We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pohara Beachfront Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pohara Beachfront Motel to your Saves list
Pohara Beachfront Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   10 Tennyson Street | Pohara, Pohara 7183, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

This is our 4th time we have stayed here.
It a well run motel, with all the facilities you need when travelling our NZ and in a terrific location.
My wife and I love the Golden Bay area and the "Beachfront" it ideal for exploring the country side while located near Cafe's and coffee shops.
Robin Cloke, Somerset UK

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

A nice place with even greater potential to be better without a large investment. The positive is it is a of the right size unlike large resort properties. You do get many people visiting the water front but it is not a hassle.

The place and the accommodation is clean with good surroundings and views. Everything that is required is provided. Other reviewers have mentioned most of the positive things which are true. for eg. sitting on the balcony and looking out to the sea and letting time pass by with a cuppa in the morning, a beer in the afternoon and wine in the evening.

Now the things that would make a difference to any future stay by order of priority.We stayed in the sea facing two bedder.

a. The bedrooms have small windows facing the East. However the curtains are not Sun block and they make the room brightly lit up early in the morning. Not good if you want to sleep in. The windows facing the North have horizontal blinds and curtains, so that is good as they block off all light. The first morning I put a blanket over the curtain and it helped block out most of the light in the morning. If the owners can do something about it and let me know, I will book for 2015 as well.

b. The bathroom sink still has separate taps for hot and cold water. Now that is not an expensive fix. I know from experience. You can put a mixer tap and close off the other tap opening. The same inlet pipes can be joined to the mixer. Having to use water that is too cold or hot is a nuisance in this day and age.

c. Wifi- the signal is good. However on the day before our departure we exhausted our wifi limit. I was given an extension but had to use very conservatively as I did not want to exhaust it and have to go and get another extension in the absence of Fiona(details later). As per the website, there is a small charge of $5 per day if you exhaust the limit. Happy to pay if required.

d. Late check out- I had organised a late check out with Fiona. However as it was not conveyed to the Relief Manager, he was hesitant to offer it and did not trust me when I told him I had organised it with Fiona. He reluctantly offered to extend it by 1 hour, saying that the cleaners do not have much work and they start at our end of the property. How unprofessional. As the property was not busy and no arrival in our unit, it could have easily been carried over to the next day. Alternatively, the cleaners could have done it the last. For the gentleman the convenience of his cleaners was more important than allowing his guests to leave leisurely. Because of this attitude I wanted to avoid going back to get the wifi extension if I exhausted the limit another time.

General comments- These units are backing off to the main road, so there is the traffic noise. It is not an issue during the day, but when you have the occasional trucks driving past in the morning, it can be an issue with light sleepers.

Microwave was not working but was soon swapped with another.

Having travelled the length and breadth of both islands over the last 13 years, we generally find the quality of accommodation good and service friendly. You generally get what you pay for. There are plenty of other beautiful spots, including coasts and beaches, so a lot to pick from.

Room Tip: See the website. It provides exact location of each unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

Right by the sea, lovely apartment, hosts were really friendly (and brought us pavlova on Christmas day!). Can't fault it.

Everything is very clean, you can sit on the balcony and look at the sea, kitchen has enough facilities and the beds are comfortable.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are lovely. You can see it from the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

A warm welcome even though we arrived so late! Great hospitality with friendly service - this really made our stay. Great location, with units being clean, comfortable and homely. If we ever come back to NZ, we'll be heading back to the motel. A few other motels we stayed in could learn a thing or two from the Pohara Beachfront Motel. Great base for the beach, the spring and waterfall. Thank you for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The motel has a great location right by the sea. Our two bedroom unit was extremely comfortable and well equipped. It's an ideal base for exploring the Golden Bay area. Fiona & Barry were very welcoming and full of good advice about what to do and see.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

After spending over 50 nights in NZ, I can say that this is one of the better places to stay.

The units are very clean and well appointed with clean efficient kitchens and very comfortable beds. Our unit lined up right along the beach and a walking trail. The town in small, but there is a little store at the camp-ground next door, as well as places to eat within walking distance. There are several hiking trails and gorgeous beaches nearby, like Wainui Falls Trail and Tata Beach. Of course with more time, one can explore Abel Tasman's north section.

Fiona has a passion to make sure you enjoy your stay here.

Room Tip: We loved unit 10, a one bedroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Excellent stay. We enjoyed it very much. Clean rooms and equiped with all necessary stuff. Very friendly service and they gave us a lot of advice where we could go in the area and it was really perfect. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pohara Beachfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pohara Beachfront Motel

Address: 10 Tennyson Street | Pohara, Pohara 7183, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Pohara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pohara Beachfront Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the perfect seaside holiday at our Beachfront Motel, located right on the beach and set in the heart of a beautiful seaside village. A popular destination to base yourself while you explore the wider Golden Bay area.Comfortable Units and a relaxing atmosphere combine to ensure a truly enjoyable holiday.Wake up to the sound of the seas, swim at the safe beach, walk the beach to cafes, restaurants, bars, golf course and general store and soak up the stunning scenery. 8 Units offer great seaviews across to Farewell Spit, and all with cooking facilities and private bathrooms. Large grassed barbeque area, herb gardens and guest laundry, provide everything needed to enjoy Golden Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pohara Beachfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pohara Beachfront Motel New Zealand - Golden Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pohara Beachfront Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.