We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely location but room for improvement in cleanliness” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Sandcastle

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Sandcastle to your Saves list
The Sandcastle
32 Haile Lane, Pohara, New Zealand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Nelson, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely location but room for improvement in cleanliness”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Lovely location in a sheltered rural setting about a 5-10 minute walk to the main beach at Pohara. The best thing is that you can take your dog which was brilliant. The pizza oven is a nice touch when you are on holiday but we were there for only one night and did not use it. Unfortunately the place could do with a proper clean and removal of mould in bathroom and around window ledges. We would stay here again if they improved the cleanness of the cabin because we can take the dog.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    7
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
11
12
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paraparaumu
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Had a fabulous and restful 4 days at the Sandcastle. Couldn't ask for a better host. Steve was only too happy to help out and even found me a practitioner at very short notice when I hurt my back. The bed was comfortable, the view gorgeous and the beautiful Sal (dog) paid me a most welcome visit every evening. This accommodation met my requirements exactly and was the perfect central base for exploring the Golden Bay area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve d, Owner at The Sandcastle, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thanks, we really enjoyed having you stay and see you enjoying of all the Sandcastle and Golden Bay has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hutton Rudby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Where to begin - the cottages were not available we were informed by the local I -site but when they rang the owner they could offer us the rooms next to the house. That sounded fine so we booked three nights.
When we got there the owner and his wife were still tidying up!! Anyway we waited and when we went in there was no tea or coffee or milk . The fridge had mould in the ice tray. All the cups had plimsol lines round them and had to be scubbed out. All the pots and pans were not fit for use as was the dirty hob.
I had to scrub the table before I could put the newspaper on. I wouldn't eat off it so to speak. The only chair and the bed were damp so it was uncomfortable. The bedside cabinet was half a pallet!!
There was no key for the door so obviously you could not lock up your valuables - for the short time we were there we used our car boot.
The rubbish bin was full of rubbish from some previous visitors.
I could go on but we lasted until 3 in the morning when we decided enough was enough and left.
So the cottages might be OK but don't go near the house!!
The only plus we could find is that the owners were very friendly.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steve d, Owner at The Sandcastle, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
I remember your stay well. Hayley took the booking from the information centre as all of Golden Bay was booked out and these travelers had not planned ahead and reserved themselves accommodation. We had let the house unit all summer to very satified guests and were not planning on doing so again but it seemed they were stuck and we wanted to help.
Of course we regret they were not happy - we gave a full refund. Had we been approached we would have happily attended to the issues that had been highlighted.
In brief we tried our best to accommodate these guests at very short notice who we were told were stuck for somewhere to stay.
On a plus side for the Sandcastle we have hosted many families and couples over the summer who have enjoyed the excellent value cottages with the many extra's - sauna, spa, pizza oven at no cost. Guess you can not win them all even when trying to help out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The Sandcastle is a great base for exploring everything this area has to offer . My family loves Tata beach , and it's only a few minutes from the Sandcastle . This is our 3rd year visiting here , and we were thrilled to discover a Pizza oven had been built since our last stay .....so you can have a go @ making your own ...great fun . (Steve gifted us the dough, very nice too !) The location of the Sandcastle lends to all your concerns , schedules & stresses to just melt away as it is set in a beautiful Garden surrounded by great views . It's so peaceful and we always get a great night sleep ( We find the beds really comfy ) We support the way this place is run as it makes for a very down to earth stay . Enjoy (:

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sandcastle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sandcastle

Address: 32 Haile Lane, Pohara, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Pohara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Pohara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sandcastle holiday accommodation is perfect for couples and families wanting to get away from the crowds. We offer six fully self-contained cottages that are serviced daily. Each cottage has its own private deck and is set in two hectares of tranquil gardens. They overlook the sea which is a pleasant five minutes walk away. The Sandcastle's many extra features include our popular spa and sauna complex, a wood-fired pizza oven and BBQ area, and a hall where children can play table tennis or watch a movie on wet days. There is no extra charge for any of the above activities. We can deliver a delicious breakfast, mostly sourced from our organic gardens, direct to your cottage. We want your stay to be excellent value and unlimited wi fi is also free of charge. There are also yoga classes in our hall twice a week and we have our own purpose-built massage room where various treatments are available from experienced therapists. The Sandcastle is one of the closest holiday accommodation options to the beautiful, northern end of the Abel Tasman National Park. Golden Bay has many gorgeous beaches, walks and other attractions and we are happy to point you in the right direction to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.Our reception is open 24hrs for any questions you may have about The Sandcastle or Golden Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Sandcastle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sandcastle Pohara, New Zealand - Golden Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sandcastle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.