We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park to your Saves list
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   809 Abel Tasman Drive, Pohara 7183, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Nelson, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One of the best..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

As a family we return here year after year. The park is in a good setting, adjacent to the beach, with numerous beautiful spots to visit within easy reach. The beach is safe and clean, good for families, swimming and water activities. We always find the excellent facilities clean, and have never had any issues with the hygiene standards. The kitchens are well equipped, as are the new shower and toilet blocks. There are plenty of dry areas to socialise in on a rainy day. The staff are friendly, approachable and concientious, and maintain the facilities to a high standard. There is never any doubt that we will return the following year. Our young adult children all see our visit to Pohara as the highlight of the year.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    16
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
24
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

As a camping 'newbie' I didn't know what to expect, however traveling with experienced campers (one couple with a caravan with annex & ourselves with a mini popup camper and awning, and tent for the teenage girls) meant we were certainly well prepared with all the required equipment and some extra's to create a little 'home away from home.'
Pohara Beach Holiday Park was a delight! Full to bursting, given it was the summer holidays, we were certainly cosy on our 2 adjacent sites, surrounded by fellow campers - lots in tents, some in caravans and many in motor homes, and don't forget the trailers, boats, kayaks - our neighbours even had a go-kart for the kids - Pohara Beach caters for all holiday experiences. However, the popularity only added to the overall experience of relaxation and 'on holiday' feeling.

Our grandparents chose to join us too, renting a one room, modern self contained cabin at the other end of the camp ground.

The amenities block was outstanding. The shower block was very modern with six or so showers - 50cents for 4 minutes or keep adding other coins if that's not long enough. Pohara was having water restrictions, but 4 minutes was more than enough (unless you were a teenager apparently!) Toilets were wonderfully clean and the half dozen basins were always clean and sparkling - hand sanitiser was provided at the door.

The kitchen area was spacious, allowing for up to 6-8 dish washing groups as well as large areas for food prep. The 2(?) ovens were in constant use; someone's Thursday Curry smelled amazing, while other innovative mothers baked scones and banana cake! The two commercial style refrigerators were full of campers supplies - the honesty system seemed to work well at this camp ground.

The laundry held - I think - 5-6 machines, and there was a nice etiquette, whereby once your load was completed, as long as you left your basket/bag on the machine, the next 'washer' would empty yours, and start their own. Beware the wrath of fellow campers if you didn't leave a basket and forgot to empty your laundry!!!

A couple of nice cafes and restaurants are immediately across the road if you don't feel like cooking. The Penguin provided a nice relaxed environment where we enjoyed a dinner and a lunch, while the teenagers thought the takeaway outlet at the camp ground was really good value for hotdogs, chips etc. A fully equipped store provided everything you might have forgotten.

Lots of walks at Pohara - a good stretch approx 1 hour is to head along the path out of the campground adjacent to the beach to the golf course (9 holes, nice looking greens) and then cut back to the beach if the tide is out. Also a number of walks up into the cliffs overlooking the beach. The beach itself is beautiful, very tidal, perfect for little kids, walkers, joggers and beachcombers. You need to walk a long way out at low tide for a swim! Very safe and relaxing. Bonfires at night are popular on the beach - again especially for the older kids.

If a surf beach is more your liking try Tata Beach 5min drive around the coast. Golden sands and lots of surf if it's windy, deeper swimming if it's not (we only had 1 windy day in 10). Try kayak hire at Golden Bay kayaks at Tata, very comprehensive safety briefing and modern equipment. Amazing experience around the small islands just off shore or around the point to bigger beaches at Wainui.
As my first camping experience at the busiest time of the year, I have to say it was wonderful. Pohara exceeded my expectations providing a delightful 'outdoors' environment, with good amenities should you require them. Both Pohara and Tata Beach were outstanding - both offering different experiences, under a hot summer sky and balmy evenings.
Costs are per person, rather than per family group, which we found a little high, given we had 2 x 16 year old's who are still very much at school, but they didn't qualify as 'children.' They were squeezed onto our site in their own separate tent, when in hindsight we could have secured their own site (had it been available) for the same amount. Sites are apparently smaller than other camp grounds, however I've no experience of that.

It seems that camping is what you make it - Pohara certainly offers everything you need to complete that experience!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

Pohara Beach is great and the camping grounds are basic but well located. At the time we were there the toilets and public kitchens were rather dirty.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

My wife and I stayed here for two nights, it was a little bit on the pricey side but it was well worth the extra cash. We stayed in a self catering unit and it was a relatively new portable cabin with a stunning view and the whole beach to ourselves. The unit was super clean and it was great to get away for a relaxing two nights. There are some wonderful walks in this area and they have some beautiful out of this world views and hidden gems. It is right on the beachfront so when we felt like it we went for a swim In the sea. It is one of the really safe places to swim on the west coast.

As this is in the south island it is less populated and most areas you have to yourself.

We would definitely stay here again and it is a great place to treat your loved ones.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park

Address: 809 Abel Tasman Drive, Pohara 7183, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Pohara
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Pohara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park 5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your ultimate beach holiday starts at the waters edge at Pohara Beach TOP 10 Holiday Park. This is true relaxation in the shade of the trees, that fringe the sparkling waters of Golden Bay, enjoy safe swimming, kayaking, boating. and sailing from our absolute beach front location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park New Zealand - Golden Bay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.