We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didnt expect it to be so bad” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Laguna Park 1

Save Saved
You added Laguna Park 1 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Laguna Park 1
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida los pueblos, 26 | Costa Adeje, 38660 San Eugenio, Tenerife, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in San Eugenio
gwent wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Didnt expect it to be so bad”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

after reading many average reviews for this aparthotel we decided to give it a whirl...what a mistake and photos are so misleading
we were not expecting 5* accomodation as we didnt book for that type of luxury but for the cheap n cheerful price and somwhere clean n tidy to just use as a base
the maids work left a lot to be desired and during our stay i dont think they washed the floor once, i even used to make my children wear socks or slippers around apartment otherwise their feet looked as black as the road if they didnt, they didnt empty the bins and overall could do with being taught how to use their cleaning equipment
we were on an all inclusive break which should have meant not having to dip my hand into my pocket for my kids for ice cream, burgers, hotdogs, chips and slush puppies but unfortunatley this is what we had to do to keep our kids happy as the only poolside snacks they offered was stale cheese n ham sandwiches (which wasnt even buttered) and a plate of not so fresh cakes on a daily basis and all the above mentioned childs delights were available to buy as extras?? why should i have had to pay again when i was staying on an all inclusive basis
can someone please tell me
breakfast is more or less the same wherever you go so that wasnt too bad and so was the buffet lunch bt the evening mealtimes were a bit of a novelty as to get good food you had o get there early oherwise you had to make do with what was left as they didnt believe in doing more than one tray of a particular popular dish (such as lasagne etc) and when we did ask for more we were told that they were only sent down a certain amount from their sister hotel laguna park 2
we could believe it
but things only got worse as the all inclusive disco bar only serves you until 22.30pm whereas most hotels allow you that luxury until approx midnight, so that meant putting my hands in my pockets yet again to pay for more drinks.
you could also only get one drink at a time and that was only if you took your glass back in first place and they only ever had one barmaid working even on a very busy nite which then in turn made our wait for drinks even longer, this one particular nite in mention i did indeed feel sorry for the poor girl as she didnt stop all nite but on other hand felt sorry for myself because between the hours of 19.30 to 22.30 my family n myself only managed 3 drinks each as the ques to bar was so long
i wonder if this is a good business idea by hotel management to keep their costs down as it def seems to be working in their favor n nobody elses, they r saving bar staff wages by not having extra help n also by the amount of alcohol bein consumed because we couldnt get served enough for all inclusive time
reception staff were quite moody and unfriendly an this in turn made them rather unapproachable if you did have a problem but all the other staff from the entertainment side (david) and the waiting side (poolside barman marcel, bamaid suzzannah and also barmaid/waitress carmen)were totally diffrent and couldnt have been more friendly or helpful so for this we were really grateful and would like to say a big THANK YOU to those people without whom to brighten our day we would def have been living a nightmare
you have to pay extra for everything in this hotel even down to the tv (which i think this type of service is very prehistoric nowadays), iron, fans due to no aircon and even hairdryers had to be paid for and at extorniate costs aswell
supermarket adjoining hotel stocks eveything and you would be advised to go there to purchase all of the above at a much reduced cost, the supermarket stocks everything you could think of and staff are really lovely and friendly too
there is only one small lift to use to take you from reception to 1st floor and is barely wide enough for a double pushchair/wheelchair also and this tends to break down once or twice a week too
so as you can see i do have many points to pick but have wrote this review with honesty as i wouldt want people to go there and expect something else and to be disappointed like we were
my mum always used to say that you get what you pay for and i now believe this to be true ha ha thats why it was so cheap lol
many thanks for reading this and i hope it either helps or makes you laugh

Room Tip: yes book a diffrent hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Laguna Park 1, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are sorry you were not happy with your holiday with us.

The majority of our guests are extremely happy with the services we offer.

If you had been unhappy with the cleaning services offered then if yuo had spoken to reception they would have sent the cleaner to empty bins or wash the floor. Reception is open 24 hours and can be contacted via the telephone in your apartment.

All the agents that work with us are aware of the food and services that we offer and the times that these are in operation. This information is readily available if requested at the time of booking your holiday.

We take on board your notes about the bar being understaffed, this is something that we will look into and also the service for serving drinks to our guests.

We take all our guests comments seriously and try to improve on the points made in these comments.

Kind regards
Nicola Mallaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

759 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    285
    183
    62
    83
See reviews for
299
233
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Laguna park 1 is a very basic and clean hotel, it is a good value for money especially if you’re going for a family holiday, but I don’t think it was very couple friendly, as most of the other guests that were staying there were families or large groups.

In our room, we had two to very uncomfortable single beds which we pushed together which meant that we didn't get the best sleep. We got a sea view room which I would not recommend as there is a night club right in front of your view of the sea, if you’re planning to book this hotel, deffo go for the poolside view.

We didn't spend much time in the hotel as we booked many excursions and spent time on the beach, which was only a 5 minute walk, but the walk down a hill, meant the coming back was so much effort. We did attend a few evening entertainment which I thought were great especially for children.

As we didn't eat any meals at the hotel, it was great to have a supermarket right outside the hotel doors which had practically everything in it that we needed, and there were a few restaurants on the right had side as your coming out of the hotel, which were amazingly good and very cheap.

Overall it was a great holiday, but I felt that the hotel was more for families then couples.

Room Tip: Get a pool view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Laguna Park 1, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us.

As you pointed out, the complex is ideally situated with shops, bars, restaurants and the beach all just a short walk away. The shopping centre of San Eugenio is less than a five minute walk away where you will find all the essentials you need for your holiday with us.

We hope to see you again at Laguna Park 1.

Kind regards
Nicola Mallaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

fabulous place , .stayed ther from 27th june to 7th july got ther an told my room wasnt ready . had to wait 1 hour so i wasnt too mad . location is perfect bars, resturaunts, beach 15 min walk try gordon ramsays definetly would go bak ... thanx laguna park i enjoyed my holiday hope to come back in the future

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Laguna Park 1, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us in Laguna Park 1.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind regards
Nicola Mallaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This hotel is now getting very run down, requires major refurbishment, there is no air conditioning, furniture is broken. You can hire a fan at reception but you are just as cheap buying one and leaving it which is where they get them to hire out.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Laguna Park 1, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We are currently refurbishing our apartments with a constant maintenance plan in place. We have just reopened the swimming pool after a complete refurbishment and the majority of our guests have been very pleased with the changes that have been made.

We are sure if you come back to visit us again you will see more improvements made to the complex.

Kind regards
Nicola Mallaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have just returned from our first family holiday and can honestly say it was brilliant. Apartments were large and clean. We had clean towels EVERY DAY during our stay. The pool was fantastic for both young kids and adults. We were AI - breakfast was good, lunch was OK but the evening meal left a lot to be desired. We ate out most nights and to be honest for what we paid for the holiday this more than covered breakfast , lunch and all our drinks. Eating out is very reasonable and there are plent of restaurants near by . As always you get the moaners, we laughed as you could set your watch by them, they were always first in the restaurant piling their plates high!
David and Pierre did a great job with their entertainment :) and the Bar and Reception staff were always pleasant and helpful. All in alll a great place for a family holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Laguna Park 1, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us. The complex is ideally located with lots of things to do round about or if you want to stay in the hotel then the pool area is large and the pool bar is on hand.

We hope that you will come back to visit us again at Laguna Park 1.

Kind regards
Nicola Mallaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverhill, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This hotel is in a nice location and the apartments themselves are ok but basic and clean enough although the bathroom was dated but clean.The actual stall in the bar area and resturants were very friendly to us.
There is only one mirror which is located in the bathroom which makes it difficult for a group of girls, and reception said there are no mirrors elsewhere which we know isn't true as we asked other people.
It has a lovely pool and is well run.
THE ALL INCLUSIVE has a lot of disappointment to it. The drinks are restricted to half a pint at a time , cheaper coffee if given to the all inclusive customer very poor selection of food and very very repetitive, no slush puppy drinks are in this either and the bar snacks which were meant to be part of it....well....if your happy with a bit of bread with cheese and ham or a piece of yucky restrictive basic fruit , coz that's all there was. I would definitely recommend that nobody bothers paying for this poor allocated food as its so cheap to eat out. This is what we ended up doing due to the fact we didn't like what kept being served to us. Also you would only be served drinks if the lunch was in the very small restaurant otherwise you had to go and fetch your own drink to have with your lunch which is terrible service. I feel we overpaid being all inclusive so honestly don't bother SAVE YOUR MONEY JUST GO SELF CATERING AT THIS ACCOMODATION. This is the third year the place has done the all inclusive and quite frankly should give up on it. !!!!!
sarah from Haverhill

Room Tip: not ground floor as we did hear a mention of cockroaches so maybe an upper floor, we only had one in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Laguna Park 1, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Sarah

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We rely on our guests comments to imrpove our services, without these comments we don't know where to improve.

We note your comments on the all inclusive service that we provide and we are trying to rectify this.

Kind regards
Nicola Mallaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aylesbury
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

From 15/6/13 to 29/6/13 we visited Laguna park 1 and have to say what a top hotel this is one of the best pools' we have seen cleaned every day. Stayed in room 202E Rooms are very clean maids do a top job security man on site every night reception do a top job to had a problem with the safe late at night fixed it in 10 minutes. Can't talk about food went self catering but food round the pool is very good I did read the reviews about this hotel before booking what do you want from a three star hotel ?. I would give this hotel a three star plus no problems thanks all at Laguna park 1 for a top holiday Graham Barns.

Room Tip: Rooms in E and F have a very nice view over the pool on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicola M, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Laguna Park 1, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Mr Barns

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your holiday with us. It's nice to read positive comments from our guests. We read all the reviews with interest.

We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Kind regards
Nicola Mallaghan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Laguna Park 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laguna Park 1

Address: Avenida los pueblos, 26 | Costa Adeje, 38660 San Eugenio, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Eugenio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in San Eugenio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Laguna Park 1 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Laguna Park 1 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Laguna Park 1 Adeje
Laguna Park 1 Tenerife

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Laguna Park 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.