We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We ate here and loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sans Souci Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Pohara
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sans Souci Inn
11 Richmond Road, Pohara 7183, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Pohara B&B and Inns
Nelson, New Zealand
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“We ate here and loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Firstly, we only ate here and stayed elsewhere so we cannot comment on the accomodation.

They have one sitting a night and its a fixed menu so make sure you ring and book, the night we went it was a Morrocan lamb slow cooked meal. We were staying a short distance down the road and could smell it cooking as we walked there, we were rapt to find it was our meal that we could smell!!

Presentation and meal size was superb and excellent value at NZ$32 per person. Wine was great value, the waiter filled our glasses almost to the top so we were happy.

Service was cheery and friendly and it was a nice adobe setting.

Recommend to all

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    31
    8
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
11
29
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We stayed in this unique inn for 2 nights and enjoyed the quiet location and beautiful grounds. Eat in the restaurant at least once if you can, the cooking is superb. The beach is 2 minute’s walk away and Takaka is 10km drive so it’s a great place to base yourself in.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Despite my wife being advised at booking that the evening meal could be confirmed up to 4pm,on check-in at midday we were surprised to be told that the restaurant was fully booked. Seemed odd to us that casual diners are given priority over guests staying at the place, and this ,coupled with a rather formal and unfriendly introduction to the place by a staff member, did not create a very good first impression. As it turned out we enjoyed an excellent meal at the Brigand restaurant in Takaka.The room was rather Spartan ,the slat bed low to the ground and the mattress thin. My overall impression was that the whole place is rather tired and trading mainly on its eco-friendly image at the expense of decent levels of service.So if the novelty of using a composting toilet is more important to you than a comfortable bed or decent level of service,then this is the place for you! We visit Golden Bay often but wont be returning to San Soucis or recommending it to friends. Alex.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pocatello, Idaho
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Sans Souci has been my favorite place to stay in my several trips to NZ over the years. Lovely, peaceful, and friendly staff. The rooms are comfy and have french doors opening out the back for privacy. And a central courtyard out the front for a communal area. Nice kitchen to cook your own meal or a wonderful meal cooked by the staff. Close to the beach and the dairy. Free wi-fi (which can be hard to find in NZ). Lovely bathroom with an atrium of green plants and composting toilets. I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, NZ
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights on a summer road trip. It was a great spot, close to the beach.
This is a family run "inn" and very focused on this as a concept - and for the most part this worked very well.
Rooms are large and comfortable gathered around a lovely courtyard. There is a shared lounge and kitchen with works well, except when the staff were preparing the restaurant meals making it difficult at times. Lovely way to start the day though, chats with travelers from all over the world as you cook your breakfast.
The bathrooms are a real feature with the composting toilets. I was initially a little uncomfortable with the collectiveness of the bathroom setting, but by the end of the stay was well accustomed to chatting with other guests over ablutions. I must say that if I returned (which I would be keen to do) I would probably want to stay in the self contained unit that has it’s own bathroom.
The service was extremely friendly and helpful. They really have achieved the environment of an old fashioned travelers Inn where people commune and share their experiences, while in a comfortable environment.
It's a shame that the beaches here - which are usually so perfectly pristine - were in rough shape after recent storms, so not great swimming

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

Six of us stayed for three nights over Christmas
There was no extra charges for the Christmas period which was good
We loved the place - it's the quirky alternative approach that was refreshing and relaxing.
It's open, communal, inclusive, relaxed and has a great feel about it.
We liked the lack of instructions and signage which have dominated some places we have stayed in - instead this place wants you to just use the place as home. It's great that you can use the brilliantly equipped kitchen and fridge. The set evening meal is of the highest quality and well recommended - nice that you can take your own wine too!
The communal (but separate) shower, wash basins, and compost toilets are a brilliant and impressive innovation that make sense in all sorts of ways.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed in Sans Souci for 2 nights in Dec-11.

The rooms are situated around a central courtyard, which has a Mediterranean feel. The room was spacious and had a very comfortable bed. The room was tastefully decorated, light and airy.

The toilet and bathroom facilities are shared and a short, covered walk from the room. There were 3 toilets, 3 showers, 1 bath and 4 basins for the 7 rooms. The composting toilets were drafty but did not smell at all. The showers were not very powerful and not particularly clean (some dirt on the floor, hairs on the tiles).

There is a shared kitchen, eating area and lounge. The owners prepare the meals for the restaurant in the same kitchen so it can feel a little awkward using the facilities at times.

An improvement would be to have at a basin in the rooms, as it was a bit of a nuisance having to go to the kitchen every time you needed some water.

The location is good - just a 2 min walk to the beach and the motel is easy to find.

Overall, an adequate motel for a short stay but would not be rushing back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sans Souci Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sans Souci Inn

Address: 11 Richmond Road, Pohara 7183, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Pohara
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pohara
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The seven-bedroom adobe inn is an artistic blend of Mediterranean and ecological architecture situated on three acres of gardens. We are just a two minute stroll from the safe and sandy Pohara beach, shops and cafes. The onsite restaurant has a high reputation for its dinners and irresistible desserts using ingredients from its own organic garden. The laid back and casual atmosphere will leave you with a memory of a true holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sans Souci Inn Pohara, New Zealand - Golden Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sans Souci Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Sans Souci Inn to your Saves list