We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dream that should last forever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sarova Shaba Game Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sarova Shaba Game Lodge to your Saves list
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Shaba National Reserve, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A dream that should last forever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Our family stay at the Sarova Shaba Game Lodge has just finished and we would like it to have lasted a lot longer.
We took advantage of a promotion by a Nairobi-based tour operator for a long week-end and I can't think of anything that was not top-notch.
The resort is beautifully located on the southern bank of the Ewaso Nyiro river, overlooking a few "regular" crocodiles basking in the sun. Both the public areas and the rooms of the hotels are architecturally very much in tune with the location, with the rooms tastefully furnished and always very clean.
The restaurant always offers a rich and diverse buffet at all meal times, while on given evenings dinner is served in the bush, but still with a rich variety of dishes.
The staff is helpful, knowledgeable and friendly.
Perhaps the only point where some improvement can be made is the evening entertainment.
The game drives are not a "surefire" event, as in the Masai Mara, but we were nonetheless able to see quite a variety of animals over two days, including the final unexpected bonus of a couple of honey badgers spotted before breakfast on the very last day. This is an animal we had not seen before at any of the other parks in Kenya.
Overall, a highly advisable and enjoyable establishment, and we'd love to go back again and again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the first floor enjoy a better view of the river and the crocodiles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure to host you earlier this year. Kindly accept our sincere apologies for this delay in response as it was due to unavoidable circumstances. The Sarova Shaba team was greatly encouraged by your feedback and we are working towards raising the bar in service excellence. We look forward to hosting you once again and hopefully soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    41
    11
    1
    2
See reviews for
39
57
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

I will surely remember sarova Shaba for the best staff hospitality. My family and I enjoyed ambience of the hotel, peace created by the location and quiet environment. I loved the sundowner fun and the bush dinner, sheer creativity. I particularly loved the staff togetherness in serving all clients without discrimination. Commitment of the highest level.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear guest,

The Sarova Shaba team thanks you most sincerely for your visit and highly appreciate your very motivating feedback. The team wishes to assure our valued clients of our commitment to service excellence.

We hope to host you yet again in this near future.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

The game lodge is beautiful, the swimming pool is inviting and a great place to unwind.
The climate was wonderful and the staff were very friendly. The great thing about this place is the location and the great weather. It is truly a wonderful place for a vacation.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure hosting you earlier in the year. We highly appreciate having been of service to you and that our services were to your satisfaction.

We look forward to hosting you hopefull soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

The lodge is set in an oasis thats so beautiful in the semi-arid area. we arrived late & still managed to get lunch for the whole group. the rooms are clean, spacious and absolutely lovely. there are monkeys almost all over & its advisable to always keep the windows locked.

we had a lovely bush dinner, amazing sundownder by the river all arranged by the hotel.

game drives werent really worth it tho, there wasnt much to see.

the only negative point was the restaurant staff; they insisted on herding us to sit in groups..you couldnt just choose where to sit. and tabel setting was so slow we'd resort to picking cutlery from other tables. but the lovely food made up for this.

i'd definitely go back again...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure hosting you earlier in the year. We highly appreciate having been of service to you and that our services were to your satisfaction. We note your feedback on the restaurant sitting and have taken measures to ease this when the restaurant is not very full as this happened due to many guests coming in for meals at the same time thus restricting us to sitting guests as they travelled. Please accept our sincere apologies for this.

We look forward to hosting you hopefull soon and we are sure your game drive experience will be different especially with the option of the three parks on the same park entry ticked ( Shaba, Buffalo springs and Samburu National reserves).

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kijabe, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

This is a wonderful resort in an amazing location. The staff really did an outstanding job. The food was pretty good, but we were at Shaba during an incredibly slow time and the kitchen staff did not appear to be in top gear and the chefs did not appear to be as well trained as I am accustomed to at Sarova resorts.

The game was very sparse during our game drive. I don't know if this is common for others. After all, this is not a zoo and animals will move around.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure hosting you earlier in the year. We highly appreciate having been of service to you and that our services were to your satisfaction. It was unfortunate that you came at a time when we were very 'Quiet'. We have noted your feedback on our kitchen brigade and wish to assure you that every effort has been made to correct this perception.

We look forward to hosting you hopefull soon and we are sure you will have a different game viewing experience.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was great for a relaxed 3 night stay. I was attending a conference nearby and this hotel was a tremendous respite.

Hotel had nice facilities, great location, and the best staff I've experienced so far in Kenya. The staff really made all the difference.

Only downside (and this isn't the hotels fault) was that there was so little game to be seen on the river. The Kenyan government has rented land not far from the hotel to the British military so they do a lot of training and all the explosions have scared the animals to other sections of the park. Even with that, the hotel was great! I highly recommend.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure hosting you earlier in the year. We highly appreciate having been of service to you and that our services were to your satisfaction. We take note of your experience of the training excercise that was taking place at that particular time and wish to assure you that those were a 'one off' excercise that is not a standard happening here.

We look forward to hosting you hopefull soon and we assure you of a most restful and memorable stay with us..

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Sarova shaba game lodge is one of the best and finest hotel in East Africa. It is situated in a semi arid area but build on an oasis which makes it easy access for the people who work in the lodge to very clean water that is also used in the lodge. The service is superb and the luxury rooms are very good. My wife insists that we should go there on our next vacation of which i totally agree with her.

Room Tip: For a client to get a good room he/she should book early and tell them to reserve you the best room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony K, Manager at Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear guest,

It was a pleasure hosting you earlier in the year. We highly appreciate having been of service to you and that our services were to your satisfaction.

We look forward to hosting you and your family hopefully soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sarova Shaba Game Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sarova Shaba Game Lodge

Address: Shaba National Reserve, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Eastern Province > Shaba National Reserve
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Shaba National Reserve
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sarova Shaba Game Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sarova Shaba Game Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sarova Shaba Game Hotel Shaba National Reserve
Sarova Shaba Game Lodge Kenya/Shaba National Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sarova Shaba Game Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.