We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and tidy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pohara Beachfront Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pohara Beachfront Motel to your Saves list
Pohara Beachfront Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   10 Tennyson Street | Pohara, Pohara 7183, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mahurangi West, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“clean and tidy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We stayed here after we completed the Abel Tasman Coast Track. We kindly got upgraded to the beachfront cottage which was awesome. The managers were lovely and helpful. We liked the location in rural Golden Bay, close to beaches, quirky towns, villages and lots of dairy farms. You must try the Village Milk up the road, you bottle your own milk from a cool vending machine!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
53
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

An excellent host and motel complex to match. Equipment was modern and all functioned well. Ample parking. Located near restaurants and cafes (if required) and only a short drive to Takaka township for city priced supermarket & other shops. Great location by beach and surrounded by native trees. Lovely dawn chorus of birds.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kaiapoi, New Zealand
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Not the youngest place, but well looked after. Kitchen functions, good size fridge in our unit. Clean to be cosy, and just the sunset beach outside with good hunting for muscles and cockles ... And their free WiFi can still be reached even on the beach.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was a great place to stay for a couple of days. We wanted to enjoy this part of NZ but wanted to avoid the crowds of Abel Tasman. We were able to get a beachfront unit here, and if one is available, go for it. It is nicely furnished, quiet, and very comfortable. It looks out on gorgeous Golden Bay and it is only a few feet to the beach. While here, we rented sea kayaks and kayaked around the headland towards Abel Tasman. We also spent a fantastic afternoon exploring Wharariki Beach, which is one of the most beautiful beaches we visited in all of NZ.

Room Tip: go for a beachfront unit
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

As usual PBM was ideal for a coupe of days "chilling out" and we"ll be back in the spring. If you were any closer to the beach, high tide would be in you room. Room was spotless, Barry the manager was very helpful & the weather was magic. It is good that the unit had a proper sized stove, fridge & microwave. We were impressed with the update of decor and furnishings in our unit too!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsford, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

When they say its on the beach,it is...just a stone throw..fab clean rooms,well appointed..we had the beautiful views of the sea from our bedroom,very romantic!!we even dared cook a meal,as we found the local supermarket-fresh choice,had a great selection of fresh verge,meat and fruit!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a great Motel. Having spent 4 weeks travelling around New Zealand we have seen and stayed in a good selection of hotels and motels. This is head and shoulders above the standards of many. The location is excellent. It's right on he beach and well placed to explore he Abel Tasman Narional Park and Farewell Spit. The apartments/rooms are well furnished and very comfortable with everything needed to self cater, plus sky TV, comfortable beds and the level of cleanliness was very good. the gardens are immaculately kept and the managers were incredibly helpful. They can't do enough to make sure your stay is a good one. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in a 1-bedroom which had a double and single bed in he bedroom plus a sofa bed in the livi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Pohara Beachfront Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pohara Beachfront Motel

Address: 10 Tennyson Street | Pohara, Pohara 7183, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Pohara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pohara Beachfront Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the perfect seaside holiday at our Beachfront Motel, located right on the beach and set in the heart of a beautiful seaside village. A popular destination to base yourself while you explore the wider Golden Bay area.Comfortable Units and a relaxing atmosphere combine to ensure a truly enjoyable holiday.Wake up to the sound of the seas, swim at the safe beach, walk the beach to cafes, restaurants, bars, golf course and general store and soak up the stunning scenery. 8 Units offer great seaviews across to Farewell Spit, and all with cooking facilities and private bathrooms. Large grassed barbeque area, herb gardens and guest laundry, provide everything needed to enjoy Golden Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Pohara Beachfront Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pohara Beachfront Motel New Zealand - Golden Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pohara Beachfront Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.