We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baltiyskaya Zvezda

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Baltiyskaya Zvezda to your Saves list
Baltiyskaya Zvezda
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Beryozovaya Alley, 3, Strelna, St. Petersburg 198515, Russia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strelna
Kiev, Ukraine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

The place is beautiful. The guests of the hotel are allowed to visit nearby Konstantinov's park, which is closed to regular visitors. It means that You can go all alone huge and amazing park. It is fantastic to sit and to read in the garden full of flowers and statues. It is very interesting and unknown feeling!
The hotel itself is ... OK. The most annoying detail is the Wi-Fi price in the room, which is crazy! The pool is not really the pool, but just a big bath for maximum 2 persons.
The breakfast is good.

Room Tip: The rooms on the fourth floor have very-very small windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    12
    10
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
6
1
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Moscow
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

The hotel is located on the Baltic Sea coast, very close to Peterhof and rather far from the downtown. Fresh air, good views and quietness… Two big parking lots are very good advantage if you travel by car.
The hotel is equipped by a small swimming pool with hydro-massage, gym and two saunas (in men’s and women’s changing rooms). These facilities are free of charge for the hotel guests.

Our room was clean and appropriately furnished. Although there were two dressing gowns, there were no slippers – you should ask reception and slippers will be delivered for free. Minibar is locked unless you have paid a deposit. So you may not use it as a mere fridge without prepaying the deposit.

WI-FI is available in the rooms, but unreasonably expensive. We did not order a breakfast because we were advised not to do so – it was much more expensive than in any café nearby.

If you do not want to experience notorious “Russian service”, do not use your credit card, because the hotel staff does not quite understand how to deal with it. For example, I was charged for times for one night, though I stayed in the hotel for just two nights. One night payment was cancelled almost immediately, but I still take pains to get any information of them regarding the rest of the money. The hotel staff is absolutely oblivious to any phone calls and emails. Even if you speak Russian it would be quite a challenge to get any explanation from the hotel “managers”. All you can expect is never ending “please call later” or “the manager will call you back”.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotel during my trip for the opening ceremony of Peterhof fountains in May 2012.
The hotel is in a short drive to the Peterhof parks and museums and could be a good choice for tourists who want to stay couple days in the hotel and visit Peterhof.

There are no any other advantages. And that is why:
The Baltic Star Hotel is the property of the Administration of the President of Russia. The service is a bit from the Soviet era. There is not enough information about the hotel services in the room and every time you need to find or get something you need to call to a receptionist (front-desk).
Breakfast was poor, lack of choice. Even service staff did not mention what I can order eggs or omelet. My friends told me about this ability. And if you like to have an omelet it is better to request it - do not wait.
During my visit the swimming pool was closed for regular cleaning, but there were no information about this on their website.
So if you like to have a pleasant time in this hotel it is better to call them in advance and ask if they have any going on construction.

Rooms are large and equipped with the solid furniture, except TV which was a TV from the last century... I found only one available socket. And it can be used only if you unplug a lamp.
There was no wi-fi or wired internet.

Room Tip: Call to the hotel if you like to book a room which faces to the Gulf of Finland in the horizon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

The Baltic Star Hotel is the property of the Administration of the President of Russia. Though it was built in 2000's it feels a bit from Soviet era.
There is a gym and a swimming pool in the basement, and there is a lot of space to run around the hotel, the air is very fresh. The rooms are not bad - with solid furniture, nice view from the window and quite clean.
The food is awful and quite expensive (breakfast is included - they don't even have green tea), I would recommend to have your lunch or dinner in Saint-Petersburg.
Actually Baltic Star is situated not in S.Petersburg but in Strelna, which is the suburb about 30-40 min. car drive from the city-center. It's not a five-star hotel but the prices for staying are not very high, so if you wish to see Konstantinovsky Palace or have some conference there, it's not a bad place. Thus it's a nice hotel for tourists or businessmen at quite a reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We've had a nice weekend in September 2010 in the Baltic Star hotel. When booking we warned that we are coming with a 3 years old son, and a girl in Reservation department suggested that we should choose a Deluxe room (first we wanted a Standard room,but she said that we would feel more comfortable in a room of bigger size - Deluxe room). When we arrived, we were pleased to find an extra-bed for our son in the room.
Next morning while I was walking in a Konstantin palace park with my son, my husband with some friends of his went to the wine-tasting excursion in the Palace cellars. He said it was rather interesting and even bought a bottle of wine there as a souvenir.
So if you want to spend some days in a beautiful quiet place with fresh sea air but not too far from the city - this hotel may be your right choice.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
205 helpful votes 205 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2005

I booked a deluxe room at the Baltic Star Hotel (5 Stars) during a congress at the Konstantinovski Palace (which is Russian state property) between the 27th and the 30th of May 2005.

The room was good in size, had a nice view upon the baltic sea, and was clean, with a touch of elegance. The bathroom was well equipped, bath robes, slippers, etc. 5 stars.

The Water was brownish, but this seems to be a common issue in Russia, the water pressure and temperature was fine.

TV programm was more than well equipped, the mini bar rather poorly equipped in terms of food. Drinks in masses though...

The amnieties of the hotel are above average with a pool, fitness studio, sauna, and a beauty center, but if no congress is booked this place looks empty and scarce!

Millions of security lingering around and do not know what to do. Staff does speak English, but don´t catch the reception in a busy hour, they will answer with ignorance... Or funny conversations (typical of Russia): If I asked the Concierge for the check out time, she replied, that is a question for the Reception...

The price is too high, as I expected more for 375 EURO!!! I suggest you only stay there if your company settles the bill(s).

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Baltiyskaya Zvezda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baltiyskaya Zvezda

Address: Beryozovaya Alley, 3, Strelna, St. Petersburg 198515, Russia
Location: Russia > Northwestern District > St. Petersburg > Petrodvortsovy District > Strelna
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Strelna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Baltiyskaya Zvezda 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5-star hotel located on the Gulf of Finland coastline is a part of a multifunctional complex The National Congress Palace which is a state residence, a museum and a modern congress venue. The luxury Villas that are part of the Baltic Star Hotel are the place where all foreign leaders stay while in St. Petersburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baltiyskaya Zvezda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baltiyskaya Zvezda, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.