We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of HOVIMA La Pinta

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added HOVIMA La Pinta to your Saves list
HOVIMA La Pinta
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenida Espana 5, 38660 San Eugenio, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Hotel La Pinta)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Eugenio
Hull
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

First the good points, the apartment was clean and roomy. The maid service was very good.That/s it now the bad points we were in the cellar apartment 6. The apartment was cold, no sun on the terrace until about 1600 and then only the edge of the terrace.On arrival at reception we were greeted by a member of staff who could not care less. He directed us to the RCI office where the lady was very pleasant when we went back to reception we were shown to our apartment with no advice of where anything was in the complex. We left the luggage and went out for a meal, when we returned we asked where the bar was to be told it was downstairs and the lift was over there.
Next morning we asked at the RCI office where the pool was and was given the information we required
We went to see one of the shows and had to sit at the back on the bar stools because the bar area is so small. The parrot show was good as we had a 7 year old with us and the Magic show, other than that we went out on an evening. We didn't try the restaurant so cannot comment on that.The pool area was clean although it was a struggle to get a sunbed even in February. We will not be going back here

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovimaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at HOVIMA La Pinta, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
I apologize you did not enjoy your stay in La Pinta.
The staff from the main Reception , the Hovima reception , sent you to get keys and information to RCI Reception , because you had a reserve with RCI .
Kinds regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    131
    66
    19
    16
See reviews for
131
99
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Loved the place we had a promotional week plus 2nd week .Rm 33 pool level, not big but great for 2. Sun ALL day. Just across from pool bar so handy for the Sangria while looking out to sea. Stairway with pass key down to beach level and breakfast overlooking the beach for 3.50 Euros, heaven. Room serviced every day, staff kind and helpful. Best of all its close to Amandars,where the food and entertainment are brilliant and the staff are the best. Just need to know if we can select our own room next time.

Room Tip: Rooms 1-33 ground floor !!!!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Hotel situated in the middle of the town, but you don't feel that. Maintanence of the building and rooms, staff behavior and service, quality and variety of food in the hotel restaurant, overall facilities - all in a very satisfactory level regarding to and thinking of the competitive price level.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovimaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at HOVIMA La Pinta, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
I appreciate your comments. I´m glag you have enjoyed your holidays with us. I wish you all the best and I hope to welcome you again in La Pinta
Kinds regards.
Yolanda del Pozo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We were disappointed to get an apartment that did not get the sun until 5pm and the sun was down soon after. In February one needs the sun to keep warm. The one bedroom apartment had all we need and we particularly appreciated the hooks in the bathroom and even a cabinet for our toileteries (something often missing in hotels) but no shower gels etc. provided Our room just had a simple shower over the bath . The pool was lovely and it is heated.
The hotel has private steps down to the front from the pool are which is handy otherwise it is a steep slope or numerous steep steps from the front of the hotel to the beach. Shops are really handy and lots of restaurants.
A big downer was waiting until 4pm to get our room from RCI It is their policy not to give rooms until 4pm even though we had told them we were arriving at 11.30am (having left home at 3.30am!) We are not youngsters anymore and although I did not expect to get a our room on arrival I had hoped for something better.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

We used RCI points for a week here. If you are with RCI you check in at an RCI office a level up from the main reception. The RCI part of the hotel is known as La Pinta Beach Club. I doubt if there is any difference in the rooms between La Pinta and La Pinta Beach Club. We were in room 203 which was in a great position on the second floor looking over the pool and out to the sea. The room was long overdue upgrading but was clean and had daily maid service.
We had breakfast there most days which was euros 6.30 each and included a hot and cold buffet and it was very good. The breakfast room was always very busy as it seemed that most guests were on B & B, but the staff were excellent at clearing and resetting tables.
it is due to the hotel's prime position right at the sea beside Port Colon with great restaurants and cafes all around that I scored it 4 out of 5.
It is certainly not what I would expect as RCI quality, but what a position !

Room Tip: Floor 2 and above with pool view and you get the sun on your balcony most of the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Appartment nothing like the advertising pictures on the official website!
Interior comfy and reasonably well kept.
Kitchen very clean but bedroom furniture not moved very often for thorough cleaning behind it!
Main bedroom smelly and VERY damp.
Good location for access to beach, shops and bars etc.
No lift to top two floors so carrying luggage was a nighmare!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — felt let down by the pictures on website compared to what we got
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HovimaHotels, Guest Relations Manager at HOVIMA La Pinta, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
I apreciate your coments and to know that you have enjoyed your stay in La Pinta. I look forward to welcome again here in La Pinta. I wish you all the best.
Kinds regards.
Yolanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

Just back from a week at La Pinta on a promotional holiday. The hotel is in a great position on the sea front and is very clean. It all depends on which type of room you are given that will determine your view of the facilties. We were on the bottom floor -1. These rooms are cold damp and dismal. I would not like to have been there if it had rained. After a week in one of those you wouldn't want to buy into this complex. Other rooms were well appointed. Apart from that the pool area was clean , sun beds available , and easy access to surrounding restuarants. The hotel facade is tired and crumbling needs a good make over.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HOVIMA La Pinta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOVIMA La Pinta

Address: Avenida Espana 5, 38660 San Eugenio, Tenerife, Spain (Formerly Hotel La Pinta)
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > San Eugenio
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in San Eugenio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — HOVIMA La Pinta 4*
Number of rooms: 229
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your HOVIMA La Pinta reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel La Pinta Hotel
La Pinta Tenerife

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HOVIMA La Pinta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.