosing Sarova Shaba on your visit to the region. We note that your husband was returning after several years.Your very positive feedback is highly appreciated.
Indeed the lodge location is an oasis and every effort to maintain nature was taken and thus the beauty to behold.
Our location right in the center of Kenya and on the Isiolo- Marsabit highway ( Just 8 km of off road driving to the park/lodge) makes us the most accessible facility in the region. We are happy that you joined him tried us out this time around.
A unique aspect of the three parks here (Shaba, Buffalo springs and Samburu) is that you can visit any of them using the same park fee ticket. This makes it possible to stay in any of the facilities in the region and do game drives in any of the parks as one pleases.
We are also the only facility in the region connected to the grid and also fully on wifi thus adding to your comfort and convinience. Activities available here enable you to have several options making even week long staying guests have options to engage and to include different dining options.
We take great pride in your comments as they have encouraged the team here to strive to improve. All our associates including those you have taken time to name appreciate your encouraging review.
We look forward to your next visit assuring you of a most restful and enjoyable stay.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Shaba Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Shaba Game Lodge

Address: Shaba National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Eastern Province > Shaba National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shaba National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Shaba Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Sarova Shaba Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Shaba Game Hotel Shaba National Reserve
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge Kenya/Shaba National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.