We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bay Lodge

Save Saved
You added The Bay Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Bay Lodge
36 Bay Vista Drive, Pohara 7183, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Pohara B&B and Inns
Shardlow, null, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at the Bay Lodge in early March 2013 as part of our tour around New Zealand. We paid somewhat more than we usually pay for accommodation, but never has the old adage 'You get what you pay for' been more apt. Bay Lodge is simply fantastic, our only complaint was that we had to leave.
It's the little things that make it so special. A personal welcome when you arrive with your first names on a chalkboard at the entrance with a welcome, fresh flowers in the bathroom, chocolates and a card on your pillow & perfect hosts in Filip & Sonja.
Then there is the standard of the apartment, without doubt the best we have had in NZ. Ultra modern, spotlessly clean, large TV, surround sound music system, what more could you ask for.
Additionally, you have your own private decking verandah, with views to die for, the sunsets are fantastic.
Do yourself a favour, if you are touring this area, treat yourself, you wont regret it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    1
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
1
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at The Bay Lodge for our honeymoon in January 2013 for 3 nights. The hosts Filip & Sonja were lovely, caring, and extremely welcoming. Our experience was cultural, relaxing and educational. As part of the package, we enjoyed a 5 course gourmet dinner including a hearty BBQ and fresh local produce from Golden Bay, delicious cooked breakfasts 2 mornings and a fantastic continental breakfast while overlooking the picturesque views of Golden Bay. The Bay Lodge is located within close proximity to the Abel Tasman walk which we were lucky enough to spend a day exploring. We were also treated with a guided full day tour of Golden Bay which included a delicious lunch, walking exploration of the farewell spit, photographic tour, birdwatching and a walk around the amazing coastline (which included a close up encounter with a seal colony). The day was polished off with a memorable meal at the infamous Mussel Inn restaurant. Overall the Bay Lodge facility is luxurious, with modern interior designs, extremely comfortable rooms and fantastic hosts. Highly recommend a stay at The Lodge with Filip and Sonja!

Room Tip: All 3 rooms have excellent views and setup.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at The Bay Lodge for 2 nights and it was absolutely amazing. Filip and Sonja were brilliant and caring hosts and you should definitely take their advices on walks and dining around the area.
Our room was very luxurious and the bathroom was just beautiful, both with a view over the Golden Bay.
We absolutely recommend staying there and will come back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were there for Christmas 2012 and really enjoyed our stay at the bay lodge. The hosts Filip & Sonja are very nice and very helpful to ensure you make the best of your stay in Golden Bay & Abel Tasman.
We stayed in the Adagio suite which is very lovely. All 3 rooms have big bay windows opening on a deck, with amazing direct view on Golden Bay. If you want a bigger room, pick the Ahora Suite which has living room area & outdoor table.
Breakfast can be served in your room and is amazing.

Room Tip: If you are traveling as a couple, get a breakfast in your room or on your terrace with the lovely vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

After 1 month of travelling NZ, we spent our last 2 nights at Pohara.
Despite the windy weather, Sonja & Filip made sure we enjoyed our stay.
Filip took us out on a day trip to visit the area (including farewell spit). He taught us about nature and photography (we made some great pictures), we had a nice picknick at the beach and a comforting dinner in a local restaurant/bar. Later that night we had a relaxing laydown in the spa that made us sleep like babies.
The room (which is actually a small flat!) is also worth mentioning. The welcome chocolats, the couch, and the view (!) made us enjoy our stay even more.
Breakfast was also amazing! The best breakfast we had in NZ (with lots of home made things like yoghurt, jam and bread!)
On our departure day, sun was shining and we couldn't resist a dive in the swimming pool.
We can not do anything else than agree with other reviews: we had an amazing time at The Bay Lodge.
Thank you, Filip & Sonja (and mother)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

What an awesome place for a break. Pohara lovely views from the room and spa pool. Sonja and Filip were the most wonderful host. Could not do enough for you, from the welcome to the food and rooms, amazing. Very interesting hosts that made you feel special. Spoil yourself this is gorgeous.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Bay Lodge has been a great escape from a busy daily life for us.
We very much enjoyed the comfort of the accommodation (including afar too inviting mattress), the relaxing atmosphere and the special treats by the hosts Philippe and Sonja.
Golden Bay itself is a place to fall in love with and we very much got a great sense of why the owners of the Bay Lodge settled here. Their story is definitely something to listen out for.
Also appreciable is the hosts' knowledge around outdoor options and tour offers. You can expect an honest answer about what is worthwhile doing or not.
We had a great time- indoors and outdoors- and will be back!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Lodge

Address: 36 Bay Vista Drive, Pohara 7183, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Pohara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Pohara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to share our haven of peace and tranquillity. Our elevated location offers you an all-day relaxation with native birdsong from the nearby nature reserve and unsurpassed sea views over the Bay. Laze on your private deck to soak up memorable sunsets or unwind in our outdoor spa under a blanket of stars… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Lodge Pohara, New Zealand - Golden Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bay Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.